(2011/02) Feb 2011

I think the goodie bag and the sling bag are given cos they having promotion now. Otherwise, the basic benefits are all stated in the website. When i signed up, i only saw 1 goodie bag left at the counter but still got many sling bags. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

welcome in little_gal!

yes i think better to hire a CL too.

Initally i had the same idea. order confinment caterer, get parttime maid..but being first time mothers, not easy to handle crying babies and all the mess. also, i prefer home cooked fresh food everyday. whatsmore, the CL helps with daily sweeeping and mopping. when the house is tidier and cleaner, the mother also feels better.

hopefully next year, our cute lil CNY babies can earn back the money since they get 2 angpows! (bday and CNY) hahahaha! just kidding..

usually for first-timers, a lot of pple say we will deliver 2 weeks before EDD. so i am expecting somewhere ard late Jan. will still clash with CNY.

if you want it to be earlier, got to do c-section and discuss the risks with gynae.

if not, since many CLs requested to work after CNY day 5, and at a cheaper rate, you can get mother to help out first for first few days.

Faithnhope: check with you.. PEM qouted $2800 (CNY period). does this include the permit? thanks

morning mummies.. something happened today which made my day.. just had to share with u..

i have a filipino colleague at work, and i came in and saw my boss eating a pkt of fried bee hoon.. i got hungry and my filipino colleague happen to be at the kopitiam opp my office so i texted him and ask if he could buy me a pkt of fried bee hoon..

me: can u buy me a pkt of fried bee hoon?

him: whats a fried bee hoon?

me: its fried vermicelli

him: so i just go to the shop and ask for fried vermicelli?

me: no, they wont understand that.. just ask for fried bee hoon they will know..

5 minutes later..

him: i went to all the shops.. none of them say they sell fried bees.

LOL~!

@Judy: LOL~ Your colleague so funny! But actually he can just show them the sms mah. Hahaha! I think the people are laughing at him also lor. Haha!

wah valerie.. u reply very fast.. i didnt get my bee hoon in the end but i think a morning laugh really lighten up my day a lot.. usually i start my day very grumpy.. haha..

@Judy: Haha cos I very bored at work today. Lol~ It's a quiet day... Think people still in holiday mood. Hehehe.. Even when I re-read I still find it very funny lor. Haha!

Judy, your colleague made your day!

Jolin/Valerie, yes, I also got tiny hairs on my tummy.. hah! I didn't see any line below naval yet..

Gregda, the $2,800 from PEM doesn't include permit. The permit will cost $168 which is to be paid to MOM direct. PEM will handle all registration and then MOM will bill us direct. If you confirm, then you need to pay PEM $550 as deposit. The remaining amount $2,250 is to be paid to CL on her last day. By the way, the $2,800 doesn't include angpao to CL too. Apparently, market trend is to give 2 angpaos - one on her first day about $30 and another on her last day, amount up to customers depending on CL's performance wor..

Jolin,

last nite i was researching on this too, i hv tiny hair growing at my belly button, they say it's due to hormonal change and it's common. they will disappear after delivery. they also say it's safe if you want to remove those hair.

thanks a lot faithnhope!

btw, any of u started back on Brazilian waxing? i used to do it but didnt do any in the 1st 3 months. thinking of doing it again now..i guess its safe now?? but the therapist did say it will be more painful

jolin: that day my colleague was asking me if i got tiny hairs growing at the tummy. I go home and see again and yes! i got tiny hair and 2-3 strands longer one..yeaa like neongoby say : my colle said after delivery it be gone..

judy: whaahahahah..that a good one!! really make me laff! lol

yataa: glad your baby is doing good! but do have more rest due to spotting too! =))

Neongoby: yea i agree with other mummies...its important to build up our health during the 1 month..so its better to get some help den to rest only 2 weeks.. =)

char: ohh..with boiling water and condensed milk for the oats?..okok i shall try it ..hopefully soon..hee

oh gosh, i feel like a burping n farting machine....

Little girl & Ourfirstbaby: Thanks for the info but I’m not using TMC.. Guess I will have to check with my clinic if they have packages like this..

Jolin: My hubby notice hair growing on my back, below my neck.. OMG! I was shocked when he told me.. But I can’t see from the mirror.. Hopefully we don’t turn into a bear full of fur [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Haha..

Judy: Your colleague so funny lor.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

do anyone of u experience heart palpitations recently? i have been having bad palpitations for the past week, every day, at a frequency of every 30 mins.. happens mainly in the day when i am sitting in the office at work(like now)..

Judy: I don't experience heart palpitations but I always have cramps on my buttocks.. My friends say that maybe baby is stretching and accidentally press on my veins.. Haha.. But it normally last for a while only...

For your case, maybe baby is asking you to take a break during work coz baby wants to rest too.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i also went to poo, but very little, i notice recently poo always not much, i wonder if most go to the baby so in the end not much goes to poo? make sense?

Thanks for the replies. Glad to know that it's common during pregnancy, not so worried now.

But today MS hits very bad, from morning before breakfast vomit until lunch. No food / drink can be keep in my stomach. My poor baby... mummy is really useless [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@Jolin: Ahhhh.. Don't think that way. You are not useless. You are very strong in fact! And the vomiting is normal. There was once I vomit from morning till night. Whatever went into my stomach will just come up the very next minute. Take it slowly. You might want to drink some warm water or milo. But drink slowly sip by sip. And avoid any oily & spicy stuff as they will make things worse.

Valerie,

I just had a bit kwee chap, hopefully they can stay in my stomach longer or fully digested. Ya, i love to drink warm water now, but will sometimes eat a bit fried food, cos those soupy and plain food will remain me of my worst ms period

Jolin...indeed u are strong leh... my first pregnancy i also vomit from first trimester till the day i give birth..but only 1-2times daily..not so bad as u...

jiayou!

Choc,

Every mummy is strong and weida. Hehe. In fact, i found myself is blessed compared to those mummies who needs to rely on jab / medicine support during pregnancy. Although i still vomit but i believe i am getting better each day.

Everybody jia you

Hihi .. how's everyone today? Haven't been posting for quite sometime. Wanted to share with everyone my visit to the clinic today.

I went to the gynae today and brought my girl along. When the gynae was doing my scan, 15wks now, my girl asked the gynae will she have a baby brother or sister. And when my gynae told her the results that she didn't want, her eyes became red. So poor thing! Then she popped out the next question to my gynae, "Nvr mind. Dr Cheng, can you please take out the baby now? I want to bring home and love the baby." Sigh .. children are so innocent with their questions..

Btw, I think I saw our_first_baby's post on the single electronic breast pump a week ago which costs abt 150+. Can I know which brand is tht? I had checked reviews on the breast pump. Medela is not bad but the motor seems to be loud. But spare parts are readily available at retail shops. Avent has very good let down and it's very silent. For mummies who are intending to have ebm for babies, advisable to get single pump rather than double as it's pretty heavy to bring to and fro unless have tpt. I'm intending to get avent uno isis at 339.00 but most probably trying to see if it's cheaper elsewhere at sales or exhibitions. if supply of my breast milk is good, will buy another single pump and pump both sides together. Can anyone tell me how much is taka offering for the Avent UNO model?

Faithope and greda, I called PEM and was informed tht during CNY there are only a handful of Confinement Nanny (CN) left. If want, better grab it fast. Anyway, on the red packet side, I was told that 1 when the nanny is in and 1 when she is out and 1st day of CNY must give also a token. The salesman did try to recommend the herbs package which I told him not necessary. But good lah, I dun need to trouble myself on this issue. But have to make deposit by this week. Sigh .. going to spend money again..

Neon, if you are FTM, better get a CN to help out. Unless, your husband and you have taken care of babies before. If not, it's pretty a handful. I feel that we shouldn't take chances.

Jolin, dun worry abt the hair. Hormonal changes. I realise my hair growth on armpit and leg is faster than any other time. Just in case you do not know, some women have darkened armpits during pregnancy too.

Preciousbabi, the expo for new mum and baby is 22 - 24 October and still trying to get a confirmation with the Expo mgmnt. When is your next appt with Dr Cheng? I will do my detailed scan next month.

Today I asked him whether can use tea tree oil for the terrible acne breakout and yoko yoko for my back and shoulder ache, he assured me it's ok. I'm addicted on these 2 items and esp. yoko yoko needs to standby in my bag 24 hours. I hv been using it on every part of my body, including the buttocks as I keep having pulls on the joints.

Thank god for these 2 cirtical items during pregnancy.

hi felpoo!

so gynae said that it's gonna be a boy?! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi I am new to the forum and gonna be first-time mom...a lil lost but hope to be able to catch up soon! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My EDD is also in Feb 2011

Hehe .. trinket, u very clever uh ..

Yeah .. I was pretty disappointed too.. We alr thot of a unique name for the girl, Jewell but now cannot use it.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Anyway, I am keeping my fingers crossed that the birdie that I saw on the screen as just an illusion.. :p

Trinket .. hehe .. tht was a big consolation on your part though..

I think my MIL will be whooping with joy. Anyway, told my hubby to keep mum first. And after detailed scan then see how.

But u will be surprised where I came across a case where it was scanned as boy later delivered out it's a girl. N the gynae said it might be the thumb that was down there thus the misleading part. Anyway, tht friend of mine also "chaim". The mil found out the mix up of gender refused to go hospital to visit and initially wanted to help out the confinement last min said dun want to do. Becos she wanted a boy. But sometimes all these in the genes. You know her mil, 7 daughters and 1 son. So die die, want my friend to give birh to boy. In the end, got post natal blues.

@felpoo: Woah~ So fast 15 weeks can tell already. Your girl very cute leh. Hahaha! If only the baby can be taken out just like that, then we don't have to suffer the labour pain liao. Hehe.. But anyway, it's not that accurate. Detailed scanning will be more accurate... Hehehe...

Valerie, hope so loh.. My gynae seemed pretty confident, as he can see the scrotum and birdie. Then suddenly I was confused becos he mentioned the length and I was asking my gynae, "Huh, you also measured the length of the back to the birdie which is pointing out?" He said he was measuring some other things. Aiyoh .. was so paiseh.. Anyway, my girl preferred to have a girl. So do I.. At least, sisters can share things and secrets among themselves..

@felpoo: Hahahaha! You so funny.. Actually I also prefer to have a girl leh.. But people around me keep telling me mine is boy. I also don't know what makes them say that. Some say cos baby very active during scanning, then some say cos I have very bad ms while when they are pregnant with girls they don't have, then that time one of the mummy shared the gender chart and I see mine will be a boy. And this morning my hubby said my tummy shape is pointed and not round. Old wife tale: Pointed means is a boy (issit?). *sigh* I really wish mine is a girl.........

@felpoo, I pity your that friend. Her MIL is so xian shi!! Anyway, can still try de what..

Btw, Congratulations to you!! 1 girl & 1 boy makes a hao, so don't be disappointed la. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm so looking forward to go for my next appt..!! But it seems so long..

@Amazing Miracle, how was your blood test report? Dr Ang called me today to inform me that my report shows that I got abit of ping xue (low blood pressure I think), so my hubby needs to go test his blood..

Regarding the oats, you can also add a tablespoon of milo or horlicks to taste if you find it too bland with sweetened milk.

@PreciousBabi, I think I missed out your reply. Coz I was looking for jeans & top so I nv really go thru their pants. As for shorts, I juz buy cotton on shorts to wear. Cheap & comfy..

Felpoo: My appt is on 28th Aug, still long way to go [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif].. Have they offered you the package already? I was thinking of asking them during the next visit coz my gf told me she also sign up during her 4th month.. Hoping can save more $$$ with package... Hopefully my baby will cooperate so can see the gender at end of the month also, then can start to buy things bit by bit.. If not one time buy very siong.. You very funny lor.. Most of the people praying for boy, yet you dun like.. You already have a girl mah, so a boy will balance up? You girl lagi funny.. Want to take baby out and bring home already.. Haha.. So the expo fair is not confirmed yet ah?

I saw a package at Taka fair for Avent single electronic pump with nipple pad & cream I think, if I don’t remember wrongly it’s around $250 (can’t remember the actual price).. Those who went can correct me if I'm wrong.. Very poor memory nowadays.. Still considering if should get this.. Medala’s price is abit too high.. And I think what my mil said is true.. She said buy so ex later no milk waste money.. Of course I pray that I have enough milk for my baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]…

Felpoo,

Congrats, so nice can tell baby gender already, hihi

Baby boy also good, one girl one boy make a "hao" character in Chinese.

Can close factory liao, yea.., hehe

hey jolin: no u r not useless! in fact u gone thru it! u r great! dont feel dmeolished..u r doing great! =)

zanta: yest i call twice and no one ans my calls [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]...end up today i forget to call liao..ohh..okok so yr hubby will test blood next check up ? ohh...great suggestion! ok shall try thatt...heee..

felpoo: yeaa..congrats to u !!! u can always try again after this *wink*

Hi Felpoo

Avent Single Electronic Breast Pump Bundle @ $239

Includes:

PES Single Electronic Breast Pump (UP is $339)

Nipple Cream

50 Disposable Breastpad (UP is $17)

Nipple Protectors Small (UP is $16.90)

Up to today, my wife still not sure whether to get the single or the twin set. twin set maybe too heavy to carry around but at the same time, don't want to spend so much time doing one at a time. ha ha. Also if buy twin set, got the carrier included to store the milk etc ... single set still need to buy proper carrier etc

The twin set is $669 ... like very expensive [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Valerie, my baby is not active during scanning and to the extent tht all visits, the baby's right hand is always in the same position just right above the head. I even asked my gynae to help me see carefully any problems with the child. But mine seemed small leh.. 15w crl only 7.8cm and he said it's normal. Valerie, what was yours then? They said with boys, you won't get acne i also got it and I think it was worse with my first one. But, u know I noticed that women who has boys tend to have their nose to be more swollen than normal.

Zanta, yeah .. I agree with the mil's statement and the "hao" word. U know the daughter of my friend although young, she can see the way how the ah ma treats her mum and her, she totally detests her. She refused to call the ah ma and when the 2nd baby came along, which is a boy, she taught her baby brother not to call the ah ma too. Sometimes, the mil scolded my gf and when she cried, her daughter will console her. You see, having daughter is so much better. Girls have "more heart"

@our_first_baby: Actually carrier can buy outside. There's some like zip lock kind which is convenient and won't leak. Twin set is like what you say, heavy and expensive. I think if you buy 2 single pump still cheaper. Lol~

@felpoo: I'm only 14 weeks now. And my baby was 6.23cm during 12w5d. Har, I don't have acne leh. But I never notice if my nose is more swollen. =/

Preciousbabi, nope .. not yet. Normally, Dr Cheng will only offer package only after the 20th week. Each gynae works differently. Anyway, not much of a diff. After the 3rd month, check up is once a month. So during the 4th month, you pay the max 200 and the subsequent month, will be the detailed scanning with the package offered to you. If u buy the pump, you dun open up first. After your delivery, you hv 1 month confinement. 2-3 days later, your milk will start to flow in if you can latch on your girl successfullly. From there, you will definitely know whether you hv enuff milk or not. But remember must latch on, and the supply deiniftely be there. Just now, went to my girl's classmate hse. The mummy also just gave birth. Wow.. She fed the baby from the breast and you can even hear the baby almost choking becos flow is very fast and supple. So you must contsantly latch the baby on. Demand = supply

Jolin, you are right! 2 is enuff for me. After going thru this round of severe MS, I feel that age is catching up with me. No more energy for the 3rd one. Close factory..

Amazing, as mentioned 2 is enuff. Think abt their education and future, sighh.. already stressed me up alr. I just spotted a white hair. Nvr know that this day will come so soon .. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Our first baby, u try to see your friend hv the manual pump with the bag or not. I was left with tht one. So now I only need to buy the pump. Actually, you can just buy any cooler bags off the shelf and get ice packs and that will do. I wanted to buy the medela single electric as it costs abt 150+ but very troublesome as i need to pour the milk from the bottle to storage bags or bottles. For Avent, you can take out the bottles and close the sealed cap and store in the fridge. Not much of contact with the air. And let-down is good as to emptying the breast. However, if you considering about the Avent and Medela, you can get Avent at abt 480 - 490 US set, completely new. Medela seems heavy. However, you might want to try Ameda which is more economical. I will just get Avent as I will be using the steriliser and the bottle warmer. Hope the exhibition can sell everything in a bundle package.

Trinket, my girl is coming 4.5 years old.

Valerie, aiyoh.. u dun need to emphasis ONLY 1 pimple. Make me go green with envy. Luckily I m using Body Shop Tea Tree.. Just now scolded by my gynae. I told him tht the internet mentioned tea tree is not good for pregnant women. And so is Tiger Balm and those medicated rubs. So he shot 1 statement in my face and kept my mouth shut. "Maybe what you need to stop using is the internet and not all the stuffs you mentioned".. Hehe.. My gynae like tht with a sense of humor?

My mil just walked in and asked me can see the gender of the baby during this visit. Told her no and she seemed very disappointed. I even threatened my girl not to mention to anyone if not no more outings and sweets for her.