(2011/02) Feb 2011

Princess31,

Yes, you are really slim.

I think since i was in my first trimester, couldn't fit in my normal pants anymore, let alone jeans.

Actually i also feel uncomfy when i eat too much, feel very bloated and i need to drink some warm water, keep walking to help the digestion. i also found my stomach got no much space for my food, but i have this bad habit that i must eat until really full, especially in the evening, else i will vomit gastric acid in the middle of night or tomorrow morning. I worry that my diet style will accumulate a lot of fat.

Val,

My tummy is also like ball leh and i could see the curve at the both side between V part and lower stomach. I found that part sexy, but when i look above (upper stomach), i feel like crying. It's like a big big du nang.

If i wear those normal T-shirt, still can't tell that i am pregnant, but if i will wear doll dress, my tummy is quite obvious, i think.

haha jolin,

i can barely see past my tummy when i look down..

can see only the tips of my toes now..

i think my belly button will pop out by next month.

Long time since my last posting..

Ah Ching, dun feel sad,u r not alone as I dun hv the luxury of my h accompanying me to the gynea neither. Besides, both my darling n me will be sleeping when my h come back from work... PS he is still gg ahead with his ice-skiing trip (I give up liao, decided to channel the upset feeling to other more positive things)

Bird Nest.

When I'm expecting my darling, my h n mother nagged me to take it 2 a wk (I'm not the bird nest type) and my darling still suffer from bad case of eczema... she take after her father. sigh...

Bump.

My bump is still quite small as no one seem to notice it.. sob sob, even I'm wearing my maternity cloths, they concluded it as I'm putting on weight....

Appetite..

Not much... I think might bcos I dun hv company to eat with.... Lunch, i've to eat alone, and Dinner, only my girl is accompanying me to eat.. so doesn't hv much appetite..

@princess31 - you only need to see your gynae 5 more times only meh? I thought as we near term, we need to checkup every fortnightly, then reduce to weekly? I thought it'll definitely be more than 5 times lor. So the earlier you sign the package, the more you save lor... think you shoudl go check it out. If you need to see the Dr urgently outside your scheduled consultation, yes you'll have to pay. Usually package will include the simple ultrasound scanning (not detailed scans) and consultations.

Princess

I have also signed package since wk 12. My gynae package starts from second appointment onwards and she usu starts seeing patients from 9 wks. My package includes all routine checks, normal scans, urine tests and doc's fees for normal unassisted delivery. Excludes supplements, detailed scan, oscars and hospital charges.

Tmc also sent me letter to say ward has been booked for my edd some weeks back. But of cos we can still change our minds about the room type later. It's still procedural i guess.

If you don't sign the package, how do you book your gynae for delivery?

Just came back from my detailed scan. Good news is my bb is doing v well. Very healthy and active. Can see my bb face, fingers, legs, toes and body. My detailed scan includes doing a doppler ultrascan. Slightly bad news is results frm doppler u/s shows that i've a notch on my left uterine artery and mild notch on my right. So have to be on medication and go for another detailed scan when i'm 7mths

@Val: Ok, I will go back bother my mum also.. Hehe.. Btw my appt changed to next Tues instead of Fri liao.. So happy, can see bb earlier.. Really can’t wait!! Kekeke..

@Unicorn: I only know how to eat.. Haha..

@Jolin: Don’t be too bothered by the shape.. Haha.. I just tell myself to eat when I feel hungry.. Will shed off the extras after birth..

My tummy is hard sometimes yet soft sometimes and it’s harder after meals.. It’s normally soft when lying down.. Dunno why hor? Then everytime eat too full I will say sorry to bb coz I think he has no space to move around.. Haha..

@Princess31: You are only 400grams heavier at coming 5 months?? But if your gynae says bb weight is acceptable then should be fine ba.. Think you really need to eat more..

@Baywater: Your hubby has confirmed the trip?? Haiz.. It’s good that you can change channel instead of get bothered by it.. But can’t you talk to him again?? He should really be around during that period of time.. We never know when bb decides to come out..

@Charmaine: Hehe.. Must be so happy seeing bb moving around.. What are the notches caused by??

I noticed a black line like the linea nigra on our tummy growing on my legs also.. It's growing from the vaginal (I think) all the way till the ankle.. Anyone else have this??

bump

My bump has been big since 1st trimester. i am wearing my hubby tee shirt nowadays and can still see my bump... no pre pregnancy pants/berms/jeans/skirts. now everything has to be elastic so i keep wearing those tights i bot from isetan. when i had my boy, i had a dark black hairline from belly button downwards. Now i am having a girl, i am so happy so far no black line. the black hairline was the reason why i dare not do any photoshoot the last time.

room

@baywater, i think i will take single coz i c-sec so will stay for 1-2 nights more. prefer to be able to turn on the tv and watch without headset. also prefer the privacy.

appetite

the MS seems to get better so now vomit in morning only instead of the whole freaking day. manage to eat proper meals already. last time no appetite for ANYTHING... i just downed a big plate of rice, pork and long beans and a whole packet of steamed tofu. ultra full and nearly puked but i held back by drinking cold green tea. heehee.... hope the food stays down for baby's sake

baby movement

am feeling baby's bubble/flip/swimming everyday. maybe because i am not working so lazing at home, can concentrate on the movements more.

dreams

have weird dreams lately. every night got something interesting one. abit scared to sleep... its like watching a different movie each time. but there are nights where i wake at 2am and cannot sleep til 4am.. quite bad ;(

preciousbabi, yes was really excited to see my bb. My gynae say there's no reason for the notches. He advised me to take the medication and bedrest frequently till the next detailed scan at 7 mth. Coz notch is the result of an increase in resistance of blood flowing into my placenta so worst scenario is either i will get high blood pressure or my baby will grow v slowly. Makes me so worried when i hear that, hope the medication will work for me.

Oh, my bb is a boy. The sonagrapher confirmed by scanning and showing me his scrotum and birdie [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] She even commented that my bb got sharp nose [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Next mth's appt, i'll be going for my glucose tolerance test. Hope i'll pass the test coz i really dun want to go thru the needle poking thingy again!

preciousbabi, this is the first time i hear the black line travel from v to ankle... hope that the line is not so dark. but dont worry, it will fade after delivery...just wear long pants in meantime if not comfortable with it.

charmaine, what is a notch??

@mami B - i wonder if dreams is a by-product of pregnancy. :p I get very vivid ones all the time too! Yeh, sometimes wake up at 5am liaoz, very difficult to fall asleep again.

Rooms:- I think it's procedural to book the type of room that you want. I'm taking the 1-bedder in TMC, so that hubby can stayover too. But it's common that the rooms are full at time of delivery, and they upgrade or downgrade you at the same price. :p

mami B, my gynae say it's my blood being blocked flowing into my placenta and reason for this "blockage" is bcoz the blood vessels in my placenta are not enlarging or dilating as they should.

pootz, i'll be taking 1-bedder at tmc too. Oh, do you mean if the 1-bedder at full, we will be upgraded to premium and charge 1-bedder price?

Charmaine, happy for u">

PreciousBabi: He is died serious in gg for the trip, the only thing which can be adjusted is probably the date of travel. Its either on his Bday mth, or my bday mth lor.

Room:

Pootz, Mami B: I'm thinking of getting the 1 bedder one but the tot of staying there alone, makes me reconsider... very quite at nite... me scare. H confirm not accompanying me for the nite.. "<

Charmaine,

Glad to know that baby is healthy and doing well. For notch, i think just follow your gynae's instruction closely and should be fine. Don't worry too much ya

PreciousBabi,

I can see the linea niagra from tummy to V, but not from V to ankle. Do you feel pain or easily cramp when walking?

Baywater,

I will deliver at GlenE and they only have 2 room types, single and 2-bedded. I choose the cheaper one, 2-bedded.

Mami B,

I am having baby girl but i also have this dark hairline from tummy downwards leh, hehe. And some pretty visible hair from centre of breast to tummy. My leg's hair also grow longer [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

So sometimes i will tease my baby that all the pregnancy symptoms that she gave me made me feel that she is a boy, haha

jolin,

so looks like the hairline is not baby sex specific.. actually rightfully so lah. if not, we just look at whether got hairline, no need to ultrasound for the sex liao.. hehehe.... =) my first pregnancy, the hairline lightened after about 4-5 months. totally disappeared only after more than 10 months (i think, if not a year) . i was quite worried that it would stay there forever.

baywater, thanks! I chose 1-bedder this time coz can have own privacy plus bb can stay in my room 24hrs. 1st pg, i chose 4-bedder but got upgrade to 2-bedder. It wasn't a good experience. Me and roommate's bb feeding time is different so when my bb was in the room with me, his cries disturb my roommate's sleep and vice versa when finally my bb was pushed back to zzz and i tot can finally rest, her bb was pushed in. Another thing, my roommate very scared of cold so everytime in the middle of the nite, she will off the aircon and i will always wake up sweating and the room was so stuffy. Quite difficult to rest when we have friends/relatives visiting you oredi not to mention, my roommate really got alot of friends and relatives!

Jolin, thanks. Just got freaked out when gynae say will affect bb's growth

Mami B,

Ya, i think the only accurate gender prediction is via the U/S, else almost everyone can become predictor already, hehe

Charmaine,

You're welcome [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Charmaine: Congrats to you boy boy!! Hehe.. I see.. Rest well then.. No worries, bb & mummy will both be fine..

What is glucose tolerance test? Are we all supposed to have this test?

@MamiB: The line is not as dark as on the tummy.. If never pay attention to it, will think it’s shadow.. Actually I didn’t notice it until my hubby saw when I was lying on the sofa watching tv..

@Baywater: Then get him to change the date lor.. Don’t allow him to travel 2 months before due date..

@Jolin: No pain no cramp leh.. Hope it doesn’t get darker or I won’t be able to wear skirt liao..

PreciousBabi, sad to say, its not my decision to make in the first place. He has decided on the trip the only thing neg is the travelling date.

If he listen to me, we wld not be in a cold war for 2 wks. sigh. Anyway, he's not much help when he is around...

Found an interesting news, any mummy want to brought clothings from Spring.... can be their potential model. Hee hee

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4498306.html?1284563191

@Baywater - I've a fren who wanted a 1 bedder, they downgrade her to a 2 bedder, but the husband gets to sleep on the other bed, and not a sofa, so she had no complains. I've also heard of my fren who opted for 4 bedder, upgraded to 2 bedder, but pay 4 bedder price. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Yet another friend in Mt A was forced to pay suite price coz they ran out of 1-bedder. So I don't really see how the booking system works :p

If your hubby not accompanying you, mebbe ask your mum or someone else? Else go 2 bedder? I also have frens who say you would be soooo tired by then, how many bedder also can sleep la! :p

@Baywater: I'll also choose a 1-bedded room in Glen E. Cos I prefer privacy and like what Charmaine said, I can have my baby with me anytime I want without having to worry will I wake the other mummy up and also my family & friends can come visit me anytime. Hehe.. That time when my sil gave birth in Glen E me & my hubby went to visit her 9 plus at night and she still can ask the nurse to bring the baby in. Even when the baby was sleeping.

@Preciousbabi: My line is only from belly button to the V area leh. Did you ask your gynae about that line?

@Charmaine: Congrats!! Good to know your baby is healthy. =D And hope your medicine will help you too.

@Baywater: Huh, cold war ah?? I just don't understand why the hubbys can bear to treat us like that when we have their bb in us.. Shame on them (not referring to OFB)!! Haiz.. Let's hope he will "wake up" and change his mind later..

I haven't decide and book on the bed coz nobody brief me so far.. Hopefully when they decide to book me still got slot [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif].. Must chase after the nurse next visit..

@Val: I will ask him next Tuesday lor.. Hopefully I remember.. Haha.. Seems like only I have it.. Already look so ugly on the face liao, still got the black line on my legs.. Haiz..

my linea niagra for preg 1 was quite obvious, but this time round it hasn't showed up yet. maybe cos the muscles still separated from the last time. haha.

opted for 1 bedder last time, but they ran out. so had 2 bedder for 1 night, then they converted that to 1 beder after my roommate checked out (i.e. i'm the only one in the room for the next 1-2 nights). paid 1 bedder price.

Just woke up =) My flu meds keep me quite drowsy.

BIRDS NEST

I agree with trinket. Like I said, the so-called benefits of birds nest stem from its protein value. BUT at 300-400 plus per box of Birds Nest as compared to the 50-60 u might pay for a good organic soya protein, u are better of getting better nutrition of the development of the baby at a better rate from the soya protein as opposed to Birds Nest. Also if u take ur vitamins with a soya protein shake for example, it can really help ur body absorb the vitamins better. =) Like I said, I didn't take any birds nest with my son but he has great skin, is fair and all. Sometimes certain "claims" are really old wives tales la.

CORDYCEPS

For Cordyceps though, I agree that it is very good. I would advice if u know ppl going to Korea for trips, to buy the cordyceps there back for u. This is becoz the Korean cordycep is not processed and treated like the ones from China are. We bought some back for my ILs last time and my MIL was very sweet and boiled soup with some of it for both hubs and I. =)

MAH

I had my son at MAH that time and I was in a 2 bedder room but I was alone so it felt like I had the whole room to myself hahaha. =) I only had a room mate the day I was leaving the hospital. XD

I still recall how when the nurse first brought my son in and I was marveling at him when he cried. I had NO IDEA how to carry a baby as I had a phobia of carrying babies when I was younger. I had to press the nurse call button to ask the nurse to help me. She did it so fast and I couldn't fig out how to do it. So after a few times, I asked her to slow down. Haha. Then I got the hang of it.

Initially I would carry Kae to breast feed him, but later I began to lie down on my side to feed him. =) It kinda became my standard position and I never felt tired breastfeeding as a result. =)

GYNAE PCKG

I pay about $70-90 per trip to my current gynae.

I recall from my first baby that I saw the gynae once a month for most of my preg, but that in third tr, as we closed in on the EDD, that gradually became twice a mth to once a week.

WEIGHT

With Kae, I was initally 55kg when I expected him. By the end of the preg, I was only about 61-62kg. With this one.... I am currently... sighs...77.6kg or so. Yes, faint. But I had put on weight recently prior to having baby due to the sedentary nature of my job. =p

Charmaine

Do massage ur legs or get the hubby to do it? Has ur gynae adviced u on what to do?

NIGHTMARES

Yea I get very vivid ones too. Itz like watching a movie even. Hubs teases me about it as my dreams are very elaborate and I have mostly been able to recall my dreams (before, during preggers). The preg themes are more bizarre than normal. Lol.

BOOKING WARD

I wonder if it is because we are going KKH and our gynae is a resident KKH specialist, so we have not been asked to book a ward yet. =) I have no idea which ward to take. I guess hubby and I will have to discuss this. I am ok with a 2 bedder altho the privacy of a 1 bedder is nice.

I was hospitalised in Gleneagles once when I was in my teens for double slipped discs. It was like booking into a hotel. Lol. I recall the attendant that served food dressed like a waiter and that a bell boy actually helped me take my luggage for my hospital stay. Praise God though that my back has healed since (there was a miracle about 2 years back, before that it would sometimes stiffen and ache still). With Kae, I had a very bad back pain issue when I was expecting him. With this one, so far so good and I believe it to stay that way.

JUDY

I will send u the stuff soon. Gotta type it up first hehehe. Recommend u to read this whilst waiting =)

http://www.newlifeministries.com.au/What%20God%20Says/pregnancy/pregnancy.html

Very uplifting stuff. =) Other Christian mummies (and even non-Christian ones) can check it out if u want.

baywater, my friend's bb stayed by her side thruout her stay coz she's persistent to bf her bb but she changed her bb's diapers as well. She say just inform the nurse will do.

preciousbabi, thanks alot [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. GTT is to test for gestational diabetes. I asked my gynae since i only put on 3-4kg this pg, can i be opt out for this test. He said no coz i got family history of diabetes, so better play safe.

Val, thanks alot [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Really hope the medication will work. Did ask the gynae wat happens if the medication din't work and detailed scan at 7mth still shows notch. He just smiled and say dun worry.

Thks Preciousbabi n val. I'm quite used to hvg cold wars with him. Usually its him to cant take it. LOL.

Prenatal Yoga

anyone signing up for the prenatal yoga class???

BAYWATER

Huggles. Oh dear. Hubby seems pretty determined to travel huh. Did u check what the airline policy is for travelling whilst preggers? Is he going alone or with u? If he is going alone, could it be that he wants some alone time before baby comes along as well as to calm down his nerves. Some guys get nervous about having kids and might feel stressed out about it. This could be his stress and anxiety manifesting. Have u spoken to him about how he feels about having a baby and if he feels anxious? ^.^

If he is going with u, then perhaps he also wants alone time but with you... For some couples the transition from "me and you" to "me and you and the baby" can be a shocker. When the baby arrives, hubby might feel neglected if u are very hands on with baby but he isn't as hands on. So get him involved and make a promise to, maybe when baby is a few months older and can be baby sat by ur parents or friends, to set one day a week where u can go paktor and continue fanning the flames of romance. Everyone finds that balance btw couple time and parenting time in their own way, this is just my suggestion. =)

For my hubs, he had the benefit of already knowing I had a toddler (Kae was abt 3yo when we dated) and had to share the attention from the start, as well as had to learn how to be a dad from when he decided to date me (he took 6 days to think about whether he wanted to date me about as he seriously had to consider that I had a kid and if he could love my son as his own. He is a gentleman and he didnt come in to the r/s ever to fool around with my feelings. Phew.)

LINEA NIAGRA

Mine is lighter this time around but I guess I have never forgotten having it hahaha so even when it appeared I didn't really notice it hahaha. My hubby who has been used to seeing me not having it, noticed the line first and asked me about it. Lol.

It is so funny because hubby has been used to being a Dad to my son since he was 3yo but has never experienced my being a pregnancy or the being around his own kid as a baby yet. I told him before once we have a baby, he will understand certain things about Kae. Like I told him, Kae came with his own character and personality in-built... we can nurture and help him make the best of his character, but from baby he was very set in some ways lol. Like Kae has always been very particular about food- it began even during breastfeeding... he only takes from the "orig source" and doesnt like bottle or powdered milk that my mum tried to later introduce. He also did not like using a pacifier. Lol.

My son has always been pretty, precocious but this also means hubby sometimes forget he is still a KID and just 8yo, so he wonders why when the kid is quite bright, he also can make some silly choices sometimes (Kae can be quite cheeky when he is in the mood).

CHARMAINE

Did ur gynae confirm it is not stretchmarks? Is it dark brown or maroon? I had maroon lines all over tummy and breasts when I had Kae. My mum never had stretchmarks before so was clueless and panicked. I found out it was stretchmarks by surfing the net. Lol.

But then ur Gynae said he suspects it is a vein and blockage issue right? But suspect means he is not clear is it? If not clear, maybe get a second opinion at KKH since that is THE hospital for mums and babies, so someone must know what it is. They might be able to better advice u on what to do.

Massage (to encourage the blood circulation) and keeping ur feet raised on a pillow whilst lying down might help ease the issue, but do get a second opinion about it k?

If it is varicose veins, they might even suggest certain socks to wear to ease it.

Don't worry, if stretchmarks occur they fade off to a light white scar tissue with time. If it is a pigmentation or vein issue, hopefully it is just for the duration of pregnancy and will ease off.

HUGS! Go to the 24H women's clinic at KKH and get ur answer to what it is if it will help ease ur mind off of it ya?

hi Geri,

I'm the super KS type. No travelling when I'm pregnant as there are too many cases around me who suffer miscarriage after they came back....

This is my second preg, hence not much preparation needed for him. He claims that he needed to destress and needed time to do his hobby yearly before he is too old for the sport. Hence, he's planning to go ahead... sigh, so now the issue is when... which I suspect should be in Dec since his sister is getting marry in Nov...

U take care of that flu, i kana it 2x during this preg and its sooo horrible. Hence I'm taking all the pre-measures to make sure I'm pink of health.

PreciousBabi: ya, (LOL) cos no pt screaming, shouting... no gd for my throat n he will shut off anyway. So I'll be the first one to shutup and we will hv a patient test lor.

BAYWATER

Huggles. Just give him that me-time I guess? It might help him feel better about himself and u know, when baby comes if he didn't have that trip, he might feel stressed and resentful too. During his trip away, maybe meet up with ur girl friends and us (hahaha) and get ur mind of being fed up that he isn't there. HUGS! Sometimes, we don't have to win every war with our hubby. Go pamper urself whilst he isn't around hehehe.

Yea this is my 2nd flu. My first flu was in first tri which felt worse since I was very tired then and was always in bed. This time better, but I have probs sleeping at night despite drowsy meds haha. I sleep better in the day though... so hahaha.

Kae is going off to my parent's for the weekend... so it is just me and me and me at home. Sian haha.

JUDY

Hey, I just remembered I am going for a prenatal seminar talk in my church tmrw 1.30 to 5pm. Do u want to tag along? =) My hubby isn't coming with me since he is overseas, so I have a spare ticket. =)

Geri, ya I give up liao. So now he is planning his trip. Probably ask him to go Korea n get me ginseng and Cordyceps for my confinement and some beauty care too haha.

BAYWATER

HAHAHAHA! Yea make him buy things to pamper u and "make up" for his absence. The skin care in Korea is cheap too... faceshop/ skinfood all that is A LOT cheaper in Korea than in SG. Almost 2x cheaper if not wrong. Whenever my hubs or his biz partner go to Korea for work, I always ask them to buy skin care for me. Hehe.

Love Skinfood's Black Sugar Mask and Rice Mask. The former smells like Coca Cola! Lol. Find that both mask/scrubs don't irritate the skin. Their gel based moisturiser is really lovely too. Faceshop has a nice Rice based facial wash that is good as well. Comes in a pinkish beige tube.

@Baywater: Haha.. Good luck!! Hope you’ll win the war!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] And good idea, make sure you burn a hole in his pocket.. LOL!!

PRECIOUSBABI

Dont need to burn hole lah hahaha. Save for baby mah, but must sufficiently PAMPER her enough to make up for MIA-ing hehehe. XD

Hi mummies... been pondering whether wanna come in as I rarely had much time juggling with work and 4 babies at home... jut moved hm... was hospitalized for supected kidney infection... haizz.... i am active in march/april 2009 thread before, went for gatherings and stuff but couldnt catch up lah.. not much time on hand..

a brief intro abt me... turning 29.. end this year.... have 2 girls aged 10 n 9 .. two boys.. aged 31 months and 18 months.. and expecting my 5th one in Feb 13.... hope i m welcome... paiseh ... i guess the only here with the most kids.. unexpected pregnancy though... coz i had miscarriage last Feb...and 1st miscarriage in 2006.... so with protection... but god still wanna bestow me with another... was quite sick and thus never announce much though i do read on n off here.... take care mummies

IDAAR-

U ARE WELCOME HERE OF COZ! =) I had a miscarriage earlier this year too in March. Now expecting my second one. God is good to us... =) I only joined the forum recently myself, didn't want to join in First Tri as I was very anxious then.

My #1, a son, is 8yo this year and has been pining for a sibling for the longest time. How do u find the wide age gap btw the siblings? Are the older ones and the babies getting along?

PRECIOUSBABI-

HAHAHAHAHAHAH! =D Cute lah u. =D

geri, oh it's not stretchmarks. The notches were detected when i'm doing the detailed scan. The sonagrapher tested the blood flowing to my placenta and there's resistance of blood flow to my placenta.

Baywater: Yeh should ask ur hubby buy more cordyceps for u n bb n also for ur confinement period.. Korea cordyceps teaste different from the china cordyceps. My sis bought it at korea is orange in colour, look wierd but taste nice. Make-up stuff at korea also very very cheap n gd. Buy le nv used also can sell..

Mommies did anyone feel abdomen pain when come to night time? I feel my abdomen pain even i go toilet in the middle of nite also feel very pain but at night the pain will gone. DO u girls know??

Idaar

I statue u. I can hardly cope with one n u hv 4 coming five. Do share how u manage ur kids ;)

preciousbabi m Geri: ya do hope tat it will work. Haha