(2011/02) Feb 2011

zanta: u also 1 cm dilated liao ah? but first time mummy can take awhile..

For me I was having BH when he was doing scanning..

He said that I am having a lot of activity and said as this is my 2nd BB can be anytime liao..

but after checking cervix he said surprisingly still very tight, so he estimate only next week.

dont worry abt BB size.. just let nature take its course ok..

I also didnt get u/s pic.. but normally at this stage no more pic cos BB too big to fit into 1 picture liao.

mummies who done VE, do u have any bleeding after that?

I dont have lei.. unlike my first preg. when I got blood after VE and painful..

today's VE not painful at all.. and now also no bleeding.

Hi mummies.. So late alr.. I still can't slp.. Like ah Ching, having pain and tightenings.. It's like moderate menses cramp(previously all my cramps were mild) and frequency too fast to be the real thing.. Pain in bearable but strong enough to keep me awake.. Plus horrible heartburn.. Luckily I don't feel slpy at all.. I'm wondering if it's the real thing yet.. Waiting for solid contractions to start before I panic.. Haha.. I really hope I don't deliver today as my hubby is working and he cannot cancel this job.. Feeling crappy.. Ughh..

Hmm.. Surfed the web and found a new term I never came across before.. Seems to describe what I'm feeling exactly.. Might help some of u there having early discomforts and unsure of whether to go hospital.. Source is from a childbirth educator..

·        Prodromal Contractions:

Let’s not have any of that “false labor” talk, if you please. We’re talking very early labor contractions here. They may be regular when you have them but can stop just when you think they are really getting serious and then start again just as you are finally getting some sleep. However, they refuse to really crank up by becoming longer, stronger and closer together. These contractions while they may be slowly driving you mad, are helping to thin and soften the cervix.

________

Of cos if too painful or u really really don't know what u are feeling pls go doctor.. Hope this can help., I'll try to go to slp now...

Hi joodz,

am awake too... Hit by terrible heartburns now n can't get back to sleep... Add a tsp of honey to a glass of warm milk, drink it... Will help curbz ur heartburn...

My stomach's hardening but no pains, no contractions etc...juz wondering if I'll hav early birth...

omg i am the last to sleep !!! wow i so long din come see see le.... so scare ;( got a feeling baby going POP OUT :D did scanning last week so cute scan until her face so clear my small darling is sleeping :D i realise why alot ppl KKH DOCTOR IS JOHN TEE!!!!! who is he???? idk who my doc is ... issit the same doc who do checkup for me everytime is my doc?? O__o

and idk what to do .... -___- idk is now register first for give birth thing like i want normal delivery and ward all those or is when i going give birth then rush rush do admission?? VERY LOST MODE NOW. i got alot of question marks on my head ...

hope everyone got smooth delivery :D

@Ah Ching: Ya lor, according to him, I'm 1cm dilated but he also mentioned not so fast going into labour as cervix still tight. I really hope that my girl can wait till CNY, and I'm trying to nag at her everyday to come out earliest on 03/02/11. Hehe.. I'm going to Vienna International buffet to eat with my family member on 22/01/11 and I'm gonna Chong for their raw salmon b4 I pop. After VE, I noticed v v light brown discharge. This should be normal right? And is he going to do VE for us too for the next subsequent visits?

@Joodz: Maybe you'll be the next to pop after Mami B. Have you got your hospital bag ready?

Yesterday I went to buy a small travel bag to use as hospital bag as I realized that the bag my hubby's friend gave me is too small. That shall be my bb bag in future. May I know how many pcs of breast pad should we bring to hospital? And is anyone going to bring feminine wipes along too as we can't shower so use wipes?

RE: Hormones Change

I also realised my face is breaking out again these 2 wks. Wanted to go for facial but am afraid I can't tahan the pain now so I shall wait till after I pop. And my scalp also gets oily faster despite the cooling weather now. I wonder how I'm going to survive my confinement..

Morning mummies~~

@Fiona: Congrats Fiona!! Photos photos!! =D

@wish_child: Woah.. But I don't want my baby to be too used to sleeping in air con room leh. Not good for him also.. Hmmm...

@Yvonne: I've sent it to you le. =)

@charmaine: I'm very scared of hot weather. I think I'll on it for the whole month. Haha! The electricity bill is going to be a bomb. =p

Anyway mummies, my bed has arrived yesterday! Yay! And it's so big that I'll have no space to walk unless I keep move the cot around. Hmm.. But me & my hubby like it. My baby also like the bed. Hee hee.. He keep moving when I told him his bed is here. =p

mamaying... me too..i tink i was super depressed during my #1 confinement coz was not allowed to bathe at all..

and at the end of 2nd week or beginning of 3rd week i sneak in to bathe while my mum was out marketing...

cry and bathe at same time..hahahaa

wish_child/charmaine...so far i ordered around 3-4times liao the durian swissroll...quite rich in its filling.... so everytime i eat it like ice cream cake! yummy..i tink the durian is very nice leh....shld be similar to D24 lar..

hmmm never tried the fruits one...coz not into fruits swiss rolls... hehee

marie...talking about pineapple tarts and CNY goodies..i oredi got a tub of pineapple tart and ate lor...

coz my mum confirm wun let me eat during confinement... hahaa...

so i buy first and enjoy those goodies....

OFB... lol...can lar...as long as got time to update...maybe when my turn to give birth, got to handover this to another mummy liao! haha

joodz.... is that contractions u feeling?

@Zanta: Now you have the edd as me! And I also keep telling my baby to come out earliest only on the 3rd! Hahaha! I've been counting down with him everyday. =p

Oh, I also thought of using feminine wipes but better not. Cos my sis reminded me we have open wound at our vagina. And we don't know what chemicals the wipes contains and if have alcohol content I think we will feel super painful.. My sil said the hospital will give us a kind of liquid to wash our vagina..

Anyway I'll be bringing 5-6 pieces of breast pads. Those loose sample packs that I got when I buy my sterilizer. Hehe.. My sil said in the early stage we won't need to use so much cos our milk gland still not producing a lot of milk for it to leak.

Zanta, if I'm not wrong Fiona popped at night 9.27pm. As I saw her facebook post she otw to hospital around 7-8+pm. So her should be pop at night.

Valeria, wow ur baby cot is here. Haha ur boy of cause excited he going have new bed to sleep when he out.

Choc, hmm I think I will go order the durian Swiss roll and strawberry 1. Hehe.

I think I will cry and bath when I do my confinement. I try 2 days never wash my hair I already cannot tahan le. Think will go trim my hair until very thin and cut short 2 inches.

zanta...no need buy those wipe...i not sure if all hospital provides lar...but mine got give me some medicated alocohol to pour onto cotton wool and wipe....

wish_child... u control ah..dun eat so much ya... hahaaa... i am trying very very hard to control..but thinking that in 2-3weeks time i be due... abit relax on food liao..WHAHAHHAHAAAAA

haiyo... i tink i will play cheat in the bathroom lar...if the herbs is kana sai..hahaaa...nobody noes what water i used to bathe wat.. =D

hospital bag...i finally started to put stuff inside...but abit rubbish..hahaa...i even put nursing shawl, a jacket to wear in case cold... then nursing bra...hmmmm...then a set of clothing for baby to wear when discharge etc..

doubt will pack in the pads and panty coz i know hospital will give =D

Wah!! Fiona popped soo.. fast.. if her apt is 4+ and she popped at 9+.. means in around 4 to 5 hours she delivered liaoz..

I hope my baby can hold on till at least after 27 Jan.. Taking ML only from then.. Wana return to work only after my daughter's bday.. If i pop too early, means ML will start earlier and I need to return earlier.. sianz..

Even though very sianz to work now too.. But must ren lorz... Haiz.. Only 1.5 more weeks to go.. Baby must stay in there, k...

Finally going to pack my hospital bag tonight.

Btw, anyone feel alot of pressure and pain at the v-area? I feel especially so when I am in bed at night lei.. Feel terrible... I wonder if this is the softening of the cervix to standby for delivery...

Mrs Ong: Nope, my photoshoot is at Taman Sentosa area not City Square.

My face also have lots of break out recently especially on the forehead. Feel myself very ugly ler, sian...

I also have oily scalp n need to wash my hair everyday. Dunno how to survive if can't wash hair during confinement. MIL say better wash once or twice only during the whole confinement period, I almost faint when hearing this.

Choc,

With regards to your FB question on Taka sale ..

The 10% is direct discount ..

Only those sales conducted by DBS cards, will be in the form of rebates in the credit card statements ..

I am also damn relax with my food intake now ..

Coz alot of stuffs cannot eat during confinement ..

Hi mums,

My fren used 2 packs of pads when she was in the hospital ..

One pack a day ..

My mum was telling me that it is best not to bathe in the first few days after delivery coz she is scared the wound might not heal properly ..

She asked me to lun till the 4th day then bathe ..

Sianz .. but end of the day, she still allows me to bathe during confinement but need to keep myself dry before exposing to the wind ..

Choc: u might want to bring extra pads n panties to standby. Hospital charge very expensive if u request extra. My fren told me she finished whole pack of the pad on the first day.

@choc: Haha! That day my nurse told me we won't feel cold when in the hospital cos our body temperature will still be very hot. But our hubbies will feel cold, so they recommend our hubbies to bring along a jacket if they staying with us.

My manicurist also never follow strictly during her confinement. She shower everyday, wash hair on alternate days and she never use the herbs at all. She only use the water heater. Don't know next time when she old liao will have any impact anot. I only scared will kenna rheumatism. =x

Oh ya, pads hospital will provide. But I think those that they provide is tie one, not adhesive one. I prefer adhesive pads. Hee hee..

grace...oh for my #1 in Mt E...they replenish one pkt daily... and i didnt request for extra too... panties they will give u those very good one..whereby will secure the pads...

bring also can but unlikely will use coz they oredi charge to bill...

unicorn... OKOK!thanks! I will go this weekend coz my hb wan to look at booster seats for my #1... then i can lump my purchase with his..hahaaa...

yeah...i agree that first few days...feel more weak to bathe...so try not to...even when washing hand nia and touching water..i feel...weird lar...duno how to describe that feeling

@Unicorn & Grace: Woah, need to use so many ah?? I only pack 1 packet. Tonight I better put in 1 more packet. Btw, your friend's 1 packet inside got how many pads huh??

joodz: your menses like cramps sound like the real thing..

for me still no menses cramp just stomach hardening..

have u prepared everything?

zanta: yes Dr ang will be doing VE for the next few visits cos need to check if cervix dilated or not.. maybe u first time mum so got the brownish discharge after VE like me last time..

the discharge should be part of the mucus plug..

over the next few days I think u'll still have the discharge..

Can anyone direct me to feb 2011 mtb fb page?

Choc,

Bringing extra pads and panties may be useful. Tmc only provides 1 pack and they overlap and use 2 at the same time. And they give those lousy loop types and just place in your panty. Not even adhesive type I remember. Not sure if things have improved now.

Fiona,

Unicorn,

When is taka sale? Was thinking of going to robin sons sale later....

re pads..

saw that the loop pads only cost less than $2 for 10 pcs in NTUC.. adhesive ones ard 6 dollars..

what a big diff.. makes me tempted to buy..

Choc, haha I really very hard to resist the durian temptation. Haha. Hmm ya I must control my diet until last week of my edd.

If u shower not herb water ur mom won't know. My mom said shower with herbs also very smelly like no different lor. Hmm I scare later I never shower my bb don't dare to come close me lor. I decide to wipe myself everyday no matter what.

Zanta, u can use baby wipes. My friend use bb wipes to clean herself after she urine. Hmm I will use baby wipes or warm water. No matter what we still need to touch water.

Eviangal, Jia you u can do it another 1.5weeks. Today I met a new clinic assistant at my area clinic. She going due another 10days. Wow shock me as her tummy not very big and she still can squat and stand up like no problem.

So we can do it Jia you.

packed my son's luggage last night..

put in a few sets of clothes, storybooks, DVD, wet wipes, diapers. really going to miss him when I am in hospital..

went to NTUC today to stock up on things for him during my confinement..

also read up on Gina Ford's Contented Baby with Toddler when I couldnt sleep this morning..

hope that her method will help me to manage 2 children after I deliver..

still need to get my son's new year clothes.. so will be going out this afternoon with him for shopping.

but very scared wait waterbag burst or what..

eviangal: I also having the pressure at the V area but only after I sit too long.

when I lie down dont have the pressure.

Eviangal:

Yes me!

All day long. An achy pain in the pelvic bone area! Nothing much we can do about that though...except not to get up too fast from the bed and chair.

Re: Pads

I bought maternity pad at mothercare. I bought 1 big packet without wings and 1 small packet with wings. My mom said I very Kaisu. I bought the pads is without loop one.

Valeria, I heard from my hubby Fren she ask me to do my confinement well and be good to follow it. She said she regretted as never do properly her confinement. Once she give birth she drink cold water and still shower everyday. That time she give birth her boy around 18. Now she 30 yrs old she already a lot of problem come to her. She have backache and headache.

wish_child...duno leh... body dun bathe still caN tahan...is the hair leh..i find most difficult to leave it...

the oiliness....the itchiness...ARRRH!!!! i tink include the stress by the elderly not to do this n that... damn bek chek one..

ur pads enough meh...2 pkt nia...

i tink i stock up 4-5pkt pureen brand... then got 1 pkt kotex brand... hahaa.... not enough will deploy hubby go buy liao =X

hahaaa..tell me u bathe anot when u start ur confinement ba! haha

ah ching... 6mins!!!!!!! that is power!!!

same leh..i feel the pressure now when i walk fast...but gynae tell me is normal coz baby now bigger and sitting at our lower body....so naturally feel the pressure and sometimes discomfort...arrrh....

i am counting down daily...20days to EDD! haha

for those ladies doing confinment with elderly ard.. just glad that I'll be home alone without any elderly to 'confine' me.. haha

hope that things will go well.. i keep telling myself relax relax..

dont want to fall into PND like my first delivery..

until now I still havent open my wash my breast pump or buy the storage bottles..

keep procrastinating on this..

my steriliser also still sitting in the box..

must force myself to prepare all these soon liao..sigh

@Ah Ching: Hmm, I personally prefer adhesive ones. Tie one like very troublesome and I scared not secure enough. But if the adhesive ones got wings will be better. Hee hee..

thks wish child...

So bore at home now and no mood to cont with my assignment... and I'm behind schedule.. haha

Hubby told me that he will need to try to clear as much work as possible and target to come home earlier after 10 Feb..... now he is back after 9.30pm... and has to work over the wkn.. sigh

Hopefully,my bb can come out after that... If come before the date, I'll have to bring my gal to my MIL's house before rushing to hospital..sigh....

O anyone still interested to get the placenta service suggested by geri earlier??

Choc: yeah bathe n cry at the same time so miserable... i even dun wan to go see baby... i think really on verge of depression. but second time should be better ba. :> jia you to both of us.

Zanta: i went to facial yesterday cant tahan liao. and i always like to squeeze my own pimples so my skin is very bad. my hubby ask me if i wanna be beautician since i like to squeeze pimple so much then help other squeeze during facial! hahaha

Seems like many of us having breakout and oily hair... hope confinement weather will be like now cooling so we wun be so uncomfy.

Congrats Fiona... so fast another mommy has popped... so exciting!

@Ah Ching: Wahhhh 6 mins very fast leh!! Good leh! No need epidural, no need to suffer so long.

I also haven't open up my steriliser, pump & bottles to wash. Haahaha! My sil said maybe this weekend we'll go through together. Then my mil can learn how to use.

@wish_child: Ya, my mum keep telling me to follow, if not next time old liao will suffer. She said she didn't listen to her mum last time cos my grandma's temper quite bad. Will get frustrated very easily. Then end up my mum will wash my clothes herself then now she suffers.. And she told me I cannot cry during confinement. She said she cried last time cos her piles were hurting her then now her corner of the eyes will always have tears flowing out without her realising until someone tells her.. *sigh* I gave her such a hard time when giving birth to me. =(

ah ching.. me too everything is done.. except havent put bedsheet for baby's bed.. dun wan it to become dusty.

and havent touch my breastpump.. been 2 years havent checked if working though i bought some new parts :p

Ah Ching / Zanta: How early did Dr Ang did VE on you? He say he will do VE on my wife at next appt 2 weeks later which she is only 36weeks. I read VE is not necessary and is to check whether to cervix had open ... think 36 weeks still quite early to do it. My wife afraid of the pain from the VE .. this one also scared... how to do delivery without epidural? haha

Zanta: Dr Ang says we should follow the first EDD date, the later not very relevant.

wonder if there's anything to buy from robinsons... thinking of going there to look see.. from the flyers doesn't seem much for kids.

i opened my old breastpump... motor still working after 2 yrs yay!

I'm hoping to deliver after 12 feb... CL prices back to usual... even if I deliver before that, am thinking of only asking her to come after 12 feb... think she will mind? after all it's fair right? she gets to enjoy her CNY...

Our first baby,

Yes the VE is very uncomfortable. But i tell you once labour hits, they will keep doing VE, and she wont even notice the VE pain because the labour pain is far worse!

i agree with big flamingo... first few times uncomfortable. after a while u need to relax then will be ok. and during labour not the dr.. but will be the midwives and nurses checking. maybe every hour!

ofb: if need to take epidural better to take. rather than get very tired from enduring the pain later difficult to push then will be assisted. altho take epi u can be too numb to push also la. I have a colleague too epi then sleep all the way until dr ask her to wake up n push!

@choc: wah, mt. E replenishes the pads everyday ar, but their charges also on the higher end lar.

@pinkyval: if not mistaken is 10 pads per pack. Mothercare have adhesive pads with wing, u might want to check it out.

Wah last nite again bad sleep cos of terrible heartburns... Pity my HB has work today n disturbed by me whole nite..

Just want to share wif all... I bought the Procanol lotion from pharmacies.. It's targeted to treat birth wounds n let it heal faster.. Simply apply after toilet visits lor.. U can chk it out.. Not too ex, cost abt $6+/bottle...

Alternative, my fren used salt water to rinse her bottom abt twice a day.. It's stingy feeling on d wound but it superbly numbs, cleanse n Dries d wound after dat..

No need to buy maternity pads la.. Just get those heavy flow night use, long ones will do since we may need to put on our panties to prevent wind during confinement leh..

Myself intend to bathe only after discharge cos aircon in hospital is too "windy" to bathe...

MamaYing (mamaying): You can try to scrub your face using Bayer Panadol for 10 seconds! not more.(as this brand it dissolves pretty fast and with good texture.) (green and white box)

and then smear a layer of egg white that already mixed with a table spoon of corn flour ( egg from your fridge as its cold! shiok!) on your face! and wait till its completely dry. Then wash off it off and put toner!

that controls my oily face for a week!! shiok!! must do twice a week! heheehhehe..... hope this helps!