(2011/02) Feb 2011

charmaine, the problem here is that my mil and hubby want me to go to my mum's hse for confinement but they don't allow me to bring my girl along. And if I tell my husband in the face that I'm going to pay for the CL, he will think that I despise him and will find excuses to pick an arguement with me. So I am going to pay myself and don't even mention a single word. Now come to think of it. Shld learn from my gf who knows tht when she was pregnant and immediately asked for a divorce as she cannot get along well with the hubby. I know very selfish to think this way. But before this pregnancy, we were in the midst of discussing the custody of our girl.

@faithnhope: I wish for you that yours will b a girl girl.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Congrats!!

@fiona: Congrats too!! Your wish came true & I'm feeling happy for u. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, is the chinese gender prediction accurate for the 2 of u??

So sian, I gotta wait till next fri for my turn.. Long wait!!

@valerie & choc: Have u 2 gotten the clothes fr the ON/Gap spree?

This thread is moving so fast these 2 days.. I'm still trying to catch up as I nv login ytd.. Hope u mummies had taken your lunch.

felpoo: r u ok? maybe try to have a good tok with ur hubby??

children really suffer if parents divorce..

cuz my friend go thu divorce.. n she got 2 kids with her ex husband..

now she remarry already.. n now she got her 2 own kids..

really sad..

dr ang still say my EDD is on 2 Feb..

dun knoe whether will give birth early anot..

cuz first preg should give birth on 12 Jan 2009..

but i induce on 29 Dec 2008..

cuz dr ang say bb can come out liao..

den i say ok..

i very headache.. my 20 months girl still dun knoe how to talk..

she dun knoe how to say mama n papa..

omg.. anyone help??

fiona, your 1st pg, you induce at which week?

felpoo, is there any way to have a nice talk with your hubby? Some men have to use the method 吃软不吃硬. There are many ways to resolve marriage conflicts and divorce shd be the very last resort. When parents divorced, the kids do suffer coz they are pure innocent. I believed your case is not that worst and mostly caused by miscommunication, of coz with the add-ons of your mil. My friend is a single parent but her case is extreme whereby her husband's not only hostile, he also abused her and her kids. So after she has divorced, they are happier. It's not really true that parents shd not divorce due to the kids but have to see under wat circumstances and current situation.

fiona, is your ger going to any nursery or playgroup? My boy is a "late" learner. He only noe how to walk and say papa mama at 16-17mths. On the 2nd day after i placed him in a childcare (when he's 19mths), he can say "mummy". He can feed himself at 19mths too. But after i withdrawed him coz suggested by PD coz he kept falling sick at an unusual frequency, it's back to square one

@felpoo : is it really that serious? i think divorce will do more harm than benefit. kids will suffer and they will have bad childhood memories that can extend to their adulthood. can get a 3rd/neutral party to listen you guys and resolve from there? i think shdnt even think of divorce.

charmaine: i think is around week 37 or 38

she will be going to playgroup next yr January..

loinky: she only say one word.. that is "YAO"..

when she wan to eat.. -.-"

Hi Fiona,

I agree going to a class once a week might encourage your girl to talk. I have been reading a few books to my son every day since he was a newborn (he is now 22 mths) and using flashcards with him. It seemed to work... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

fiona, did your gynae say anything about inducing at 37weeks? Coz i want to c-sec at 37weeks but gynae say cannot.

Once your ger starts playground, you will be amazed how fast she can progress [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Do you talk to her alot at home?

Hey ladies, dun worry. The topic was broached before when I realised I was pregnant. So now I'm pregnant and I won't go to that extent unless it's getting more intolerable. I will have to adopt the wait and see stance. Just hope that it will get better.

Toddler talking: Once you put your children in the childcare, they will start to talk to their peers. Boys will be more slower than girls. if the children have speech delay, normally teachers who are more attentive will be able to detect much earlier and will voice to the parents. Fiona, you have to talk to her more often esp. when you go home after work.

And 1 thing that I would like to share with the mummies out there. I am not being kaisu or what. I came to realize that the earlier you expose your child on academic learning, the better and less stressful for you and the child. I started my girl late and now I am facing problems but now overcoming it slowly. I always think that I should not start early and give her pressure. How wrong am I. So now, I am telling myself. I am going to start early for the newborn.

Felpoo,

I think it doesn't have to be stressful starting babies early on education if we can make it fun. I just talk to my son as if we are having a conversation, even if he doesnt answer. Like with the flashcards, i make sounds first so he can guess what it is, before i reveal the picture and say out the word.

I also heard boys are supposed to be slower than girls at speech, but turns out my boy loves to talk!

fiona: i do not have experience having kids, but i do have experience with a young child with late learning abilities.. and thats my youngest sister. she started speaking only at 4. and only very short sentences. doctor diagnosed her with mild autism and anti socialism. today, she is a top student in a top sch and will not stop talking.

Hi fiona, my nephew learnt to speak quite early, but was not able to pronounce clearly.. My sis brought him to see a speech therapist and i think there are flashcards or something to train him...

Can we choose when to induce delivery? which type has least pain and least side effects? scared scared leh..

bigflamingo, lucky for you. Why I feel stressful is because my girl is 4.5 yrs of age and I didn't expose her with flashcards earlier on. So the set of words her classmates know, she doesn't. And upon seeing that, you will start to get a bit stressed. Anyway, I am starting her everyday 2 hours of learning. Every half an hour, rotates subject so that she won't feel bored. I also start to give her spelling everyday with 15 words. And once she's familiar, she will proceed to the next set of words. And times table too.. Sigh .. last time, when I was young, I am not that 'ku4 la4' myself, but now no choice.

Melody,

Why do you want to induce? Unless you are overdue...

Do you know inducing will get your delivery going much faster, but it will also be more painful?

if possible, try not to opt for earlier delivery. Unless the baby wants to come out themselves. My sil opted for c-sect so much earlier with the gynae's approval due to certain job reasons. And her daughter came out as a low weight baby.

Valerie, I'm not sure myself. U look at the website's description. It was supposed to be a trade fair but do not know whether are they selling anything off the shelf. Anyway, I am crossing my fingers for the october expo fair.

I think i would want natural birth.. but the thought of the vomiting as a side effect of epidural puts me off... hates the feeling of vomitting.. but scared of the pain too...

bigflamingo, I wish to read to my girl myself. But she doesn't allows me to. N with that, she snatched the book away from me and will read to me instead. But she made up the story as she goes along. So I entertained her a while before I bring out my cane for her to see.

Now what I do is to print images and pictures and paste on a cardboard and flash the cards to her myself. Can't find what I want from the bookshop. Tht's why people always say mum is the greatest.

@felpoo: Me too. Missed the last day of Taka babyfair. Argh! So upset!

@melody: Huh? Confirm will vomit after epidural or depends on individual? And when do you vomit? While delivering? Or after delivered? So scary... =(

Melody and Valerie,

I didn't have epidural, but my mum told me when she did, she had terrible back pain for quite a long time afterwards.

If you can bear w/o epidural, you can actually push out the baby faster, because you will feel a very strong urge to push...a bit like pang sai feeling (sorry to be gross!)

valerie, i dun noe whether confirm vomit or not.. have not give birth before... read somewhere that it's a side effect... yup yup, scary....

felpoo, valerie: i only went during the last day of the fair.. Bought stroller and milk bottles...

medlody.. but if you induce, you will also need the epidural too if you can't bear the pain. After delivery, you don't take solids and stick to liquids at a minimum and you won't vomit tht badly unless you are sensitive to the drugs.

For 1st time mummies, just note on something. After delivery, you might feel you are alright to take a few steps. Do not overestimate yourself. This was what I did. After lying on the bed for 6 hours after delivery, I stood up and went to the toilet to pee. And luckily I was staying in a 2 bedded room. I fainted in the toilet. So malu.. Then I dun know how to sound the alarm and hv to shout to get attention. Luckily my room mate quickly called the nurses and I have 3 nurses coming inside the toilet to help me out. And I didn't even managed to pull up my pants while they came in to rescue me.

@bigflamingo: But the pain I heard is very unbearable. Unless is waterbag broke then will be easier. I don't think I can endure leh. My hubby also said I confirm will need epidural. Lol~

@melody: Which stroller you bought? How about breast pump? You already have?

@felpoo: But you fainted is cos the epidural effect not over yet or what? Har.. Then cannot go toilet ah.. Cos I'll be opting for a 1 bedded room..

felpoo, i really cant stand the feeling of nausea and vomitting, have so much of MS already.. if give birth oso vomit, think i gg to be too weak to do anything... How long does the feeling of vomitting and nausea last for epidural ah?

Oh dear, lucky u din hit ur head or injure yrself... malu nvm lah, lucky there's no dozen of vistors outside.. hehe

Nope .. fainted becos due to loss of blood.. Hehe .. Sorry nvr say clearly. Just a word of precaution to all the first time mummies out there.

melody, yeah loh .. if hv visitors then very paiseh. This nauseous will last half a day to 2 days depending on your body reaction. But if u can't tolerate your MS you dun need to worry abt this nauseous caused by the epidural. It's considered a mole out of an anthill man.. And the gynae will prescribe the pain killer and the anti nauseous for you, which both I didn't take as I started bfeeding immediately though it's safe.

bigflamingo, you had natural birth w/o epi? I had a friend who had natural birth twice w/o epi. Salute to her.

I never vomit when i had epi. Only uncontrollable shivering when the epi is administrated and after my delivery. But guess it depends on individuals.

Melody,

when you push, there will be no pain. It's quite weird, like the body is encouraging you to push out the baby. the vagina pain period is very short, only when the baby is coming out, some people call it the ring of fire but i personally don't remember it being that bad. After that, straightaway the pain is gone.

I was induced (doctor broke my water bag) but could not have epidural because I have back problems. So no choice but to tahan, with some laughing gas and an injection in my thigh.

valerie: there were so many variety, see till i blur blur.. in the end we bought a peg perego stroller for $600 plus... Met a friend there and she recommended it, i have never heard of the brand before though.. the stroller quite stable, and i like the fact that it has a sleeping position too...

My sis will be passing a brand new manual breast pump to me.. will try it first, if got milk, den will get a electric one...

@felpoo: Maybe we should bring lots of milo over. Then can drink.

I don't care. I'm going to take epidural. During pregnancy already vomit so much. Now delivering time liao, once and for all vomit everything out. Hehe..

@bigflamingo: Erm, I have a quite personal qn to ask you. It's okay if you don't wanna ans. Hee... After the stitching of the vagina how many days did you wait before you have sex again huh? Heee... *blush*

bigflamingo, jiayou! If you can go w/o epi for 1st birth, i noe you can succeed for 2nd one too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Wish i can go thru w/o epi too though i have high pain threshold

Valerie...

Days? try MONTHS! hahaha! You won't want your husband touching you for at least 6 weeks! I found sex a bit uncomfortable at first, and I waited a few months. My new mom friend said she felt a bit like born-again virgin..haha.

Not everyone needs stitches (think it's called an episiotomy), only if your baby is too big or you need to forcep out. I did have stitches and it hurt like hell for 2 weeks!

valerie, dun need to bring milo. U can ask the hospital for it.

I waited for 2 months. It also depends on how fast your recovery is. But alot of ppl say dr. ang's stitching is good and you will feel like a V when you do it after delivery. Alot of old ppl say after 100 days, only if ur hubby can wait tht long :p

hehe

ah ching: WAH! i been dreaming of getting a girl! nvm lar...girl boy not impt..as long as healthy!

side effect of epi... so far no side effect on me but i know that there are risks which may be backache lar..or others if administer the epidural

Valerie: if tummy itchy..start to apply moisturiser or if currently using one..maybe sensitive to it...

little girl: i was hoping for a girl to play dolling up on..but guess it out of my control on gender..but maybe can pinned some hope that on week 20 the scan may change to girl?

but gynae told me she was 95% sure... hmmmm.....

felpoo..my baby length at week 16 was ard 11+cm...dont worry about ur baby size ba... if gynae no say too small..it shld be fine..

but maybe next round u ask the size ok bo lor?

Huh...ur mil n hubby wan u to do confinement outside without ur child? errrm...how u bf? whos going to courier the breast milk over...

tell them u wan direct latch...

Jolin...my hubby always gaining weight leh...but so far both pregnancy also boy lar..haha

fiona...get those Karaoke VCD, sing with her...act silly...as long as motivate ur girl to sing ...its ok..or try going to Julia Gabriel...

Somehow my boy who had been attending the playclub..become more "talkative" after a term

bigflamingo: i also induced when i was at week 40 leh... hmmm...the delivery is indeed faster as labour last around less than 8hours...i remember i put drip at ard 10am, then baby out ard 5pm..

but not painful lar..opt for epidural lor..hehe..my baby come out 3.5kg..so ok lar...

and also i still can feel and push well...so i tink is individual ba

melody...for myself no side effect like vomitting...hmmm...

bigflamingo, u make sound so easy.. hope mine will be smooth sailing too... Injection into thigh will ease the pain without vomitting?

felpoo, i got a day surgery before.. the effects caused by the anesthesia caused me to vomit and i felt so weak after the surgery... phobia... But feels more assured if it is better than MS.. hee