(2011/02) Feb 2011

charmaine: try guava, bananas and papaya... if prune juice doesnt help, try pitted prunes..i know how you feel cause I have this prob too..

hi, so you all take fish oil in the morning?

funny... my clinic nurse told me at night. i took iron tablets in the morning and calcium + fish oil at night.

that's something new to me @myproud. Think I can eat that more often then next time. =)

@charmaine: did u happen to eat a lot of spicy or heaty stuff? Maybe sometimes is also because body is too heaty.

What I found from the net: Avoid eating any refined or processed white flour products, potatoes, and white rice, which can all be very binding. Sugar and cheeses should be avoided as well for the time being.

Charmaine,

i have the same problem as you, couldn't do "my business" everyday either and i think my condition is worse as i still daren't to drink much water daily, scare will vomit.

gregda, what's pitted prunes? izzit like raisins?

terrylyn, ever since got ms, i stopped eating spicy and fried stuff coz will makes me want to vomit. My diet mostly consists of wholemeal bread / oatmeal / fruits / veggies / fish or chicken and soupy stuff. I really can't understand why i'm still having constipation.

jolin, i will force myself to drink at least 2litres of water when nausea. If i vomit out then i will drink again but this time will add ribena.

@charmaine, your experience sounds scary.. Luckily u r experienced to know it's contraction.. Glad to hear that u r fine now.. For constipation, I found a new remedy.. Try taking Quacker brand Oatmeal everyday, just a small bowl will do. It worked for me so far but i still don't do my biz everyday, maybe coz I don't take them everyday. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hope this helps for u too..

@Amazing Miracle, my last appt was on 4th Aug, so next appt will be 3rd Sept, zhun zhun 1 month. But I feel like pushing my appt forward to 1 wk b4 coz I just know that their fri night appt is alt wk de. Btw, Dr Ang nv told me my bb was bouncing during the scan, is I noticed & asked him de.. So next appt, u need to c carefully. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

terrylyn, yeah... try sweet potatoes leaves next time, very nice too and it helps in my bowel movement.

i took all the supplements in the morning. yucky! everything at one go cos i was not told to eat at night wor. funny.

wow charmaine, u really having a healthy diet leh...

Zanta, I just bought quackers oatmeal on sunday. Have been taking it for breakfast these 2 days. Hope it will work for me soon.

Charmaine,

Ya, i also force myself to drink but the amount is still far behind from the recommended amount. I drink mostly plain water now cos i can't drink any sweet / flavoured drink (except milo) due to weird taste inside my mouth.

charmaine: pitted prunes are the prune fruit itself. but i always buy pitted ones because they are seedless. its sold in tubs. good to eat for snacks.

also you can try to buy this brand. i bought Sunraysia prune juice from cold storage that day and could "do biz" the next day. the bottle is glass kind and has added calcium and folate (folic acid) in it. good for us too.

myproud, this diet is similar to wat i'm eating pre-pregnant. Difference is i take spicy food then and dun take so much fruits.

@charmaine: Woah you very li hai leh.. Seems like you've tried all the remedies in solving constipation. Where did you find all the information? In the internet?

Charmaine: your diet is so much healthier than mine. It is really strange that you are having constipation. There is another juice called Fig Juice that also helps in constipation. Can try that as well.. or try drinking water the moment you wake up. I do that sometimes and after i tend to go toilet after a short while. Have you checked with the doc?

@myproud: yeah I will... hee luckily i like to eat sweet potatoes leave.

I also eat supplements in the morning so that i can drink water in the day to prevent constipation.

jolin, ya i can't take flavoured drink coz it leaves a weird taste inside my mouth too. I can't take milo coz tat was the only drink i keep drinking during my worst ms period. So now if i drink, i will be reminded of my ms feeling.

gregda, oh pitted prunes is the actual prune fruit. Just to confirm, the prune fruit itself is shaped abit like peach except that it's black in colour rite? Prune usually have one seed izzit?

@charmaine, good luck!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@trinket, u also feel sick aft taking the multi vit? Me too!! So i took them in the night but just now I call the clinic & check, the assistant advise me to take in the morning or noon coz she said scare ltr bb will be active aft I take the vit & made me can't sleep..

Btw, my blood test result for the DS is out. It's under low risk!! Now I can sleep peacefully liao.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Amazing Miracle, call the clinic now if u want coz I heard that Dr Ang is not in today so I guess they r more free to check for us as compared to morning time.

faithnhope : yup that fish oil smells..first time i still thinking what fish i eat the earlier night now still smell..haa...

char: hmmm u alrdy try all means liao....and yr food variety so healthy leh! that good..how do u eat quackers oatmeal ar? with milk?

zanta: ohh...okok thanks for that..i will keep my eyes all focus at baby movement! heee

i do i do! the pain..i assume its grastic cause recently nights i vomit more and i realise i came after 2-3 days of vomiting..

gregda : for me i only got mutli vits and fish oil. nurses say can eat anytime as long after meal.

zanta: thanks so much!! i shall call now!

faith and hope:i do i do! the pain..i assume its grastic cause recently nights i vomit more and i realise i came after 2-3 days of vomiting..

Charmaine,

True, true.

Many food that i ate during my worst ms period is now in my blacklist. I thought my appetite changed but i think what you said is true, those food will remind me of the ms feeling... argh... scary...

gregda, okie thanks!

amazing, i will add boiling water and 1 teaspoon of sugar or 1 teaspoon of condensed milk.

Valerie, i will ask my friends who had constipation when they are preggie and i consoled all their remedies.

I am taking horlicks lite, which has fibre and folic acid. not sure how much the fibre would help, since I'm also pooping much less often than i would like, but trying to be relaxed about it...

my nurse said it's best to take NeuroGain S or fish oil after meals for better absorption.

So for me, i will take multi vit (contains folic acid, so i stop taking the usual folic acid) in the morning, NeuroGain S after lunch, calcium pills at night.

I also don PS everyday, sometimes only a bit, not much.

terrylyn, i told my gynae and i told him drinking prune juice dun work for me and he prescribed me the medication (stool softener). It works initially and i got diarrhoea for lst 2 days. Have taken the med for almost 1mth and the med seems to lose its effectiveness. I'm afraid my body is dependent on this med. If i never take, i can't poo.

charmaine..how about taking fresh lemon juice squeeze into plain water?

for me i take prunes, banana, apples...honey dew etc... but ard 1 serving per day type.. not alot..still can ps leh...

the feeling of constipated very xin ku...

@Charmaine: perhaps you need to highlight to your doc again and see what other remedy he can help you. Could be the supplements that you are taking. You would need much much more fluids.

Do take care and try not to stress yourself.

Hey, signed up the FBI package at TMC earlier and got a lot of freebies!! I think very worth it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baywater, thanks. I hv stop taking spicy food ever since I hv ms. Also taking extra 3 servings of fruits n veg.

Choc, will try the lemon juice water tmr morning. Ya, it's v xin xu esp now pregnant n can't exert too much force to push, but if nv push, then can't cm out. Really feeling bad.

Terrylyn, I will ask my gynae again next appt. Told my mum bout my problem n she told me to stop the multi-vits too coz it's heaty. Dunno if will affect bb if I stop sm of the supplements.

I am new to this thread. Has been reading all the interesting posts on this forum since 8 weeks but hubby says cant tell whole world tt i am pregnant till 2nd trimester. yeah! its here now, so would like to join in all the interesting conversation. These are my information:

EDD : 8th Feb 2011

Gynae : Dr Wong Mun Tat

Hospital : TMC

Baby : #1

Morning everyone!

Welcome little girl!

Ourfirstbaby: You signed up for the package already? How many weeks is your wife now? And what does a normal package includes? Just want to check when they normally ask us to sign up so that I can ask if they don't offer.. Abit Kiasu.. Hehe..

Morning mummies~

@little_girl: Hihi~ Welcome~! =)

@mummyb: Yeah it's normal. I'm in my 14 weeks now and my ms is slowing residing even though I'll still have nauseous feeling. But it'll be over soon! =)

morning mummies

mummyb - i shld be in my 14 weeks now but i still hv ms, stronger at nite, i guess it varies from individuals.

cannot pass motion for 2 days, today will be 3rd day. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] decided to follow what the mummies here suggested, took quaker oats for breakfast, now eating apple, later lunch will eat yong tau foo with lots of veg. tonite go home will eat yogurt.

now stomach big also donno if it is full of sia

@neongoby: Hahaha you very funny leh! You mean full of sai? Lol~ I also constipated for a few days le leh! No wonder my stomach so big also.

prunes work for me. I ate 4, within 2 hours got diarrhoea. yesterday i was feeling constipated and a bit nauseous (didn't know they were linked, but i guess both make u feel bloated), ate 3 and pooped within an hour. *relief*

hee hee, sorry i mean sai [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummies, need some advice here. if i can't get a confinement lady, called a few, they either don't do during that CNY month or will only come after 5th day of CNY, i m thinking if i deliver b4 CNY, then how?

my hubby said he will take 2 weeks leave to stay at home n take care of BB while i rest, and we order confinement food from catering, get part time maid to do the housechores. After the 2 weeks, i shld be well rested? then i continue to take care of the baby myself. you guys think it's feasible?

@PreciousBabi:

u can sign up anytime. but best b4 28 weeks i think, cos after 28 weeks, must pay more for the package. the package is valid for 2 yrs from date of joining. quite worth it, lots of freebies and discounts for tests and hospital stays. Have signed up when I was going for my OSCAR test, got discount.

@neongoby: I still think it'll be better for you to rest for the whole month. I don't think 2 weeks will be enough. How about get a CL after that 2 weeks? It'll be almost after CNY period and maybe won't be too expensive?

@neongoby:though I am first time mother, but i heard a lot of stories of the importance of resting for the full mth, else our body will suffer for the rest of our life. back ache, here pain there pain

so maybe if possible, better to rest as much as possible. possible to get mother or MIL to help?

Hi Neon, you can try confinement nanny agency:

http://www.pemconfinement.com/

http://www.confinementnanny.com/

http://www.gplsconfinementnanny.com.sg/

I've posted the PEM package I got in my earlier messages. Haven't checked out the rest. PEM quoted me $2,800 if EDD falls during CNY.

Initially I was also thinking to get my hubby to take leave, order tingkat food but my hubby doesn't want to do housecleaning haha! So we reckon an extra pair of hands is good anyway. Better that we rest well for one month than will be strong and healthy for the next one! Haha!

hi ladies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] first post here!

my due date is scheduled to be 23 feb. this is my #1. have been reading this thread, but because i was spotting for three weeks previously from weeks 5-8, i was very hesitant to join this thread.

i went for my oscar scan yesterday and doc and hubbs say bb is very cute, waving its arms around. but i couldn't see anything! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] think i got stamps on my eyes :p

just a question, i was supposed to be 11w4d according to my gynae's calculations, but the scan showed my gestational age to be 12w2d. the discrepancy is quite large. which measurement should i follow? also, i was reading on the genital nub and making wild guesses about the gender of the baby :p it's quite fun, can read up on the angle of the dangle! i asked the doc scanning me, but her lips were sealed.

thanks for your help in advance! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Little girl: How much did you pay for the package?

Neongoby: It's best for us to rest the entire month during confinement.. Don't think that simple chores doesn't matter.. My SIL that time don't listen, bathe her baby and do some minor washing herself.. Now wrist always pain.. Best is avoid water during that period.. For our own good..

Hi yaataa, glad everything's fine for you now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Don't worry about the gestational age.. mine wasn't "accurate" each time too. I was a few days behind during my 7-week scan, then baby caught up a few days ahead during my 9-week scan.. Then when I went for oscar at 12-week, baby's size was same though I had earlier seen my gynae 3 days earlier. a few days difference is fine.

Hi PreciousBabi,

Not all is stated in the website.

The package is $148 but after 28 weeks is $188. It is valid for 2 years. I signed up when we went down for the Oscar Test, immediately we got $40.50 discount for the test and detailed scan.

The package includes many goodies. I think Dumex gave a changing mat, Cordlife gave a carrying bag, another one gave a insulated carrier, and also got a pack of small bottles containing shower cream, moisturizer cream etc for babies.

They also gave a free shoulder or sling bag which you can choose. (quite good apparently)

In the goodie bag, they also gave you 3 guidebooks. I can't remember the other 2 but 1 of the book is teach you about breastfeeding. quite thick book lor, it says worth $18 each book.

You get $100 off if booking 1 bedroom, $80 off for 2 bedroom and $60 off for 4 bedroom. 10% discount on all pre-natal checkup, 20% discount on postnatal visits. What attracts me also is if you book with sweetest moments for the full month package, you get 10% off too. There are some other privileges, can't remember all. And best of all, $450 off Cordlife package.

In the end, i think if you using TMC then sign up, otherwise no need ba.

Good morning, ladies

Can i check with you? Do you have tiny hair grow around your stomach? I used to have tiny hair around my breast and stomach lah, but now it seems getting darker and visible. Is it part of pregnancy?

@Jolin: Oh yes!! I have hair growing around my stomach and I didn't have that before I was pregnant. Haha! I think it's normal cos I watched a variety show and the preggy also had hair around her tummy area when she was pregnant. But they will drop after you give birth. And if you notice, there'll be a line below your naval and it'll be darker as time goes by until you give birth too.