(2011/02) Feb 2011

OFB, my hubby say still got lotsa time to see see look look for better options. And he say $499 for a cot is ex. Since he's paying so i just keep quiet. Also, we haven't decide where to place the cot yet (my bedroom is cramped with our kingsized bed and my boy's bed.) Still wondering where to squeeze in the cot. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Valerie: Ok, you will get it if you believe.. Haha..

Melody: Yours could be a girl [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Zanta: I guess yours is a boy too..

Jolin: Ya lor, baby could be sleeping at that time.. Haha.. Mine was waving to us saying hello during the scan.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Faithnhope: I guess a boy for you..

I also realise my armpit hair growing slower.. Anyone knows why??

Charmaine: Your gynae say a boy? I guess girl leh coz they say boy will have oily skin.. Dunno how true though..

Charmaine, same as u, our bedroom is gg to be super cramped with a cot too.. and yet my hubby still wanna buy a baby bath station, and for me, I thought a changing table might be useful...

hi hi mummies,

I am looking at breastpumps now. my colleague say shd get medela freestyle compared to pump in style. She also say shd get from Taka BB fair which always give good offers. but take fair ending this sun but i haven done any comparision of prices or functions.....

Any comments with regards to the 2 different pumps and is it really cheaper at the Taka BB fair?

charmaine, actually we didn't do any measurement and just buy it. But since it's not that big, i think should be no problem. Only i don't know if there is any regrets not getting a bigger bedcot so can use longer for the baby. But too big cannot move it out of the door also a problem.

talking abt the scan at 12 weeks, my BB was initially sleeping, then the sonographer shake my stomach. BB move a bit.

When the daddy come in, he/she was so active: waving, licking, saying helo, so cute!!!

see till I cant bear to leave the screen. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

which one is better?

my colleague say PIS very heavy, not convenient to bring to workplace. she will recommend freestyle. but i am wondering, is the PIS really very bulky? is it necessary to spend more to buy the convenience? first BB, no exp in pumping at all.

so $799 freestyle is cheaper or same price at other shops?

preciousbabi, ya i also tot i'll be having a ger coz all the symptons i hv now is totally different when i'm preggie with my boy. Can't wait for the detailed scan next mth.

melody, wow baby bath station! cool! Changing table is useful coz no need to bend down when change bb diaper.

little girl

medela freestyle is the rolls royce of pumps. when i had #1 they didn't even have it yet.

my friend who had a medela PIS for #1 2+ yrs ago, bought a freestyle for her second child (just delivered). but then again, she earns a lot lah.

PIS also not much cheaper - $729 I think, from Taka.

on gender, mummies with #1 can add their experience so we have a wider pool! haha.

let me start:

Pregnancy #1

symptoms:

-hardly any MS throughout

-great appetite

-felt bloated mainly and burped a lot

-pimples on back, face complexion improved considerably

-nose significantly bigger

gender of #1 - GIRL!

Pregnancy #2

symptoms:

-worse MS, but only threw up once (nearly fainted once) but gynae says second pregnancy always has worse MS than first

- no appetite, cannot think of what to eat most of the time

- so far have pimples on face, but b4 pregnant also had, so...

- nose so far same size

- tummy showing like 5 months preg although only 13 weeks (but usual for second preg)

gender - NO IDEA!

charmaine, there is discount for the the bath station. The bath unit and high chair bundle is gg for only $149, UP was $299, think quite cheap but no space to put lah.. Oh yah, for those interested, it's from John Little sale on 24-29 Aug.

melody, i think this is a good deal coz high chair alone is not cheap. Ya, bath station is useful if yr room got place to put. I think i will continue using my lucky baby changing mat hehehe

charmaine, the high chair looks plastic, seems like not very sturdy leh... the bath unit quite cool though, it has safety wheels with stopper, comes with drainage pipe, laundry bag, changing mat with belt, and compartment trays below to put bb shower stuff...

charmaine, yup yup, it's the foldable type... it does not look stable from the catalogue liao, shaky dangerous leh, scare bb topple over..

Had a chat with my galfriend just now and v upset by wat she said about me. I'm still on the lookout for a temp job so was trying to ask her if she has any lobang coz she's in admin line. She has a son but her pregnancy was smooth sailing without any morning sickness thruout. She knew i had morning sickness n was vomitting during 1st trimester. I told her i can't find any temp job and still looking. She said "aiyah, you can't work lah. You always got so many problems and always vomitting. Now coming 4mths liao, no chance to find job"

Felt so sad by this sentence. It's not as if i want to vomit or hv morning sickness. I also can't control it. I'm oredi in a bad state tat time, how to look for new job?

hmmmm,

so not necessary to have a freestyle you meant?

but now as taka fair, seems like not much price different. PIS $729, freestyle : $799.

So fan, dun know to get it now or wait for more fairs.....scare later no fairs how?

Charmaine, ur galfriend very insensitive leh.. She never experience any MS before, of coz she wont understand what we went through.. If have a choice, who would want to have MS..

Her words quite hurting leh, nxt time dun ask her for lobang lah..

Enjoy the freedom of not working now.. Spend lesser, and days will still get by... Enjoy the weekend and cheer up! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

little girl

I do not know much abt pumps, but my sis swears by PIS.. She has 2 different models, 1 in office, 1 at home.. coz she says very heavy to lug to and fro...

think oct still got 1 mum's fair at expo..

melody, thanks alot. Maybe i never expect that she will say this so for a moment, i really do feel that i'm kinda useless and ma fan person. Yes, i shd be grateful now that my ms is gone and enjoy my freedom now

Thanks melody. You too have a good weekend [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nick: Sovrana

Gestation Age: 12 weeks 6 days

CTR length: ??

Symptoms:

- mild MS at 1st trimester(nausea only if I was hungry)

- lethargic during the first trimester, much better now

- no major change in appetite or no special craving; and eat small frequent meals

- not much weight gain to date (1-2 kg)

- no visible hair grown on tummy or anywhere

- white/yellowish discharge

- complexion improved. - no significant change in other facial features

- Didn't sleep well every night. Need to wake up 2-3 time in middle of night to pass urine.

Guess what, this afternoon Sharon from Dr Henry's

clinic called said my CVS result showing that my baby is normal and it's a GIRL !! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

anyway just to share my friend's gynea said her baby is a girl during the oscar scan, 4th month scan and 5th month scan. by then she already gotten some pinky clothing.

it's only on the 6th month then they saw the kuku bird. =)

@Judy, Jolin, PreciousBabi: I hope so too though my hubby said he prefer girl coz girl "hao teng". Actually I'd been secretly hoping for a boy coz Hubby's elder bro has a boy so I'm somehow pressurized if I'm not expecting a boy. So I kept telling ppl I prefer 1st child to b a girl so as nt to disappoint them..

@OFB: May I know what is a snuggle? Is it the cloth which is used to wrap the bb? And normally the mattress come with the cot or gotta buy separately? I always tot it sld come together? How many colours r there to choose from? Btw, does it come with the changing table?

@Charmaine: Kiddy Palace got sell. I saw them at CWP and TPY's outlet. TPY's outlet is so darn big lor!! And got afew types but I'm not sure if they're of the same brand/model or not. If I were to buy, I'll choose the white paint de. Nice & easier to match. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Charmaine, Sovrana Spa: CTR length (also CRL) = bb's length measured from top to end of spinal.

@OFB: the snuggle nest looks great le. Can be put on the bed when hubby's not ard and my bb can sleep with me. Hehe..

Hi there!

Just came back from the taka baby fair... and saw this stroller G Elite selling at $699! Hmm... still thinking if i should buy. The Robinsons baby fair is disappointing, not much variety. So, i guess the taka baby fair offers the widest range. Does anyone know if there is there any other baby fair coming up before Dec? ^ ^

According to my friend who temps at baby fairs, there's an expo baby fair coming up in October which she claims has a good range at good prices, but I'm not sure if the news is reliable.

We wanted to buy some stuffs but we do not know the gender yet!! It's a headache cos don't know to take pink or blue... LOL

I hope there is really a expo fair in Oct as by that time the detailed scan will be done liao. Someone earlier mentioned about the expo fair too.

Yup. It's difficult to buy stuff without knowing the gender. It seems nowadays that most of the baby clothes do not come in very neutral designs or colours. So guess we'd all have to wait till the gender is more or less confirmed.

My baby was very active during the 16th week scan but had his/her legs closed together so the gynae was unable to see the gender. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

can i join in the fun too.. haha..

Nick: Fiona87

Gestation Age: 16 weeks (i think)

CTR length: ??

Symptoms:

- mild MS at 1st trimester(nausea only if I was hungry)

- not much appetite

- weight gain to date (6-7 kg) but from behind see cannot see that i'm pregnant..

- hair grown on tummy

- white discharge

- complexion become no good (but no big nose)

- become more lazy n messy..

i guess that i am having a boy.. hope tml baby guai guai let me see..

Nick: cheyanne

Pregnancy #1 symptoms:

-no MS

-great appetite

-face no pimples,radiant

-weight gain a total of 10kg

gender #1 boy

Pregnancy #2 symptoms:

-very bad MS

-face no pimples

-easily tired & frequent backaches

-din put on any weight

Gestation: 15weeks+

Ladies i also want to join in the fun to guess the gender [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pregnancy #1 symptoms:

-no MS but always feel bloated and burp also but no vomit

-appetite changed during the 3mths period always craving for meat and spicy food but small appetite can't eat much

-face alot alot of acne,pimples at side face and back also

-weight gain a little like 2-3kg

Gestation: 16weeks+

Some colleagues said is a boy coz having alot of pimples but sme of them said is a ger coz my shape is round infront but at the back can't see i m preggy

So shall wait for another 3mre weeks then can find out the gender coz my gynae is abit on the safer side he don't wish to make any guessing he wish to be exact and then will disclose the gender to me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

good morning ladies,

i shall join in the fun too

Nick: Neongoby

Gestation Age: abt 16 weeks

CTR length: not sure

Symptoms:

Nausea, occasional vomiting

bloated, indigestion, chest tightness

no appetite, therefore no wt gain

face as usual, no significant difference, oily skin become less oily

little bit of hair growing at the belly

slow hair growth

Gender - any advice?

so good, most of u going to find out the gender this week, i m going next thur [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Morning mummies~

I'm feeling so weak now.. Have been vomiting since last night. Mil cooked bittergourd and she said I can eat but I ended up vomited out all the bittergourd twice, took panadol also vomited out and this morning I vomited thrice.. *sigh*

Fiona,

Do update us with the baby's gender later ya, excited for you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Valerie,

Did you take a lot of bittergourd? I also take sometimes but just a bit only (be it in soup or stir fried). Hope you are feeling better now.

Take care

neon

I am only going next Friday... but sometimes at 16 weeks really cannot confirm... heard too many cases of 'girl' but it's only cos the male organ hadn't fully grown yet, then by 20 weeks become 'boy'...

charmaine

don't be discouraged. I'm sure there's some temp job that you can find. job market is good now. plus you are not asking for maternity leave, so companies should be willing to hire.

@Jolin: Hmm.. Not really a lot bah. Cos I have nothing else to eat le. That's the only vege. I hope my baby is ok. =( Am feeling so weak now. Like body is aching...

Ya...wait until week20 detailed scan, confirm the gender first. Later is girl, excited go buy all the pink clothings, bedsheet and bathroom accessroies then discover is a boy ... HAHA

hi!

Nick Ah Ching

Pregnancy 1

Symptons:

No MS, just tired for first trimester

Beautiful face and hair but super oily hair and face during 1st month of pregnancy...

can soak oil blotter after 1 hour after washing face

Good appetite

put on abt 7+kg and 2 more during last 2 weeks, total abt 10kg, still have a 'waist' from back view

baby born 2.945kg @ 39 wks 3 days

Pregnancy 2

Gestational Age: 16+ weeks

CTR: 10.4cm (i think)

Symptons:

Mild MS

Acne on back and oily face & hair

put on abt 3-4 kg so far

slow hair growth

havent taken any multi-vits or folic acid this pregnancy as will feel nausea

@valerie: try to drink more water now as you would be dehydrated but drink sip by sip. Do take care!

So far I have only put on 0.1kg at week 12. Hopefully by 2nd trimester can put on a bit more weight.

Zanta: Sorry, I didn’t go to the Robinson fair last weekend so can’t check the price for you.. Maybe this week.. I’ll let you know..

Actually, I also wish for a boy coz this will be my in-law’s 1st grandchild.. So if got boy, then can answer to them and no need to worry for the subsequent one already.. But still, not pinning high hopes [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Charmaine: Don’t be upset.. Maybe your gf just meant that since you are already 4 months preggy, you should get more rest as your stomach grows bigger [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].. Don’t worry, maybe you can try to look for those telemarketing which allows you to call from home.. I know some property agents employ but no lobang at the moment..

Sovrana: Congrats!! So fast they can tell?? How come?? Is it bcoz you took the CVS test? Anyway, good to know to baby is fine.. Cheers [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Visha: Really ah.. But I thought 5th month detailed check should be 90% accurate?

3sa: Is the expo fair in Oct confirmed already?

Fiona: Good luck and update us after the scan!

Valerie: Just tell yourself that you are seeing baby this Fri and you’ll feel better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi ladies, would like to guess at my bb's gender too. seems like fun comparing all the preggie symptoms to my own!! i'll also post the predictions according to old wives' tales..

Pregnancy 1

Gestational Age: 13+ weeks

CTR: was 6.9cm at 12w 4d

Symptoms:

no MS at all. bloated at night but no vomiting.

face cleared up nicely!! few or no pimples on face compared to pre-preggie.

great appetite as usual.

weight gain thus far about 1.5kg or so.

some fine hair growth around navel. hubbs says can see the linea nigra coming out below navel already.

lunar calendar prediction: girl

the ring on string test: boy

rice grains test: boy

my own guess: boy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

will only find out 9 sept when i go to Dr Woodworth for my 16 weeks scan [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sovrana, your symptoms are exactly like mine! I'll find out very soon my baby's gender. Gg to gynae in a while.. update you girls later!

Very kancheong now hahah!

@preciousbabi: Ya, I hope my baby is fine despite me keep vomiting. =( I can't wait for Friday to arrive!!

@Fiona & faithnhope: Let us know asap the gender!! Excited for you too! Hehe.. =)

morning mummies, how was ur weekend? i practically slept throughout the day and night yesterday. so tired. now i feel as if i have wasted one weekend away. haha.

my body is starting to heat up so much. 15mins after i shower i can start to perspire. quite irritating. i find it abit weird cos my 1st trimester i was always feeling cold.. any mummies experiencing the same thing?

Yaataa,

Wah, you tried so many "gender's test" already, haha.

Hope you have a boy this time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Faithnhope,

Update us with the result later ya, hope you able to see baby's gender later [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: Baby's gender according old wives tale

Wedding ring on string test:

If ring moving forward backward = boy

If ring moving round = girl

Rice grain test

If odd = boy

If even = girl

But i heard that we must know the exact date of our EDD only then the test will be true.

Body carrying

If carry low = boy

If carry high = girl

If stomach is pointed out = boy

If stomach is rounded = girl

That's all i know, hehe