(2011/02) Feb 2011

Valerie, no problem. Can feel how you are feeling. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] 2nd trimester is the time for us to enjoy our pregnancy! You will be glad coz by 3rd trimester, bb will choose timing to kick you eg esp when you are so tired and about to zzz or while you are asleep [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@charmaine: Hmm.. But I'm still not enjoying leh. Sometimes will still feel nauseous and my mouth still have some funny taste. =/ Wonder will it completely go away... I read somewhere that you will be able to see your tummy moving when your baby kicks you. Really?? Like very kua zhang leh...

Valerie, yr ms shd be subsiding anytime [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] It's true that you can see when bb kicking you but that's at end of 2nd tri. By 3rd tri, it wil be v obvious le. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am also excited and looking forward to feeling the baby move for the very first time. Read somewhere that some pregnant women can feel their baby move as early as beginning of 13 weeks. I've not had that feeling though, but on and off, i will put my hand on my abdomen and hope i can feel it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

val, yes yes, it is really that kua zhang. you can even see your tummy moving from one side to the other side when it is nearing your edd. very interesting.

jolin, usually for the first baby, u will feel bb when roughly in 18 to 19 weeks since first time mummy no idea what is the feeling like. so when in 18 to 19 weeks, the feeling is more obvious to identify.

jolin, i can oredi start to feel bb moving inside me now le. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] 1st pregnancy i can only noe and confirmed that it's bb movement at 18weeks.

myproud,

i see, i see, but sometimes i wonder will i be able to identify baby moving when it really happens? my MS was pretty bad and i had bad indigestion and gas flactuance, hence, whenever i feel something moving inside my stomach, i will categorize that as stomach gas

@Jolin: Oh I will put my hand at my tummy but I can't feel anything leh. I forgot where did I read it says if press down can feel the baby. But I press down I also cannot feel leh. =(

@myproud: Haha! I'm imagining seeing the shape of the fist or leg protruding on my tummy. Hehe..

Valerie

I can feel a small, hardened "ball" at lower stomach. Some times it's on the centra, some times on the side. I will touch it quite many times a day, haha, and the feeling is stronger when you lie down.

jolin, though this is my 2nd pregnancy, i also still can't quite recognise whether the feelings now and then is bb movement or not. i also treat it as gas. haha. for my 1st one, i felt her moving at 18+weeks. the feeling was really amazing. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

valerie

u so funny! yah, they should give us milo after the test.

i had my test last fri too. 2 tubes, $88. the new technology needle v good huh? i used to donate blood, so not scared. the nurse kept apologising, but seriously not her fault that she has to poke me! she's just trying to do her job!

anyway, thankful that bb is in good health and can go and tell the whole world that i'm preggers liao.

had ur lunch mummies?

I develop the habit of stroking my tummy, then one day my husband said, dont always stroke ur tummy, maybe the baby doesnt like it or find it disturbing or irritating? huh? so i stop, do it once in a while, i thot baby likes us to stroke the tummy to soothe them, but maybe they are in the fluid so when we stroke they feel the "waves" moving up and down, giddy for them, lol

can anyone share their experience?

Yeah Trinket!! My gynae also said I can tell the whole world that I'm preg now. But my blood test results are not out yet.. Wonder if it's ok..

And I'm quite blur too.. I know that the blood test is for HIV, blah blah but not sure if it's for oscar or not. Last week NT scan shows the measurement at the neck there is ok though. Btw, is NT scan & oscar the same? Or Nt scan + blood test = oscar?? Sorry for my blurness & ignorance..

haha I think there's so much padding that the bb can't quite feel our 'stroking'. imagine a balloon with water inside. unless u press really hard, think all the bb feels is the water moving, bloop blooop.

on bb moving, yah! it's a really nice special feeling. best part of pregnancy. but in third trimester, can feel like there's some alien inside.

once my friend had a notebook balanced on her very large tummy. then the bb kicked and the notebook fell off! haha!

and your friends will be able to see when the bb moves too. maybe not as obvious as some of the photos where you can see a foot imprint on the tummy skin, but others can definitely see visible 'movements'. can be annoying/uncomfortable if you're trying to sleep.

Hi Zantarina,

if i am not wrong, blood test (done at the gynae) is for HIV etc..

OSCAR test (done at TMC) is for Down Syndrome. It has a blood test together with a scan. scan is to measure the thickness of fluid behind BB's neck while blood test is to test for some other stuff. these 2 tests together will predict probablity of a DS.

@Neon, I also got the habit of stroking my tummy every now & then, telling my bb "mummy sayang". In the morning when I woke up, I will stroke my tummy & tell my bb that it's morning now, time to wake up for breakfast. And in the night b4 I go to sleep, I will also stroke my tummy & tell my bb that it's night time now, time to sleep.. Hehe..

@Charmaine, so envy you can feel your bb's movement now. But how to tell it's bb's movement?? Sometimes when there's some movement in my tummy, I will think that it's gas..

btw, like to seek some more advice on a CL..

those that i called for qoutes are all ranging from $2.8-$3k. cause of CNY. and this excludes the MOM work permit. some of them are requesting me to apply for it.

from previous posts, faithnhope has shared that the agency PEM is charging much cheaper.

anyone has experience with PEM agency and any good CLs from there that anyone can recommend?

I have been thinking thru over the long weekend if I shld get a CL..and after some thought, i think its better to get one. afterall, its my first pregnancy and i can learn from the CL on how to handle baby too. too bad BB choose CNY timing. hahaha

hey judy...thanks for sharing the story...its so sad..!

Jolin :hey babe, so u feeling better now??

for blood test:my doctor only draw 1 full tube then my doctor divide to 3 tubes and ask me send 2 tubes to the tmc when i do my oscar test on the same day.

Faithandhope: same! my next check up 16 weeks doc also say can try see ger or boi!

its so exciting for all for us then...seems all going to see this month le!

I still cant feel any movement but im so excited to see it grow bigger and moving and growing normally, healthy and safe inside.

char: oh gosh! are u feeling better alrdy ???

im still feeling so tired....cant bring myself out over the long weekend...

trinket: that so cute! kick the notebook away..its mus be kicking hard! haa

Neongoby: i enjoy touching my stomach too but i think like trinket say now got so many"padding" i also wonder fi they can feel us stroking them ma.

zanta: did u get your oscar test results from Dr ang alrdy ? i did my test 2 weeks ago no news from them dont know to call them ma

Amazing,

Thank God and the encouragement from you ladies, i think i survived the MS already, hehe. It seems subsiding now but on and off i will still vomit and feeling nausea, but not so bad anymore.

Hence, i am feeling so happy and active in this thread today, hehe

@myproud: Wah. Then I have to standby very long leh. Cos I won't know when is my baby going to exercising. Haha~

@neongoby: Me too!! I always stroke my tummy then sometimes will pet on it like sayang-ing. Hehe.. Then that day so funny. My hubby saw me stroking then he put his hand there and asked "Hello baby, how are you?" Then he'll start to make those water sound like gargling water like that. Then he continue "Can you hear me?" Then he make the water sound again. Then I laughed and asked what is he doing he said baby is inside water. LOL~

Btw ladies, can I check, issit alright for pregnant ladies to eat lotus roots??

Felpoo: I went to him coz my gf recommended.. Felt comfortable with him.. So I guess I just have to listen to what he says [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].. You really too impulsive lor.. Actually hubby and me also intend to buy a DSLR camera, but after sourcing around, find that the price too ex.. Will have to postpone the plan so that we can spend more money on baby’s stuff.. But since you already bought the camera, must make full use of it..

Zantarina: Actually I find their bottoms nice and cheap.. The tops, really not much variety..

Went to Taka fair on last Sunday to check on the prices but didn’t buy anything as it is too early still.. Felpoo, please update us if you have news on the New Mum fair at Expo in Oct.. Thks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I’m also looking forward to this month end for my visit.. Hopefully can tell the gender by then and we can start buying things for baby.. Yeah!!

Just want to check if anyone gets emo easily nowadays?? I get angry/pissed very easily these 2 weeks.. Coz most of my colleagues don’t know abt me preggy yet.. So they will like “Are you ok? Why you always pull a long face?” I tend to get angry over small issues like the whole office people stepping on my tail everyday.. For some people, they don't even have to open their mouth, I see their face only I get pissed off.. Then after that I feel like crying [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif].. Haiz.. How to have a happy baby like that? So I keep telling myself to ignore them.. But I can’t.. So frustrating!!

@Amazing Miracle, I did my (sld be) oscar scan last wed at Dr Ang's clinic, measurement of the fluid behind bb's neck is ok/normal. Now waiting for the blood test results.. I think the assistant also divide my blood into 3 tubes aft withdrawing 1 tube out. I called this morning to ask for the results but the assistant asked me to call back aft 2pm to check. Then just now called back but nobody picked up my call..

I think your blood test sld be ok coz Dr Ang mentioned if nv call means ok but I kiasu la. Hehe.. When is your next appt? Mine is 3rd Sept, so long! I can't wait to see my bb again.. Coz during the scan last week, bb was in lying position but kept bouncing up & down, hands & legs also kept moving. So cute!! But luckily still able to do the measurement.

@gregda, thanks for the clarification. Then I think mine sld be oscar test bah coz I kept thinking mine was too simple to be oscar test.

most welcome Zantarina.

@ valerie:lotus roots shld be safe to eat. i drank a lot of lotus root soup too. its nice and nutrious. also,i saw lotus root receipes from a preg receipe book, so i guess its ok.

rule of thumb is to take everything in moderation will do.

zanta, the movements are either a poke or a push. I can differentiate the poke/push from gas movements hehehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

amazing, thanks, feeling much better le after taking the med. Had a bad scare from this incident coz after that i heard that there is a possibility that my waterbag will break if it contracts badly.

@gregda: I thought so too.. Cos I didn't hear anyone saying can't eat lotus roots. But my mil & sil said can't eat lotus roots. Cos that time my sil went to see Chinese Physician during her pregnancy and the Physician told her say she can't eat. But my mum said it depends on individual body...

Anyone has any remedy for constipation? Mine is really bad. I'm taking 2 apples and 1 pear with 300gms (1 packet) of veggies daily. Taking the gynae's medication (stool softener) yet i still can't do biz daily. I need to stop my calcium pills which is making me worried if it will affect my baby. Prune juice dun work for me. I'm taking 2-3 litres of water daily

@charmaine: Are you taking any iron pills? Cos iron will worsen constipation problem. Maybe you stop taking iron pills and take folic acid first? That's what my gynae told me if I have very bad constipation.

valerie, i haven't start on the iron pills yet. I started calcium pills last month and was told to stop calcium pill. So i should stop folic acid too?

@myproud: I love lotus roots soup lor. And I'm craving for it now. Hee.. Am going to ask my mum to brew that soup this Saturday. Kekekeke..

@charmaine: But issit due to folic acid? I don't think folic acid will cause constipation bah.. Did you consult your gynae?

Valerie, I think ok to take lotus roots. I had cooked pork ribs lotus roots soup during my 1st trimester before.. but if it's cooling stuff like bittergourd or old wintermelon, then maybe avoid.

Gregda, you meant those independent CLs you contacted requested you to apply permit for them too ar? I guess they also want to be "safe" ba... Likely I may engage a CL too cos my hubby doesn't want to do house cleaning haha! I was deciding either PEM or just get tingkat food but since hubby doesn't want to clean house, then we may get CL loh.. extra pair of hands is good also..

Neon, I also always "so" my tummy and talk to my baby.. like when I apply massage cream, when I kena frightened by cockroach/lizards hahaha! My sister asked me to start talking to baby early about anything, including if there's thunder.. so next time they will not be so afraid hehee.. I don't know real or not lah.. just do for fun loh.. hehe...

Precious, I think many of us gets emo during our pregnancy stage but let's try to maintain a happy mood cos our mood will affect the baby when they are born.. hehe.. if we remain happy-go-lucky, then our child(ren) will come out same also.. hehe..

@charmaine: Huh. My gynae said iron pills. Hmm.. But how long have you stop taking the calcium pills? Maybe you kiv a while more?

sometimes i feel so miserable during my MS, then my hubby will kiss my stomach n tell my baby don't bully the mummy... ok, after listening to you all, i shall continue my stroking and talking everyday, hahaha, sometimes i will ask out loud "BB! what are you doing?!" i hope my baby can hear and do some response like pushing my stomach ;p

@neongoby: Hahaha! You say so loud later your baby got a scare. Hehehe.. I love lotus root soup too. Especially after that eating the lotus root with soy sauce. Yum yum~!! I want to eat now!!!

hahaha, i thot they are in the water, if too soft my voice will be muffled and they cannot hear.

my baby better get use to my voice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i thot babies like exaggerated expressions and voices, they will laugh....

charmaine: i think can stop the calcium pills and then eat sources of calcium from food like tofu, soya..otherwise i only know the means that u tried and dont work on you..

neongoby: lol...so funny leh u ...skali baby is sleeping then..

same here !! i love lotus roots with pork rib soup..den the meat soft soft...yummy leh...

precious: yeaaa...sometimes mood is hard to avoid but always think it a way that it is connect to the baby so mus stay positive and happy!!

ask u all leh...those who take fish oil..when ur burp did u all smell the fish oil ....gosh..sometimes it feels...a little gross..haa

wah! all this talk abt Lotus Root soup is making me hungry and craving for it too!

Too bad I am cooking pig stomach soup today.. shall try Lotus soup one of these days soon..Haha!

@ faithnhope: yeah, those independent freelance CL ask me to apply permit. they are worried too. haha.

actually i was thinking if we spend 2.5-3k for a CL that includes taking care of baby, cooking, simple hsework, its quite ok. most of my frens say its impt to rest during that one month and also since I am a first-timer, I can watch how the CL cope with the baby and learn from her. besides, the marketing and meals are not easy to prepare too.

the tingkat service....it cost ard $1500-$1800 and what I dun like is the food may not be so fresh since its mass-cooked and not too healthy.

their dinner usually delivers ard 4-5pm. hence by the time i want to eat, i got to heat up using mircowave which will cause some little nutrients to be lost too.

zanta: wah yrs seems long..yr checkup not 1 mth later from your last check up?

my next check up 23 Aug one month from my check up...cant wait to see baby bounching la, waving to me la..sucking the thumb la..all these i didnt see..so sad..that day Dr ang scan baby seems to be sleeping...

Amazing, yes, I get the fish taste too when I burped. But fortunately, the taste will be gone by lunchtime hehe..

gregda, that's true.. about resting.. so we can nurse our health back for subsequent children hahaha! I'm quite particular about neatness around the house.. so maybe good to have someone to help.. hehe..

By the way, any of you girls get pain one-two fingers down in between the rib cages? It feels like gastric.. but I'm not sure if it's gastric cos I don't usually have gastric...

Valerie, just stopped calcium pills for 2 days only.

faith, thanks, will take yoghurt this evening after dinner.

amazing, thanks. will start to identify and take food rich in calcium

@Charmaine: perhaps you can try eating dragonfruit as it has a lot of fibre. I too suffer from constipation so i tried eating that and somehow it works for me.

terrylyn, i tried dragonfruit, both red and white one. Eat for one week and dun work for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]