(2011/02) Feb 2011

Valerie,

faintz... hahaha.. ur bb will be flooded by soft toys.

Ya lor, now the cartoon very different, I don't want to stress myself. So since he is watching Bob the builder now, I use whatever is enticing him to teach him the correct manner, different vocab, etc.

Eg: Bob takes care of his excavators friends, so i teach my son he must love his cranes, trucks like Bob, must keep them in proper places after playing and keep his toys clean too. I used all the "friends" to teach him different sizes too, must crack my brain to be innovative lor.

You will need the 十万个为什么 DVD when ur kiddo reach the age of 2.5, he/she will be flooding you with Why this? and Why that? till you don't know how to answer.

Baywater,

I kiasu. I bought the Eyore for my son during his 1st month. Has been influencing him that his is baby Eyore where mine is medium Eyore and we share the super Big Eyore.

The baby Eyore will go everywhere with us, been to overseas trips to chalets stay in spore.

@BPC: Hahaha.. Hannor. I want to buy a small mini one for my baby before I give birth. Then when my baby is born that will be his/her first soft toy from me. Hehe..

I think I confirm won't know how to answer all the Whys. But after having a kid I think we will all be more knowledgable.

Not sure if it's possible.. I'm hoping not to introduce comfort item else we have to bring it everywhere we go.. and sure jialart if forget to bring hahah! In fact, my SIL didn't even introduce pacifier to her daughter! I must learn from her already hahah!

I gv my son pacificer when he's 9 mths coz he v 'talkative' but he just spit out or take out frm his mouth n drop on the floor in slow motion just to show me. was so funny I took a video of it.

My son too rejected the pacifier, good for me. Save $$.

Haha, a mini soft toy will do. So far it do wonders lor, when he is sick or feeling grouchy, I think the baby Eyore is his comfort item. Now the essential items i bring out is just a water bottle and this baby Eyore.

charmaine, so cute.

Aiyoh, just let your son talk. Y shove him the pacificer, hehehe.

I can imagine the how your son spit out the pacificer in slow motion.

Hey mummies, has anyone gone shopping for maternity clothes yet? I went this afternoon cos I had the afternoon off and was horrified! Was at vivocity and harbourfront and walked in to at least 4 or 5 maternity shops. Maternity clothes are so frumpy! And not cheap! Dresses average $80, maternity jeans about $80 ($99 at topshop maternity). The "branded" stuff like topshop maternity, egg maternity and mothers en vogue (available at Mothercare) are no less frumpy and very pricey- most things above $100. I can't bear to part with so much money for such awful garments!

In the end I bought 1 dress from zara, not maternity but very roomy and tentlike so should be able to wear it all the way. Just bought 1 size larger than my normal zara size, hopefully that will accomodate the bigger boobs, cross fingers.

I think someone asked if anyone's company is footing the maternity bills? I work for a healthcare company, and the arrangement is they will foot 90% of my maternity bills (from outpatient appointments to the inpatient delivery stay). Anyone else works for an employer who is bearing some of the costs?

Hi Cherry, I only know of employers such as hospitals provide such medical benefits. Too bad, i left almost 3yrs ago, now my company doesn't foot any maternity related medical bills. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I think maternity clothes are over priced in my opinion, correct me if i m wrong. i think i will first start to look for normal dresses which are roomy enough to hold our pregnant stomach, worse case then go for maternity clothes lor

Charmaine - your son is sooo cute, how i wish i can see the video! but you are naughty too, shove him the pacifier just to shut him up, haha.

Both my hubby and i have agreed that we wont introduce pacifier to our BB. Since he doesn't know of its existence, he wont need nor depend on it. We will find other comfort stuff like little pillow or soft toy for him to hug [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] like one of the characters in the snoopy & charlie Brown comic, is it Louie who drap his pillow wherever he goes? haha

Bored, attending a teleconference as a silent attendee, where are the mummies? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hi judy,

if ur gynae tell u e gender @ wk 12, it not 100% also. last time a gynae told me 80% is a girl but around wk 16 another gynae told me is a boy. of course, the later one is the correct gender

Sorry to interrupt. I'm bringing in Avent Duo Breastpumps (US sets) at $480 each, with SG adaptor & free delivery (less $20 for self-collection at Jurong). For the month of July, there is additional 5% off for orders of minimum 4 sets.

More information available: www.mybreastfriend.webs.com

I am new to this forum. My menses was late for 2 weeks and I did a pregnancy test and it shown positive. I have not yet seen a gynae yet cos I had miscarriage twice on 2005 and 2006. My first kid is now 7 years old....this is going to be my no. 2. Yes, it is a big gap. I have been TTC for years...and when I finally give up and decided to forget about it...it just happens like that...

Now kind of worry if this one will pull through.

Agree that maternity clothes are very expensive. I will borrow from family, relatives, friends whoever!! Haha! I do have a number of roomy blouses and dresses too so I just need to borrow maternity pants. Hehe.. save $$ lah..

Welcome Sovrana and congrats to you! You can always arrange to see a gynae so they can prescribe you meds to keep your bb healthy.

Hi Sovrana, welcome and do not worry too much. You can do as what faith says and there are those medications to stabilise the pregnancy. I am taking those too at the moment.

HI Faith, today rest day for you? Yday was practically suffering. I didn't managed to go to the GP as I was still tied down with work. In the end, I rushed thru' dinner, brought my girl to her piano lesson and came back home with discharge and slight spotting. Scared the shit hell out of me.

Cherry, you buy those clothing bigger size. 4 yrs back, I bought those maternity clothes that cost me a bomb and now I brought it out and shook my head wondering why did I spend so much money buying those tops? Maybe you invest on a pants and 4 yrs back, when i bought it costs me 70++ per pair. Now I am wearing those big size dresses.

Now calling up CL and writing down clearly what I need them to do to avoid miscomm. It seems tht a lot of CL keep asking the same ?s. Do I live with old ppl and what dialect are they? Alot seem not too willing to put up with Cantonese. Sianz.

Sorry for interuption, i had some maternity & breastfeeding clothes to let go, all SGD 5 inclusive normal postage, let me know if you intested so that i can email the pic to you.

Thanks, Faith and Felpoo.

Tomorrow I will book appointment to see gynae. According to Babycenter, my EDD will be 26 Feb 2011 and my baby is going to be a rabbit boy or gal...so happy...

I am now 7 weeks, no serious MS, just feel my abs area very discomfort and sometimes no appertite to eat. On side view, I can see my tummy too.

Hi, has any of u who feel nausea is getting fm bad to worst? I started with feeling nausea fm late aftn onwards but now is getting fm bad to worst.. Over the weekends, I wake up and feel tired and nausea throughout the whole day. Can't even do my laundry.. Hope tmr is btr so I can get bk to work. Btw, if we do hv fever or flu during pregnancy, we can go to any GP but juz tell them we r preggy rite?

My ms seemed to fade off gradually for the past 2 days. Maybe I shld go to the Gynae and check is my baby ok? I feel mine is too early to hv ms fading off. It's rather sudden. I'm left with fatigue and frequent urination at night. Worried. 10 weeks now

Hi felpoo.. hope your spotting has stopped. How are you feeling now?

Miracle, yes, you can go GP for your fever/flu and inform them you are preggy so they can prescribe you the right meds.

Jolin, you are so early! Are you better now?

I'm having a very bad MS too. Last night I had such a severe headache that I had difficulty in sleeping. Lucky the headache is gone when I woke up this morning. But I vomited water. *sigh* And now I feel so uncomfortable. Feel like coughing/vomiting. =(

yesterday was not good for me too. Had my first vomit, luckily i didn't eat anything before, only some sour sweets to curb my nausea, in the end juz vomit out the sweet and some water..... then at night when i smell the pork porridge which my husband heated up, i felt like vomitting again, i kept pyschoing myself that i will not vomit, then i doze off... i hate it!!! seems like it's getting bad to worse, why???? i thought it is supposed to get better? this morning on the train too, i almost black out and perspire so so much, i kept taking deep breathes [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

i told my husband next time he get pregnant, i don't want already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sorry i had to complain here, only u ladies know how it feels like.... my hubby is sympathetic but he can never experience what we r going through now....

Hi Neon, no worries about "complaining". I suppose our body conditions also differ. Some got worse, some got better, while some vomit all the way to delivery.. But once we see our bb from scans and when finally delivered, I'm sure it'll be all worth it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ladies, ms is an indication tht ur pregnancy is progressing well n ur hcg lvl is high. I just called my Gynae and was scheduled for an emergency scan to see if my pregnancy viable. The norm for ms to go off is 12 weeks n beyond n I m now only 10 weeks. Now getting worried. Dun think I can take the trauma of hving a 2nd m/c.

hi morning mummiess!

like neongoby i wearing all my roomy clothes now and mostly leggings...

neongoby no worries...u arent complaining =))did u manage to take breakfast in the morning? first vomit? so yesterday was the first time u vomit? i think we will be getting only really better by week 12 and onwrds for now still on off will feeling sick, tired and nausea..

are u mummies very senstive smell? omg..i cant stand those strong cooking smell and many of the smell..they make me vomit immmediately...hopefully this strong sense of smell will go off by 2nd trimster..

felpoo...u got call yr gynae? they may give u some med...so now how is it? hope the spotting is gone..if u r worry abt the ms maybe call yr gynae at the same time tell him abt the spotting? when yr next appointment??

jolin: hope u r better today!

Sovrana : welcome here!!!

miracle: mine didnt really go worst...so far mine is rathr mild..on off suddenly nausea keep gagging..but certain smell make me vomit immediately..and i am extremely tired and yet cant fully sleep properly..

Just called in today n scheduled for one at 11 am. I am alr eating the med to stabilize the pregnancy since day 1 I knew I m pregnant due to my last m/c.

My spotting had cleared n now this ms is very worrisome. Hope my scan turns out well. Will let u guys know later.

Jolin, this is all what mummies trying to tell u. There are alot of women who're trying to conceive and women who are pregnant have to worry abt their pregnancy. Being pregnant and hving a baby is no easy task for us. We shld count our blessings and dun give up easily. Nothing can ever beat the moment when you can hold your little bundle of joy.

Good luck Felpoo, hopefully everything will be fine with you. Keep us updated.

It's so ironic here, some of us are complaining abt our MS, some of us are worried not having MS...sigh...sorry i shld be thankful i hv MS rite? but i juz can't help to control my frustration

Amazing miracle, i m really sensitive with smell, i can smell my neighbors cooking while my hubby can't, or take longer time to detect, he said i hv become a dog! so turn off by the cooking smell which is the cause of my first vomit.

I am feeling nauseous now, going to get apple juice downstairs, hopefully it will help a bit, seeya

I m not against with anyone complaining abt ms.. No worries. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I myself also complained, remember? It's normal for us to vent our frustrations here as our hubbies dun understand our sufferings. I just want to bring my point across to jolin asking her not to give up tht easily. MS is definitely not something all women would like to enjoy. But it's also essential to hv it so to at least we hv something to rely on to assess the viability on our pregnancy.

@Neongoby: My MS is like getting worse too.. And the weekend did not help me to get better.. I didn't go out for the whole weekend. Only out for dinner on Saturday. I was so tired & uncomfortable & the headache had to come visit me. *sigh* And I feel like drinking chrysanthemum tea now.. =(

Valerie - u wanna try the sea band? mmm i m not sure if chrysanthemum tea will be cooling for us, how about barley water?

i stayed at home, didn't step out of the house at all on sat and sun [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@Neongoby: Oh no no, my SIL went to see chinese physician when she was pregnant that time and they said cannot drink barley water. Cos too cooling. Sobz.. I'm so lazy to go out now.. I need to buy stuff from Watsons but I'm so lazy... =(

Good morning, Ladies

Thanks, i am feeling better already now, but still a bit giddy, nauseaous and weak. Hopefully we are getting fine as approaching the 12th weeks.

Faithnhope,

I woke up at 4 am plus to vomit. The vomit was quite bad that some of the liquid came out from my nose (yucks).

I thought my MS is fading soon too, as it seemed getting better and my appetite slowly gained back, but it was unexpectedly turned worse since last Saturday. I felt nauseaous and wanted to vomit after every meal, but i keep tahan myself not to vomit, cos i know my vomit can be a very bad one. After disucssing with hubby, i've applied 2 weeks unpaid leave from my company. Given to my current state, even i am physically attending to work, i also can't perfome 100% and it's kinda stress. Hopefully the MS can go off in 2 weeks time.

Felpoo,

Hope everything is fine with you, at the same time don't worry too much. My sis' MS also went off at week 8 during her 2nd pregnancy, not all MS must go through 3 months (12 weeks) one. Hence, just keep positive mind, ok? Jia you.

And I got your point. Hm, actually when i had very bad MS during the last weekend and the bad vomit this morning, i didn't think of giving up leh. I keep remind myself that i've come to this stage and probably only have to endure for about 2 - 3 weeks time, i will jia you. But at the same time i also tell myself that, this is my first and will be my last pregnancy, cos i really didn't want to get through the same exprecience for the second time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

felpoo: like u my MS went off at around 10 weeks.. i felt so much better and i still itchy mouth go tell hubby i am much better almost like pre-pregnancy time.. i also had spotting at the start of my pregnancy.. too bad i itchy mouth.. cos last weekend MS came back with a vengeance.. i was waking up almost every hr vomitting some bitter-sour yellowish thing(sorry for the visuals) and now i feel like ^&^*%^..

Hi ladies.. I'm out. Everything's alright at this moment. Heartbeat's there and it's growing. Phew! I m so relieved. Thks god. My Gynae almost couldn't stand me as I was requesting him to see me every week for scan until I finish my 1st trimester. I think he s pretty worried that I might get prenatal blues.

Jolin, I'm so happy for u! This shows how 伟大 u are. I couldn't sleep last nite as I was hving indigestion n ended up snacking n watching variety show. Then I realized my ms stopped completely n got freaked out. Lucky u. At least u can apply 2 weeks off. Today when I said I can't go in office some of my colleagues not happy. Also cannot blame them. They dun knw my pregnancy. But they must be wondering how come almost every Monday I absent myself from work.

Neon, agrees with valerie. No barley as it s very cooling.

But u gotta be very careful esp if u hv giddy spells. Like me, I try to knock off earlier so tht I can get a seat on the train and if not try to get a cab.

Neon, amazing miracle: Same like u. My sense of smell heightened. I cannot stand fried fish during a period of time. Few weeks ago, I cannot even go near newspapers, esp. the Today newspaper. Then lagi worse. My colleague a few cubicles away from mine took out her shoes. I almost vomitted as I can smell it.

Valerie, same here. During pregnancy, I also experience headaches n can be very tired. I tell myself after my 1st trimester, I m going for prenatal massage to relieve the tension on my shoulder and neck.

Well Judy, 1 thing for sure Im definitely NOT going to tell my husband abt it. We hardly can get a chance to get pampered so I m going to enjoy while I can [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. Hehe.. Shit.. I forgot to ask my Gynae my EDD again. I think I m those very pantang. I m afraid when I say no MS, later it will come back to me again. So I'm going to zip up my mouth. I m going to buy durians n go back home n celebrate. Today 1 day mc must fully make use of it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

felpoo: happy to hear that!!! so its good ms is clearing too! take good care arrrr...

nvm hopefully they can understand in another 2-3 weeks...dont worry abt them unhappy..no choice..not as if u want it to happen..

felpoo, the shoe smell! yes i will vomit too..

i was still thinking to buy barley to drink..sobsob..heee...

today my head doesnt seem well but i jus dont know how to describe...sometimes jus unwell but jus dont know how to say...

yup neon!! i also can smell while others cant yet...yest i feel so bad..my granny take off her shoe and there some smell..i look at the feet and run to the toliet to puke..feel so bad...and she dont know my pregnancy yet..

judy: wah every hr? that bad...must be very xin ku..hope it gets better ..

jolin: that good! 2 weeks is good for u to rest ..rather than travelling ard for work..

it seems like we all stay at home for weekends...going out seem a "chore" somehow...

Do you mummies sleep well? i cant..beside waking up to urine...sometimes i jus wake up at 4 plus or 5 plus and keep drifting ..cant really slp..

neongoby, you are rite. My hubby also sympathetic but never experience how we r going through.

Can fully understand why some mummies only stick to having one child. Some really vomit all the day till they deliver.

amazing miracle, i'm taking chrysanthemum tea once a week. I never take barley water.

I'm very sensitive to smell. The smell can be v strong to me yet my hubby can't smell it. I will closed all the windows when my neighbours cook and i will hide in the bedroom when my maid's cooking. Any cooking smell can make me nausea

Felpoo,

Happy for you, the baby is growing well while your MS is gone liao, can enjoy your pregnancy now.

Don't know it's coincidence or what, i just remember that a few days before MS strike, i also told my mum and hubby that my MS seemed to fading off soon, the condition has improved and i am getting better. They all feel happy for me. Yet now, this bad MS comes back again. I think from now on i should just pray hard and shut my mouth off (zipppp)

alamak, i thought barley is less cooling than chrysanthemum tea and i happily drank 2 bottles previously already. Thanks so much for telling me, i will not take anymore.

ya, my itchy mouth, said i m so lucky that i don't vomit, juz feel nauseous, in the end also vomit, i think must be pantang a bit, nvr nvr say you are better, it will come and haunt u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hehe.. Now junking out in McDonalds. Since the first day of PG I hvnt eaten Macs until now. I guess we all shld not said we are getting better but I think writing in the forum is safe right? Haha..