(2011/02) Feb 2011

OFB-

Agreed with Wish. I had a light, second hand prams given to me the first time around. This time not really, but we got a light one to standby for $150 which I felt was reasonable as brand new ones start a price of mid $200s for reversible handle prams.

I used to also use my pram to carry my items like groceries and library books when I went shopping. Then I would carry Kae. He was simply lighter than the bags etc. Lol. I did utilise my pram a lot as I hated the stupid sarong.

Dun have to buy very expensive prams. The pram I bought second hand was almost brand new. The lady and her hubby realised their baby hated prams and their helper did not know how to use it, so they sold it i guess? Keep your eyes peeled for such offers?

We were given a huge graco with infant basket and child seat but we DO NOT DRIVE so it is not practical. We take public transport and the Graco only folds flat downwards. This smaller stroller is bi-folding and light. But the graco is indeed of a good make and quality, just not suitable for our needs.

Buy a pram that suits ur needs not so much your wants. =)

Wish-

HAHAHAH! I forgot to change my status. ADOI! XD

The only Malay I know pertains to ordering roti prata and drinks hahaha. XD

Yup. Capella's make is good. I got that too. =) I used Combi with Kae and Capella is like the Korean version of Combi haha.

Many people are so good with the sarong & swear by it... but itz like origami to me- I can't figure it out XD

mummies mummies... had a great time catching up on posts but too tired to write one...

i envy ur writing skills leh Geri.. but no wonder scriptwriter arent u!!skilled for a reason

saw u shouting out for me... could only smile then shut my eyes again lorr

Wini Wini... Welcome to this thread and i second to what ever mummies here had to say about u and ur bf, baby and relationship.

An Indian Catholic guy loved me a lot when I was 15... interstingly enuf i knew we had a future togther.. he was a gangster in school but softie in heart matters.. his name was Siva.. but we talked a lot on this.. i like him too.. but he wasnt willing to convert as he said as much as Islam does not allow to convert to other religions, Catholic does not allow too.. he was a staunch one... then i told him if this was the case, i rather we do not start a relationship at all rather than starting one.. knowing it will end nowhere - - means no marriage.. though having my family accepting an Indian was one issue.. i have confidence they will but of coz not on religion. He told me that we could keep our each religion and still be happily married and go for civil marriage... At 15 I was telling him already, coming from a divorced family since I was 3, I needed a hubby to guide me and be together in terms of all things... and now the worst part my hubby is not gonna be together in religion??? I am not a super conservative / staunch muslim - so pantang kind but yet i suppose the basic of it is to be together in all terms esp in religion.. so wat were my kids gonna be? catholics? islam?? so though it was gonna be hard 1st not being someone u love / like i rather it happen 1st than later rite?

So wini.. wat i m trying to say here is... if u are not willing yet to convert, then ur kid will have some issues on this as well.. as much as i do not want u to convert to Islam for the sake of it... but since with a kid on the way.. u have to give it some serious consideration...

wini

tough decisions you're facing here, for someone your age... how does your own family feel about everything? their support is crucial at this point... cos it can make all the difference.

eviangal

i emailed my order with some questions to sweetangelcloset but no reply after 3 days leh. maybe she's too busy.

hi wini..

I havent posted since u joined us...

I'm going to be very bad but would like to suggest to u to consider putting your baby for adoption..

I see your discussion abt getting married etc..

BUT

I feel that at this point, the baby's welfare should come first..

Unless u have very supportive parents like Geri. and family whose finances can afford to help u support your baby..

I really feel very bad to say all these but I really have overwhelming feelings abt your situation..

Sorry, maybe I'm having some psych prob myself.. but I really want to say this to you and I have been thinking abt it all night.

Trinket: Let me check with her, let you know again. Ya.. she may be busy..

Geri: Really like your photostudio idea (but is your friend really willing to lend it to us? Let us know if we need to chip in for rental.) Otherwise, how about a pot luck party at someone's place?

Like your tee designs too.. You are really 1 creative person!!!

Wish Child: I think even if you bf, you still need a steriliser. Unless you prefer the boiling method. Cos, you may not fully bf all the time, sometimes, you might end up expressing. And expressing needs to wash and sterilise + bottles.

As for steriliser, my last purchase was from Avent. Around $130 for 6 bottles type. With a few free bottles, bottle brush, pacifer, clothes gift set and a 2 year warranty i think.

Usually discounts are around 20% with some additional free gifts.

For mummies who intend to store your breastmilk. I recommend that you get the mum's fairy milk tray. Very good. After freezing, you take out all the frozen milk sticks and put it into a ziplock bag with dates. Cheaper than milk bags.

Wini: Welcome to the forum.

hello wini...

Same here... if u feel u not ready for marriage...maybe not a very good idea to get married for the sake of marrying becoz of a child...

same as what they mentioned, need alot of support from your family in terms of emotionally and financially...

should discuss further with ur bf and ur family and u should think about coversion now and not later on...else...religion will always trigger a quarrel later on...

my point of views lar.. =)

Hi mums,

Do you all wake up in the middle of the night, feeling hungry ??

I've been waking up every single nite for the past 2 weeks at around 3-4am and it is so difficult to get back to sleep after that ..

Feeling so tired at work ..

Hi Wini,

Welcome ..

Agree with trinket that family support is very important ..

Who will be helping you to take care of your bb when delivered ?

And it is really expensive to put the bb in infantcare ..

Plan your finances well too ..

Sometimes, money does get in between a pair of loving couple ..

Whatever done has already been done ..

So no point fretting over the past but now it is really important to make the right decision (as pointed by all the mums here) coz it will impact your future together with ur bb's one ..

Dont just make decisions based on current situations ..

My fren who is a muslim, did not ask her hubby to convert so I guess in future, their kids also have their choice to choose their own religion ..

Been catching up the posts once i'm free but finding hard to reply. Life without maid is so much happier coz no need to see her black face everyday. Very busy doing chores/cooking and taking care of my boy but i'm v happy. Spoke to my hubby that maybe we shdn't get a maid but he wanted one so that i can resume workforce next year.

RE: Prams

There's no need to get a super ex pram for newborn ie those prams which can fully decline. Coz once baby reaches 6mths, their back bone will get stronger and tat's when you will need to get a buggy coz it will help to develop or strengthen their back bone. Invest in a good buggy rather a stroller. Stroller is heavier and can't use for long (ard 8mths-1yr) I bought a capella stroller but only used for 8mths and got a maclaren buggy which is half the weight of the stroller, ard 3.5kg and he's been using it for the past 3years. JMHO

OFB – on the CCTV, sometimes, they forget that there is CCTV…. Sometimes, they tot that we will not be tat free to monitor the CCTV, so they decided to try their luck.

eviangal,Thank u for the info. Is the steriliser have a weird chemical smell? My hubby fren say she bought used it once and never use anymore. Casue she say there have a wierd chemical smell come out from the steriliser. For the bottle steamer n food steamer is it necessary to have it?

For the mum's fairy milk tray where can purchase it? N is it look like those ice cube tray?

Unicorn, I also will wake up at middle of the night cause i'm hungry n bb keep kick me to wake up. Normally i will have a hot milk and faster go back to bed. If super hungry i will buy noodles back to eat. =)

morning! Haven't been here for a loooong time!

Just wanna update that i've finally confirmed my bb's gender.. it's a gal! =D

so for choc's update:-

Expecting : No. 1

Nick: Pootz

Edd: 22/02/11

Gynae: Dr LC Cheng

Hospital: TMC

Detailed scan:

Everything ok, except for low placenta.. seems to be blocking the OS (i.e. the exit) So if the placenta doesn't move up later, means must ceasearian already. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Oh well, can't be helped it if really happens...

Antenatal class:

Just attended my first class with Mrs Wong on Tuesday at AMK hub. It was fun, but it's 2.5 hours looooong. Sitting on the floor with no backing very tiring! Due to my low placenta, there's a lot of exercise that i can't do... so sad. But it was really fun, having the hubby beside you in this learning experience. Knowledgewise, I guess you could learn the same stuff from books. But it's the connection with your hubby and bb that's really precious. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] For around $190 with TMC, i think it's quite ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sorry i'm rambling about myself as there's just too many to catchup on the forum. My busy period at work is over, so I'll catchup with you gals soon! =D *HUGZ*

hello pootz...will update ur details later of the day =)

haiyo...seems like low placenta very common issues...haiz [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] got to wait n see lar...

pray hard will move up ya [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wish Child: I have to agree that the steriliser have a weird smell to it and sometimes you can find black substance at the bottm. I try to wash it frequently and also use the citric acid powder to maintain it.

For bottle warmer, I have 2.. But kinda regret.. Cos melting my frozen milk can be slow too.. Helps abit at times la.. But need to prepare milk in advance lorz.. Cos if only melt it when baby is crying.. really can die... The 5 to 10 minutes will seem so painfully long.. Somemore i using those sticks thingy, 1 time can only slot 2 in (2 oz) when bb is drinking 4 or 5 oz, needs about 2 rounds.

its like an ice tray but the milk are stored in sticks. 1 stick = 1 oz.

I bought a philip baby steamer cum blender at a later stage too.. when baby start eating solids.. Bought it quite late.. around 9 months.. But find it useful.. Still using it occasionally when preparing my gal's food now. E.g. shredding certain food to sauces or smaller bites. I think can even use it when they are older to blend juices, sauces, etc. So good investment.

The mum's fairy tray i bought from 1 of the baby fair when they were having some 1 day offer. So less than $20. I think usual price was around $20+. I got it at like 40% discount.

Pram -- no need to get those heavy duty super prams. I was an excitable mom during my first pregnancy so I bot "The Best" for almost everything for my boy. We bot a 7.5KG giant pram tat cost over $700 with matching bags, accessories, etc. end up its sitting in the corner for 2 years liao... i replaced it with the super light weight Combi Well Comfort. cannot tahan the weight of the first stroller..and too complicated to open and close..

@Pootz: Congrats to your bb gal!

@Evian: Are you going for the Bobbi Brown makeover? How many shots they will take for us? And do they return the soft copies? Any mummies going?

Geri, I must learn from you all the money saving tips man... i always tend to end up buying the more expensive stuff first, then learn that I can buy similar (maybe no brand or only slightly poorer in quality) products at a huge discount only later. like you say, sometimes, online shops / second hand really give us great pricing! so i am looking online nowadays before i head down to the shops.

Eviangal, Thank u. I will go take a look at the philip baby steamer cum blender. I will go take a look at the bottle warmer. Sorry keep say bottle warmer as bottle steamer. Haha. Hmm thought of purchase the bottle warmer because i saw my fren warm up the milk on a glass of hot water it took around 15min-30mins. The bb keep on cryin n cryin. So i think of buy bottle warmer at least can faster let bb drink milk. =)

bottle warmer very useful. i used it for my first kid.

make sure the size fits the bottle you buy esp if you using those wide neck bottles.

pootz, congrats!

Eviangal, the milk tray sounds really good and v cost-saving than milk bags. Do you have a pic of how it looks like? Did you place the tray inside a ziplock before freezing? Coz i learnt that we can't freeze exposed breastmilk in freezer esp if we have other frozen products in it.

Going for my appt tmr. Am so scared coz going for my glucose tolerance test. Hope i'll pass coz really dun want to go thru the needle-poking days.

Wish child:

I always drink milk ..

U still buy noodles to eat ??

Wini:

My fren is the muslim .. Her hubby is chinese ..

Pootz:

Congrats on ur princess !!

anyone's morning sickness come back already? ive been vomiting non stop for the past week.. coincides with the time i started taking fish oil so i dont know if its the fish oil.. the taste of digested fish oil really sucks.

BTW, can we eat crabs? im thinking of going on a crab feast this weekend.. hehe.

Charmaine, Do control ur sugar level. Like eat those food that have no sugar contain n also dont eat rice choose to eat brown rice. =) Do take care woh. Good luck for ur appt tomor.

Unicorn, Haha i will buy noodles to eat if i super hungry. Hehe if i dont eat my bb will kick me non stop until i fall asleep. So i must eat sometime to stop her for kickin me. =)

Maybe u can standby some biscuit or bread to eat at middle of night.

Jooz, I eat a lot of crabs during my 1st trimester. Even now i also eat. Haha. But i perfer eat softshell crab because can eat the crab roe. Hmm so nice lor..

Hmm mayb u can change the brand of fish oil? I now starting to take calcium pill le. Haiz so many pill must take. sian.

charmaine.. i cant really remember but certainly can warm up breastmilk. I store the milk in glass bottles so when I need to feed my son, i drop the glass bottle into the warmer. think 5 min? quite fast. then i transfer the milk to the bottle to feed my son...

@jooz,

me me!! my MS is back. early morning once (that one never left) and then before lunch, i go one more time.

crabs can eat. =) low mercury level.

Joodz, maybe you try taking the fish oil later part of the day and see how? I eat crabs when i'm having my boy and now. Crabs is the only food i never avoid coz i'm a big crab-lover hahaha

Wish_child, thanks! Really hope i'll pass coz i failed by 0.2points during my 1st pregnancy. Usually my gynae will closed one eye for such minor points but becoz i got family history of diabetes, so he can't make this exception on me. Have been avoiding food with high sugar content and drinking alot of water. Pray pray tmr will pass.

Mami_B, okie thanks. In tat case, i will get myself a warmer too coz 5mins seems fast. Previously i use warm water to warm up frozen breastmilk and took >5mins plus have to keep changing the warm water.

Charmaine, Same same my family also have history of diabetes. So i will be afraid to have it too. But so far ok for my sugar level. Hmm dont eat supper before the day u goin for check up. Drink more water. =)

mommies for the bottle steriliser since buy on bb sale or online purchase it will be cheaper?

mami B & charmaine: thanks! so glad im not the only one(like very evil hor). i puke about 5 times a day now. morning once, after breakfast once, aftr lunch once, after dinner once, before sleep once. sometimes in between will puke also.. so sian.. i dont dare to take bus now i scared 'attack' again. it always happens after i drink water. but i need to drink water to hydrate myself cos i puke.. its a vicious cycle.

Jooz, Maybe u can try drink 100plus instead of water. Last time i have MS i cant drink plain water. Will feel like puking after drink plain water. But i will force myself drink plain water or add some ribena.

Precious Babi: yes, I made appointment for it. I think they prob take a few shots. Then you pick 1 for your A4 printout. The last time I went for such makeover, we are given the choice to purchase additional pieces of other poses at $15 each. Not sure, how this Bobbi Brown works.

Charmaine: The milk trays do not expose our milk as it has a cover for it. After freezing, we squeeze the milk sticks out onto the tray like our usual ice, then slide it into a ziplock bag and write the date on it. I have 2 trays and each tray holds 8 milk sticks thats equal to 16 oz at 1 go.

I cant find the mum's fairy website. Here's a US website of the product.

http://gotbreastpump.com/store/Slim_Lines_Milk_Tray_Breast_Milk_Freezer_Storage_Trays.htm

Can look out for it at the upcoming baby fair.

After I stopped breastfeeding, I used it to freeze my dd's semi solid food. Cos easier for me to store also la...

Wish Child: Not sure online cheaper or bb sale cheaper. Always got different bundle offer. Mayb you want to note down the prices and compare?

Mami B: Thanks for the website. Seems like the milk trays are very ex now.. I think mine was around $19+ last time.. But its really good la..

Pootz: Yes. Its the one at expo.

bottle warmer

I bought one before, but realised in the end that it was much faster to heat it up with hot water... lent it to a friend, and in the end she also went back to using hot water...

so it's not a must-have.

the plus pt of bottle warmer is, you dont need to boil hot water first (which takes another 10 min for kettle, faster for electric kettle). Just put tap water into the warmer and in a short while your milk is heated up.

it doesnt cost much and if baby takes the milk in 2 portions, you have the option of heating up the milk again shortly after. for hot water, you will need to boil again. the thermal flask can keep hot water hot but it will not be as hot as freshly boiled water.

also the heat in the warmer ensures the milk is evenly heated up. putting in a cup can warm the bottle and milk but some parts of the milk may still be cold esp the inner portion. and we wouldnt know cos its baby who is drinkin it.

if can spare the moolah, just buy lah, =D

mine came free with pigeon steriliser tho =D

alamak...my sleepy spell seems to be right on the dot again. think i shoud take a nap soon....will see ya ladies later again online....

Prams:-

You know men and their wheels... seems like the husbands are all very enthusiastic about prams. They love those titanium chrome looking big prams with gigantic single wheels kind.. Stokke, Joolz, Quinny kind.. all cost above $1K kind.

I know everyone say buy lightweight, those heavy ones are a waste of money. But I'm also wondering if it's useful to get one that has a car seat attachement so you dun have to shift the bb. If so, surely the lightweight ones dun qualify. Some also say the baby should face you, else they would wonder daddy mummy had gone. The lightweight ones can?

I resorted to typing in WORDS now… wait sekali all lost again!!!!

this was suppose to be a 7.30am msg!!

Being a mum at 19 wasn’t in my plan at all…. Mum asked me to get married as didn’t want to be caught in u know wat,,,,, so tot of getting married and finishing school… having a baby was last on our minds as I was having irregular periods and also I had 2 family members who do not have children.

Even mum was nt helping out on anething from bathing bb for the 1st time and all. Confinement food was just soupy stuff from bro’s maid in the 1st instance. I was ok coz I was the youngest child from the same mum and dad (long story) looked after nephew since 9yrs old alone esp during school holidays which bro (who was given away wen bb) and sis in law loved till my nephew didn’t recognize mum after tat. I bought diapers (pet pet was cheapest and s26 to feed him) so I was ok w babies…. So never feel pampered during pregnancies… now also just a lil bit better

Life will never go the way we planned it but when it happens.. u must make a choice and know that all choices comes with pros and cons aka consequences….