(2011/02) Feb 2011

Those who had signed up TMC's FBI card, did the agent from AXA called you up and arrange for a meetup to explain the policy to you?

mami B - i understand the change in lifestyle that's needed. I love travelling too, I've had my fair share of diving, hiking, camping and road trips. Ever since we started family planning, I've been reserving child-friendly places like club med, star cruise, genting for life after kids :p

Having kids, i guess the places you go changes. No more clubbing, no more dainty highteas, but more to ikea, downtown east and child frenly places. Groupies change from singles/ kid-less to parents of kids.

Hahaha, I can say all these now, and I'm sure I'll miss the old lifestyle... but i guess I'll "know next time". :p

@trinket - i agree with you.. our priorities changes. We may bemoan and miss our freedom, but we probably won't want it any different [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I hope I'll be able to leave my kids once in awhile in others care, and not be so needy of our kids. I believe that we still need me time and couple time. =D

pootz, yah.. now we go to the playground, swimming pool, beach, parks, macdonalds, birdpark, any water parks, fly kites, zoo, science centre, rider's cafe, shopping malls, other kids birthday parties, ALOT.... almost every sat and sun is filled with these... very different activities from last time..

zanta: the agent will call but u can meet after u have delivered.

the axa agent came after i delivered and and I extended the 6 mths free insurance coverage to 1 year, so paid $26+ only

Zanta,

Yes we did. It is pretty much a waste of time because we wasn't interested in what they are offering to us. Giving us the free 6 months protection is just a small excuse to meet up with us and asking us to sign a policy.

Nothing comes free.

sorry to disturb, i'm from sep thread.

would like to sell drypers S 64 pc & pigeon breastpad 60 pc @ $23. self collect at clementi central. pls PM me if you're interested. thanks.

pootz

yah it's ok, you'll lose some friends who won't adjust their schedules to meet you when u can, but you'll make a lot more friends (like us on this thread!) and have lots of fun mummy and baby gatherings / complain sessions. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

and get to know lots of other cute babies and kids. and other families in similar life stages.

wells, it's time to "see" your friends truly too!

anyway, indeed it's different from last time when it's just the two of us, but now and then, something can still be work out for us. it will be easier if we have support from our families too!

the joy you get your child will make all worthwhile!

pootz, my advice will be to start a support network once your BB is born.

Get grandparents/ frens/ people u can trust involved so that BB can be familiar with them.

Sometimes can bring BB to stay overnight at grandparents home etc..

hi d-duchess,

i will take a look at the ASOS webby and PM you the links if i want to order anything ya...

i signed up for the FBI too and this agent keep calling me. she said she wants to explain the free policy to me and that she has to meet me though i feel its more than that... i.e: cross-sell other products to us. when i ask her if she is agent, she say she is an underwriter.

lucky u guys commented on this. so in fact, i do not need to meet her at all to sign anything right? the free 6 months policy is intact already right?

I think it will be exciting leh... you know my hubby now won't go to zoos or birdpark or singapore parks with me, coz very hot la, very tired lah.... Weeknds, other than watching movies, shopping, it's staying at home for online games, surfing and tv. So I'm secretly excited that I would be able to visit the zoo, science centre etc again! To see things in different perspective, to venture into unexpored territories! Wahahahhaa, thanks to my baby!!! =P

D-Duchess: What's the process for signing up to deliver at TMC? Did you book thru your gynae?

Pootz: I went for the TMC hospital tour and the rooms you get to see are subject to availability. So I got to see the nice suites (too ex though!) and the 2-bedded. Didn't get to see the Premier types and the 1-bedded, but the tour guide will show you pictures. I think more importantly, you get a feel of the whole place, and the delivery rooms, the facilities and recce the nurses. Of course, it's just first impressions lah. But overall I felt quite comfortable there (especially after I went to Mt A to visit my friend and got weird vibes from the place) so I think TMC should be fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm also wondering what life will be like once bb comes along. Up to now, there's still a small aprt of me which is yearning for one last babymoon - ie. holiday with hub before bb comes out. Next time, we must wait till he is certain age before thinking about going for overseas holiday, then must choose place which is kid-friendly, got suitable food, transport system etc ... I guess cannot be too far away too?? but my hub and I like to go far-flung places leh ... I was actually planning for either US, S America or Europe within the next 2 - 3 yrs ... now maybe have to look a little nearer ...

but like the mothers here say, hopefully the sacrifices will be worth the joy our babies bring into our lives [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Zanta,

The agent called and he was very persistent to meet up ..

But my hubby din want to meet him coz the 6th mths insurance was already part of FBI membership ..

So when I asked the agent the purpose of meet-up if the 6mths is part of the membership and he reluctantly mentioned that he might have other products to intro ..

And I stopped replying his sms after that ..

@princess - within 2-3 years or shorter go US/ Europe? With/ without your bb? I not so ambitious. Hahahaha!

I think travelling is a personal decision. Some pple even say going out anywhere in Singapore is troublesome with a baby/toddler. Don't need to talk about travelling for such people. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Peronally, I think travelling around Asia should be ok, bearing in mind that flights can be a painful experience for babies who cannot equalize... but I guess by then even a simple Bali trip would be pure joy. :p I have friends travelling to Japan by 6 months with the baby. It all depends on how much you're willing to pack and carry along to feed your wanderlust. And some feel that it's not worth the money to spend on a child who won't remember the trip at all.

princess31: I don't know how other gynae works, but my doc gave me an admission slip when it's near my due (around a month before due) and gave me the price list for consideration. did say free upgrade is subject to availability.

on day when I was admitted (having contractions already!!), hub checked in for me while the nurses attended to me at the delivery ward.

required to pay deposit of around 900 if I rem right and the admission slip was given. he was then asked which ward would we prefer.

mommies,

let me have your ASOS order by friday okie?

pm me.

will place orders once we reach min of 100 pounds,max 160 pounds.

transfer payment of the prices of merchandise only after I confirm your orders.

thanks all!!!

princess - i think it's a good idea to go for a babymoon before bb comes out. In fact, i will be going koh samui early nov... :) so basically just relax. Initially, we thought of going somewhere on a package tour but later decided against it since package tour is typically hectic. Also, cannot go for shopping trips since we will be so tired, hence what else is there other than resorts?? :p

Unicorn

Your husband is smart to check.

The AXA agent bluff us that in order to process the free 6 months free coverage, she needs us to meet her to sign documents. When we meet, she never give us anything to sign which then i realised whats going on, hardly talked about the free coverage instead intro many other policies.

Of course, we didnt buy anything from her.

I went for babymoon when I wAs preg at 5-6mths to Penang. I juz came bk fr jap w hubby n 18mths o tod. Hubby felt we should go cos it will be another at least 2 yrs bef we can travel again. Juz an advice, pls dun go jap w bb or kids. Not family friendly esp when we went f&e.

Yes like e mummies said, we went holidays, had good food etc bef having a bb. But now our finances n lives revolve e kid.

Morning mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

It's Thurs.. 2 more days to weekend! Weeeee.... Been feeling tired tis week. Cannot wait to go to Motherhood Fair as well tis weekend. Hubby promise to bring me window shop & mebbe shop for myself cos I have yet to buy any maternity clothes at all & my clothes are getting tighter ard the armpit esp.

@moomoo73: Enjoy ur babymoon... i too wanna go on babymoon but hubby's work been really tight. Dun thk he can afford any leave tho he say he will try for one last hol as a couple. *cross finger*

HI those who get the free 6 months insurance from the FBI..

I think you'll need to meet the agent but after you got your BB's birth cert.

Cant incept a policy without the life insured's name and BC No. right? I remember still have to photocopy the health booklet and my NRIC cos I will be the policyholder as baby under 16/18.

If you dont meet them then there will not be a policy since you've not signed any contract with AXA.

Actually the policy is quite ok so I extended it by 6months and now into my 2nd year on top of the NTUC Enhanced Incomeshield paid by Medisave.

Hi d-duchess,

keen on asos but have not bought from tis wesite not sure about the size..will try one..

i. ASOS MATERNITY Exclusive Pleat Front Empire Dress, Mink color @ £8, size 12.

let me know if u are ordering. tks.

That day my hubby and I met that agent up coz I naively thought that she really want to talk about the policy only. End up when she came, she starts to intro her company then some policies to us. She even request us to let her see what are the policies which we both have now but luckily we meet outside so we don't have the file with us. And she only took approx 5min to explain the bb's policy to us which I still don't quite know what does it include/cover.

Zanta: When I signed up for FBI recently, I decided not to opt for the free 6 mth coverage coz it meant giving our details so that the agent could get in touch with us. Even after refusing to fill up the form the first time, the receptionist at the TMC counter noticed and pestered my hub and I to fill it in, saying it was for free stuff. But we were not keen to waste time talking to agent (if we want we can find on our own thru recommendations later on) so in the end, we signed up for FBI without filling up that AXA form. I brought the brochure home to read but doubt I'll be getting in touch with that agent!

d-duchess: So you're saying your gynae did not do any pre-admission or pre-registration for you last time round? Coz comparing to my friend's experience at Mt. A, her gynae advised her to fill in a pre-admission form a couple months before her EDD. This form was submitted to Mt. A but no deposit was made. Then she did the actual registration only when she was admitted. But at least Mt. A already had most of her details and preference from that pre-admission form. Hmm, looks like there's no hard and fast rule >.<

pootz: The plan was to go US/Europe within the next 2-3 yrs coz SGD quite strong now leh ... so quite worth it to go these countries. But now with bb in tow, I have to seriously reconsider. I agree it's not worth bringing bb who won't rem a thing! But at the same time, not having a holiday to look forward to in the next 2 yrs is quite depressing .... :p

Babymoon ... my gynae has advised me not to travel due to low-lying placenta, so it's just wishful thinking for me now. I guess I could risk a trip to Bintan or somewhere real nearby but then again, do I want to take that risk? Plus, now that we're growing bigger, it may not be so fun afterall ... sigh!

Afternoon ladies...

Preciousbabi and Eviangal - ur pics look great! both of u look so radiant!

Babymoon - I think it's a gd idea if u are feeling up to it.. we went for a short getaway to Bintan two wks back and it was really a gd break esp since we had been busy with work and all.. rekindle the relationship again b4 all hell breaks loose when baby arrives! As for safety, sigh.. i think it's really heng suay.. i tot shld be safer to go bintan since just taking ferry and staying in resort, but in the end my cab got into small accident on the way to the ferry terminal in Singapore!! so duh!!

Any mummies getting water retention already?? I was extremely horrified last nite cos my right ankle was swollen =(( it doesn't hurt or anything but looks quite gross lor... sigh.. hope it doesn't get worse, my feet are already very huge.. if it grows somemore, i hv to start wearing men's shoes liao

My check up is supposed to be next Tues but brought forward to today as I was suspected with UTI coz feeling pain and broken urine for the past week.. Finally called the clinic to check yesterday and was told to visit gynae today..

Lucky after check, gynae says it's not UTI, just bcoz the womb is growing and the weight sitting on the bladder causing the pain at abdomen and broken urine..

So happy to see bb today at 24 weeks.. Estimated weight is 600-700g based on his head dimension.. His features are getting clearer.. Said "Hi" to bb when I saw his face on the screen.. LOL!!

Yeah! It's shopping time tomorrow!! And my babymoon to Batam on Sunday!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kinderbuneo: i am worried abt water rentention too. anyone here know abt how to prevent water retention?

preciousbabi: take care..me too..whenever i feel pee, only a bit of urine comes out..i think its the baby sitting on the bladder? and sometimes i get achy at the V part due to the streching of the ligaments.

Enjoy the babymoon! last trip for couplehood...next time with a baby in tow, there will be more inconveniences..but then more joy hopefully!

I am going for my trip 10 days time to HK! planning to eat and shop for baby clothing there!

Re: AXA insurance.

the insurance lady keep smsing me to meet up. she also told me that its necessary to meetup cause she need the particulars in order for the policy to take effect. however, that can wait after birth.

the thread seems rather quiet these 2 days...

Re:ASOS spree

any idea how long we can receive the stuff?

i am running out of clothes to wear... hahaha!

Re: sashimi

by the way, just to share..i attended Mrs Wong Boh Boi class and asked her if its safe to eat sashimi..she say its good to eat..rich in omega 3 acids, provided that the resturant is clean and reputable..so no worries abt eating sashimi of course, eat in moderation. I am gg for my Jap dinner tmr! can't wait!

Insurance: I signed up for FBI previously too.. Despite persistent calls and smses from the agent, i refused to meet them and told them flatly I am not interested in any products and dont wish to waste each other's time. I think Prudential or smoething like that have a plan for us preggies too..

Again.. Have to push them off.. sighz...

Babymoon: Went to Bali when i was 2 months preggie with B1 and recently with my gal and B2 to HKG when I am like 4 months preggie. Best time to travel is when in 2nd trim..

Brought my dd to Japan when she turned 1 and she still remembers it well.. Very excited when she watches the video and photos. Mummies can consider doing that when your tot is around that age.. travelling.. Now planning for trip to Korea or Australia or New Zealand when B2 turns 1.

Precious Babi: When at Batam, check out the supermarkets for cheap bb food. I love the packet cereals they sell there. Convenient to bring out. Cant find this in SG. Their baby products under Pigeon are very, very cheap too.. Can stock up. Batam supermarket are my fav.. I hope to go Batam again soon..

Also diapers, baby food, etc, etc all very cheap. Bring enough $$ ya.. Rupiah is reco for supermarket..

@Gregda: Thanks! You enjoy your HK trip too!! And buy lots of stuff for bb.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ya agree that the thread is very slow these 2 days.. Maybe all mummies are busy planning for their list of things to buy at the fair??

@Evian: Really?? First time to Batam.. Hehe.. Kk.. Will chiong to the supermarket upon arriving.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Precious Babi: hahaa.. Where are you staying in Batam? If you leaving from Batam Centre, suggest you chiong supermarket before you leave Batam.

A good shopping mall in Batam is BCS Shopping mall, cheaper supermarket items than Batam Centre.

But Batam transport ex ya..

So many of you have gone or are going for babymoons!! *envious* Even reverie_island with low placenta also can go Penang ... wah, but Penang food is hawker food which is quite dirty, so if I go to Penang have to avoid the food, then no point going liao ... ok, so maybe Batam/Bintan - nearby so don't need to fly, and can relax and stock up on cheap bb stuff ... haha, see! I'm still thinking about a last minute dash to somewhere nearby...feet itchy hor ..! For those of you going to HK or somewhere further, do have a great time!!

Kinder: Yah, I'm feeling the effects of water retention too, and I get this tingling feeling in my hands especially halfway through the night when I'm sleeping. This is apparantly called carpel tunnel syndrome or something. Think it's also related to water retention ...

I heard one of the remedies for water retention is actually to drink more water :p Sounds like a silly solution but I guess no harm trying ... I think the rationale is that by encouraging the flow of water through your body, there's less chance of water being retained. Also, another suggested solution is to raise your feet above thigh level whenever you are sitting/lying down.

Gregda - That's one of the best pieces of news I've heard in a long while! Sashimi dinner here I come! Enjoy yours [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

d-duchess: The slip of letter is provided by your gynae, is it? I guess I should really ask my gynae all this at the next visit ... but thank you for sharing your experience [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BB fair ... I wish I could take leave to go for it tomm, but I signed up for this compulsory training at work and it's tomm [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] And Sat I am working half-day so the earliest I can be at the fair is Sat afternoon/evening ... oh well ... those of you who are going tomm, do share your great finds with the rest of us & happy spending [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Evian: I'm staying at Batam View Beach Resort - booked during promotion, $80 for 2 nights!! Hehe.. Is this resort near the supermarket/ferry terminal?

Huh, transport ex ah.. No choice lor.. Gotta bring more cash then.. Hopefully can grab something back.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Precious Babi: Batam View is far from town lei.. Taxi far quite ex to go to town. Not sure isit $20 per way or more..

I usually stay at Harris or Holiday Inn. Far too but not as ex.

Not sure if you still got time to hire a driver to drive you around or not. Maybe cheaper.

Or you can check if hotel got shuttle services to town. Harris and Holiday Inn have.

Hey mummies, any of you took off your ring? It's feeling tight and i am wondering if it's water retention or am i putting on so much weight - even at the fingers! Will it slim down after delivery???

I too, am looking forward to the BB fair, hopefully we wont be disappointed.

Princess: I have low lying placenta too but my gynae did not discourage me to travel. In fact, I am going on business trip this Sunday and after that going for my babymoon!

@Evian: Erm, kk.. I will check with the resort.. Thanks for the info!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Moomoo: My rings are also very tight.. Actually intend to leave them on till end of the month.. But I guess I can't wait le.. Scared by that time cannot remove le.. Haha.. But feel so uncomfortable without them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

My gf's fingers didn't return to the size before birth so she sent her ring for alteration.. I guess it depends on individual ba.. Hopefully ours will.. If not also have an excuse to request for new ones!! Keke..

Enjoy your buz trip and babymoon!!

yo!! how to prevent water retention ah? drink more water lor..and try to cut down on salty food...remember water flush out water

my ring also getting tighter so not wearing liao lar... our fingers will get back to normal later on after birth...so no worries...

babymoon...i already went for my Phuket and Genting trip liao... still tinking wan go last trip to KL next month anot..hehe..

still tinking...

baby fair..yalor pls do update us any great bargains k... coz i also abit stuck with my boy during this weekend..my hb went reservist...so now alone taking care of my boy during nite time and weekends...abit tough..but it will passed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

im going for my OGTT glucose test tomorrow.

have to fast from midnight tonight onwards

then have ADC scan and dr han appt. so will be at kkh the whole day . i can only drop by to the expo baby fair tomorrow late evening after dinner.

do update if you notice any interesting buys at the fair.

hi ladies..

list that i need to buy..

1) Diaper Liner

2) Hand sanitiser

3) Baby wipes

4) Baby towel

5) cotton ball

6) alcohol wipe

8) baby lotion

9) bottle brush

10) bottle

11) ru yi oil

12) gripe water

13) thermos flask

14) breast pad

15) nipper cream

16) baby detergent

17) napisan

dun knoe whether got sales for all this..

scare later go there den never sell all this..

i'm going there on sunday.. can anyone help me take a look out?? thanks alot..

Penang

I din eat hawker food n we stayed in shangrila.

Babymoon

We juz came bk fr 10 days trip go jap. Not family friendly place to go w kid. But if juz e couple can try japan. We went Tokyo, Kyoto n Osaka. I managed to survived there w lots of walking n carrying of stuff thou I should avoid.

Sashimi

I still won't risk even my whole 15 months of bfing. I do take a slice once in a blue moon.

Bintan/batam

If e ride is bumpy I suggest not to go. Oh pls rem to take a ltr fr ur gynae to certify that u f healthy to travel. Sq does check.