(2011/02) Feb 2011

reducing water retention:

i am facing very bad water retention.. my gynae says vitamin B is good for curbing water retention so he prescribed me vit b supplements. really helped as i 80% of my swell went off in 2 days.

i have taken off my ring since start of 2nd tri.. feel very tight alr..

Fiona: baby wipes, cheaper to buy Angel brand. I used to have the supplier very cheap only $3+ per packet of 3 big packets. But nowadays duno y the seller nvr reply to my smses and calls anymore. Cant reach him.

For the rest, I think Batam is the cheapest so far... Bottle brush, Daiso one not bad..

If Johnson and Johnson got booth mayb can get too.. The rest dont think I saw at bb fairs..

Sorry to interrupt.

BRAND NEW AVENT BPA FREE STARTER SET AT $35!

STILL IN SHRINK WRAP!

Includes:

- 2*125ml bottles

- 2*260ml bottles

- 2 extra teats

- pacifier

- brush

Retail Price is $49.90.

Bought at recent TAKA Baby Fair at $39.20

SELLING AT $35.

Self collection weekends at Serangoon Central or weekdays lunch time at City Hall or Suntec City.

Please PM me if interested.

What you mommies think of the brand Lucky Baby? Are they safe and good product?

It seems to me their stuffs are cheaper.

Saw discount on walker and playpen.

eviangal.. u gg later.. me going later

mummies.. have been bz with items bought for my booth this weekend... hope gets ggod response

evian.. oh is it steven of Angel wipes never reply nymore.... mummies going to fairs shld get the EQ wipes also... good price.. 2 per pack i tink - i stock quite a few and i have a whole box of wipes at home when i don not usually use them for babies

Princess 31 - as weird as u tink it is .. the remedy of swollen feet is correct. Drink more water as water rentention happens when ur body detects not enuf fluids being consumed and will retain it. i had no water retention during my 3 pregnancies.. had on my last one... so i drank more water and it did go down.. hope this helps

where is our owl geri.. guess she must b bz as hubby is back in spore rite?

Fiona... most of the items u need nt necessarily be cheap in the fair.. but i help u keep a look out

Tollyjoy stuff are much cheaper in Malaysia.. i can help mummies buy if u guys want like bottle brushes and all.. but self collect from me ok.. better lah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

OFB - Lucky Baby is a reputable brand, though cheaper it is reliable as well. No harm on to buy their stuff.. it is like the Peg and Prego of the lower income families lah.. I have a few stuff of their brand.. and they are fine... something like Samsung of electronics lah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

baby is constantly active in tummy even when sleeping also i can feel... hmmm.. a bit different i felt from my other pregnancies.. though same gender..all diff cravings /symptoms / likes and dislikes ... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

fiona.. no problems.. but for napisan.. my older thread mummies did bulk order combine for cheong choon to deliver to them as well.... will update again

How everyone mummies and hope everyone is fine and happy! Really no time to read all the posts as I really tied up and busy clearing my backlogs these past 2 days. TGIF as i still feel drained after my hk trip last wed. Regarding my hk trip, it was a pretty tiring trip for us lol…walk quite a lot and my poor parents in laws walked till legs ached and swollen! As for me, I walked till my backache! Did anyone encounter that as well, walk too much till backache? Another concern is my eating habits as my MIL and hubby commented that I always eat the same food and worried about my bb growing development. Then my MIL kept asking me to eat more so that baby will be big and hence will have less sickness after birth…is that true as I did not buy that coz I feel is important to eat well but not more. Besides eating multi vitamin, I did not eat other supplement and maybe I should start eating other supplement as well…really scare my bb will not be healthy. Then now I dun dare anyhow ji bu except birdnest and chicken with dong cong cao on biweekly. Really ‘fan’!

I just came back from the baby fair at expo.. Was very disappointed as there weren't much to see.. Not sure if they have not finished setting up (as the half of the hall was like with empty booths behind) or that's it already.. Was looking at a Capella Stroller at $399 (same price as what I saw at Kaki Bukit Hypermart).. So I guess the prices are not low too..

There are some booths selling diapers and wipes.. Not sure if the prices are alot cheaper as I didn't check on the price outside.. But saw an uncle with about 5 big bags of diapers.. Haha.. So should be cheaper I supposed.. But I dunno which brand..

Was recommended by my gf to a Baby Boutique at Tampines.. I will be going later and shall update if there are any good stuff/prices..

@Preciousbabi: Thanks for keeping us informed! Hopefully I can go tomorrow. My hubby recently has been very busy with his work. Not sure if he'll be able to go with me tomorrow. =( Anyway my sis said she saw from newspapers quite a lot of things leh. She said the things that I'm looking for also have. But then again, the things that I want are very common. Stroller, cot, breast pump and some clothes if have. So I guess the price there are not really a lot cheaper? But does it comes with any freebies? My sis said she saw from newspaper the steriliser is selling at $188. Don't know what comes with it though.

@Val: I saw the papers too.. I think what they have is all on the papers lor.. And the variety of strollers and cots are limited.. Not what I expected hence the disappointment ba.. Coz initially I thought can buy everything together.. But sad to see only a few booths selling stuff that I need.. Not sure about freebies though.. Coz not interested in asking already.. Haha..

@preciousbabi: Hahha! So disappointing ah? Then I think I better don't expect much. I was surprised to see you so fast come back from the fair. Haha! So if unable to make it also no love lost lor? Lol~

@preciousbabi: Hmmm.. I better not expect much and better not show any unhappiness when my hubby said can't go. Scarly later I "force" him to go then end up in a disappointment then he'll be upset liao. Hahahaha! =p

@Val: haha.. I'm going now again coz my hubby wants to go to the electronic fair.. So I will probably go into the baby fair again to see if more booths are opened or not.. Will update again tonite..

Thanks Duchchess... i will go see the webby and PM you my orders.. but not sure if i have the time...seems a bit quiet at workplace today..hopefully i got time to browse thru.

Mrs Ong: i am gg HK too.. going next Sunday..yah i dun dare to walk too much too. will rest and walk along the way. think the weather is getting cooler there now.. SHIOK! my sister is working there now and she says that there is some typhoon..signals are still low..hopefully it stays that way...

The haze is bad these days , so take care Mummies!

BabyFair

I am going tomorrow morning at 11am. Thanks PreciousBaby for the feedback. Was it crowded? A lot of my mummy frens also told me the same thing. Expo fairs may not be cheaper. In fact,some are more ex that what outside is selling. (e.g: Taka fair is cheaper, Tom & Stefanie, Kiddy palace are all pretty cheaper)Its just a good place for all the diff retailers to come together to sell their wares. And being excited First time mummies, we tend to over-buy. But there may be some stuff worth getting if its a bundle deal.

I am not very sure on the price lists but here's one I've seen so far.. not sure if it is the cheapest but you can compare these prices VS the EXPO price... but i not so sure if all these prices are still on offer. saw them last week at the malls.

1. Pigeon New starter Bundle Pack (consist of rapid steam sterilizer, warmer, 2 bottles)

- $190 - John Little , before 20% JL member discount. membership is free.

- $169 - BHG

Haha, sorry for the limited info...cause i only plan to buy this at the moment.

My shopping list @ Expo:

1. Sterilizer - Pigeon Rapid steam

2. Avent bottles x 2 (125ml)

3. Teats (for newborn 0-3 months)

4. Warmer - Pigeon (if it comes in the starter bundle pack). If not, I will hang on for this item as in event of no EBM, no need for warmer. warmer only to defrost and warm the EBM.

5. Bathing wash, gripe -water, rash cream - Mustela. (this brand is much more expensive, but its very very good. one bottle each can last ard 6 months, if expo got promo, will get this until baby is 6 months over, will switch to other brands)not sure on the pricing outside though .

6. Babycot and playpen - i will get it at a later stage..hopefully got cheaper prices outside.

7. car-seat.. same as no. 6

8. stroller .. a lot of mummies have commented that this can be bought when baby is 6 months old..they may not want to sit in the stroller.

9. baby carrier. i like the Bjorn...but its expensvie! Mothercare is selling at $190.

10. breast pump - my fren will lend me hers to test my milk supply first. i will decide to get at a later stage..maybe when baby is born 2-3 months later.

Other stuff like clothes, mittens, bathing accessories will get from Kiddy Palace or Tom & stefanie..

Hahaha...so i am only going to get Item 1,2,3,5 and maybe item 4.

and maybe some clothes for baby if its cheap.

hmm wonder if its worth the trip down since i am not buying much?

for mummies who have water rentention on their hands, Mrs Wong Boh Boi said during my last week lesson to massage the palms and hands.. it will help ..

2 of the mummies in the class went up to her for advice and i saw that their hands were pretty swollen. they said it is most swollen in the morning.

i am having bad backaches these 2 days. or it seems like the area below the tummy where the ligament is streching. it seems that my tummy is really expanding a lot. i am in my 24th week now. my tummy is now 37 inches! i find that i look 8 months pregnant... trying to eat lesser if not i cant imagine the big tummy to support and the back pain at the last 3 months.

I just got back from my babymoon on Sunday, and it was fantastic! Since it was our last long haul trip before we become parents, we made it a good one and went on a Mediterranean cruise. Spent 3 night free and easy in Venice, then 7 nights on a cruise ship with port stops in Ancona, Mykonos, Santorini, Athens, Corfu and Dubrovnik. Ate lots and lots, esp seafood and fresh fruit, which is cheap and plentiful there. Beautiful scenery. Sigh we love to travel!

Regarding bringing baby on holiday next time, friends of mine with kids have mentioned that a good time to bring them is when they are very small, around 4-6 months old, cos at that stage they are not weaned yet and you don't have to worry about bringing baby food/cooking porridge for them to eat. Just bring milk and go. If you're breastfeeding, just bring yourself and go [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Air travel is also extremely cheap for them (I think it's 10% of an adult airfare), and if you feed them milk/water during takeoff and landing, they don't have that much problem equalising air pressure in their ears. Just a thought. My hubby is planning to attend a conference in Boston next June, when the baby is 4 months old, and I am thinking of going along and bringing baby. Might take the chance to visit our relatives in the US and Canada and show off our new arrival [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hubby also has a work trip to KL in early December, and I plan to take leave and go as well. His hotel is next to KLCC, convenient for me to eat and shop, yay!

Regarding sashimi, my gynae has allowed it from day one, as long as fresh and from reputable source, so I have been eating it throughout this pregnancy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] the only restrictions I have imposed on myself is alcohol and only 1 cup of coffee a day.

I hope the baby fair is not too disappointing! The hubby and I are going down tomorrow and we're hoping to buy a Quinny stroller. We like the Buzz, which usually retails for around 1K, but friends say that at baby fairs usually can get for less than $800. Anyone knows if there is a Quinny booth at the fair?

Hi Cherry,

welcome back! wow so envy! your trip is like so nice!! i cant take long trips cause of work and hence, only manage a short one to BKK in my 3rd month and going HK next sun..

Sashimi

Yah, mrs wong also said so long as its clean and reputable, can eat...cause its good for us. but i dun dare to eat too much too... haha! going Akashi at orchard parade later for jap dinner. yay! its been so long since i have it.

BabyFair

I read from other threads that nothing much. wonder if its cause 1st day?

Apparently, there's no direct reatiler from Pigeon..and no Avent..

Maybe can call the organiser number to check on the brands you are interested first...

Cherry - so far, the cheapest Quinny Buzz i come across is at First Few Years as it's selling at about $830.

Btw, Philips Carnival Sale is happening on Oct 30 & 31!!

Yay Philips Carnival Sale! Time to go and buy all the Avent stuff. What nice timing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lalalala =)

Sorry have not been online lately haha.

1) Hubby back from Ozzie so busy trying to catch up with him on stuff. He has been quite stressed at work so I try to spend time with him so he can unwind a bit and have a listening ear to come home to. =)

2) Kae's exams are next week!!! So have been grilling him on his Mandarin. Only time I am not grilling him I am sleeping or spending time with hubby.

3) Took on a part time assignment that will see me overseeing/managing the social networking aspect of a company. So that will help increase our family's mthly income but shouldnt be too stressful (I HOPE!) =)

@Gregda - I was sitting beside you during Tues class :p

Sashimi - yeh, my Dr (the conservative one who dissuade me from babymoon overseas) had allowed me to eat Sashimi since Day 1. Just don't take those from the conveyor belts as you don't know how long they've been on it. Get those that's freshly cut by the chef. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Babymoon... sigh....

Joodz-

O! I think that is why I havent had water retention. I have been on Vit B since 1st tri (actually even before that coz we tk vitamins/ supplements regularly). =) Met up with my friend (a mother of 2) and she remarked "EH! You've not really become too fat or swollen leh!" Wahahaha. Hurrah!

BABY KICKS

Kae felt Noah kicking the other day. It wasnt a lot. I guess because I was chubby in the first place hahaha, so Noah has got to kick through a lot of fats to get to our hands hahaha.

"It's like a light touch, mummy," he said.

Hubby waited very patiently to feel a kick (until his hand probably started getting crampy hahaha) and felt it but wasn't sure if it was me or baby. Lol.

I CANNOT WAIT FOR NOAH TO KICK HARDER SO THEY CAN SEE AND FEEL IT! =D

When Noah kicks me, I could be eating dinner or reading a book etc and I will giggle a bit hahaha. It is such a ticklish and lovely feeling. =D I suspect strangers around me might think I "kee siao" already when I giggle hahaha.

Preciousbabi-

I too feel weird not wearing my rings... =)

Because I am somewhat allergic to white gold and gold lol, I made hubby get me surgical steel rings to wear daily. I had a really bad situation where the skin around my finger started peeling when I wore white gold ring. Googling said it was an allergic reaction. So for my wedding ring, I got a surgical steel ring with blue precious stone & for the ring to wear in place of the white gold engagement ring that he had custom made, I also got a surgical steel ring with some nice mock diamonds haha. I am not particular about the material of the ring, and am a bit chor lor so this arrangement makes me happy. Surgical steel ring very nice and hardy & I don't feel nervous when I drop them etc. I guess the symbolism of the rings mean more to me than how much it costs or the material used.

When my fingers fattened a little and I could not wear our wedding ring, he got me a new ring, same design in a larger size hahaha.

OK now back to work hahaha. I will try to check in soon. =D Anyone want to find me or to remind me about customising those t-shirt design, and names to put on the graphics haha (sorry I dun remember who... I know Idaar wants for her kids but I dunno their names...), pls PM me ok? =D

I will definitely reply.

Let's connect on FB too. =D I check my FB everyday almost every other hour hahaha. So PM me ur email address to me and I will add u =D

Tangobabe-

Hihi! Yay! I am not the only one under SF Loh on this forum now. =D My EDD is 21/2 ^.^ <3 one day before yours and 2 days before my Wedding anniversary. =D

===

KAE'S NOSE

Amazingly despite the cut being quite deep, it has more or less healed. It is scabbing a bit but the bits where the scab has fallen off shows no scarring. PHEW! =D

My parents just got back from their Jap holiday and I told my mum once more to stop putting old towels and t-shirts on the floors of the bathrooms and kitchen. So many people have almost slipped and fallen because of these. Hope she takes my advice coz she can be very stubborn. =p

Anyway hearing them talk about their Hokkaido trip and how they eat seafood and SASHIMI (argh!!!) until sian is making me feel T.T

eviangal and preciousbabi-

Love the Bobbi Brown makeover photos! =D Nicely done! And u both look really good! =D

Pootz: LOL! hahahaa. oh ya! say Hi to me next time..:p

@ Geri: hahaha..weekend lor, go eat some nice sashimi! I heading to Akashi now..yay!

gregda-

No sashimi for me til after pregnancy hahaha. =) If I start, I tell u I can eat dunno how many plates lor haha.

After I give birth... hehehe I WILL WHACK SASHIMI (I miss my salmon and my raw prawns etc)

Hi Duchess,

can i just ask you? if i am a size S pre-preg, what size should i select now on the ASOS?

u know their cutting?

@Geri - they say if you breastfeed, still must abstain from Sashimi leh!! But since I've already been given the go-ahead, I'm going ahead all the way! ;p

pootz-

Hahahaha! Gd for u! =D Chi De Tong Kuai for us! =) I miss eating raw prawns and sashimi and I miss eating my beef almost rare dipped in egg (sukiyaki style).

I prefer to wait it out for now hahaha. What I really feel like eating at the moment is strangely Laksa. Been on my mind for the last few days... XD