(2011/02) Feb 2011

Welcome our first baby, glad to have a daddy in our thread [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Judy,

Ouch, you are brave. We are doing it all for BB. Jia You.

Amazing M,

I also not sure leh. Hopefully no more spotting. Doc was sugguesting that if bleed again and getting on my nerve, best way is to remove it. Now praying hard everyday lor. Dun even dare to BD, my poor hb :þ

Valerie & Neongby,

My heart pump faster too. I measure with the BP machine, at times can hit pulse 90+/min. Think I kan cheong also, after taking deep breadth goes down to 75/min.

Melody,

Hihi Welcome.

So an xin to hear that. Wow, a box of tissue per day, will sucking sweet helps?

feelpoo,

Am having aches too. Dunnoe is it Rheumatism? I stick Salompas on each side on my lower thigh whenever the "pain" is unbearable.

Our 1st baby,

You are good hb, I'm sure ur wife is very proud of you. Do try to be extra understanding for your wife. We preggies need tender loving care.

About announcement,

I've inform my boss and covering officer, I feel that this is only fair to them and also to myself. I do need their extra understanding if I do need to take MC or urgent leave during this period. So far my boss has been very kind, will ask me is the work load too much now, career fair will get colleagues to help me and ask me to refrain from carrying heavy load.

I also inform my close khakis at work, need their help to tabao my lunch back when I don't have the strength/mood to go out.

But I guess hard to hide, am quite big size but look 4mths preggie now (dunnoe is it 2nd pregnancy, so more obvious). Today am wearing tube dress with cardigan button down. One despatch lady saw me and asked am i preggie in front of my other colleagues.. i just smiled at her and act blur then faster return to my seat (-,-!!)

BPC: sucking sweets dun really helps, coz the excess saliva will come again once the sweet is finished...

My gynae advised no BD, no exercise if there is spotting.. Do try to rest more...

Any good recommendations for milk powder? Tried Similac but find it too sweet... Has lost a couple of kg, need to try to gain the extra pounds...

I won't let my wife touch the mop or wash the plates now. I want her to rest as soon as she gets back from work. Hope my baby will bring me luck tonight. I will tell the baby tonight if daddy tio toto, i promise him/her an iPad to play with tomorrow morning [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Melody, I have tried Dumex Anmum Chocolate flavour, not too sweet. Not sure if you can go to their website and ask for sample before buying the actual size.

Our first baby, you are so sweet and considerate [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my hubby still wants me to help with washing dishes, do a bit of light housework, well, I can't possibly let him do all the housework, he is also working mah

The 8mil toto? only iPad ah? hahaha

neongoby: thanks for ur recommendation.. will check it out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

our first baby: that's sweet of u.. my hubby also do not let me do any housework at all, at most fold clothes which he hates.. haha

our first baby: hoho.. i also gt buy the toto.. i tell baby if i win i buy real helicopter instead of toy train for him/her to play.. hahahah..

Judy, u r so funny.

I buy also leh, if tio then I have to buy my son a real train then. He is into Thomas the Train!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am now having crave for ice-cream. Hubby forbids [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Trying to influence him that ice-cream = calcium coz got milk mah.

If not sorbet = fruits = vitamins rite!

cannot eat ice-cream mah? in moderation should be ok rite?

Do you ladies find plain water really eeky now? I seem to find Ribena/ syrupped water more palatable. I'm beginning to have phobis of water now, as it just means medicine time! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@felpoo, your story regarding the malaysian preg woman sounds scary.. I'll try not to push so hard in future, but sometimes like bo bian..

Last night I'd a nightmare that i put on 6kg till date.. I was horrified and find myself waking up touching my tummy. Haha..

@BPC & our first baby, Welcome..!!

@BPC, regarding your pain & putting salonpas, are we allowed to stick that on our body now? I wanted to stick on my back but was afraid..

i think they say cannot eat ice cream is bcos its cold or cooling to pregnant women? but i think eat on a hot day is fine, as long as eat in moderation.

pootz - i also hate plain water now, i drink ribena, ginger drink, sour plum drink, fruit juice as replacement [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but ya, lesser water intake than before, but i notice cold water is easier to drink than water at room temperature, but then again, also cannot drink too much cold water [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hi ppl,

im currently in my 10 week. I hv something to check with u all. My symptoms seems to hv ceased these 2 days. Shld i b alarmed? Shld i go to my gynae later?

My hubby borrowed a book from the library called "Dad's pregnant too". It's hilarous! It's an all-about-pregnancy book written from the perspective of expectant fathers, and tells dads what to expect etc. There was even a section on "push presents"- gifts dads give mums in appreciation for pushing the baby out. I definitely approve of this book [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm now 10 weeks 4 days. Tummy quite significantly large now, can only fit into about half my clothes and I look downright fat in everything [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Did the blood test component of my OSCAR this week. For those interested, the OSCAR at KKH costs $321.

Hubby is an absolute darling, buys me whatever I want to eat, gives me foot massages at night and is very attentive and affectionate. My MIL is also very sweet, our house driveway can only park 2 cars so previously I would park on the road outside (about 50m away and up a hill), now she says pregnant lady cannot climb hill so she lets me park on the driveway and she parks outside.

BPC, what's wrong with eating ice cream? What you say is true, ice cream contains milk with has alot of calcium, good for baby. I have been eating lots of it- bought a packet of Magnum minis for the freezer. Mmm!

mi mi: do you have morning sickness? dont want to scare you but morning sickness is at its peak around the 10weeks.. however diff women diff.. symptoms cease for 2 main reasons.. first is ur body has gotten used to the continued production of hcg hormones.. 2nd is something wrong lah(touch wood). but u got no spotting right? if really keep worrying, just give ur gynae a call lor.. i rmb at week 6 i called my clinic frantically asking them about my lack of symptoms.. the nurse told me its common.. and it will come later..

cherry: ur hubby is soooo sweet!

mummies.. wanna check with u.. NT scan and OSCAR scan isit diff? how much would a NT scan + 5th mth detail scan cost?

Mi Mi - don't worry, did you experience cramp or bleeding, otherwise you maybe either one of the 'lucky' ones who are spared by MS anymore or it may come back later. Just monitor a few days to see.

Cherry, your hubby so sweet and MIL so thoughtful [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i hv ms since 6weeks. but it got better since last week...n ceased these two days. Maybe i'll consult my gynae later. no spotting..

Mi Mi- When I saw my gynae last week at week 9, she told me nausea will start to cease at week 10.. So long as no spotting, should have no cause for alarm..

my gynae told me that ms shld peak ard week 10. so im v worried. I think im going to my gynae soon. to do a scan juz to reconfirm.

Zantarina,

I remembered I applyed salompas during my 1st pregnancy. Cleared by my gynae. To me is this is applying on the exterior, much more safer than taking oral painkiller rite. (gee.. my own analogy)

Pootz,

Can eat, hb says still in 1st tri so to refrain from cold and cooling stuff lor.

Hi Mimi,

Dun be alarmed. Maybe its ur MS easing off. As long as no bleeding (TOUCHWOOD). Now its the time to enjoy your pregnancy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Zanta, I'm probably close to achieving your nightmare of putting on 6kg to date. I've been blessed to have had minimal ms (only retching in the morning before breakfast, have not vomited at all), but as a result I have been steadily gaining weight like mad! Next week is my next gynae appt and I am dreading stepping on the scale!

Cherry,

Ya lor, its calcium. Don't care, gg to buy ice-cream later. But eat in moderation lor.

Don't know this time round my gynae will ask me to do triple test again or OSCAR test.

Cherry u opt for OSCAR or suggest by ur gynae? Am 31 this yr, well.. shall wait for my gynae's suggestion.

BPC, my gynae suggested it. I am 30 this year. Actually to be honest, my husband and I are both doctors so we feel that we would like to have the maximum amount of information possible at each stage. We have also seen our fair share of Down's syndrome patients and to be frank, I don't think I could cope with a handicapped child. My 2 cents...

Cherry, wat u say is true. Shall wait for my turn for e test. My next gynae appt on next mon, will discuss with him. Who is ur gynae, from Kkh too? Mine is prof John Tee.

I have a brand new Medela Pump In Style® Advanced Backpack to let go at $550. Bought it last month. Warranty included.

Do contact me at [email protected]

Features and Benefits

Daily use · double pump · electric

What’s Included

Stylish backpack design

Battery pack (8AA batteries not included)

Removable cooler carrier

4 - 5 oz breastmilk bottles, lids & travel cap

Wide base slow-flow nipple

2 - 24 mm PersonalFit™ breastshields

2 valves

2 membranes

Contoured ice pack

Breastfeeding Information Guide

Morning Mummies,

Looking for a great and entertaining toy for your little ones? We have a few brand new sets of bright starts pdts for sale..

This is a great swing for new born...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4274407.jpg]

The InGenuity™ Portable Swing features the innovative TrueSpeed™ Technology, which provides sustained swinging speeds even as baby grows and gets heavier. The swing automatically recognizes baby’s weight and adjusts the swing speed to maintain a consistent swinging motion. With innovative solutions like TrueSpeed™ and on-trend fashion combined with the quick fold-and-go mechanism, this portable swing is the ideal travel companion.

Features and Benefits:

.TrueSpeed™ Technology that maintains 6 swing speeds even as baby grows

.Whisper Quiet™ operation for peaceful swinging

.Comfort Recline™ seat with 2 positions to suit baby’s needs

.Swing Timer has 3 settings: 15, 30, and 45 minutes

.Removable head rest

.Cushioned foot pad and side supports for ultimate comfort

.Removable Toy Bar – pivots back for easy access to baby

.6 Melodies to soothe baby with volume control and auto shut-off

.Machine Washable seat pad and head rest

.5 point Harness keeps baby secure

Weight/Height: Up to 25 lbs

The rest of the pdts as followed:

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4274408.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4274409.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4274410.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4274411.jpg]

For more pdt details, pls refer to http://shop.ebay.com.sg/mave003/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=25

BPC, my gynae is Loh SF.

faithnhope, no am not a GP. Am a specialist working in one of the govt hospitals.

This morning the hubby and I wanted to go out to eat prata for breakfast, so I was looking for something to wear. I realised with horror that I can only fit into 1 pair of my shorts! I can't even button or zip up all the rest! So you know what my hubby did? He dug around in his cupboard and found a pair of board shorts with rubber waist and drawstring, and now I'm wearing that. I have resorted to raiding my husband's wardrobe for clothes. Tragic! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Good saturday to all!

I was on MC yesterday... right eye kept tearing on thurs afternoon and took Mc yesterday. had 2 cuts in my right eye.

Then preg, many eye drops doc cant give me. now almost healed and doc ask me to stop the eye drops. dun wanna risk anything.

Almost no MS tho yest puke out morning tea and curry puff.. din expect to still puke but less frequent now.

Very happy when I see baby during the nucal scan. Like totally in love!!!

Cheers to all mommies! We are in or are entering 2nd trimester!

im into my 9th weeks........... and i haven eaten any fish or meat since 4th week

i dun take vege or fruits before im preggy but now i cant eat meat..............every time i take meat i will puke immediately.......

i din gain or lose any weight so far....... becos i mainly survive on ben & jerry n sweet drinks........

my mum is kidding that i was too sinful becos i ate too much meat since young, and now bb wanna become vegetarian....lol

vusha hahahah ur mom's funny! Take care.. I lost about 0.6kg of weight cos of no appetite and MS. slowly getting appetite back. Eat whatever you can stomach just easy on the cold foods.

Jia you! :>

my wkend is starting with fever, cough and running nose. had consult GP, but the medicine taken vomit out again. wonder hw does it work to cure my cold. sigh!

i read that 10 wk is the peak. oh my god, next wk, i m in 10th wk. so scary!!!

hope all of u hav a wonderful wkend with ur love one. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi to all mummies...

Thanks for the concern...cuz normally i hav gastric prob...1st preg i was warded in hosp in last tri for abt 3 days as baby got bigger than no space squash my stomach then i cant contain my food end up in drips...

Tis time MS make my gastric worst n normal off the shelf medi doesnt help...thus hope tis MS faster go away...i din even put on any weight...ya dr is monitoring n i jus got to tahan cuz i cant eat my strong gastric medi anymore...

Haloo my first baby...welcome on board...

Well my hubby is juz super nice too...My hb earn lesser than me but allow me to quit my job a few mths back to concentrate taking care of my LiL kaiden till he can go childcare...then we decided we shld get another fast n let them grow up tog...so i "rape" my hb...furthermore we tink we r not young anymore n we dun hav the stamina to look aft babies...might as well settle all since we still can esp lack of slp for 1st few mths due to nite feeding...

Re:MS

So glad most mummies MS gone...i hope mine will go off soon...

Re: oscar test

I din take the 1st time n now my Dr say i got less than 0.01% thus say i cant no nid take...

BPC...my Dr is also john tee i will only b seeing him on 28...mayb next time we might mit at TPS...

Im at my 10th week, going to 11th week.

My vomitting for the past week is indeed at its peak. I really hope it will go away real soon.

Whatever I took I throw out. Doc gave me 3 days MC, but when i went back to work, I still go running to toilet to vomit. The most disgusting thing is the vomit came out from both my mouth & nose at the same time! Oh my gosh! Somemore I was at work place's toilet. Really feel very sucky.... =(

@Meshell: Hihi, I had mild diarrhea few weeks ago too. I guess it's the food that we ate. For me, I think is cos I ate oily stuff. I ever told my gynae before and she said it's okay to take charcoal pills. But I didn't take. I just don't take so much oily food.

Morning babes..

Meshell,

I experience diarrhea too. During my 4-5wk, I walked in A&E due to diarrhea 5x. Wonder what have I eaten then, as my family members and friends who had taken the same food as me have no problem. Doc diagnosed as food poisioning and prescribe charcoal pills + MC. Adv to drink alot of water.

Now i still experience LS maybe every few days apart. I believe its either due to the hormones change or I am suddenly allergic to certain food due to preggie. Am cutting down diary products to monitor.

Cheyanne,

Hihi, my appt with John Tee is today PM. Cant wait to see BB. Pray hard everything is fine. Yeah, maybe can catch u at TPS some other times :D

You are cute, "rape" your hb...hehehehe.

SLim,

Oh gosh, drink more water. The weather is so erratic. You must rest more to chase the fever and flu bug away.

MamaYing,

Oh gosh, what caused the cut in your eye?

Glad that you are recovering [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cherry,

Most of my bottoms can't button up. Even if i can still squeeze in the bottom, I will feel most uncomfortable. Dun wanna suffer, am using tummy band now.

morning mummies

hope everyone had a good weekend.

just ate nasi lemak breakfast. find that sweet chili like the nasi lemak type gives me more appetite. mummies who are racking their brains on what to eat can try that. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cheyanne

u must be very young! 0.01% is v low. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning mummies!!

faith and hope: I had short poking pain sometimes in the stomach also but goes off soon.. sometimes i ave pking feel at the "V" area leh..u gers got?

trinket..:slurps..i love the chilli also...

Kittyki..: gosh from nose? i guess that a terrible feeling..u cant take the mc and rest home?

SLIM: hope your week 10 be a smooth one..! =))

i did my check up on friday and doc sent me to oscar test as well..oh my...baby grown so much after a mont..feel so touched to see baby growing..but i think baby is sleeping..no movement still..no waving of handss...my scan took like 20 mins..jus taking pics of scan.

so mummies who take oscar test..when will u all know any results ar?

hello everyone,

kittyki: this is my 11th week too.. When i vomit last Sat, the vomit also came out of my nose and mouth, feel so yucky and disgusting.. urrgh!!

so far all my vomitting are done at home, not working now, dare not go out too much coz of nausea and the excess saliva...

meshell: i have diarrhea couple of weeks back, and it was when i take spicy food..

Am gg for oscar test next monday...

BPC, amazing miracle, thks... today no more fever le. but still having running nose.

i dun experience diarrhea during pregnancy but having constipation make my stomach so uncomfortable. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hihi, hope everyone had a good weekend. just wondering if anyone of you know what is PAPP A Test which is to be tested during 11-14 weeks?

amazing: hey im experiencing the same thing as u now! i was quite worried cos i dont knw if i should be feeling this pain.. and i dont knw if its major enough to call my dr.. its like very slight stabbing/poking pain around my middle.. then sometimes its lower abdomen, sometimes very tight feeling near the V area.. is it normal?

judy: yesyes! like u say...my v area like also got poking feel suddenly lol...hmm..for me i didnt do anything ...as long they goes off very fast..unless its painful for some time i think we better call the doc...i hope otherwise we r consider fine? hee...

myproud: hmm sorry no idea wat that..for week 11 to 14 i only thought that will be oscar test. My dr nv mention about PaPP A test..

SLIM: that good u r feeling better...consitpation its common..so try take more fruits, veg, prune juice..it helps.

Eh its seems quiet lately...where r some of the mummies??

Hello all..

Amazing, I think I also had poking in the "V" area. I told my gynae abt the poking pain in the abdomen. He said to ask me to observe. If it's not frequent, like, every few days, it's fine.

I just went for my scan. Based on bb's size, I'm 12w3d.. yeah.. coming to the end of my 1st trimester... Gynae prescribed fish oil, iron and calcium pills.. said I can discontinue vit C and folic acid if I continue to eat fruits/vege...

I'll be gg for Oscar test.. gynae said I have to do before National Day... (based on bb's size).

SLim, hope you are feeling better now.

myproud, I also hvn't heard abt the PAPP test. What's that actually?