(2011/02) Feb 2011

If cant be SAHM, I guess nanny will be a better option than putting in infantcare.

My initial plan was to return to work after 4 mths but I went to visit 5-6 infantcare and was appalled by the 'care' they can give to the BB..

I brought my son to this infant care for a trial..

my son was just learning to stand but the teacher did not 'follow' behind him and was bathing for another baby.

luckily i was still ard and managed to prevent my son from getting hurt.

also there were 2 toddlers having runny nose..

so i 'quarantined' my son from them and informed the staff..

they just grab the 2 kids and brought them to the cots in the sleeping area to quarantine them..

and they did not clean away the mucus from the toys the 2 sick babies were playing with!

those immobile babies were also just left on the rocker for the whole 30 mins i was there!!!

babies age from 2 months to 18 months were all put together so also very difficult to 'teach' the babies anything..

but of course some other infant care I visited were better but all cant give 1-1 attn like a nanny

moreover, the high staff turnover rate also means that babies will get diff care-givers all the time..

the infant care teacher pay is quite low..

and those at the HDB blocks.. the teachers were just chatting among themselves..

now i also dilemma abt child care when no.2 come along.

actually i am quite sure i would prefer to be SAHM again. But I think w 2 kids, it will be impossible..

I calculated that just for diapers and milk powder, 1 child will need ard $150-$180 a month.

Incl. the monthly check-up and vaccinations and ad-hoc medical bills, another $200 a month for 1 child

so for 2 children $760 and add some miscellaneous like toys/ books/ baby care pdts another $200

plus my son's insurance $130 a month

so total more than $1000!!

but working also does not make economical sense as nanny fees will be $1200

meaning more than 50% salary will go child care.. sigh and I dont get much time for them..

Hi all, I just came back frm checkup.. My prince has miraculously changed into a princess.. I guess that 'thing' we saw last checkup could be finger or umbilical cord.. Today baby was so cute pressing her private part to the screen and we clearly saw three lines.. Doctor was so confident he confirmed it's girl.. Hubby is happy as he wants a dear daughter.. Deep dwn I still prefer a son but daughter nice also can play dress up.. Haha..

@Ah ching: The infant childcare really so bad.. Hmm like tat i must consider wont let my bb go there. But heard my fren say is gd they will teach ur bb how to sing n talk. I still worried to let a stranger to take care my bb.. If can i wan to take care my bb myself..

@Judy: WOW congrats... Is a princess same as mine.. Hmm i hope my next scan my princess dont turn out to be a prince.. Or else i will faint.. I already bought some cap,dress n sock for my princess n my sis also order lot of clothes for her.. But my doc say is 99% is a girl so we went to shop for bb clothes.. But that time i didn't saw any three line but doc ask me to c whether gt anything dangling on the private part.. But no so it a girl.. Haha but it so cute to know ur bb gender..

judy, congrats!! My detailed scan is this friday. Wondering if mine will also be a princess hehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi ladies, im also a feb'11 mom. have been a silent reader all the while.

Have a qns for u all..What size clothes do u buy for ur baby? is 6-9mths ok? or we got to purchase more newborn ones? i wanted to order from US website but not sure which siZe to order.

Good Morning Mummies!! Just had a nightmare again.. Woke up and kept telling bb to stay strong and healthy..

@Judy: Congratulations!! It's ok, no.1 is a girl also good. At least next time she can help to look aft no.2. This is what I kept telling myself.. Hehe..

What did your gynae said abt your lS? Is it food poisoning?

@Ah Ching: That infantcare centre is so bad. That is the reason y I don't support infantcare.. Hmm.. But this is my own opinion la.

Thanks for your breakdown on having a child.. Now I know a child will need at least $400 a mth. I wonder if I can b a successful SAHM..

MamiB/ Rachel,

yes we all have our fair share of ILs horror stories. I agree having no help is better than unnec interference. I take care of my kids on my own too. But my mil is simply too bochup. She sees my kids like once a month or less. Yet she wants to lend her many cents worth on how I should care for the kids on the rare occassions I see her. Oh well.

Wishchild

to look after child on your own is the best choice if you and hubby can work the finances out. The closeness and bond is priceless, no one can ever take that away from you.

Judy

congrats! Glad to hear that your hubby is happy with this new discovery.

Mummies that are taking fish oil supplement, when you all burp do you all get the fishy taste? Omg, I so feel like puking when I burp. =(

Hi Mi Mi..

For the first 2 weeks, my son wore clothes for 0-3 mths.. he was born less than 3 kg.

but by 1st month check up he was almost 5kg, and wearing 3-6 mths clothes.

he was wearing 6-9 mths clothes by time he was ard 3-4 mths. 6-9 mths clothes last the longest..

but must still get at least 10-15 pieces of newborn clothing..

reason is becos babies often spit out milk after a feed so need to change often.

plus they are so tiny when they are just born.

but get those cheap cheap enuf cos wear for less than a month..

and also the poo poo will leak and for boys.. they like to pee when we remove the diaper and will wet the clothing.. ha ha.

but I am not sure abt US size, maybe you can refer to the weight guide.

we should buy some first and get new clothes as our babies grow [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] cos they grow at different rates.

@Val: Sad to say, yes!! Haha.. Maybe u can try taking mints aft your fish oil. Coz sometime I dunno what I took which can lesser the fishy smell.

thinking abt the clothes reminds me of the first day my son was born [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I recalled how afraid I was to hold him..

He was crying but I did not dare to pick him up... so frustrated on my first day.. and he was so tiny and fragile!

I still recalled pressing the button to get the nurse several times as I couldnt handle his crying!

and the nurse will push him to my bed and ask me to bf him.. but the moment he cried, I asked the nurse to bring him away..

by the 2nd night, I told the nurse not to bring him to me in the middle of the nite to BF but to give him FM.. what a bad mummy hor

val, i won't. I just switched to neurogainPB fish oil. The capsule is twice in size smaller than wat my gynae sold. V easy to swallow.

Re: baby movements

I'm able to see something poking out of my tummy or my tummy twitching when my bb moves! Told my hubby and we both waited and he managed to catch the second my tummy moves. Both agreed that bb is very active hehehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@zantarina: Initially when I started taking it i didn't have the fishy taste when I burp. Only recently then started having it. I wonder what did I eat that time too. =(

@charmaine: You bought the fish oil outside or from your gynae? How much issit? But before you change did you get the taste?

ah ching, you not bad mummy lah.. Coz 1st time mummy so it's normal. I rmb being alone with bb on my 2nd nite in the hospital and i was also taken aback by the difficulty in bf-ing that i cried with bb when i still couldn't latch him on.

val, i bought the neurogain fish oil from watsons at $35. Previously fish oil bought from gynae at $49!. I switched due to the huge price difference. The previous capsule is almost 2.5cm long and had a fishy smell + difficult to swallow. Neurogain capsule is only 1cm and no smell.

hi charmaine, my nipple bled very badly after only 1 day of bfg..

the next day the lactation consultant came and told me to stop on the side cos it was really bad..

so for mummies intending to bf.. must bring your nipple cream, very impt!!

Oh and also, remember to ask the lactation consultant to teach you how to latch baby..

I requested a visit from the LC on the day I supposed to discharge... and she helped to guide me..

For mummies staying in TMC, the LC will come for a short visit but if dont succeed better to ask for additional help...

cos if go home and come back for 'help' must pay min $40. incl. facing the distress when at home..

Zantarina: ya doc says it's food poisoning so I am actually on mc today resting at home.. But he never really check on me.. Just base on what I say and give me medication..

Charmaine: mine is at tmc also.. But 2pm..

ah ching, yes! i swear by the nipple cream coz my nipple also bf till cracked and bleed. Breastmilk also works wonder too. I was pumping halfway and i saw my milk turns pinky!

val, no i think it's mum2be or something. The capsule is dull red in colour and contains some vit and folic acid.

judy, oh, tot we could say jiayou to each's bb to cooperate for the scan hahahaha..

Our-first-baby,

I am also not too keen on infantcare centres. I visited one near my office (it was a combined childcare and infantcare), and it was sooo noisy!

The babies only had a tiny, cramped room filled to the max with cots. I felt sad looking at that place. Maybe there are better ones, i dunno.

Actually it wont be 1 to 1 care with a nanny either, unless you are willing to pay a lot more. Usually they will take on up to 3 kids.

In the end, we ended up hiring an indonesian maid, but we send her and my son to my parents and in-laws during working hours for supervision...

@Val: I also just tasted the fishy taste recently. Dunno y hor.. But I think I'm nt changing brands bah. Lazy to go source..

@Judy: Take good rest and drink more water. Rem to faster go c doctor if touch wood, this happens again. Coz food poisoning is ke da ke xiao de.

@darlest – haha yalor who knows besides, the world is so small ;p

@ MamiB & firstmum - I also totally second on the importance of routine feeding, sleeping etc and can I get Gina Ford’s books in SG?

@pootz – Go for CL for specialized care if your MIL and mom hv no or little experience. I feel that confinement is very important as we are recuperating our health after shi yue huai tai. If din do it well, the side effects are a torture!

If financial allowed, I also want to take care of my bb but everything needs $$. I not like those mummies or ladies who can do online biz or have lobang on home base assignment. Besides, I dun think it good to rely on hubby’s income…with own income, we can contribute and hv own purchasing power. That why working part-time will be my choice.

@pinkyval – I haven start yet coz gyna advise me eat more fish. Not sure to eat or not. Before I preggie, I do tasted fish oil in my breathe and tongue if I burped!

Pinkyval

I've been taking nature's care Natal plus fishoil. Never had the fish smell when burp leh.

Mrs ong,

yes it's widely available at all big bookstores.

@mami B: Can the book b borrowed from National Library?

@Val: The fishy smell is there for v long or for 1-2 times during burp only?

@Chrmaine: The ON full panel jeans which you bought is v comfy ah? I wanted to buy that time but couldn't find it so I ordered a low waisted jeans. But alot of the reviews for the full panel jeans said the panel is not full and is v tight at the rubber there, is it true? And is full panel bottoms a must during the 3rd trimester when our stomach balloon out?

HI All

Can i ask if you will feel anything when you get out from bed each time at the umbilicial cord area? I am feeling some pull when i get up this week...is it normal?

I am in my 18weeks now but i still dont knw if i feel baby's movement or now. I worried everyday if everything is ok

How does it really feels when bb moves and dear all you feel movement when u enter 18weeks?

Pls advise

Worried Mummy to be...

Hi ladies. Gotta ask u guys before I see my Gynae later for detailed scanning. Do u experience itchiness ard the external part of vagina? If yes, do u guys buy medicine over the counter in the pharmacy or do u get ur Gynae to help to check? Although my Gynae delivered my first child for me, I still feel awkward for him to look at my vagina. Well, I know it sounds stupid

I wonder can I just describe to him the itchiness and tht will do. I think is the increased flow of discharge and daily wearing of panty liner causing the itchiness.

I changed my detailed scan from Sat to ... tomm! I'm so excited =) but also worried and I really hope everything is all right with bb's development. Of course, it'll be good to finally identify bb's gender but that won't be my top priority for tomorrow. Do they give u some scans to take home? Mine is at TMC tomorrow morning.

Rachel - think yours is too right?

My hub can accompany me tomorrow coz he's given 3 days MC from today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Poor thing. Now, instead of him looking after me, I got to look after him. He's got high fever of 38.5 degs, since last night. It appeared v quickly and I hope it's nothing contagious. I'm trying to stay far away from him but it's not easy! Dr gave him antibiotics as well as tamiflu?!! Isn't that for H1N1??? Hope he gets well soon. If tomm not slightly better, I'll have to change my detailed scan back to Sat ....

Joanne - I think I know what pull you're referring to. I feel it too when I get out of bed. I think it's normal [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Not painful, right? Just a tug or something.

After looking at the discussions, I think no more infantcare for me too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Looks like SAHM, ILs or maid will be the most likely options for me.

hi mummies! i have a medela PISA full set for sale. include many extras stuff that i bought during my breastfeeding journey. bought this year and still have warranty. interested do pm me!

@Mrs Ong - I've also heard of horror stories about CL also.. After paying $3K for CL, i think my expectations is going to be very high. Yet I've heard of CLs who dun cook the good stuff, dun do grocery, dun help out at night... So i'm hesitant as well.

@Joanne - I feel the tugging too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi all! hee, im back!

Dr say might be a gal but not confirm yet. kekeke.. coz cannot see very clearly..

my baby now ia abt 11cm liao. very healthy & grow very well. but hor again, the blood test result not very gd coz im suspect of having thalassemia again. why i say AGAIN becoz during my 1st pregnancy, when i do the blood test @ TMC, they also suspect i have thalassemia, luckily, there is still some leftover of my blood, they immediately do further test & luckily im just having serious anemic..

pootz, it true leh. my first cl, i ask her to leave in the middle of the nite, recommend by one of the mummies in SMH. firstly, she duno how to bath baby, secondly she duno how to cook. u know what she cook. three plates different type of veg (just veg hor) & 2 plates of meat. faint. she also cant even cook papay fish soup to boast my breast milk. lastly i even caught the cl anyhow clean my gal buttock in the middle of the nite. imagine still hav yellow poo poo on my gal buttock & yet she want to wear back the new diaper. the moment i saw, i raise my voice at her & ask her to leave immediately. beforhand, i already given her $300buck for deposit in order to confirm her. in fact this $300buck cover more than enough for her 3days stay & u know wat, she even ask for more money when we ask her to leave. end up my hubby give her another $100 buck more. haiz.. nightmare!

so aftertat, i engage another cl thru another agency..

wishchild. mine dr is Dr irene chua.

Posted on Tuesday, September 14, 2010 - 3:46 pm:   

Zanta

yes can get fr library but u probably have to reserve it cos UT flies off the shelves so quickly!

PinkyVal

Gota dig out receipt and let u know later...

Princess

which dr at Tmc u seeing for detailed scan? For my last kid I went to TC Chang n I was given a CD with all the pics. Goodluck and rest well tonight!

Pootz

don't help out at night??? Then hire CL for what? Better to get recommendations fr friends, some CLs really terrible, half pail water wan lo.

princess, ya mine at 10am... yours? can meetup with you ya and the hbs can accompany each other... haha...who's your gyn?

Hi mums,

My fren put her bb gal in infant care and her bb gal contracted HFMD from the centre ..

Which my fren ended catching it from her gal ..

So i think infant care has its high level of risks coz there will be some parents who still leave their sick bbs with the infant care, especially when the in-charge at infant care did not practise checks on the bbs ..

My mum will be taking care of our bb ..

By the way, did any one from AXA call u up for the free 6 mths insurance for bb hospitalisation ? After you signed up for FBI at TMC ?

@Val: Then maybe u gotta find alternative if u really can't tahan the fishy smell..

@First Mum: Thanks thanks.. Maybe I'll try to borrow the book when I pop by the NL. May I know the exact price for the book?

@Joanne Tan: Fret not.. I'm entering 18weeks v v soon but I don't think I felt the fluttering yet.. Though there was once I thought I felt small balloon bouncing off my palm while lying down.

Dear Mummies, what grade of bird nest do you cook for yourself? My hubby bought me "long ya yan" at ard $250 for 1 liang, is it consider x? And is this good? The SA also recommend "jing shi yan" which is more x..

@mami B & lstmum - tks will definitely keep a look out for it!

@joanne - me 18 wks liao and no pulling...hmm check with ur gyna. Ya me too no movement on bb yet guess it normal.

@pootz - go for fren's recommendation as i heard agency or those forum one not so good...sometimes also depend on your luck. $3k is quite high and hope urs is a good one. Mine quote me $2.5k coz of good fren's recommendation but i haven cfm her yet but most probably will as i dunhave anymore choices unless i go for those agency or forum recommendation.

@darlest - terrible CL and i heard stories like urs too.

Does anyone knows how many ppl can go into the detail scanning room with us? Coz my MIL wanna tag along for my detail scanning.. I'm afraid if only 1 person, then my hubby will let my MIL go in with me de. Sianz.. I don't want.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]