(2011/02) Feb 2011

yes, i agree with Neongoby, ppl tend to have bad moods, but after tt, they will feel guilty, especially towards their loved ones.

Prob you can use BB to cheer him up. Ask him to talk to BB, doing some common stuff tgt. I also keep insisting my hubby to say good morning and good night to BB(though i still cant feel the kick)[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]. It will make him feel impt in the family. My hubby will naturally smile when he is talking to BB. So maybe you can try tt, let him start and end the day nice. Maybe ur #1 can cheer him also?

BB is ur trump card now. hee

paiseh ladies...was MIA for days... my boy was down with fever and so busy for days.. =(

oh ya... scanned last sat and gynae was pretty sure is a boy again... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

abit disappointed as i always wanted a girl...

ok..will start reading the past chats now...so many to read!!

@choc: Welcome back~~~ Nvm, you can try again for another one. Hehehe...

Seems like Feb a lot of baby boys... I hope mine is girl... *fingers crossed*

wah.... quite a number of BB boy liao thus far.

Congrats Choc... then ur boy got partner to play wif liao. think either boy or gal, as long as healthy, as parents we will be happy.

felpoo: hope u are feeling better today... i think valerie has a point, talk to him and convinces him in such a way that the CL is to help his mum, he might just relents... if ur stays at ur mum's place, how abt ur girl?

neongoby: we do have a bed for the CL to sleep in.. i asked the CL what are her needs when i book her, she very- easy going, told me that she can sleep on the floor, just a pillow will do.. maybe u can call ur CL and ask her..

Little Girl: Congrats.. Enjoy the naming process..

Felpoo: You really have to find a day where both your hubby and you are in good mood and talk to each other nicely..

1) List the reasons why you need a CL.. It’s not only to take care of you, but the newborn and share housework with your MIL so she doesn’t get too tired as she needs to look after your #1 too.. Believe he will understand if you 2 talk peacefully.. Of course the last choice will be to go back to your mum’s place for confinement.. But it won’t reflect good on your MIL & hubby coz should people know that you are doing confinement at your mum’s place, people sure think they not able to help out or got conflicts.. So your 爱面子的 MIL will 没面子..

2) Ask him what is he not happy with when you talk on the phone with vendor? It’s work related and not leisure.. What is he uncomfortable with?

3) Did you ask Dr Henry on bb’s size?

Neon: I think for CL to sleep, as long as the mattress not too thin until can feel the bed/floor can already.. Don’t have to spend extra money unless you can still use it after they leave..

Choc: Congrats! Another boy in this thread.. Can't wait for my scan.. Arghhhh... Boy also ok mah.. They can share things and play together.. Hehe… And Valerie is right, you can try for 1 more after this.. Haha..

@melody: Haa.. Sleep on the floor sounds very poor thing leh. Maybe she knows by saying that you all will at least give her a mattress and yet not finding her asking for too much. Hehe..

hi ladies...

been a long time since i posted...mus catch up the past posts..

hope everyone is doing well..!

Felpoo: jus read yr recent post...can understand why u r hurt..esp when yr hubby shout out like that when with yr vendor..mayube go somewhere out for a good dinner..den when mood is better sit down and down abt the CL issue..if no choice u go back yr mum for confidement will they allow u to bring along yr new born kid and yr girl?

mummies: i went for my check and doc say 80% is a baby ger =) seem like mostly are boiboi..anyone is gerger?

as for my syptoms:

Mild MS, naseau and vomitting at times.

vomitting normally at night or noon.

headache

not much discharge still

some pimples at times.

become very lazy and tired

craving fried food.

hungry all times.

Gained 4.6kg since preggy

bloated, burping

instinct was a boy...but its a ger =))

first kid.

zanta: i saw that snudge nest at the taka fair too! im so tempted to buy that but the lady say use up to 4 months..den its $ 99...dotn know to buy ma but i think its nice!

@felpoo: My MIL shared with me dat smtimes hubby is also affected by pregnancy. Eg my cousin experienced MS & not his wife. My hubby smtimes crave for thgs (dunno real or not lah!) but we noticed he has bad temper too occassionally but most often triggered by tiredness when he is overwhelmed with all his CCAs besides work & get little sleep. Smtimes, I do cry (cos I very sensitive nowadays) or I do show I am upset & he will apologise later. Cos he knows dat his wife cannot be upset esp now when preggy. MIL thk dat his temper has to do with my pregnancy cos smtimes it is a lil over than his normal temper.

@Nashita: Haha! So funny! Husband get the MS but not the wife. I wish my hubby will share the MS with me. Then he'll know how much I suffer. Though he also know lah. Like when I was vomiting he'll come into the toilet to pat my back. But still, he should experience my lethargic and headache. Then he'll know why I can't smile when I'm feeling horrible.

Why you don't want to go at 20 weeks together for the detailed scan? Just 1 more week. And you will be able to see the gender.

@Valerie: To be quite truthful, I actually dunno anythg. Dr jus indicate for me the week for next appt & if there's scan, she will indicate as well. Then at counter, I choose date of the week. I have an appt with her but no scan next Thurs. Maybe I will ask her abt it. Unless she tell me at 19 weeks she wan scan for baby gender.

Good morning, Mummies

Little Girl,

Congrats, hope my baby will be cooperative during next scan too, hehe

Felpoo,

Some men are just insensitive, and worse, most of the time they don't know when they are in wrong. That happens to my hubby too. I agree that your hubby is a bit wrong for shouting at you when you spoke to your vendor over official, but maybe he just feel for you. You are pregnant now and still need to handle office things after office hours, he will heart pain leh. Try to talk to him and let him know your feeling when you both calm down ya.

And for CL, i agree with the mummies that if your hubby and MIL don't want to hire CL, then you do your confinement at your mother's place. Somehow i feel our own mother can take a better care of ourself than our MIL. But discuss first with your hubby ya.

Choc, Amazing Miracle

Long time no "see".

Congrats to both of you for being able to tell baby's gender already. So happy for you

Ladies, thks for listening to my grumbles. Initially, my mil wants me to go to my mum's plc to do confinement. And I was wondering why, until one day she was counting how much she need to spend for food for the CL and me during the CNY period. So I know she's hinting me that with me engaging a CL which costs 3k and the food is going to cost her another 1k. N I did contemplate to go to my mum's plc but I think it's still not appropriate as it is during the CNY period. No good for my parents though they don't mind.

Let us don't talk about my husband. I will wait and see approach. This time round, I am not going to give in because he is the one who went too far much. I know that there is no point reasoning with him. Know him too well. He won't admit he's wrong.

As for baby's size, Dr Henry said it's normal. But I see a number of them are spotting the length at abt 10cm.

@nashita: Ya, check with her next week. If she's not doing detailed scan on week 19 then might as well push behind to 1 more week whereby you can do the detailed scanning. Don't waste extra money. =)

Amazing: Congrats!!

Felpoo: No worries.. Things will work out well soon.. Since Dr Henry say normal then no need to worry.. Maybe your bb will pick up later..

@Valerie: Really...my cousin MS quite chiam also lei..hahaha..when i told hubby, he say he dun wish be like my cousin. But for him, I find him craving for thgs which is very unusual. And thgs dat he usually dun even really eat lor..Quite funny cos I rarely crave for thgs..

When my husband knows tht engaging a CL costs abt 3k, he grudgingly gave in and it's pretty unwilling. Anyway, I am not expecting him to pay anymore.

My parents were peeved when I told them what my mil and hubby said. They told me that they will pay for me. Sometimes, it really makes me wonder why shld I go to the extent of having children where my parents keep offering to pay whatever my husband does not want to spend.

@felpoo: Hope thgs will be better for u soon. Hope ur MIL will also "wake up" soon. Dun be too angry, not gd for u & ur precious one. Smile more k? =)

@nashita: Hmm.. I don't see anything unusual about my hubby leh. Except for always hungry late at night. Lol~ But he's already like that before I got pregnant. So nothing different. Haa~ My mum only said he lost weight.

Felpoo,

Think this way, we're lucky one that we still have our parents / family support. There are many pregnant women who not only need to support themselves but the whole family too. Hence, we are still lucky one.

Don't think too much now ya, just be positive and happy.

Valerie,

They said if hubby lost weight during our pregnancy, then it's a girl.

If gain weight, then it's a boy.

Wahahhaha.... another old old wives tale, hehe

morning mummies, anyone worried about the 7th mth hungry ghost festival? nowadays i feel very uneasy.. somemore with hubby who can 'see things' he said ever since i pregnancy got two 'guardians' keep following me.. he said they harmless.. then yesterday my dog keep staring at the same spot and cower in fear.. she keeps looking at my bedroom.. hubby works till about midnight everyday so i go to bed alone but yesterday i dont dare to go in.. plus below my block got 'song kah'.. i heard preggy must avoid song kah but this one i cannot avoid cos i need to walk past to go home.. how ah?

Dear Ladies, after reading Jolin's comment abt hubby losing/ gaining weight, i immediately sms hubby..he said he thk he lose weight...hahaha! ;p

Valerie,

Haha, but i couldn't remember all leh.

I just share whatever i remember

Rice Wine

You know last time people will make rice wine for confinment woman by themselves. At the start of the wine making process and there is somebody come in and saw it, if the person is man then it's a boy, if woman then it's girl. (What logic). Haha

Nipple shape (only apply to second born and subsequently)

If the first child's nipple shape is pointed, then the second child is a girl.

If otherwise, then it's boy

Eh... the rest i couldn't remember liao leh

@Judy: Hmm.. Maybe try not to think too much? Last Saturday night hubby was out and I was alone I also suddenly quite scared cos I thought I heard someone talking. I wanted to sleep with the tv on but after that I decided not to. So I tried to sleep while chanting prayer in my heart. Maybe you also can chant some prayer in your heart? And since your hubby said the 'guardians' are harmless maybe they are your closed one wanting to protect you and your baby? =) If walked past I think nvm.. Just don't look at it lor.

@jolin: Hahah! But the rice wine has to wait till someone confinement then can know? But we also haven't give birth. Lol~

Valerie,

The rice wine is normally prepared for confinement woman and takes time (about 3 - 4 months). It must be indicated to the lady who is going to give birth not for sale or anyone else. So normally prepared before we give birth lah.

But i told my mum, 3 - 4 months before giving birth, by that time i already know my baby's gender, haha

Hello Mummies!

Last night I had an interesting conversation with my MIL over dinner. She told me she wants a baby girl! Reason is she herself had 2 sons and has never had a little girl to dress up and pamper, so she's hoping for a granddaughter to dress up now.

I find this very interesting, considering that my hubby is her elder son and my FIL is also the eldest son, so I thought there was unspoken pressure for us to sire another heir [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Glad her outlook is so modern, really takes the stress off me. I guess it helps that my PILs are Christians so don't really believe in all the traditional stuff.

My 16 week scan is next Wed and the detailed scan on 29 Sept. So envious of those mummies who already know the gender!

Hi judy, i cannot see things, and am pretty sensitive to them.. Usually during 7th month, i dun sleep very well at night and wake up at 3plus before sleeping again...

Before i got married, i would on the night lamp throughout the whole night, it gives me more assurance when sleeping..

I have a charm by my bedside every night i sleep... When i go out at night these days during pregnant, i would carry a small metal scissors in my bag, it's supposed to ward off spirits or something... Some says carry a safety pin also can.. If possible, try not to go out after 7pm...

valerie & melody23: i always avoid saying prayers when i scared.. somehow, cos i feel that if i dont admit, the 'things' are not there. if i say prayers, it means i am admiting that the 'things' are there and i am scared.. really hope the 7th mth will pass faster

@Judy: Hmm.. But you are really scared leh. And say prayers not necessary is to ward off those things. Like now that I'm pregnant my mil ask me to read prayers once a week. She said next time baby will be easier to look after. And my hubby also said he read somewhere if you read prayers baby will fall asleep. So take it as good for your baby bah. =)

@melody: Haha! My hubby very smart. Whenever I can't finish the food he'll ask me to leave it there. He won't stuff himself and get fat. Haha! Unless he's very hungry which very seldom.

Judy, how about on more lights, make the house brighter? at least feel more assured...

U got any ping an fu? If u are a buddhist, can get 1 from the temple, and keep it close to u..

valerie: haha really? baby will fall aslp? but i am a free thinker.. i dont knw which prayer to say. =/

melody: hubby got a very big ping an fu for me to carry around in my wallet.. i am such a scardy cat. haha.

valerie, i always tell hubby not to waste food.. so i psychoed him eat abit abit more.. haha.. and he also got the bad habit of buying too much food too, serves him right.. haha

@judy: Hannor. He said one. Those buddhist prayer. And he said listen to mozart's music also. Only mozart and nobody else. Lol~ He said it's proven. Don't know where he read it from also.

judy, 2 weeks more to go, everything will be fine.. try to think or do other stuff to keep urself distracted... and ask hubby comes hm earlier too...

During my last pregnancy and after delivery, I always sensed my fil who passed away during my last pregnancy. I felt very uneasy and thus my dad gave me a tiger tooth for me to put at my bedside. He said can 壮胆. If you are still worried, perhaps you can place buddhist scriptures or bible at your bedsie, whichever is your belief. Or can buy a piece of jade to 挡邪

@melody: Wahahaha~ Your hubby is like me leh! Always buy a lot of food. Last time when we were still dating and when we eat outside I'll tend to order a lot of dishes. But end up always cannot finish. Lol~ But now I never liao. Haha! Cos I don't like to waste food also. So sometimes if he don't want then I force myself to eat lor. If really cannot then no choice, have to throw away. =(

Judy,

Last time i used to be very timid, but somehow after pregnant, i found myself become more brave, haha. Maybe i have this mindset that i need to protect my little one. Maybe you can occupied yourself with some stuff (like watching tv, listening to music / radio), then you will forget about the fear

Melody,

When my MS was very bad, my hubby also lost appetite. Now my appetite slowly gain back, my hubby also become great eater, haha

Judy, if you want to avoid saying prayers, you can get those buddha script booklet from the shops at guan yin temple and placed below your pillow when you sleep or carry with you ard the hse. When i was pg with my boy during 7th mth, my dog will bark at the main door at 3am almost every nite. Scared me so much coz it's like she's barking at something outside the door (my hse is corridor and my bedroom is facing corridor) and my hubby is always on nite shift. So i will place the booklet or a tailsman with me to protect me and my bb. Keeping the lights/tv on gives me assurance too.

Re: Old wives tale

Hubby lose alot of weight during 1st pg and i had a boy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jolin, I tried the grain test but not sure if i did it correctly. I took some rice grains and starting counting. It's an odd number so meaning is boy? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

felpoo, read wat happened from your post. Hope you are feeling better now. Are you able to get a CL and both of you go to your mum's hse for confinement? Coz geting a maid/CL to stay with your inlaw's hse is causing much disagreement. Or would it be better if you paid for the CL? Since you are the one paying, i think they won't disagree?