(2011/02) Feb 2011

@Fiona: Am I seeing bb Jovan's eye socket? It seems that he has got big eyes oh.. Hope your next visit will be able to take bb Jovan's 3D pic. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] And I really do hope that this Friday Dr Ang will be able to take my girl's 3D pic. Hehe..

@Princess31: Lifetime membership sounds great!!

Sometimes it's really frustrating to see other places selling the items we bought at a much lower price. But we also can't be running about to compare prices as this would add up alot to the transportation cost. Just try our best can le. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Eviangal: Maybe I will buy a pkt of Huggies to let my girl try.

I'm so surprised that Pampers isn't that good for it's price..

@Geri: Where to get the Manduca bb carrier? I heard that it's good too.

@pootz: Thanks alot for the information, pootz!!

Any mummies will be going?

@pyng: But I had gained 1kg/wk for these 2 wks.. Haha.. I think my appetite is increasing again like 1st trimester.

Zantarina: ya.. that one is bb jovan's eye socket..

just now at the clinic there so many ppl..

den i was busy with my gal..

lucky when i doing the scan she never scream n shout..

she ate 10 cream puff.. never leave some for me..

Mrs Ong, My tummy bigger than urs a lot.. Haha. Mine only 23 weeks n my waist is 38 inches. *Faint* I getting fatter. Haha cant stop myself eating junk food. Mrs Ong dont worry about ur tummy size. Different ppl have different tummy size. Dont mean bigger tummy bb is bigger. My fren tummy are small but her bb came out is 3.5kg. Dont worry once u eat ur bb will absorb the food too. =) So dont worry n continue to eat.

Nashita, Cheer up =) Smile is good for u n ur bb. Dont worry anything u can pour out at here. Im sure all the mommies here willing to listen n borrow our shoulder to u. Wink wink.

Fiona, Oh Jovan so cute. But cant really see his face clearly. =) Great that he gained more weight n healthy. Oh cant wait for my check up on 10/11. Haha. I'm sure i gain a lot this mths.

Geri, Oh long time no see u in the forum woh. Haha glad u doing well. =) Oh i getting the Baby Bjorn Carrier. About the manduca bb carrier is it the same as Bjorn Carrier??

Hello all Mommies here. Hope everyone is not blue because today is Monday. DO stay happy n stressful.. i know it difficult but for our bb we need to do that So DO *SMILE SMILE* (~V~)

Oh for my girl she nowadays kick quite gentle dont know why. Maybe my tummy getting more layer of fats. SO her kick get gentle.. Haha. Hmm but she love to kick near my bladder sometime will felt shock. Haha. My girl name call Pearlyn. My hubby wanna call her Pearl but i added on yn. haha so is Pearlyn n i felt it sound nicer.

Mommies is anyone know which wedding banquet or function room can hold less than 10tables? But the budget is less than 700. =) Will be very appreciate if can share some information to me. Thanks u =)

Zanta, U gain 1kg within 2weeks. SO GOOD.. Haiz.I think i gain 1kg per weeks. Haha must stop myself anyhow eat le. Hmm still tryin.. But hard to stop myself munching n munching. Hmm great ur appetite increase. My appetite increase a lot. Until my hubby saw me eat he feel scary lor. I can eat 1 bowl of beef noodles n some rice n some side dishes. WOW i think i'm the only 1 over here ate so much. Hehe i'm too greed over food le.. =P

Hi Wish!

Nope. Manduca can use until the kid is 19kg!!

Just to give an idea- Kae was 19kg earlier this year at 8 years old (he is very lanky altho he eats a lot). =) Some kids hit 19kg when they are younger. But it can be used for way longer than Baby Bjorn carrier according to the manufacturers carry kids up to 2 years old at max 14kg. The Manduca has testimonies of a lady who carrier her kindergartener on a hiking trip in her carrier and she was 18kg!

As u can see, Baby Bjorn cannot use for as long. That is why I opted for Manduca. When the kids are older (Noah and future younger sibling), although they do walk on their own and all, when they get sleepy and want to be carried after a long day, we can use the Manduca to support the weight so not so heavy. No joke carrying 10-19kg "deadweight" around hahaha. Kae is lanky but when he is asleep, wah lau... I cannot carry him only hubby can. Lol. If ian's not around, Kae walks about like a zombie before i can get him in bed.

The Manduca makes it very effortless to carry the child and can be used from infancy. =) It also is ergonomical which means NO BACKACHE!

Website and testimonies here:

http://www.manducababycarrier.com.sg/

Worth the price... really. If not scour ebay for secondhand =) We just got one from ebay australia for AU$133 which is S$170 or so. Retail price in stores is about S$230-250 or so.

Fiona-

My next appointment is on the 3rd of November! =D

EXCITED MAN! XD

Geri, WOw so expensive for the carrier. hehehe the carrier is over my budget. I still thought of getting 2nd hand bjorn carrier can save a little bit more. But thank u for the recommand. =)

So fast u going for ur scan. How is noah doing nowadays? Getting more n more active? I cant wait for my girl checkup too. =) Can get the 2D pic. =)

Lol!!

Yea it is pricier but can use for longer and honestly having carried Kae before when he has to sleep/nap whenever we are out from babyhood up to even now (when we are out late shopping, for a show, family gathering, on trips), I have learned that I dun mind the investment... If not always kenah backache, shoulderache and neckache. Lol.

I am not thinking short term lor when I decided this was a necessity for us rather than a want, haha. =) It is a real literal pain having to carry a sleeping toddler/ kid. =p And since hubby gearing for a #3 some more hahaha, this should last us well to make the investment worth it. XD

I used to use something like Baby Bjorn with Kae and it didn't last long enough to make it worth my while hahaha. We could only use it until Kae was about 1 plus then we felt it was not good enough a support le.

But yes... do go according with your budget and needs for now be it for the pram, the carrier, the crib, the diapers, etc etc... Hugs! =) I believe should u someday need a carrier like this, you will be blessed with one for a very good price or for free. Amen. =)

Noah is kicking harder. He was SUPER ACTIVE last night. Super duper active. I hardly slept before I had to wake Kae for school coz he was kicking, tossing, turning, punching all night long. lol.

Thank you mummies for the encouraging words.. I am trying my best to be positive & be happy.. Jus dat smtimes I cannot ctrl it when I thk of the matter on hand..

Thankfully work made me forget for awhile but now heading hm, I dunno if I'll be sad again once I'm alone...

I pray too all will be fine soon...

Geri, yap thought of getting a good carrier cause if I go out alone with bb I no need bring stroller. Cause the stroller too troublesome to bring out if take bus. Hehe.

My girl have ever kick n tossing in my tummy until I can't slp. Haha but nowaday she more quiet maybe she get scolding from her daddy. Oh so cute Noah tossing n kicking in ur tummy. So nice I miss my girl kicking n tossing in my tummy at night. Hehe

Wish-

Hahaha. So fierce ah. Lol. I tend to LOL whenever he tosses and turns but also ask him nicely to PLEASE LET ME SLEEP & to toss and turn only when everyone is awake.

Nash-

I know. It can be tough sometimes to not mull over something that's upsetting. I assure you I've been there. I used to suffer from depression since I was a teenager and was a serious gloom cookie.

(Paused coz Kae got stung by a bee in his room!!! Wah lau eh!! Applied white vinegar to the sting after removing the stinger.)

The best way is to find an encouraging book to read, watch or listen to uplifting songs. U dun have to throw yourself solely into work to stop thinking of the upsetting stuff.

Hugs!

dropping in cos i cant sleep.

I think I'm spiralling downhill and getting some kind of mood disorder or PND.

I've tried talking to a few frens and siblings over the last few days but it isnt working out for me.

I think it's becos I keep thinking that they're not in my shoes so they wouldnt understand.

I think my condition is getting worse.

I've been treating my boy like 'sh**' the last few days and am Feeling real GUILTY abt it.

I tried not to hit him and ended up just ignoring him when he cries.

and ignoring him makes him cry HARDER.

I cant be bothered to pack the house or even shower.. and keep craving for junk food/ drinks.

I've thot hard abt what can make me feel better..

I feel trapped in my situation and know that the root of the prob. is my husband.

I am feeling severly anxious abt my children's future, (as in what will happen when my No.2 is born).

And I am feeling resentful that my husband is not contributing financially & physically to this family.

There's nobody to turn to who will help me voluntarily/ happily.

And I cant afford to hire any form of help.

I visited 2 childcare centres near my house and felt like crying when I saw the children in the toddler class.

at such a young age, they need to carry their own school bags, feed themselves, get trapped for 12 hours a day in a small little room with 8-12 other toddlers!

They will only get 1-2 adults attention and the main teacher is a foreigner..

I dont want my son to be subjected to such treatment!

But there's really nothing I can do abt it..

I've spoken to HB abt financial matters but he is procrastinating and told me he is so stressed that he is taking anti-depression medication prescribed by the doctor.

I havent seen him since he left home on Sat. morning.

I feel that I keep complaining abt my problems when I am sure there are others who are facing worse situation than I.

I blame myself for this weakness.. but I dont know how to move on.

I have thot abt divorce, but it'll just create additional stress to my already horrible situation.

Moreover I am not sure whether divorce will really make things better for me?

I keep thinking that I should have terminated this pregnancy when I found out.

Whenever my gal kicks me, which is often and hard, I just feel irritated.

whenever I talk to someone, they will comfort me and ask me to think positive.

Hearing these encouragement just makes me feel worse! cos it doesnt help me..

although I know others do care and meant well for me.

The situation is so HOPELESS.

Arghh. I really hope I can stop being so negative and emotional.

I have always been independent and logical, being this emotional is scaring me.

ah ching: "I feel that I keep complaining abt my problems when I am sure there are others who are facing worse situation than I. "

no two problems are identical.. your problem is equally as important as any others..

i think u might have prenatal depression.. i suggest u let your gynae knw soon. its probably ur hormones that are making u less rational than u usually are.. bcos of this, you might also be less incline to communicate with ur husband, and your husband u..

since u have tried talking to friends and it doesnt help, i think its time u sought higher professional help.. dont think about the money spent since it will make u feel better in the long run. what matters most right now is the baby. its already inside u, nothing u can do about it.. dont think of what ifs or about money just yet.. take one step at a time and just take a deep breath.. hugs..

Ah ching, I know it hard to face so much problem. But always think positive. If u felt no used to talk to ppl n ur close 1 maybe u can talk to ur gyna or doc. They will help u by listen to ur problem n find ways to help u?

For ur boy maybe u can ask ur parent or pil to take care for u? Divorce don't solve everything u better think twice before decide to do it. Try to cheer up or find time to relax urself.

Be strong no matter what happen. =)

Can't sleep so read thru the page and posting now...

Ah Ching

You recognise that you might have PND, that's half the battle won. The next thing to do is to seek help. My friends who were depressed went to speak to doctors and get proper help. They said it was the best thing they did. The worst thing is when ppl are in denial and refuse the seek help. Be brave. Many ppl have gone thru the same and you will survive it too.

Diapers

My first CL swore by mamypoko and the Nb stage it's still quite cheap so we bought that for at least the first month. My friend put it like this. Mamypoko is like maxi pad. Absorbs super great but will be bulky. Pampers is like whisper ultra thin. Haha. I used nepia too. Not bad, sama sama with mamypoko.

Then I discovered the wonderful world of NTUC housebrand diapers. Better then drypers and petpet imho cos I didn't like the noisy plastic adhesive part. And super duper cheap. And good enough quality for my dd's unfussy bum. No rashes though I change every 4 hours from 4 months till 24 months. Very absorbent can last thru whole night.

Another brand I like is Huggies. Mid range and good quality. I used it b4 I converted to NtuC. Will still buy time to time.

Eviangal

Eviangal

Is Huggies abt same price as mamypoko and nepia for newborn? Might get that for bb #2 to redeem toy heh heh.

Diaper bag

I fell in love with the jujube. Full range from www.jujube.com. Loved loved loved the cheery prints and managed to get friends who asked me what I wanted to share and buy for me. Was on sale by local distributor clearing stock so ended up paying less than US list price. Great insulated compartments and matching waterproof diaper mat. =)

But later I used mainly lesportsac cos super spacious and light. Every gram counts when I'm lugging a baby in carrier and bag all by myself for weekday mummy outings.

Carrier

Geri I'm 100% with you on the manduca / ergo types. Other than my dual electric breastpump, the most useful worthwhile bb thing was my Ergo carrier. Brought bb in it everywhere. Used from 3 months (when neck steady enough not to need infant insert, also the time we started making solo trips out to town twice a week to keep mummy sane) till she was more than 1 yr old. Strollers not as friendly or mobile. And bb loved being in it. Would fall asleep blissfully. Unlike in slings, no excessive pressure or strain on shoulders since weight is borne on hips. Only regret was that I didn't get a prettier design heh. And bjorn really just not so good, cos bb hangs by crotch instead of sitting on bum facing inwards.

Slings for first few months

I found pretty good prices for hotslings on US websites! Need a size 2 or 1 so indulging in one for use in first few months when bb is light. Only had a mIm ring sling which I found unwieldy and too much cloth for #1 so since I don't need to buy much for #2, splurging on a pretty pouch that will prob only last a short while hee.

I also can't sleep easily nowadays so I'm here reading and writing comments. Hehe..

@wish_child: Nope nope, I had gained 1kg/wk for these 2 wks so total weight gained is 2kg for these 2 wks. Scary!! Haha..

At first I also wanted to buy a Bjorn carrier but after seeing so much good comments on Manduca/Ergo carrier, I think I will consider to invest one of them as Bjorn Synergy carrier is around that price too.

@Fiona: Wow.. Bb Jovan has got real big eyes!! He must be a handsome lil boy!! I hope my girl's eye will be big & round too. Hehe..

@Trinket: I can't seems to view the diaper bags designs from the website you gave.. How much does a diaper bag cost approximately?

@Ah Ching: I know you're feeling sad but I dunno how to console you. Maybe you can try to consult a consultant/psychiatrist for your problem? Pls don't ever think of abortion again bcoz I believe bb can feel it.

@Nashita, @ Ah Ching: No matter what, pls try to stay happy ok?

RE: Baby Slings/Pouch

Have any mummy tried using Pupsik pouch b4? Is it good?

eviangal: maybe I'll email them to ask about the $10 off the binder... My maid used the telon oil on my baby last time and whenever my older girl complained of stomachache. The Telon oil seems to be less spicy than the Ru Yi Oil. There were a few occasions when my #2 cried when i put Ru yi oil on her..i felt so bad! :p

That said, I think Ru Yi Oil is really effective... I used to think its so old fashioned, but there were a few times i felt tummy upset or lots of wind, putting ru yi oil really helped!

The JamuMassage was not bad, like what you said, i really like the hot stones compress, i think that makes a lot of diff. Last timethey had a promotion on SG motherhood so i signed up with them. But now compared to your recommendation this Jamu Massage is more ex. So i am considering my options.

For my #1, i engaged thisfree lance malaylady recommended by a Malay colleague. Not good, coz firstly, she really is thosecome from Kampong kind, speaks v little English, really hard to communicate. Then traditionally they used this lime and chalk paste put on some leaves to put on the tummy before binding...OMG it was so itchy i broke out into rashes. In the end i cancelled her services after tolerating for 3 days.

So i prefer those shops type rather than free lance. Quality control i guess! and they use better oil i think.

i saw on the origins jamu massage website they sell this lemon grass shower gel for confinement shower. Lookslike it smells nice..but quite pricey.

Any mummies going to buy those herbal packets to boil for confinement?

Princess 31: i hate the tummy wrap part because gotta put on for hours and its quite restrictive--coz they bind all the way till the hips part so gotta walk small steps so mafan! Oops..i must be very chor lor.

And usually the lady wraps me in the morning and by late after noon i will take it out and shower. Bueh tahan! If i am not wrong the norm is to put it on until the next day till the lady comes again right?

The website says put it on for 6-10hours.

Zanta... If u asking about pupsik pouch then I am a faithful user of this brand and can u imagine I got 3 different design of it and using it daily currently...

I started using it since my boy was around 5-6mths... Before that was using infantino carrier which is also not bad lar

Without pupsik pouch hor.. I doubt I can still carry my 17kg heavy boy till now and survived the past 1 week whereby my hubby was in reservist! Lol

If got any good sale I let u all know lar... I guessing during Xmas will have some great buy and am waiting to add one more design to my current collection :p

@Zanta: Yeah, there are certain things my sil can pass to me. But things like strollers and cot I have to buy myself cos her baby still need to use. And it's very difficult to book my hubby leh. His work always last minute one. That time he also said he'll go to this babyfair with me. But end up also cannot make it.

Nasita and Ah Ching: I dont know how to comfort you. But I hope you could stay strong for your baby. Understand that you are not going through a very easy time hence the depression.. No matter how tough the road is, there should alwats be a way out.

There is a passage that I always refers to whenever I am feeling low. I hope it can help you too..

"Don't Quit!"

When things go wrong, as they sometimes will

When the road you are trudging seems all uphill

When the funds are low and the debts are high

and you wanna smile but you have to sigh

When care is pressing you down a bit

Rest if you must but don't you quit.

Life is queer with its twists and turns

As everyone of us sometimes learn

and many a failure turns about

When he might have won had he stuck it out

Don't give up though the pace seems slow

you may succeed with another blow.

Sucess is failure turned inside out.

The silver tint of the clouds of doubt

And you never can tell how close you are

It may be near when it seems so far

So stick to the fight when you are hardest hit

Its when things seem worse, that you must not quit!

Mrs Ong: I am sure your baby is growing well, except the thing is not showing on your tummy. Isnt that a good sign that you could slim down faster?

Yes. Taking back Origins Jamu. But will confirm only after Nov parenthood fair. Wanna confirm no better deals first.. keke..

Zanta/ Trinket: Just a note ya.. the one I have been ravng about is Huggies Ultra. Huggies new born and small offer is during baby expo, you buy it, it will have a free toy different from the Ultra/ Pull Ups. There was 1 event, they gave ELC turtle toy (only when your purchase includes Huggies new born/ small. Cant remember min how many of those to qualify liaoz)..

Also, currently Huggies have a Hugtown promo. Cut the pink/ green labels on the packets to redeem for more toys or diapers.

Plus... remember to keep the Huggies points and barcodes on the packets too... Sometimes, they have points promotion. E.g. Use a certain number of points to get toys e.g. Little Tikes Coupe at almost 50% discount (UP $200, now $109), etc. Such offers are periodic too.. Doesnt repeat and everytime got different toys, you dont know when they will launch what.

Barcodes on the packets can be accumulated to change for more toys when the promo is here. The last one they had was to collect 7 barcodes from Ultra/ Pull ups to change for a Little Tikes musical toy worth $39.90.

I have been keeping all my points, barcodes and hugtown stamps and waiting for a good promo to change these..

Best time to buy Huggies is during baby expos or Taka baby fair.. The last baby expo was the worst!!!

My previous Huggies buys are roughly around $12.50 to $14 for a packet of Huggies ultra or pull up. But I only buy them when they have free gifts. usually, they would require you to buy 4 packets of Ultra/ Pull ups for a free toy.

My toys accumulated so far includes little tikes torch light, V-tech pull along toy, Mothership diaper bag, little tikes toy car, little tikes doodle board, etc...

I hope the upcoming parenthood fair have good Huggies buy again.. cos its 1 of the main sponsor.. Hopefully they have better prices and free toys for offer this time round.

Trinket: Your NTUC diapers sounds cheap and good, mayb i wana buy some of those to use in the 1st 2 months.. Cos that is going to be a hefty period.

Clio: Thank you for sharing your post natal massage experience. Now I know how free lancers work.. Ya.. I also scare of such situations so I prefer to hire those with companies.. For the binder, I think by evening can remove and bathe liaoz..

Not going to use herbs to shower.. Cos heard that its sticky.. Anyway, Mrs Wong did mention as long as we bathe with warm water, can liaoz..

Carriers: I bought a Bjorn initially, but after reading reviews that it cant last long, I sold my Bjorn and bought an Ergo instead. Find Ergo pretty good as I dont feel the weight.. But very bulky also lei.. Stopped using after a few months.. Cos bb dont really like to be in the carrier too.. Now that she is walking, I use the stroller more.. And sometimes, when we get tired carrying her, we let her walk.. When she is asleep, we put her in the stroller instead.

Maduca carrier -

I've seen a seller in facebook for the basic design at S$65 (before postage i think). Maybe I'll try to trace her down.

By Geri's high recommendation, I think might be a good idea to get it huh? Geri which model is yours?

long time din post here. hope everyone is doing fine. been busy with 2 kids as they take turn falling sick. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

anyone buy car seat for infant already? any good brand to reco?

@choc i bought the pupsik pouch too. but i dun really knw how to use it. i very scare my baby will drop out fr the pouch. but my previous maid is very good in using it. i still keep it. i think practise more will be ok.

@eviangel -

i love keeping coupons for freebies! hehehe! Thanks for the info!

So should it be Mamypoko/ Nepia/drypers/petpet/ NTUC housebrand/Huggies? So confused :p

slim.... next time when we have gatherings i show u ya...no worries...wun drop out one.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Zanta, I gain 1kg per week. So 1mths = 4kg. Haha my gyna said if my weight continue gain so much my bb will be above 3.5kg when due. Haha so scary I scare later I become very fat fat hard to slim down.

For the Bjorn Synergy carrier heard that the best Bjorn carrier compare to the rest Bjorn carrier. Hmm but I found it too expensive. Zanta If u don't mind second hand product u can go eBay or forum to look for it. It will be cheaper n some still in good condition. =)

Valeria, dont worry u still have 3 more months to shop for bb stuff. Stroller can slowly look around n search. Since we can't go out during confinement n the best is bring bb out when bb after 2mths or 3mths. For cot u can take look at Kaki bukit baby kingdom So far I find there sell cot is the cheapest.

Mommies thank u for the recommend of diapers. For the ntuc diaper will it leak if the urine overflow? Heard petpet also not bad. Just afraid it will leak.

R.E. carriers

Yeah thumbs up for Ergo. It's a bit hot to wear if there is no air-con though, because it is padded. I also used it until number 1 was almost 18 months. For outdoor use in Singapore, I also got one of those sarong type slings with a ring grip.

Wish child,

Don't worry. Mine was 3.69 kg and I lost all the weight in a few months and in fact weighed less than before pregnancy with zero exercise. YOur bb will be giving you a good workout!

wish child, i also gain weight 1 kg per week. now i try to control my diet. but feel hungry easily. no supper for me now. but i manage to lost weight when i bfing my baby last time. but stop bfing, gain weight again. haha...

SLim, I also feel hungry easily. Normally if i dont eat something before i went to bed. I will start to get hungry on the middle of night or morning 5am. Hehe. Then my bb will keep on kicking inside. Haha. So no choice must ate something before i go to bed. =)

Mummies keen in the ergo, can try this seller. Honestly i dont know y she is selling it so cheap at S$60. She claims it is authentic.

You can check it out to decide. Think you may need to add her as friend for more details.

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/album.php?aid=27970&id=100000924440221

If you cant view, try searching under Bebe Jac.

Actually after checking out Ergo (my friend uses it) and Manduca, I went with Manduca because

1) it doesnt need infant insert

2) has a better make than Ergo and is less bulky

There is a shop in Square 2 Novena where u can see various slings of such nature. Itz near the toilet on the first floor. =)

Ergo at $60? Maybe she is selling it cheap because it is older (ie wear and tear OR faded from washing).

Pootz-

I got the basic design =) Wah $65 is a real bargain! Hurry go buy le. Dun wait! =D

Geri: $60 is for brand new ones lei.. Its a pre-order under bulk purchase. Really duno y so cheap too.. Cos SMH selling at $150.

Ah Ching-

I agree with joodz. I think maybe both of you need to seek counselling and that you might want to inform your gynae that you could be having depression due to the hormonal changes from pregnancy.

Indeed, no 2 problems are the same and no one will belittle your issues... So feel free to open up and share here k?

Right now, the best thing you can do is to make sure you don't act on impulse. HUGS. Remember that your emotions are colouring a lot of the things you around you as being bleaker than they really are. I suffered from depression too from 15 all the way until I was in my early 20s so I understand how tough it is to see things positively then. Huggles.

U know the childcare treatment you depicted is not all bad. The silver lining is that the child really learns to be very independant from young.

My friend is working and her hubby too so her youngest has to attend childcare from morning onwards. The older one attends school then goes on to childcare. Both are well-adjusted, well-behaved and very cheerful kids. They understand that their parents are at work & my friend and her spouse just makes sure that they really spend quality time with them whenever they are together.

So it really isn't as terrible a situation as depicted.

I will be keeping you in prayer dear one. Don't lose hope.

Eviangal-

Wow. Brand new? Perhaps there was a cancellation and they have a ton of stock on hand or something. =) What is the link for it? Share with the other mummies too k?

But do note that for Ergo, u will need to buy an infant insert to carry newborns. ^.- So dun forget to purchase that if u get it ya?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6wL-F12KKR8

--- that is the infant insert

This is the reason why I chose to get Manduca... see how u carry newborn in Manduca. No need for insert... :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HoA26qtokP0

But for $60, the Ergo is really worth getting... even if it means buying the infant insert. =)

@Geri - oh, i just realised manduca and ergo are different. Hahah! silly me! Looking at the pictures, the ergo carrier seems to be more clothy at the .. would it be too hot for our weather?

@eviangel - mebbe it's the same seller we're talking about. hahah, you think reliable?

@pootz-

Yea. I feel manduca material is sturdy but not as thick and hot. That is why I chose it over Ergo. Initially I was "die die" want to buy Ergo coz I saw my friend using it effectively.

But when I checked out a store and saw Manduca at work, I was impressed by how the design was less bulky, the straps were sturdier and the design was overall a lot smarter.

Ergo is still good, but I decided on the spot to hunt for a Manduca instead of an Ergo after I checked the slings out for myself. XD

I am hopeless with using slings... and with pouches, to use them properly, you will have to buy different sizes over time depending on how baby grows and whether u lose/put on weight. And my hubby, Dad and I are of varying sizes... we are prob the 3 who will be using the carrier.

So I decided a pouch costs $40-70 and it isn't practical to buy a few sizes/ designs for me. Plus pouches cannot carry beyond a certain age too. =(

So in the end after all the research and mulling over, decided on Manduca lor.

I am also interested in SleepyWrap actually hahaha but can only use up to 18mths. If you are going for sling or pouch, you can also check it out. It mimics the womb environment the closest amongst all the baby carriers & is not hard to use. If you can use sling, this is chicken feet. If you cannot use sling, also chicken feet. The shop demo-ed for me and whilst it looks hard, when u try it out, it is actually quite easy to secure the sleepywrap.

Hi mummies.

Am having terrible sore throat now from screaming at my son last night.

Am feeling a little better now cos my boss gave me a treat (fish head steamboat).

Eating really lifts a person's mood.

I have a Pikkolo carrier and may suggest mummies who are petite to try it.

The manduca doesnt suit me cos the straps keep falling off my small frame so I got a Pikkolo.

Am thinking of getting a lightly used second hand Medela Freestyle for $350, US version. Is it a good deal?

Good afternoon all mummies!!

*big WAVE & HUGGSS*

Nashita & Ah Ching,

I'm not very gd at consoling people but really hope your dark period will be over soon. If there's anything that we can help you with, please feel free to voice it out k.

Jiayou mummies!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

A few days ago my dad shared this with me and I thought that it's really quite meaningful. JTS!

http://www.slideshare.net/vijay2623/life-a-journey-on-train#

Re: baby carrier

Have been using Baby Bjorn Synergy for no.1 and was looking to buy another carrier.

Heard great reviews for both Ergo and Manduca and considering either one.

No complains with Bjorn so far only that my boy now weighs 10.8kg and nearing the upper limit of 12kg of the carrier!

Thanks Geri for the links and your views! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Will check the videos out.

I'm also hopeless with using slings. Got a MIM sling previously but jus couldn't figure out how to use it properly and comfortably for both baby and myself. Gave it away in the end!!

Eviangal,

$60 for BN Ergo is a steal!! Would u be getting from the seller?