(2011/02) Feb 2011

@nm: Both my sis and I also Taurus. She stubborn but not to me. But I stubborn is to everyone. Hahahahahaha! I hope my baby won't be like me. Both me & my hubby bad temper.

@ val: so cool to have a sis whose also of the same birth month [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

no lah yr bb has a diff star sign and a rabbit...wont be stubborn..heheh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i was hoping to have a tiger... coz both my hubby and i are tigers! 三只老虎!! :p

but too bad, my EDD is 23 Feb a little too far leh.. see how la! =D

Good morning mummies,

Last nite cannot sleep again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i think partly bcos my hubby on his bedside lamp n was playing his ipod game, sigh.... one more day to go! thanks everyone.

I think rabbit is not really stubborn la, but they are smart, the month and time you are born also determine your personality.

I am running out of office clothes! my dresses r getting tighter. someone recommended spree from BBR? did anyone buy from her? reliable?

my PIL are also kantang, u noe my hubby so poor thing, his english dialect name and chinese characters r different! His father side gave him the eng dialect and his mother side gave him the chinese characters. e.g. tan ah kow, chinese is 陈天才, totally different meaning! Luckily my hubby told me we name the baby ourselves, no one should interfere, whew!!

Good morning mummies

@Cherry: Good luck to your scan today!! And remember to update us after that [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].. No body name the child after them one lah.. So funny.. They even say cannot have the same letter in the names.. Like if daddy has 辉, the kid’s name cannot have 辉 coz it means no respect for the daddy..

@Fiona: I agree on ordering buffet only.. Coz nowadays a lot of things can be simplified already.. Whether to follow the traditional customs is up to us.. Maybe for those who are interested to give cakes still, I would suggest give only the elderly lor (like for relatives only).. Other than that, no need lah.. Really can save a lot of money from here.. The cakes are not cheap..

@Pinksorbet: Good luck to you too!!

@Val: Maybe your hubby already broke the news to her?? Haha.. I didn’t ask my mum about the shower part.. Just bathe when we cannot tahan ba..

@pootz: So funny.. 三只老虎!! Haha..

@Neon: That’s why.. I also told me hubby we will give the names ourselves.. The parents can give opinion or choose from our list.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Neongoby: Me too!! I'm left with 2 pairs of pants (keep alternating) and some tops ... luckily Fri can wear casual ...

I bought some stuff online from Attitude Maternity, but not that cheap and the colours didn't turn out quite like what is on the Internet. Sizing ok though. I wanna go check out OG sale this weekend and hopefully there's some wearable and affordable office clothes there.

Princess31: i went to OG Chinatown on Mon, not much variety so don't go to that branch if you r going to OG.

I need bottoms too... and more roomy dresses!!!!

PreciousBabi - haha, my hubby doesnt even want to ask his parents to choose from our options, he will just inform everyone tat our baby is named xxx... it's final and no negotiation, hahaha... i love him for this!!! As long as he is ok with the names I propose, he will support me. But of course for chinese names, we will have some options and bring to a fortune teller for advice.

nm, ya so poor thing, he himself is a kantang so he seldom uses his chinese name, then he give himself an english name, e.g. John and from then now, he is known as that.

Hi Mummies!!

Its been a long time since i post, although I have a silent reader in this thread.

I am in my 17th week now. Just went for a scan this monday and its a BOY!!! We were so happy that baby cooperate..hahaha... very nice to see the scan now as we can see the limbs and the spinal cord. everything is clearer compared to last few months. looks like really a lot of boys here.

Re: maternity clothes

I too am running out of clothes to wear.. Tummy is showing and I cant wear my old clothes. Time to do shopping.

Re: Confinment lady

For the past 1 month, I was really having a big headache on hiring or not. My mum can do for me but its the first baby in the family (both my side and hubby's side) so we were worried that she may not be able to cope. But after hearing so many horror stories and the high costs of hiring one during CNY, i tot can let my mum help. its really a big headaache. But during my gynae check-up on monday, my gynae say due to some health reasons, its better for me to opt for C-section. I was rather disappointed cause I wanted natural. As such, I most most prob will hire a CL as compared to natural delivery, a C-sec need more time to recover. Better to have a professional help during that one month and a peaceful confinment period. Looks like my bills are going to shoot up high. More $$ for C-section, more $$ for a CL.

Re: Baby Names

Other than the headache of looking for CL, the other one is deciding on a baby name. Really hard to choose boy's names. hahahha!

Re: Detailed scan

I be going ard end sept. think i will sign up for the SBI program at TMC. more discounts and i have also decided to deliver there.

Re: antenatal classes

I be going for this too.

Have a good day!

hello everyone,

I am a new addition to feb 2011 moms to be... am now expecting a baby girl at 17 weeks and wishing that everything can fast forward to jan/feb next year because I am having a difficult time with my MS.

I have had 2 consecutive miscarriages before this one so am really praying that this baby will be healthy!!

This is my second baby as I have a cute little 3 yr old milk monster.

Wishing everyone a safe and happy pregnancy journey together.

Went to OG orchard point yesterday. Bloom maternity is having clearance sale. i feel that their maternity wear are quite cheap. Tops going for 2 for $59, each piece @ $23(different design from 2 for $59 kind).

Pants going for $49, skirt @$29.

I find it quite cheap. so bought 2 tops, 1 skirt & 1 working pants.

Those nonsale items still got 20%, quite a range to choose from.

Now buy @ OG still can apply for membership card if spend above $75. quite worth it.

I have the following items for sale:

1) 1 AVENT Manual Breast Pump BPA Free: $70 (Usual price about $99).

- Good condition. Used only twice as I decided to latch-on directly instead of pumping. (Newborn 1 hole teat not included.)

2) 1 AVENT Newborn Starter Set BPA Free: $20 (Usual price about $40).

- Good condition. All 2x260ml bottles (with 2-hole teats), 2x125ml bottles (without 1-hole teats), brush and pacifier are brand new.

3) 1 “My Brest Friend” nursing pillow: $50 (Usual price about $80).

- Good condition. Only used for 1 month. Comes with washable zipper cover and instruction booklet.

4) Baby clothes suitable for 0-3 months old: $20.

- Good condition. Includes 4 rompers, 5 shirts, 3 caps, 1 pants, 5 pairs of unused socks.

5) 1 unopened AVENT box of 2x260ml bottles BPA Free still in plastic wrapping: $30 (Usual price $36.90).

$170 if you buy all the above 5 items and FREE 1 bottle of unopened Obimin multi-vitamin tables (expiry July 2011).

Collection at Jurong Point.

Please PM me if keen. Thanks!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4439916.jpg]

mami bei, welcome and congrats! Me too can't wait till next year for delivery to see my bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

gregda, congrats for having a boy! Did you had natural for your 1st child? Dun be disappointed, impt thing is bb and mother safe and you have a smooth delivery.

Just wondering, any mummies know if there are any aqua aerobics held for preggies? Anyone tot of going for maternity foto shoots?

For those mummies who intend to get maternity clothing, its always good to go to the spree section cos its realli cheaper i feel....and u can wear those clothes even after u give birth =) i jus got a couple of them.

As for bottoms usually i will wear leggings. I do have two pants which i bought from Perfect Mum when they were at a discount the last time (borrowed my friend's privilege card too). Its really useful cos after birth, u can go to the shop and ask the shop ppl to amend them to normal pants.

thanks charmaine.this is my first pregnancy..really wanted to experience natural delivery.

C-section is much more expensive and i heard that recovery is slow. but i guess its ok, so long as baby is healthy, everything is good.

ya,we prefer a boy so was very happy at the results.

i am not going for the aqua aerobics but will be going for a maternity shoot. afterall, this tummy is only here for this 9 months. in fact, only ard 4-5 months cause 1st few months we dun really show. Saw my friends taking it and it looks very good and nice. if you need my PG contact, can email me at [email protected]

@gregda, np. Go take a look.

I also have an increase in weight. Thus far has increased abt 3kg liao. I read that that throughout the entire pregnancy, shd gain less than 12kg. now only 2nd trimester, gain 3kg liao, is it alot? now seems that on average gain abt 900g/wk. is it normal? cos i heard as we progress, weight will gain faster and faster. If gain more than 12kg, after delivery, will become your increase in weight, cant shed it away liao.

Gregda,

Congrats for having boy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Little girl,

Yes, i heard that ideally is gaining 12kg for the whole pregnancy, but as my MS was very bad and i lost 7 kg in my first trimester, now trying to catch up.

My baby is taking after her dad in term of appetite, no oily, spicy food, no snack [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] hence, i find it hard to increase my weight.

Luckily, this moring i weight, got some improvement liao, hehe

hello gregda and mami bel [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@charmaine: me me ...going for maternity shoot...hehe in dec though...so now faithfully applying olive oil and clarins stretch mark cream and eating healthily for that wonderful day..heheh

@neon: quite true i hardly use my dialect name now...just english name and surname...at work..

jolin, so happy for you... Usually after the 5th mth, we will start to pile on weight and our tummy will start to balloon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

gregda, c-sec is slightly more ex but as long delivery is smooth, it's worth it. You can always try vbac for yr next birth [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

little girl, my gynae also wants me to control my weight gain to >12kg. Too bad, my 1st pg, i put on ard 23kg hahaha.. This pg, he was surprised that i only put on 2kg. My friend's gynae on the other hand, told her if she's gg on diet coz she put on 5kg when she's 5mths preggie. I guess as long as bb is growing well can le. After delivery, can shed off excess weight by breastfeeding or exercise.

Neongoby & Little Girl: OK, have decided to check out OG Orchard Pt for best hope then! Actually, been shopping around quite abit (even online) for office maternity wear but somehow I just don't like all the fashion. Looks v casual, no??

Little Girl & Jolin: We can expect weight gain within this tri, definitely [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] In fact, was just chatting with my best friend who's due in Oct this year, so she's a few months ahead of us. She told me between her 6th and 7th mth, her bb went from 260g to 1.3 kg!! That's a massive increase!!

hello morning!

not sure if anyone of u received the old navy maternity liao..i was very happy with the size n colors lar...

coz buy before mah..how about the rest? size ok bo?

cakes: sometimes not that we want to give..sometimes is the elders in the family who insist that cakes got to be distributed leh...

so...no choice lor...just hope can cover the buffet n cake cost..heheee

but for colleagues i will buy a few boxes and send over coz most probably they will give some vouchers or presents

names:for my #1 i give a "master" to calculate the chinese strokes and he give us recommendation based on birth date n timing and we chose from the few choices he had given us...

but for english names we chose it ourself...

gregda: congrats! its a boy! must be exciting to see ur boy during scan hor!

mamibel: so means ur 3YO is still a milk monster? hehee...wow!

maternity shots: actually wanted to take some maternity shots but now...lazy....hmmm...wondering shld i spend the money and keep as a memory...

headache ah..jahahahahaaa

weight gain: oppps! die..i tink i am the weird one...i gained around 5+kg leh!! hahahaaa... =X

gregda, nm, when will you be going for the shoot? My friend went for both her pregnancy and she told me 8th mth is the best time to go. Earlier than 7mth, tummy looks small, 9th mth mummy will look v tired. How much did you pay for the package and wat does it include?

choc, i'm still waiting for mine to arrive [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Same as you, we will choose eng name ourselves and chinese name, we go to a chinese master to name my child based on their birth date and timing.

ya me too..ard dec then shoot maternity photos..

i have gained ard 5-6kg so far! cause i didnt have any MS.. dun worry abt the slow gain cause it will come fast during 3rd trimester..in fact, i am rather envious of you all who still remain slim. hahaha.

yes, the ideal weight gain thru 9 months is 12-13 kg...i dun dare to eat fast food or fried stuff. only soupy food so that my weight gain is not too much. no snacks too.

hi all, i saw that square 2 (novena mrt) is having baby fair from 2 to 5 Sept, not sure if they offer wide variety though. Check out it if you are nearby!

@preciousbabi: Haha I don't think so leh. He also never talk to his mum about my baby one.

@choc: I think my clothes were delivered to me yesterday but nobody's at home to sign for it. So later after work I have to go collect in Post Office. Haha! And don't worry about the weight gain, you are not alone. I also gained around 5kg. Lol~

@Neon: Good to have your hubby’s support.. Start searching for names now!! I have already chosen an English name for bb and it’s 80% confirmed now unless I change my mind.. Hubby says it’s quite difficult to pronounce (coz his English no good hahaha) so everyday he will call the name like 10 times when we are watching tv *diaoz*.. Haha..

@Gregda: Congrats in knowing your bb’s gender!! Another bb boy! What happen? Why need to opt for C-sec? You mean the gynae can tell now whether we can give birth naturally or not?

You can visit the different websites for bb’s name.. They tell you the meaning of the names also.. Take your time to choose.. Don’t stress.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Mami Bel: Welcome and congrats to your bb girl!! Hope you will get well from your MS soon  and don’t think too much, bb will be fine if you are fine.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Littlegirl: Don’t worry, I put on 5kg liao!! My gynae ask me to control my intake of carbo now.. If not will have problem when giving birth [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@Charmaine: I’m also considering on the maternity photoshoot packages since it’s my first bb.. Checking on the price first.. Anyway I think it can only be done when we are in the 8th month..

going for the shoot sounds fun! but will we look fat in the photo? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] cos by then we would have put on quite a lot of weight...

@gregda: my meals are mostly wholemeal stuff like cereal, oats, wholemeal bread, bee hoon types of food or the laksa bee hoon type of foods....so far i can drink water/juices/apples..but am quite rice adverse...hehe dont know why....

so far my wt gain is ard 3kg ( last weighed in early august at week 11 i think)

@neon: wont look fat lah...cos 2nd tri we look the best...i dont know if i will have no. 2 or not...but since this is my first preg. hence i wanna have some memories ..heheh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

nm, the mum in the 2nd fb link goes all nude for her shoot!! wah sei! How much did your friend quote you?

valerie, do update us the size and fit ya!

preciousbabi, i'm also considering the shoot if not too ex. If too ex, my hubby will surely said might as well he take for me hahaha...

@charmaine: i wont go all nude...hubby dont like ..but will go partially nude..can cover up with nubra/tube bra..heheheh

i think for the two webbie links i sent..the pricing is ard $350 ( i think)

@NM: Not carbo but our weight.. Coz if we put on too much weight, it will be difficult during the "pushing" time.. I suppose this is what my gynae meant.. Hehe..

@Charmaine: I've searched a few websites.. Some of the prices are as low as $200+ and some $600-$800 and even $1000+.. So really have to check what they include in the package.. I guess it will be good if we have recommendations for which studio to go to coz I really don't want to pay for unprofessional service lor.. Anyone has any recommendations??

My hubby also say can take for me.. But he not pro leh.. Haha..

Hi mommies, sorry to disturb. anyone looking for CL lady $1800 only. guarantee good, 100% support breastfeeding,no deposit needed. pm me if u need one. thx

@charmaine: Sure!

I think my hubby also will say he take for me cos he got learn photography. Hahahha! Save money. But background not pro leh.

@preciousbabi:

i see...hopefully tmr when i see gynae he will not say my wt gain is too much.....

@valarie: if u have a wall thats plain or one coloured then can use a coloured cloth to drap or sth? tats wat a friend n her hubby did...

nm, hahaha i think if i tell my hubby i'm gg for nude shots, this time he will surely say he will take the fotos for me hahaha..

preciousbabi, tat's ex! And i thot a simple package will cost less than $200. Must really look for cheap and good one.

valerie, my hubby also volunteered to take for me coz he's really into those camera thingy. If i can't find a cheap one, will just ask him to take for me in black n white or sepia with white wall hahaha

@charmaine: But I shy to pose in front of him leh. Hahahha! He very particular with pose one. Then I always end up very tired and smile until cramp. But I'll ask him to take the baby shots. Hehehe...