(2011/02) Feb 2011

@Jolin: u r absolutely correct!! Then i still can asked him Qin Long is for girl or boy then he said both oso can. Haha..

@OFB: I think the one I saw is Mother something de. Aiyo, nowadays my memory is failing me le. Always rem things half half only. How much did u bought it for & how much was it b4 discount?

@PreciousBabi: I like the names which start with "LE" in chinese. I even chose a name for a bb girl liao but my hubby's friend also name it for his daughter whom just enter the world 2mths ago. But he nv copy me la, just coincidence.

@Jolin: Hannor! Cos his dialect name before he change name in hokkien sounds like "lim ji bui" (drink 1 glass). So he said his son will call mai lim. LOL~ We were about to sleep then he suddenly crack this joke then I keep laughing and laughing until I don't feel like sleeping liaoz.

Zanta: My gf gave birth to a boy, oso no MS at all.. So hopefully ba.. Hehe..

I won't be going tonight but maybe during the weekends.. Will look out for you.. I see from the papers, Avent Steriliser set (consist of digital steam steriliser, newborn starter set, classic teether & therma bag) at $199.. But no advertise for Pigeon.. Haha..

Anyone has feedback on NUK's breast pump? Just curious coz know that NUK's bottles are good but never heard of the pump before..

Hi babes,

Re: Names

My hb's surname is zeng, there always this joke gg around at home.

Boy - Zeng Ying Jun (Very Handsome) or Zeng You Qian (Very Rich)

Girl - Zeng Mei Li (Very Pretty) Zeng Piao Liang (also very pretty)

(-,-!!)

Hey, ladies,

I have an ideas.

Since we are excited about baby's gender and most of us should be able to see baby's gender next week, why don't we list down our pregnancy symptoms and make a guess?

So when we visit our gynae next week and able to tell baby's gender, we can compare the accuracy, hehe

@preciousbabi: I have no idea about the NUK pump also leh. I tried to search for the model name online but cannot find leh. Wonder if it's already phase out.. And I think it's a manual pump.. But I don't think I'll be buying that cos I already bought the Pigeon sterilizer which comes with bottles. I don't need so many bottles le..

@Valerie, funny hubby u have too. Haha..

Did u check out how much is the food warmer retailing outside? I saw fr Metro ytd that it's retailing at $75 but it looks abit dif fr what I saw in the newspaper. I tot there's only 1 type of food warmer for pigeon?

Valerie: So funny lor.. Mai Lim.. Tell your hubby this name no good.. Wait baby mai lim milk.. Haha..

Coz I thought I saw the Medala pump selling at $400+ at Taka Fair, then this one advertise $389 oni.. Maybe I remembered wrongly or it's cheaper for certain items oni.. Hehe..

Zanta: Ya lor.. Sometimes very frustrating to have people close to you having the name you want for your baby.. No choice lor, choose again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@Jolin: Lol~ Ya, I always think he'll make a very good father cos he always got a lot of funny ideas. All his small cousins, niece all like him a lot cos he always crack jokes and make them laugh. But from the name I think he wants a boy leh. Think of a name for boy but never think for girl until I asked.

@Zantarina: I'm not too sure leh. But they have quite a few different models for sterilizer & food warmer. The food warmer that you saw issit digital time adjuster one?

@preciousbabi: Haha~ He likes to drink beer lah. So he only thought of mai lim beer. Lol~ Oh, issit the same pump? Hmm.. But don't know still consider ex anot leh.

Valerie: I bought Avent starter kit liao so no need for bottles already.. Maybe later stage ba.. I've also got Avent's pump so I'll be looking at other stuff like baby cot lor..

Haha.. So he should change his name to Mai Lim, not the baby.. Haha..

Experience Mums: Just remembered, when I bought the bottles, the Avent salesgirl told me we gotta change bottles every 6 months.. Is that true?

Zanta: I thought Pigeon food warmer only at around $60?

@PreciousBabi: nvm, I shall nt b kan cheong n choose a name now else another disappointment. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

RE:Baby's Things

I c u all got at least an item for your bb liao I v envy le. I kept telling my hubby muz start to buy things bit by bit liao else ltr buy all together v siong but he insist to buy only when nearing EDD. But I wanna grab those gd deals now mah. Hmm.. Then he told me can get from ppl I sian half coz nt all things can get from ppl.. Then for steriliser, he said use old method can liao so I asked him can he guarantee that it will nt contaminate when left to dry? Then he asked me to buy 2nd hand de which I don't like la. Dunno how to persuade him also.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

jolin: good idea! i wanted to make the table like choc but when i copy and paste no table come out. not sure how to make the table.. so hear goes my symptoms

Nick: Judy Tay

Gestation Age: 16 weeks 3 Days

CTR length: 9.4cm

Symptoms:

- morning sickness during first trimester. now no more.

- energy level higher during 2nd trimester

- eating like truck driver(exact words quoted from hubby)

- hair growth everywhere

- alot of whitish discharge

- pimple/acne party

- back ache

- skin condition worse(drier, darker, patchier)

- nose bigger, face wider, feet wider

Gynae's comment: "looks like we have a boy!..... of course, we cannot confirm till 5th mth scan.."

haha this is fun.

@preciousbabi: My sil didn't change her bottles leh. She's still using the same bottle for her 2nd baby. But I think if you sterilize it cleanly I think should be ok bah..

@Zantarina: Oh, that day when I wanted to buy the sterilizer my hubby also asked me did my mum last time use sterilizer when she had me. Then I said last time where got sterilizer. He asked me what she use I said hot water lor. Like your sis. But this one save time mah. Hot water so troublesome. Must boil water, add salt, put in bottles, then take out bottles, then wash away salt. But he gave me a feeling that he don't wanna buy. Then I got so upset that I said "Then don't sterilize lor. Just anyhow wash lor." But after a while he asked me "You want to buy this ah?" I said "Ya.....". And so we bought that. Hehehe.. He didn't suggest using 2nd hand one though. (Lucky) Cos personally I'm not very comfortable in using 2nd hand one. Cos my baby leh... I don't want my baby to use old things...

re Changing bottles every 6 mths

it's recommended tat milk bottles r to b change every 6 mths cos the frequent usage n sterlising of bottles might change the bottle's material properities.

I'm more diligent in changing the bottles when my girl is young n when she's bigger, I stretch the turnover period to 9 mths

@Valerie: the one i saw is not digital de, but can adjust to 3 temperatures. 40deg for milk, 70deg for porridge, and 100deg. Just like the pic which I attached.

@PreciousBabi: maybe got 2 models?

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4396156.jpg]

BCP: Don't think you will consider the names right.. Haha..

Zanta: I think you can talk to your hubby say some can ask from people but some better to have your own.. Like what you said, buy bit by bit you don’t feel so pain.. If buy everything together you will faint lor.. And tell him nearer EDD your stomach will be so big already, where got strength to slowly shop for things.. Just tell him all the reasons you have in your mind and he will understand one lah..

I dunno where got diff models or not.. But you can call Cheong Choon to check since their price cheaper? The number is 65323855.

Baywater: Noted.. So the salesgirl is not lying to me.. Haha..

Jolin: I missed your post, so when I saw Judy’s message, I was like???? Haha.. Looks fun.. I want join too, coming in the next post.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Valerie: oh is it? I kept thinking it's the 1 below.

Then my hubby went to ask his gd fren whose a father of 3 n told me they oso nt using a steriliser. Then I told him they got maid n parents to help look aft le. I said I alone to look aft bb le. What if bb cry n my water is boiling n I 4got to off the fire?? And for 2nd hand steriliser, I bluff him said ltr inter-contaminate with the previous owner how?? Haha.. I still trying to convince him, n I even calculate the agar amt we can save if buy from taka now. *faint*

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4396229.jpg]

Nick: Preciousbabi

Gestation Age: 15 weeks 0 Days

CTR length: Last measurement was 5.48cm at 11 weeks 6 days

Symptoms:

No MS from start till now

No cravings, good appetite but seem to be decreasing

Pimples on face, chest & back

Nose bigger (Hubby say one)

Tummy like 5-6months preggy now

Make a guess??

Judy,

Thanks for starting kicking the ball, hehe

Mine as follows:

Nick: Jolinr

Gestation Age: 15 weeks 1 Days

CTR length: Last measure at 56mm (12 weeks 1 day)

Symptoms:

- bad morning sickness from first trimester until now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

- energy level very low during first trimester, now started coming back

- appetite slowly gained back, eating small meals every 2 - 3 hours

- already quite hairy before preggy, but those hairs become darker or increase especially in stomach, breast, lower back and leg.

- alot of whitish discharge

- skin become drier, no acne

- nose seems like become smaller

My guess: I think... i think lah, could be baby boy

preciousbabi: oh yah my tummy also like 4-5mths preggy though i am 1st time mummy.. my guess is u are having a guy. haha.

PreciousBabi,

Same as Judy, i guess yours is baby boy too, hehe. Your symptoms are quite similar to a good friend of mine, and she is expecting a baby boy now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hehe.. Mine's as follow!

Nick: Pinkyval

Gestation Age: 15 Weeks 5 Days

CTR length: Last measured at 6.24cm (12 Weeks 5 Days)

Symtomps:

-bad morning sickness for the whole of first trimester until around week 14

-everyday feels very lethargic during the first trimester, now feels more energetic (though still tired, heee..)

-appetite is still the same but frequency of meals became lesser as compared to first trimester

-already hairy on the arms before preggy, now only have additional hair on tummy area

-a lot of white discharge

-no acne, still the same as before preggy, only dark circles became darker

-never notice about my nose leh. Lol~

My guess is a girl~~~~ Hohoho~~~

@Zantarina: Ours is the knob one. I just checked. Cos I took a photo mah. Lol~

Tell your hubby sterilizer is more convenient. Then your baby don't have to wait too long for clean bottles. Hehehe...

Judy: Me also 1st time mummy.. Haha..

Judy & Jolin: Really?? I also wish for a boy, but don't dare pin too high hopes in case.. Haha.. Actually our symptoms quite similar except that you both have MS and I don't.. Hehe..

Valerie: I dunno how to guess coz all the symptoms like similar leh.. But since you wish for a girl, ok lah, hope you will get a girl.. Like that can?? Haha..

@preciousbabi: Hahaha! Okay lor. Lol~ But true lah, actually all the symtomps very similar also. It's just got MS or not. But I chose to believe what Zantarina said lah. Hahahah~ =p

Hey, I wanna join in the fun!

Nick: melody23

Gestation Age: 14 weeks 5 Days

CTR length: Last measurement: 64mm (12 wks 1 day)

Symptoms:

- whole day morning sickness plus excessive saliva.. MS easing but excessive saliva still there

- easily tired

- feels hungry this week onwards, but not much appetite

- pretty hairless

- No pimples

- nose same size, i think...

Sonographer says might be a girl, gynae hopes to confirm during wk 16 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Eh, mummies,

Can i change my previous guess?

I just remember that baby is very quiet during 12 weeks scanning, hence, i think mine is baby girl, hehe..

melody: sounds like a girl! seems like those having guys/suspecting boys have more physical 'defects' - face,nose, body, etc

This is fun!!

Here goes for mine..

Nick: Zantarina

Gestation Age: 15 Weeks 5 Days

CTR length: Last measurement was 7.26cm at 13 weeks 3 days

Symptoms:

- Not much MS from start till now (keeping fingers crossed)

- Always feeling tired & lethargic

- Terrible constipation

- Lotsa discharge, both whitish & yellowish

- Lotsa cravings, good appetite but seems to be less hungry nowadays

- Supper is a must

- Pimples on face, chest & back

- Darker eye rings (Hubby said)

- Tummy like 5months preg now (SILs said)

From those old wives tales & comments I heard, I guess is a boy..

Valerie,

Haha, maybe your baby is excited being seen by you and your hubby mah, hence was active, hehe.

Judy,

When my hubby sees the tiny hairs grow around my breast, tummy and back, he said it must be a boy. But then when he saw baby is quiet during scanning, he said it's a girl. Haha

Hi judy, thinks most likely a girl too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but dare not tell my mil, she has been hinting and getting my niece to tell me she wants a boy... *stress*

zantarina: i guess boy boy~! hee.

valerie: lol.. cannot think of any other words to describe..

jolin: baby quiet might not mean girl.. there are girls more active than boy boys right.. haha.. or maybe u always manage to catch your baby when ur baby sleeping.. maybe he/she posing so u can get clear picture. my baby like always thrashing inside refusing to stop moving.. i blame it on my caffeine intake though my hubby says baby take after him(hubby actively practises martial arts)

melody: haha.. when baby come out dont think she will care anymore.. will become her beloved grandchild.. hehe

Nick: faithnhope

Gestation Age: 15w+

CTR length: Cannot remember! (last scan was 12w3d)

Symptoms:

- no or mild MS (nausea only if I was hungry)

- very lethargic during the first trimester, better now (though I still sleep by 10+pm)

- no major change in appetite; still eating small frequent meals

- not much weight gain to date

- only has additional hair on tummy area; in fact, I realise my eye brow and underarm hair seems to be growing slower!

- white/yellowish discharge

- skin condition similar to before pregnancy (our office cleaning auntie said I have 'glow' ha!)

- no significant change in other facial features

No idea about gender at all!

@Valerie: Thanks for helping me to dbl check. I will try hard to persuade my hubby again these 2 days.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Judy: Your description of "physical defects" made me laugh out loud man..

@Jolin: Maybe ur bb is sleeping soundly in u during the scan?

During my last scan my bb was in a lying position but kept bouncing non-stop, the hands n legs were also moving. Maybe that was bcoz I woke him/her up during the wait as my hubby doesn't believe that bb can move now. So i told my bb to wake up n move to show daddy.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Zanta & Charmaine,

We bought it for $499. I think it's the same price selling outside at Kiddy Palace etc. However it is the free gifts that makes us decide to buy at the spot. They give a free baby snuggle which i saw is selling $80+ at TMC shop. They also give a 12 pc bedset and a fibrelux mattress (don't know the price outside). Actually we were considering but when we saw the snuggle cost $80, we decided to buy the bedcot. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] We think the frame is not bad cos it's heavy not those cheap light wood i guess. So it's heavy and stable, and it is also slim enough to go through the doors, some cotbed are so big in width that you can move it around.

I don't know if we made the right choice because we didn't really look around a lot for cot and just bought it. They are quite flexible, you can request delivery in January or February. Delivery is free of course.

@Jolin: Ya I think was excited too. LOL~ It's either that or was throwing tantrum cos very hungry. LOL~

@Zantarina: No prob! Good luck to you! Hope you'll get to buy the sterilizer kit! =)

I wanna join in the fun too!

Nick: charmaine

Gestation Age: 15 weeks 6 Days

CTR length: ??

Symptoms:

- bad morning sickness during first tri

- no appetite most of the time

- constipation

- not much hair growth /weight gain

- oily skin has suddenly turned dry!

Gynae's guess is a boy but keeping my reserves till 5th mth scan. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

OFB, that's the cot that i set my eyes on! The cot's wood is damn solid and really steady. But hubby say too early to buy. I din't realise Kiddy Palace has it

Judy, Zanta,

I hope so, cos my MS was still very bad at that time, i worry my baby is too weak (no energy) to wave his/her hand or move body cos mummy not eating, haha

Zanta,

My feeling is yours is baby boy, hehe

charmaine

Tell you hubby that it's not early. In about 5 months + you will need it liao. Surely you don't want to rush everything in your last 2 months to buy all the baby stuffs. You will be so stressed and busy. As long as you set your eyes on something, i think just buy it especially when there is promotion. You still have 2 days to think over it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]