(2011/02) Feb 2011

judy, my dog has been sleeping same bed with me for 7yrs till my boy came along coz he will play on my bed. My dog's breed is maltese so will have fur dropping on the bed so we decided to stop her from sleeping us for hygiene purpose. She was kinda depressed in the beginning. Though we bought her a v cosy bed but she's not used to it in a short time. If you will be stopping her to sleep on your bed after you delivered, now is a good time to start training your dog [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

valerie, you are rite. My boy was born in year of pig, yr 2007. Register for playground, childcare, enrichment lessons, all must queue and wait coz there's sooo many kids born that year. So must be a bit of kiasu to start queueing early coz our bb will be born next yr, rabbit year. I've got friends who trying for rabbit bb coz they dun like tiger year

choc, thanks for the updated table.

Just realised that i'll be spending my 10yr wed anniversary + my boy's birthday doing confinement.. sianzz.. Just when i tot i could have a special celebration and asked hubby for special pressie...

@charmaine: Woah if unable to register very stress hor? But actually hor. Though some of us might give birth early before CNY but in general they still belong to year of Rabbit hor? Am I right to say that? Lol~

choc: Thanks for compiling and adding me! My bb's gender not 100% cfmed yet, coz he/she was being naughty at the last scan ... I would say gynae is 60-80% sure ... will update you soonest :p

I didn't realise there's so many members in the forum too! For all we know, our children may end up as schoolmates one day :p

yah i agree with pinksorbet, don't think so early.

cos the real low will come the first 1-2 months AFTER delivery. it's worse than any MS imho.

you will feel like why on earth would anyone every want to go through this again?

then after bb starts to laugh, turns 1 year, starts to toddle, starts to talk... you will want another one cos SOOOOOOOOOOO CUTE!

@Pinksorbet: Good luck to your scan tomorrow [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].. Agree totally with what you said.. So mummies 加油!

@Choc: Thanks for updating the table!

Wah.. You like that say I abit scared I will scream at my mum lor.. Haha.. But will try to control lah..

@Val: Huh, according to my mum, she say we must give a list of names to the fortune teller.. Then from there he will calculate, so at least all the names are shortlisted by us which means acceptable.. If not if he give one 阿猪阿狗 name how?

Scared if gap too far, the big one will forget already mah.. Haha…

Me not reading books.. Now going after HK series but those funny/happy ones so bb will be happy also.. Hehe..

If we give birth before CNY will be considered as Tiger according to Chinese..

@Charmaine: You mean Rabbit also popular year ah?? Or every year also??

@preciousbabi: Hahaha! Won't lah. My hubby changed his name also by him. So far the names all very nice leh. If not nice then we don't want lor. I believe my hubby also don't want his son's name to be so 难听.

Officially is Tiger but as years go by people won't remember that year CNY is which date mah. So will also group them with Rabbit lor. Lol~

@Val: Ya lah.. If not nice can don't choose.. But you sure have own preference one mah??

Erm, this one I dunno.. But I think for Chinese won't go and change their own 生肖 one lor.. Haha..

@preciousbabi: Huh. Won't forget de lah. Hahaha! Whatever they learn they'll still be using in school de mah. And 5 years I believe will be able to take care of the younger sibling better. My sis took very good care of me when I was young and when my parents went to work. Hehe..

@preciousbabi: Errr.. I don't have so much preference on Chinese name leh. More on English name. Lol~ So long as Chinese name sounds alright to me I'm fine with it.

@Val: They won't forget lah.. But if you ask me to relax for 4-5 years then start all over again with a new born I think very tough lor.. Coz by the time age also catching up liao.. Will be more tired.. Anyway, it's still up to individual lah.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lucky my mil is not living in singapore.. cannot imagine my confinement with her around.. sure lotsa restriction..

next year CNY at 3 Feb, so babies born after tat will be bunnies.. rabbit is popular too cos it's gentle in character..

i personally preferred rabbit too..lol.

valerie, ya you are rite. Those delivered in jan 2011, their bb will be tiger bb but registering with those rabbit bb.

preciousbabi, rabbit year is popular. Coz this year is tiger so not a popular one. One of my ex-colleague purposely waited one year to skip tiger and try for rabbit bb

my grandmother said those born next yr but still tiger is robbed of their year.. meaning they dont belong to last yr nor this yr.. then she ask me to bear with it dont let baby come out during tiger year.. haha,,

preciousbb - yes i purposely plan for rabbit bb too...hb and i didn't expect to strike so fast and may end up miscalculate if i deliver early before CNY next year cos then will be tiger bb *touch wood*

i tink tiger or rabbit is all fated liao...healthy can le

charmaine...hehee...most of us be spending V-Day in confinement..sob!

maybe can sneak in some outside food ba..lol

princess31..nvm lar..put first...yeah...seems like alot... but sometimes i may missed some postings..hahaaa

so do let me know..haha...

preciousbabi...really...for my #1 my mum did the confinement for me..i remembered sometimes i did "fa pi qi" or grumble alots...sometimes i get angry with her too..

so...really..if with mil..deep trouble man..hahaaaaaaaaaaaaa

i tink we tend to lose temper at own parents...coz they are the ones who bring us up...so...really must watch out lor.. hahaaa

youlin...then ok leh..since mil not in SG..u got more freedom...hahaa

@Val: Ya lor.. Too early to decide also.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Charmaine: I see, so in Chinese they will be Tiger but English will be Rabbit lah.. Haha.. Understood.. Tiger no good meh? I though Tiger will be fierce so won't get bully so easily.. Hehe.. Intially wanted a Tiger bb, but cannot make it on time.. Haha.. Rabbit is good too, coz my hubby name is Roger.. So he keep saying Roger Rabbit.. LOL!!

@Judy: Is it bcoz of the Chinese Calendar? Coz I heard my mil say this year no good also.. She say this year the Tiger is blind.. So no good.. Though I didn't understand how they can know if the Tiger can see or not *diaoz*..

@Pinksorbet: Ya, bb healthy can already..

@Choc: Heng ah!! Haha.. Not saying I like to scold my mum lah, but my temper not very good one.. So can foresee during that month will be??? Hehe.. Just make sure I hide in aircon room whole day, so not so hot, not so pek chek.. Haha..

@Princess31: Like what Pinksorbet said.. It's all fated.. So no point bothering yourself over it since there's nothing we can do.. As long as bb is healthy, we will be very happy..

I wonder how can we tell our relatives and friends nicely that to visit us after the confinement? Or it is norm that they will visit only after that?

Taking one step further, r u guys going to give ur colleagues the 1 month cake/cupcake? asked to be delivered to the office? or u will go personally?

mmm... my parents don't really mind, they say tiger or rabbit also good, donno if it's bcos my younger brother is a tiger so they don't want to hurt his feeling? lol

Princess31 - if bb wants to come out dun tink u can do anything...sometimes certain circumstances may require to deliver earlier...depends on case to case basis. The best thing is, let your bb decide when he/she wants to come out ba [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yap PreciousBabi, i counted as of today the table Choc has just uploaded. Then again, by the time all of us have input our BB gender, we can see a more accurate pic. hahaha... i love to analyze data ;)

Neon: Some Chinese are pantang so they will try not to visit during that month.. Actually if they don't want, you can just tell them thanks but you very tired.. Tell them see them on 1st month shower lor.. They will understand one lah..

I think nowadays very seldom people give cakes already right? I will probably only have buffet + red eggs at the celebration..

PreciousBabi - ya i think i heard that a bit bad luck if they visit the mummy during confinement, whew... hopefully my PIL also come during the 1 month shower then I don't have to entertain them. I just don't want to offend anyone.

I think sometime this year, one of our colleagues delivered to the office very cute cupcakes to her boss, maybe she din invite colleagues for the buffet ba... Recently my block also got 1 month buffet celebration and each attendee brought back a box of cake... so i guess it's up to individual practice?

PreciousBabi: ya, think I shall continue talking to my bb and remind him/her not to pop out too early..stick to the date please :p

Still got people give cakes leh ... like to those pple who won't be invited or can't come to the party/celebration. Maybe like office people? Then for relatives have the buffet can liaos ... aik, this one really planning far ahead [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

preciousbabi: i am not sure of its based on the lunar calendar.. probably it is cos my grandmother is very traditional. also, according to fortune teller my horoscope clash with tiger, not very good. on the other hand rabbit complement me perfectly. dont knw how true is that. i think as long as i try my best to love and teach my child should be fine lah. i laugh when my grandmother ask me keep inside cos i dont think its possible if its really time for baby to come out..

Neongoby - i delivered cupcakes to my office personally after my confinement, cos i didn't invite my colleagues to one month celebration since its only relatives and a few close frens. Think this time round i shall do the same thing...if my hb accompanies me, i may bring my bb to the office with the cakes too, but most likely he won't allow cos bb still too small...

Hmm.. I don't think I'll give cakes leh. Cos I work in family business so I'll invite them to attend the baby shower. Hahaha!

Sometimes I think if mine is a Tiger baby then my hubby will be scared of the baby cos my hubby is Sheep. So it's like 送羊入虎口. =p But I heard actually Rabbit also very stubborn.

pinksorbet, agreed with you. It's all fated as long as bb is healthy.

preciousbabi, i wanted a tiger bb actually but was late so ends up in rabbit year haha.. For full mth celebration, the easiest is buy the card from bengawan solo and give to the guests. The guest can use the card to exchange for the cake. They can even top up to change for a cake they want. Best part is one year for card to expire [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wonder is there any other gift ideas other den cakes n bengawan solo voucher for full month cos my colleagues already hinted me not to get those for them liao.. haiz..

youlin, there are many diff ideas of giving full mth gifts. I ever rec'd a v beautiful pink box, inside is a pic frame with their ger's pic together with 2 mini mousse cake, fruit tart and red egg. I finished the dessert and use the box to put my make up [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Neon: I think for PIL abit difficult coz they will sure want to visit their grandchild.. Haha.. Just ent a while then tell them you are tired lor..

Full month cakes - Personally, I will invite all relatives, close friends and colleagues to the shower.. So I don’t feel the need to give cakes – additional costs also.. If not that close, then lagi no need to bother mah.. Haha..

@Judy: Ya I think so too.. It depends on how we educate our bb ba..

@Val: Then your hubby will be bullied by bb all the time if Tiger.. But I believe it’s how we educate the kids, nothing to do with which year they are born in, what horoscope are they in.. So this doesn’t bother me so much..

@Charmaine: Same same lor.. Late.. Haha..

neongoby...can tell ba...ask ur hubby to tell his sides not to come..and ur side maybe ask ur parents to tell them to visit after confinement...

will give colleagues 1mth cake lar..but maybe ask hubby to send or delivery lor...

wah..u go calculate the ratio! hahaa..wait till all update lar..then we noe hows the ratio is like..

hard to ask in laws not to come honestly... i just pray hard mine be out after CNY..else be hell for me..coz with those pple coming to visit me and in laws coming daily..OMG..

i will go crazy.... =X zipped!

Tomorrow is my 16 week visit! Am hoping and praying that the baby is cooperative so that we can find out the gender. Hubby and I have already chosen 2 names, 1 boy name and 1 girl name, but of course not finalised yet. Can still change our minds. Our big headache will be Chinese name- both sides of the family very kantang, English educated and completely hopeless at Chinese, so no clue how to choose. I even thought of recycling names- if boy just use hubby's Chinese name, if girl just use mine. Haha is that weird?

Yay next weekend is a long weekend! Am thinking of going on a short trip somewhere nearby, maybe Desaru or Malacca or Bintan. Just want to get out of Singapore for awhile. Maybe bring my parents and spend some time with them before the baby comes.

i think giving cakes or angkukueh is up to urself..

for me i only invite friends n family to buffet..

i find it very expensive to buy so many cakes n give out n the buffet money plus together will be alot..

so i only order buffet.. den the hong bao get back all will open a bank for my baby..

baby is more rich dan me.. sobsob..

hope i can find something to do at home n earn some income n save.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

For MTBs looking for budget maternity wear!

I came across this shop Carrano at #01-09 The Bencoolen (near Si Ma Lu, OG Albert Complex) which is selling maternity wear for those with low budgets.

The tops are priced btwn $21.90 - $26.90

They got maternity bottoms and dresses too altho i didnt check out the price.

Quality wise it is like clothes selling in "THIS FASHION".. so if u dont mind then u can drop by to check it out.

I would say they got at least abt 20 designs in diff colours. and is suitable for office wear.Tel: 6337 5063

@Jolin: I wanted at least 2 kids and I even jokingly asked my hubby that day when wanna plan for 2nd one and he said I siao!! Haha.. Hubby said he actually prefers 1 kid then I told him scarly after no. 1 is born, he is the one who wants a no. 2 instead of me.

Btw, I heard b4 that if you dreamt that you kenna bitten by a snake, it means you r gonna strike 4d le. Maybe you can buy and try your luck?? Maybe your bb wanna make u a rich mummy? Hehe..

@Charmaine: I'm glad that you decided for a no. 2. Now your boy will have a mei mei to dote on le.

@Neon: Like you, I also had a hard time falling asleep last night. Not sure is it I too excited for my appt on Fri.. Ah.. I really hope that time can really fly these few days. Do update us ASAP aft you know your bb's gender on Thurs ya.

@Cherry: I feel excited for you.. Good luck and update us on your bb's gender ASAP too..

@Charmaine, PreciousBabi: You 2 are late for a Tiger bb and I'm too early for a Tiger bb. Miscalculated as silly me thought that it'll take a month to conceive and kept thinking I'll give birth on March'11 instead of Feb'11. Haha..

@Valerie: Although I nv heard b4 that ppl born in the year of rabbit r stubborn, but one of my friends, and my ex boss is born in the year of rabbit and ya, they both r v stubborn!! And my mum who is also born in the year of rabbit is kinda fierce. So I conclude that not all rabbits r soft spoken etc. Haha.. But, I also know some rabbits who r v "wen shun" la. Maybe gotta depends on their english horoscope too??

RE: Maternity Clothes

Today I went to Carrefour and saw 1 small section selling maternity clothes. They do have both formal wear and casual wear. Casual wear prices are quite cheap but quality wise, don't expect too much. As for formal wear, I nv check their prices out. Mummies who work nearby can check it out.

fiona - my boy is richer than his parents too...when i was his age i dun even think my bank account even hit a four digit...haha...think next time the kids have more $$ in the bank account than their parents...

cherry - my gynae appt is this evening too. Good luck on finding the gender of your baby. Lets hope our little ones cooperate....can't wait!

Re: ppl born in the year of rabbit

I also never heard that ppl who are born in the year of rabbit are stubborn. All i heard of is cow and for english horoscope will be the Taurus. Hmm so i think my son (born in the year of cow), my hubby (Taurus) and my #2 (rabbit) all stubborn? Then my in laws are born in the year of rabbit and cow too, which means i have a family of stubborn ppl living under the same roof? :-O lol...

Morning mummies~

@neongoby: Tomorrow is your check up le!!! Let us know the gender!! =D

@zantarina: Hahaha! I think it's my sis that told me. 1 of her friend also Rabbit and quite stubborn lor! But also wen shun at the same time. Hahahahha! Contradicting hor?

@nm: Haha! I'm also a Taurus. But I'm not born in year of Rabbit lah. And I have a very bad temper lor. Lucky my boy is not a Taurus. If not I think both of us will quarrel a lot. Lol~

Btw last night I told my mil the gender of my baby le. But she never show super happy or what. Lol~ Think nowadays they don't really mind if is a boy or girl so long as healthy. And she said I can on aircon during my confinement and can shower every 3-4 days, wash hair once a week. Yeah~!! Then I won't be smelly & dirty liao..

@Valarie:

no lah wont quarrel ...cos my dad is a day apart in birth date as me...so both of us are pals...heheh my grand daddy also a taurus...we are like a gang in the family..heheh but stubborn all three are stubborn but not with each other...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my hubby is a tiger but me a rabbit....i think i am fiercer than him...hahah