(2011/02) Feb 2011

Charmaine,

No leh, actually my pain threshold is not high. But i have no choice due to back problems, so I was mentally prepared already. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@bigflamingo: Wah... Lol~ Actually what I scared is the wound will open up leh. Very painful de leh. But can you choose to stitch up? Cos the gynae will have to cut open the vagina for the baby to come out de mah... Cos now I still don't feel comfortable for my hubby to touch me leh. Then he like so poor thing. If have to wait for so long after I give birth then can touch me. Lol~

Bigflame - u hurt 2 weeks .. I hurt 2 months ... *sob sob*

Where's OFB? Dun know whether is he looking at our posts? Hehe .. later he gets a rude shock and msut be wondering how long does he need to wait .. LOL

charmaine: dr ang say can give birth liao den i go induce lo..

melody23: but induce also painful lo..

cuz dr hand have to put the pills inside our v.. omg..

bigflamingo: i did teach her flash card.. but she dun care me.. haha..

Choc,

Mine was 8 hours too!

Melody,

No vomitting, except for one time i vomitted out water because i sucked too hard on the laughing gas!

I wouldn't say it was easy, but i am so glad my hubby was with me to support me, and he now has new respect for me because of the pain I had to endure for our child.

Valerie,

The gynae won't cut your vagina if your tissues tear naturally. The natural tears actually heal a lot faster than the cuts.

And you will be so tired from taking care of your newborn you wont be in the mood...

Felpoo,

stitch pain for 2 months? you poor thing!

melody23: think wait for natural waterbag break will be better..

mine is becuz i dun wan bb to be inside too long..

so i dun mind dr induce..

Valerie, who knows by then if your hubby has to take turns to look after the baby at nites, he might feel so tired that he dun even want to do it at all!

melody, the anesthesia that you had the last time was GA right where you are totally knocked out. This will be different from the epi tht we are going through. But if you opt for c-sect, i know there there is another procedure where they administered the lower part of your body but you will feel conscious when they cut open your stomach. My ex colleague had done tht before for my 2 children and the husband is inside there filming the gynae cutting her up.

And mummies who are afraid of getting consitpation after delivery, do not worry. Dun push too hard when you are constipated. The 1st few days, get your mum to buy the herbal tea from the medical shop and drink it to expel the dirty blood and residue. With tht, you will definitely shit. And also do have prune juice at home in case cannot shit. Drink concentrated, your poo will definitely come out in big globs .. excuse my language.

Valerie: but if naturally tear u won't know how many tear will there be..

bigflamingo: that time my friend dun wan to cut..

her vagina there got 3 tear..

n it took 1 hour for the doctor to do up the tear.. n it's very painful..

it took her 2 weeks to heal..

so after i heard this i also scare..

but dr ang did a good job for me..

it's not very painful.. n it heal within 1 week..

@melody: I think can still walk. Cos 2 months ago my friend just gave birth. She just finished showering and her waterbag burst. Lucky her mum is at home lah. So she brought her to the hospital. But she didn't feel any pain. She only felt the water flowing on her legs.

melody23: before the waterbag break, u will feel cramp all this..

so u need to see the cramp go on n off for how many mins in between..

n call ur gynae n hubby den wait for ur hubby to come back fetch u..

cuz first baby won't be so fast out de.. so no worry..

fiona, thanks for ur assurance.. scared i panic..

oh yah, can i check with u gals if birdnest is liang? I have slight cough, dunno if it's due to eating too much (twice a week)..

melody, my waterbag burst at 1am when i'm asleep while my hubby on nite shift hahahaha... So i faster go wash my hair 2x thoroughly, eat maggie noodles and ice-cream (coz i noe i can't eat after birth hehe) and took a cab to hospital. Can still walk when waterbag burst but have to put super big pad. But my water all came out while i was showering and after that blood will start to flow out like menstrual blood.

@charmaine: Woah you still can wash hair twice, cook maggie mee to eat and eat ice cream after that??? You not kan cheong meh??? Some more blood flowing out leh!! Omg~

valerie, I thot baby won't come out so fast coz i dun have any cramps or contractions. And in the end, i have to put on drip to force my contractions to come coz my v din't dilate a single cm. Half sleepy me 1st thot is faster eat wat i wan now and faster shower my hair before i can't [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

valerie: think i can continue eating, likes birdnest, the ingredients like jelly [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bigflamingo and valerie, the cut is called episiotomy. Surgical cuts like episiotomy heal much better and faster than natural tears. Natural tears are uncontrolled and can be quite bad, they can even involved the anal sphincter and cause the mother to be incontinent (ie cannot control shit) after birth. Hence, it is always better to have an episiotomy rather than tear naturally. It's usually a judgement call by the gynae, if they feel you need one (ie you will tear naturally without one) they will do one to prevent the tear, if they feel you can get away without one they will try not to do it first.

Mummies, my friend is offering me his maxi-cosi infant car seat second hand. How much do you think is a fair price to pay for a used infant car seat?

By the way Mummies, came across this online. One more baby expo to look forward to in December so no need to feel bad about missing the Taka baby fair [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Singapore International Baby Products Expo

Venue: Singapore Expo

Start Date: 09-DEC-10 End Date: 12-DEC-10

Industry: Household Consumables

EVENT PROFILESingapore International Baby Products Expo(SIBPEX) is targeting for mothers and babies. The exhibition is expected to attract over 150 international exhibitors from more than 18 countries to participate in the event. The event will features sector from the food and nutrition, education, health care, hygiene, baby care, baby accessories, toys and clothes industries will gather together under one roof to exhibit their latest products & services.

@charmaine: But you eat first then shower or shower first then eat? Lol~ Cos I think if I see blood coming out I'll be scared stiff.

@cherry: Thanks for the info! I hope mine won't be too painful. =/

I hope I am more mentall prepared after reading your posts on delivery.. A colleague of mine had 2 w/o epi and both her babies are on the big size! Amazing!!

I also wanna try go natural tho hubby keep saying my threshold of pain so low sure need epi..

cherry: maybe u can ask ur friend the condition of the car seat first.. Coz sometimes milk vomit, poo and pee exploded on it before, then u might want to give it a second thought...

valerie: think we both the same, scared and kan cheong type.. haha

Choc: Thanks for updating the table!

Epi: My gf who gave birth last year advised me not to take epi if can bear with the pain.. She is suffering from the side effects of backache nowadays.. Of course if can I will not opt for it too..

Valerie: Ya, we will be too busy with the newborn by that time.. Where got time to think of sex.. Haha.. Got time also busy pumping milk.. LOL..

Charmaine: Salute to you!! Think I will be kan cheong like wat when the water bag burst.. You still have time to do so many things.. Maybe I should try too, provided no pain yet.. Haha..

Cherry: I bought a 2nd hand Ferrari car seat from my friend too at $150.. Saw at Taka fair selling at $260+..

Hi, am urgently looking for emergency hpn of TMC Dr Yvonne Chan. Left namecard at home n her clinic is closed. Anyone has?

valerie, i shower 1st then eat. While showering, i can feel more water flowing out below. While eating, i started to have minimum menses cramp and when i go toilet to see, can see menses flow but not alot. By the time i go hospital, the flow will be like 1st day menses flow. Not alot of blood coming out hahaha

Re: Car seat

Ladies, can I chk is it true dat there's a law or smthg dat if u have baby in car must be in car seat. For eg. if hubby drive, I cannot hold to baby? Must be put in car seat?

preciousbabi, partly i was really half asleep so didn't have to chance to panic. Sometimes i will still wonder how come i will wake up at 1am and v lucky to find that my waterbag has broken.

CLmum, you can go to TMC 24hr clinic for emergency and the nurses will call Dr Chan immediately.

@melody: Hahah! Ya, I think if my waterbag burst I'll panic and rush to hospital liao. Lol~

@preciousbabi: Har, then my hubby very poor thing leh. Later he stray how. =(

@charmaine: Woah you very calm leh. Why you never panic when you see blood? Lol~

@nashita: I think it's a law that you have to secure the baby in baby chair, just like children under 8 years old but sit on car seat. But if you heng heng never kenna caught then nvm lor. Hee hee..

Charmaine: I just pray that I won't be sleeping like a log when the water bag burst.. Haha..

Valerie: Make him help to pump milk and look after baby so he got no time to think also.. Haha..

@Valerie: Thanks for the info. Cos we no intention to buy car till COE come down..my own fault, hubby wanted buy in Jan I told him dun wan, cos no need for it. We use parents car from time to time and I am thking most of time I will be there so mebbe no need baby car seat. But if it's a law, then no choice but to buy lor.

There is a law about child car seats. In fact the traffic police are stepping up fines to people who don't strap their kids in. There's an article on ST online about it today.

Oh no!! I better warn hubby..cos I thk he was thking gotta "bear with it" only these 9 mths.. Actually it's he who scared if we do it smthg will happen to baby.

valerie, it's not alot of blood. The more surprised part is the water flowing initially coz the amount is alot flowing out

preciousbabi, won't de, don't scared yourself hahaha

today i just a youtube clip of a woman having water birth at home and not censor de (wondering how come can post at youtube?) Amazing, her v can stretch till the whole baby is out. Wonder how come their v so elastic hahaha