(2011/02) Feb 2011

Neon, you are doing the oscar on the 30th, right?

My thots about the scan is very similar to the detailed scanning done on the 5th month. My gynae took alot of snap shots on the fetus, from the head all the way to the bottom and I did ask him abt the gender. He showed me a stick like poking out from the bottom but he told me that at 11 weeks +, for girl or boy there is always this thing poking out until another few weeks down the road, it will depend on which direction it will "go".

Oh, he compiled all the snapshots on a folder for me for me to bring it home. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

which gynae are you seeing, felpoo?

rainbow,

yup I like her a lot. her stitching is good, and she's very reassuring.

Dr Adrian Tan is good too, quite a few of my friends see him.

Good Morning all~!

Wah...I feel like gng to the Oscar test as soon as possible. Hehee..Been seeing all of you discuss this topic..hehe.

May I know how much does it costs for Oscar test? Seems that Triple test is much cheaper?

Really hope 1st trimester can over very soon, so that we wont suffer any MS...(hope so). It is really suffer to wake up in the morning and drag myself to work...haiz..All I want just to sleep ALL THE WAY Thru~. Sobz

Dear Mummies...Do you all know if we still can eat Tuna? Dunno y..recently I have been craving for Tuna tuna tuna. Everything tuna..But wonder if we can eat when pregnancy?

Cheers.

Hi Felpoo, yes I m going to do my OSCAR on the 30th July, but I will be going to the TMC clinic, not my gynae’s clinic, so I am not sure if the staff there will take so many photos like your gynae did. So funny, still got a stick poking out hahaha, so that means we still can’t tell the gender of the baby yet. So sweet your gynae, still put nicely in a folder for you. Will let you know how it is for me.

@felpoo: Ah so nice of your gynae! I wonder will I get a folder of the snapshots too! Hehe.. I'm also doing the oscar on the 30th. Can't wait. But yet I'm nervous and scared.. =/

*sigh* Actually what I want to hear from him is ask me to take leave to rest at home. Haiz.. If only I'm not working for relative. Then I can just take no pay leave like nobody business. =(

@rainbow: He always tell me the more I feel discomfort means the healthier the baby is. But if I keep vomiting how is the baby going to absorb the nutrients? -_-"

Anyway I just told him I want ribena. Hope he'll remember to buy. Haiz..

Valerie,

What I understand is for the first trimester, we do not really need to intake too much food in order to nutrient our bb. Most important should be start from 2nd trimester ya.. if i am not wrong [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Sue: I think different gynae charge differently. Mine charge me $320 for oscar. But I didn't know anything about tht triple test though and my gynae has not tell me about it yet.

I think it's advisable not to eat tuna. Cos it contains mercury I think.

Trinket, my gynae is Dr Henry Cheng @ Bishan Women Specialist Clinic.

Sue, as you can see fro the thread, it can go from 300 to 400+. Mine seems more exp. than the rest. Mine is 420.00 Triple is ard 200 according to some mummies here.

And as for your ? on tuna, I think we should eat in moderation.

Thank you Valerie and Felpoo for both of yours replies~ [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Really cant wait to see my Gynae in August to find out more abt the test. Hehee..

My Gynae is Dr. Jen at AMK Woman's Clinic and this is my 1st [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I have yet to decide which hospital to go for. I had joined the maternity tour with TMC. Intend to schedule to go down to Mount A to take a look as well in order to compare.

Did you gals tell your boss about your pregnancy before 3mths?

@Sue: Mine guessed it. Haha! In a way I think it's good. Cos I don't have to explain or think of excuses when I take mc..

valerie

when u mentioned ribena, i went to my office fridge to get the pack i stashed away a few days ago. cheers has promo for the 'sports pack' version - 2 for $1.80 or sth like that. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@trinket: Haha! So lucky you! Have "instant" ribena. I told my hubby I want those big bottle one. Then I add water myself. I wonder can I use that to replace water and bring to work to drink everyday. Hmm.. Wonder will it be too sweet. =p

Valerie and Trinket: Thats very good! Hahaa...My boss do not know as he is not station in Singapore. He even asked me to go to Manila for business trip next week! So I have no choice but to tell him abt my pregnancy so that I can be excused from the trip... :S

Trinket, you are right. Cheers got promotion..haha! I bought Ribena too...hehee

@rainbow: Till now I can't find what food makes me ok leh. Cos when I eat at home I'm ok, when I eat outside I'm not ok. Lol. I think my baby also wants me to rest at home. Keke..

Mine is not package leh. The $320 is only for the oscar. She has not tell me anything about the detailed scan yet. I think maybe still too early..

Valerie, both of our taste buds are pretty similar. I have been drinking ribena since day one esp. during dinner. I realised I can't eat too much salty food and a bit of salt will make me thirsty for the whole night.

Sue, if you asked me which hospital, I think all hospitals seem to be the same. My first one is at mt. alvernia. Personally, I dun mind which one to go as long as my baby is safe and sound. Anyway, we only stay there for a few days.

@felpoo: You drink everyday ah? I scared will be too sweet leh. Oh I also can't take too much salty food. The other day I ate the spicy mcnuggets. I don't know is it me or the nuggets. They are so salty! But I drank ice lemon tea. So shiok. Don't dare to finish drinking it though.

Valerie, I drank it everyday and it's 2 packets a day. No choice, as I cannot think of anything other drinks. I know my glucose is going to shoot up, but what to do? It's ribena or vomit.

The other day, I went Macs and ate the fries. And ended up drinking the whole cup of lemon tea. Went back home to vomit. Yday, spoke to my gynae why am I still vomitting only during the evenings, he told me is gastric juice.

@felpoo: But I thought only empty stomach will have gastric juice.. You did eat still have gastric juice? Is there any way to get rid of the gastric juice?

hi felpoo, don't drink it too sweet.. hv u tried fruit juice instead? Freshly squeezed one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Valerie, yeah I did eat. but it's almost like every 2 hours I need to find something to fill my stomach before the gastric juice starts to accumulate. Prior to this, I don't even have gastric at all!

S***, just vomited at the stairway of the lift lobby. Luckily, no one saw it. I think I am feeling unwell again.

faith, I do drink fruit juice every afternoon during lunch. But having that is not enough. Thus only Ribena can satisfy my thirst and my nauseous.

Have you tried sqeezing lemon juice into your water? Read from Cleo that it ease constipation too but I'd yet to try.. Just 2 tablespoons of freshly squeezed lemon juice with a cup of water. If not then I'll try to eat those juicier fruits if I can coz i don't dare to take alot of sweet drinks as I'm afraid of the gestational diabetes.

Faithnhope,

Ya, I know its hard to tell Boss and colleagues. But we still have to tell them bcs eventually they need to find someone to replace us when we on maternity. Maybe just highlight to your boss first by telling him/her that you are currently have how many wks/mths of pregnancy.

Felpoo: I did vomit gastric juice as well (is it yellowish and super bitter one?)... No matter I eat or dun eat..I will still vomit. Or is it bcs you have too much food? Try to split to 5-6 meals per day? When hungry..just munch some biscuits ya..

Faithnhope, I actually intend to tell my boss yesterday, but no chance, today i want to tell but donno how to bring up. "Boss, i think i need to tell you, i m pregnant?' hahaha

My boss will be very excited cos she knows i m trying and keeps on encouraging me. She also wants to have one too, so i m not sure there could be mixed reaction?

Just went to Soup Spoon, drink some comfort soup [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i think now my appetite can only take mild food, no spicy, tom yum sourness kinda of food.

raining again, how nice to rot at home...;(

@felpoo: Sometimes I'll vomit gastric juice too. But I don't know issit phlegm or what cos when I vomit the feeling is like phlegm. =/

Rain is so heavy..... If only I'm pigging at home now.

Sue, I understand.. I've been holding on to my MCs which I haven't submitted haha!! In fact, after maternity leave, I am thinking to take no pay until the end of the 2011, then maybe find another job hahaha!! But I won't tell my colleagues/boss about the no pay leave yet until I made a decision at the end of this year loh...

Neon, my boss is a man.. I don't think he'll be terribly excited lah but yah, I need to tell him soon cos I feel paiseh holding back my MCs hahaha!! But I want to tell my colleagues first before I tell boss leh.. hahah!!

I have a department meeting this week and attempting to tell everyone then.. but I think it's super awkward to say, "hey everyone, I'm expecting" hahah!!

Hi mummies, yeah I vomited the same substance similar to you guys. Got white liquid and yellow look-alike phlegm. It looked like phlegm though.

Sue, during the early stages, I read those articles about eating dry crackers. I tried that and after a while, I feel very "windy" in my stomach. My husband said some crackers and biscuits normally have alot of soda powder inside and these will cause more gas after consumption. As for splitting 5 - 6 meals a day, I dun think I hv the mood to do so. The most I do is to try to chew my food slowly. It seems that it has became a habit of getting hungry every 2 hours.

Zanta, I think I am too lazy to go and squeeze lemon juice and adding onto my plain water. I knw abt the gestational diabetics. Got it during my first preg. Well, gotta cross my fingers hoping that my glucose level dun overshoot.

And yeah, I share the same sentiments. How nice if we can "nua" at home. I came back to my office with piles of paperwork waiting for me. *sob sob*

@faithnhope: Haha I know what you mean. My friend guessed that I'm pregnant and she asked me when am I going to spread the news to our friends. Then I told her I won't spread the news lah. What if they also not interested to know. Then after I tell them then they'll be like "Er, okay. Then?" Lol.

Val, at least your friend guessed and asked you. I'm beginning to wear roomy clothes and dresses more often now but my colleagues didn't ask hahah!!

Neongoby, I believe your boss will be happy for you since she already know that you had been TTC. Don't worry too much ya.

@faith: You are hoping they will ask right? Then you don't have to think how to tell them the news. Hahaha! Or you tell your closest colleague lor. Then hope she'll tell the rest for you. Hehe..

I managed to tell my boss!!! She is happy for me, she said we should call for a celebration and wanted to tell the rest of her team, i told her to keep a secret for me, haha.

I told her after she disclosed that our dept going to hv some sort of restructuring soon, end of this yr or early next yr. Sigh.... i can't find a job now even though recently there are a few headhunters asking for my cvs, i could only tell them i m not looking for one currently, so i guess my option is to stay till my co tells me my services are no longer needed, hopefully i will get some sort of compensation package [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Now that I have told my boss, i guess i wont announce to my colleagues formerly until they suspect or ask me, sooner or later my tummy will show, if they are blind, cannot see, then so be it, hee hee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Neo, tts good to hear that you managed to tell ur boss and she shared the joy with you. Hehee...Great. Me too only told my boss and I never tell colleagues at all. But guess they suspect already. Kekee...

Dont worry about the restructuring ya. Everything will be okie

In face Im hoping that my company do restructuring too, then I can get some compensation and rest at home till delivery. Hahaa.. It is really tired to wake up every morning to go to work especially during pregnancy. Seems just cant get enuff sleep at all eventhough I slp 9-10hrs per day now. Haiz...

Neon, what is your profession? It seems outside the employee market is very hot. We are trying to get a payroll specialist and it has already been a few months alr.

My office has a lot of gossip mongers. Everyone is speculating about my pregnancy and they has been trying to dig out something from my HR manager. I had already told my HR that I am pregnant.

I am just only waiting for the 2nd trimester before announcing.

Errm.. I am having this packet of prawn crackers in front of me. I am contemplating what drink should I go along with. I really miss my Coke!

Felpoo...My Gynae told me it is ok to drink coke..as long as do not exceed 1 can per day.

Because last time when i went for dripping, he told me do not drink plain water..only drink 100plus and coke (gassy drink) which easier for us to absorb. Ofcoz, it depends on individual if comfortable to take coke ya [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

zanta, hi,

i did my oscar at dr ang. took some blood and did the u/scan.

the oscar is $200

blood test $30

multi-vit $10

scan $40

consult $40

total $342.40 (incl. GST)

i did not take the fish oil supplement.

dr ang will call me within a week if result is not good.

if result ok, then i see him in a months' time.

Oh yeah, you guys remembered the disgusting colleague I told you all last week? She saw my prawn crackers! She seemed wanting to put her hand in my packet. This morning, I just saw her using the scissor to shave the skin on her foot sole again.. S***

Neon

the tokyu soup at soup spoon is really fantastic! I didn't want to eat there when my friend suggested cos I couldn't imagine stomaching the thick western soup, but she said there's this clear soup and when I tried it it was the best thing!

lunch today - I ate BK. heh.

@felpoo: Hahahahaha! Better lock your prawn crackers! These people their eyes very sharp in looking at other people's food one. I pity the cleaning auntie leh. Confirm collect a lot of skin at her area one. Yucks.

Hi Felpoo, I m in the pharma industry, there is still hiring in the market currently, i can only drool and watch these opportunities pass by...

Sue - i don't think my compensation will be a lot since i m only w the co for about 3 yrs. I also wish they will terminate me only after my maternity leave then i can stay at home a few more months with my bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Can we drink carbonated drink everyday? my understanding is tat it would be too "cooling" for pregnant women?

Trinket - that's what i had for lunch! yes it is really nice, i like it a lot, you are right, the rest of the soups would be too thick for my palate at this moment. It's nice to drink warm soup on a rainy day [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Felpoo - hahaha, you and your colleague [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] yes, i agree with Valerie, better take a few pieces of crackers out (keep the rest) and place on a piece of tissue paper, in case she want to take, she won't contaminate the rest of the packet.

Trinket - that's what i had for lunch! yes it is really nice, i like it a lot, you are right, the rest of the soups would be too thick for my palate at this moment. It's nice to drink warm soup on a rainy day [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Felpoo - hahaha, you and your colleague [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] yes, i agree with Valerie, better take a few pieces of crackers out (keep the rest) and place on a piece of tissue paper, in case she want to take, she won't contaminate the rest of the packet.

neongoby: my gynae dr adrian woodworth told me to go ahead and drink carbonated water. it helps with morning sickness cos u will burp. just cut down on the sweeter kind(like 7up). he recommend 100plus cos it will also replenish the fluids lost in ur body..

Sorry to interrupt.

I have a set of Brand New Babyplus for sell.

The BabyPlus lessons are designed to be played for one hour, twice a day. For optimal benefits, start using BabyPlus anytime between 18-32 weeks of pregnancy.

Pls PM me if you are keen, thanks!