(2011/02) Feb 2011

ladies.. long time never login already.. having sleepless night lately.. i am worried about the little one inside.. whenever i am lying down on bed my tummy is soft.. i thought should be hard? my next visit is 23aug.. am worried that the little one is not doing well inside.. and 2nd pregnancy should feel baby movement when? i'm really scare cuz i don't feel anything..

fiona, i'm sure it's okay. sometimes parents are worried over everything. stomach small scare, stomach big also scare ... i read some parents went to buy those heartbeat listening device from ebay and they are assured 24/7. you may want to consider, it's not ex, double digit cost.

Kitty, i think generally is about 20% discount but if you buy the package deal is much more worth it. You don't think you should be worried about sterilizer getting spoilt, they are not as complicated appliance like oven or fridge. Think it as a kettle, have you ever look at the warranty of a kettle when you purchase? sterilizer works like a kettle in a sense there is a heating element at the base which heats up the water and creating vapour in the sterilizer at a high temperature to kill off bacteria. actually if you want to save some money, you don't even have to buy it. go traditional ways of dipping in boiling water is just as effective but just that it takes a longer time. sterilizer only need 6 - 8 minutes.

with regards to breastpump, if you thinking of buying avent brand i think you can go ahead and buy cos avent gives 2 years warranty. I don't think you will breastfeed the child that long right? if you going for medela is 1 year and the battery only 6 months so yay, buy later stage.

i wouldn't buy stroller yet because my wife EDD is middle to end Feb. there be another taka fair around that period so we can wait, the baby is so small at the first month or 2 that you probably want to carry it on your arm with a cloth wrap, but then you probably not going to go out during those months except for medical appt. For us, we just buy what we need at the initial stage, baby cot, bottles etc. I was told by the pigeon staffs that the hospital don't give baby cloth wrap, or blanket which i thought they will, so i bought it too. Why they didnt give us, i thought those provided by the hospital during the stay should be all new to use on infants so now i know the hospital use washed and recycle cloths... hope it's clean ! LOL

Sovrana, in my opinion, if you are letting Dr Henry do the CVS on you, you might as well engage him to be your gynae. I personally feel that doing CVS is not as simple as having an u/s and if I need to do CVS, I will find a doctor I am comfortable with. But what do you want to know about Dr Henry? I can try to answer you but no guarantee as I have been with him since my first PG. I did went to another gynae near my office to confirm my 2nd pg, as I couldn't get an appt with him. It was near Clementi and I don't want to state names. It was terrible as the nurses there were so unprofessional, unlike Sharon and Margaret at Dr Henry. They also can dispense advice and very helpful at times, especially Sharon. She is always so patient towards the preggies and answering their questions whenever she can. And 1 thing I like is their prompt response when it comes to test results.

Kittyki, I don't experience itchiness on nipple. More is on the breast area, especially after shower. The skin feels tight but my cup size increases only a tiny weeny bit [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I think for your case, you can try applying nipple cream.

Fiona, the one that OFB is mentioning is Doppler. I remembered I had that feeling last month and was voicing my concern to my hubby. In the end, I found a reason to go back to my gynae earlier. Dun worry, I believe everything should be fine and if you are worried, you can call your gynae and try to fix an earlier appt with him. I'm sure he can understand

OFB, I agree with you on the stroller.. No point getting tht early. The wrap wise, I don't think the hospital do give. But I know that Mt Alvernia gives the bath tub .. hehe .. I dun need to go and buy one.

@Valerie, I think my gynae did my blood test early (together with oscar blood test) so that there's no need to draw blood for a 2nd time bah. I think maybe your gynae will do a routine blood test for you on your next appt.

@OFB, nice short form. Hehe.. You know what?? I went to buy a box of fish oil from the clinic aft my hubby's blood test on last fri. I want my bb to have healthy brain development!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, I saw the Neurogain at the Guardian below Sun Plaza le, and it's selling at $34. And I also saw Obimin, maybe you can check them out on your wife's next visit to the gynae.

@PreciousBabi, hope we can continue our "wei da mummy" atitude even after giving birth. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Your hubby is so nice to have quitted smoking with you. My hubby though failed to quit with me, but he now smokes outside the hse which I'm already happy abt it.

@baywater, Thanks alot..!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just went to the Taka fair again today, finally bought the Avent single electric pump package at $239 (U/P of pump only at $394) and a set of bottles for newborn at $39.20.. The free gift was only a tube of moisturising cream and a pacifier clip [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif].. Was tempted to buy Pigeon pump initially at $199 but coz the motor is separated from the pump so abit troublesome..

Valerie: I don’t know about the past but now they don’t have much hair left coz age is catching up liao.. Haha.. I also hope my baby will inherit my hair, not the daddy’s coz he is turning bald at age of 30 already (he will jump when he see this).. Wahaha!!!

Myproud: Erm.. I also dunno leh.. But lucky your girl got hair now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Felpoo: According to the Pigeon staff, their steriliser can fit all brands of bottles.. I personally feel that Pigeon’s is better than Avent too.. Now the package at $199 includes 5 bottles, 1 warmer, 2 packets of wipes and a bottle of cleaner.. But I’m not getting it since my sil is giving me hers (save $$$)… I think the beds they have there are more for infants and not much variety.. Mt Alvernia only gives a bath tub ah?? No other stuff??

Sovrana: The first gynae I went to was not Dr Henry.. It was another gynae which my sil went to.. But hubby and I don’t feel comfortable with him.. So my gf recommended Dr Henry and after the first visit, hubby and I feel that he’s ok so continued with him though it’s further from the initial one.. Hubby always get teased by Dr and he is a funny guy I will say.. Agree with Felpoo, the nurses there are very helpful and Sharon is very knowledgeable, she can answer almost every question you have.. But still, up to individual..

Kittyki: I got the breast pump coz it’s alot cheaper compared to the original price and the warranty is 2 years so now worries.. Was looking at the baby cots there also but not much variety and not cheap.. Intend to go to the hypermart at Kaki Bukit at a later stage.. I am intending to get my colleagues share and buy me a stroller so not worrying about it now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]..

Fiona: I think if you are worried, can bring the appointment earlier to ease your mind..

Zanta: I wish I can stop forever.. So I pray that I have enough milk to breastfeed my baby for as long as possible so there is a reason for me not to drink and smoke.. Haha…

For Sale:

1) BNIB Avent NewBorn Starter Kit

Avent: http://www.philips.com.sg/c/avent-baby-gift-set/scd271_00/prd/

Wrapped in box and unopen.

Avent: Retail SGD49.90 , My Price SGD40

2)BNIB High Density Foam Playpen Mattress (Shears)- 28" x 41" x 3" High Density Foam

Wrapped in box and unopen.

Mattress Retail SGD58, My Price SGD25

3) Themed "Its a Boy" Baby Shower Bouquet

Used for one afternon and fully filled with Helium.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4368604.jpg]

My Price: SGD20

4) Unused Baby Handprint Kit - DIY

Tender Prints My Baby's First Impression Keepsake Kit

Condition: Box looks abit old and is green in colour (attached picture is blue), otherwise everything inside are unopened / intact

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4368605.jpg]

My Price SGD10nett

All Items Cash and Carry

Call 98204176 for immediate transaction

OFB, felpoo & PreciousBabi: thanks.. i think just now i feel movement inside the tummy..

think no need to bring forward, i tahan..

cuz the appointment is next week n can see the gender..

Hey mummies

I'm from MARCH 2011, just wondering what kind of fish oil supplement does your gynae provide you with? Can provide picture if possible? Cos my gynae (SGH) doesn't seems to provide with fish oil.. So i need to get my own..

Hi gnulyl5, mine says "ProLacta with DHA for Mother". Picture not very clear..

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4370073.jpg]

Did your gynae say why he/she doesn't prescribe you fish oil?

Good morning mummies~! Hope you had a wonderful weekend! =)

@preciousbabi: Have you opened up the pump already? Issit noisy?

Haha! You very funny leh. You know your hubby is reading this forum you still say he's balding. Hahaha!

@felpoo: Actually nowadays a lot of cots can further expand and become a bed for junior. I saw a few at the taka fair that have that function.

@fiona: Woah, so fast can feel baby move already? I still can't feel. But yesterday my hubby said he can feel the heartbeat at my tummy. Don't know issit real or it's his imagination.

I can't wait for next Friday!! I can see my baby again!! And the gender!! =D

Good morning mummies,

Not feeling good this morning, difficulty in breathing in the train and now having nausea in the office. Raining heavily now, how nice to stay at home and rest.....

Preciousbabi - do update us about the Avent single pump. Can it be battery operated? I hope i can bring this to work next time.

@neongoby: Did you drink some warm water? Ate breakfast? Me too vomited again this morning. It's hot at my work place here. How I wish it's raining over here. =(

Neon, the avent single pump comes in 3 modes, ac, battery and can convert to manual.. During the weekends, I took out my avent manual breast pump bag n wanted to see my breast pump. Realized tht my breast pump has gone missing.. So now it gives me a solid reason tht I definitely need to get a breast pump [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

but does anyone know where can I buy new avent ice packs?Mine looks dried up..

Hello MTBs!

I'm very excited today as I'm going to do my scan today and will know BB's gender [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

On sat, I felt by BB flipped inside my tummy!

It was an amazing feeling.

I was lying flat on my back when I felt it.

My No. 1 was pointing to my stomach and saying didi.. so i wonder..

Re: Breast Pump

I think for first time mummies who are planning to go back to work, maybe u should consider getting the pump when BB is 3 mths.

In the meantime, rent a pump or buy a second hand single pump first.

Reason: not many mummies succeed in breastfeeding.. so until you're sure u going to bf, can use a single pump during your ML

Mums and Babes can do pump rental

or you can buy from the WTS.. many mummies selling.

went to taka fair last week.. saw many baby clothes and so tempted to buy baby dresses..

well i can go buy after today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] !!

hope baby is cooperative during the scan..

my number 1 likes to sleep whenever I go see dr ang ha ha

Re: stroller

I didnt use a stroller until by No. 1 is 6 mths old.. and he didnt want to sit in it..

I carried him in a sling most of the time..

bring stroller very difficult to go shopping or take bus.

when I was a SAHM, I'll bring bb go orchard shopping or anywhere that has a nursing room..

cos bb feeds every 2 hourly..

but it was easy as I neednt bring bottles cos bfg..

just bring diapers, wet wipes, change of clothes and pacifier.

I kinda miss those days..

sigh, wonder if I should return to work after No. 2 comes...

I also don't feel anything.. I just feel bloated and tummy stretching.... read that 2nd time and beyond mummy can feel baby earlier than when they had 1st child.. maybe got experience already.. hehe..

hi faithnhope.. i guess i felt it cos I lost weight and so not much fats ard the tummy..

ya.. feeling very hyper and excited today.

will update tomorrow!!

BTW I am having lotsa acnes on my back and face and oily hair this time.

My number 1 was a boy and I had beautiful skin and hair previously..

so do u think I am going to have a gal?

I have no idea, Ah Ching.. I'm first time mum.. I think everyone has different symptoms.. my sis's skin condition wasn't good when she was expecting her boy....

Valerie: I haven’t open the pump but when I tried at the fair, it wasn’t noisy.. I purposely want to make him angry mah.. Haha..

Neon: Hope you are feeling better.. Like what Felpoo says, the pump can be operated in 3 modes – AC, Battery and Manual.. You can also adjust the speed according to how fast or slow you want.. I bought it coz firstly I trust the brand, second price reasonable (compared to Medala) and thirdly user friendly.. You can go the their counter and request to test it on your arm.. Get the feel so you will know whether you are comfortable with it or not..

Felpoo: Go to the fair for the pump.. Quite good discount for Avent.. Not sure if they have the ice packs there though.. Didn’t notice.. But Pigeon package at $199 includes a free cooler bag worth about $60..

Ah Ching: Feeling so excited for you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].. I gotta wait 2 more weeks still [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif].. Update us after your visit.. You felt the baby flipped? How many weeks are you in now?? I also want to look forward to feel baby move in me.. Hehe…

Valerie, I'm seeing dr ang in the evening.. 5plus, cant remember the time..

preciousbabi, i'm 16th week xx days.. lost count already. I only felt movement ard 6mths preggy when i was first time mom..

this time it was lucky cos I was lying flat so tummy area was taut.

then I felt the movement like baby somersaulting inside..

I remembered the feeling from my last pregnancy.

but it is more exciting when u get 8 mths pregnant. then u can see BB hand and leg poking here and there.

Ah Ching: I see.. Looks like I still have to wait for long then.. Haha.. Good luck to your visit later.. Hopefully the legs are wide open so can see the gender today.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@preciousbabi: Hmm.. But the fair is noisy leh. Hmm.. Will go and see again this week. Hehe.. Hopefully my hubby doesn't have to work this Sunday! *fingers crossed*

@Ah Ching: Ahhh.. I can't wait for my scan next Friday! I hope time can pass faster!!! Arghhh!! I seriously can't wait. =(

Valerie: True hor.. Haha.. Okie okie, I go back try tonight.. Hehe.. By the way, if you are going on this Sun, can try to see if they can give more freebies coz last day mah.. I didn't wait coz my hubby is working this weekend [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif].. Your appt on 27th? Me 28th.. Let's pray for time to pass faster together.. Haha..

@preciousbabi: Haha! Okie, then let me know tomorrow if it's noisy ok? Hehe.. Ya! Last day can ask for more bargains. But my hubby just called me, he doesn't seem interested to go again leh. Then I told him that day also haven't finish seeing. He still can ask me issit. Then he said what he meant was if have other babyfair then we go. He said pump don't buy so early. Then I said go and see see lah! Last day already! He initially said see how, then after that said ok, don't know really ok anot. Hmph! Always like that one. Bring me to 7 heaven then push me down again. =(

Yeah, mine is on 27th morning. Should have asked for the earliest date. But I was hoping my hubby can go with me (though he doesn't want to know the gender =p) so I chose Friday. Argh.. Can't wait can't wait. Lol~

Morning everyone!

R.E. stuff to buy.

You can rent some stuff from places like www.toyrentalclub.com for things that you know you wont need for more than a few months like newborn strollers, bouncers etc.

I rented a newborn stroller for 3 months, before getting a Maclaren that can last from 3 mths to 3 years old.

I tried both Avent and Medela breastpumps, and Medela PIS wins hands down for comfort and efficency. Keep your warranty safely, coz my Avent pump died after just 2 months of use, and keeping it for a year.

@bigflamingo: You mean you kept for a year before using it and it only lasts for 2 months? But it has 2 years of warranty right?

Ah Ching: wow.. today u got appointment to see ur baby le ar.. so good..

me still have to wait until next monday.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Valerie: ya.. yesterday night i felt something moving in the tummy..

maybe baby wanna tell mummy that he or she is still inside..

want me not to worry too much.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Valerie: Haha.. Your hubby so naughty.. Just tell him the next fair maybe next year liao.. Also can tell him the price quite good..

I initially wanted to ask for earlier date also, but scared later too early cannot tell also.. Haiz, contradicting.. So just wait lor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]..

Valerie,

I bought the Avent pump, used actually for less than 1 mth actually. I had a lot of difficulty breastfeeding, so i went for a consultation with the famous Dr wong at thomson medical. They used the medela on me, and it was so much more comfortable!

So i bought one on the spot and kept the Avent away for a year. By the time I thought about selling, the unit was completely spoilt, even though i kept it in a box unused. lost the warranty, so no money back!

@preciousbabi: Ya! That day he 明明 said 2 weeks later COME BACK AGAIN. Then now he said he meant other fair. He said he don't believe next time got no more other fairs. Argh. I always can't outtalk him! Don't care, I'm going to say baby wants to go again. Lol~

@bigflamingo: Ahhh... Now I'm thinking which one to buy. But I don't want to get one so expensive one leh. Since I won't be using it forever...

Valerie,

Dr wongs clinic at Thomson medical sells used Medele PIS (they only accept pumps that have been used for under 6mths) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bigflamingo: Thanks for recommending the place to rent stuff.. But I personally don’t feel comfortable using things many people used before especially for baby coz their immune system not very strong and will get infected easily if there’s germs.. Huh, don’t scare me leh.. I just bought an Avent pump yesterday.. But I guess it works differently on individual ba.. Since there’s 2 years warranty, I feel safer..

Fiona: See, baby knows what you are thinking.. So think positive from now on..

Valerie: Guys are always like that.. Never keep their promises and can twist their words the other way one lor.. Yeah, use baby as the reason.. Then you’ll win.. Hehe.. Ya, I also can’t bear to spend so much on a pump.. Hopefully the Avent will work well on me..

@preciousbabi: Ya lor! So disappointed right? Actually if there's confirm one babyfair at Expo in October I don't mind getting one from there. But what if it's not confirmed? Hmm...

PreciousBabi: ok.. will not anyhow think anymore..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wow.. all buy breast pump so fast..

me last time have one Avent de.. but not auto..

so have to use hand to pump until the hand go numb..

bigflamingo, can yr PIS empty your breasts? Do you know what's the price range for the used PIS sold in Dr Wong clinic? I'm keen to get a PIS but dunno to get a US set or a 2nd hand one.

Anyone bought bb cot from the taka fair? There's this cot called Catalina 4 in 1 cotbed $499 (UP: $1085) The wood damn solid and cot is small enuff to move from room to room. Wanted to get it but hubby say still too early to buy cot.

@charmaine: I never buy ant cot from the fair. I also think it's too early to buy leh. Buy now have to leave it there for so many months..

Sterilizer

just to share my experience with pigeon sterilizer. It's fast, v easy to use, clean and assemble. It fits up to 6 bottles and breast pump( any brand)! Avent sterilizer can only be used for avent bottles.

Breastpump

I've tried medela single electric, avent manual and ameda dual lactaline. Avent worked the best for me. It's quiet and yields the best result. But it's more tiring and slower. However it really empties the breasts. Ameda was the worst for me. Super painful funnels and bad engorgement. Checked with fellow ameda users and they had engorgement too. But there are some users who like it very much so I guess it's personal preference.

Valerie: That’s why I bought it now.. Coz I feel that even if there is another fair in Oct, the price won’t be of much diff.. So I rather grab the offer now..

Fiona: My friends and sil warned me about the Manual Pump so I don’t even wanna waste time to check on it.. Haha..

Charmaine: I saw the cots too but didn’t buy coz too early.. And my friends recommend me to go Kaki Bukit Hypermart, say there's more choices and price reasonable also..

first mum - same here, i had all 3 pumps you mentioned. avent worked the best and the longest for me, not to mention very handy too.

those mums who are keen to get this manual pump can consider getting it online from US. Its cheaper.

Hi Valerie and Preciousbabi, you can buy new spare parts online.. not very expensive.

so can still get second hand pump but just change the funnels.

Oh ya, mummies, I'm feeling cold most of the time whether with fan or aircon when I thought that preggy will have a higher temperature.. Anyone feeling the same or is there something wrong with me? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]