(2011/01) Jan 2011

Congrats ivf and Lily and all the best to Pinky!

Kimmyksc - Wow, you already completed 11 days of confinement! And you din wash your hair! Power! BTW, can update when Bebelounge reply? I may want to order a couple more of the bras. BTW, 3 out of 4 that I bought was good...just regretted getting the allure model, dunno why I din realise that it has underwire...so not really very comfortable.

It is literally a waiting game for the rest of us who are not going for c-sec or inducing..the unknown is rather unnerving....

Am too tired to post my update.

Baby boy born on 1st Jan via natural delivery at 0000hrs. Weighing 3.055kg...

Haha.. My gynae is really good and experienced. Will be discharging from gleneagles later on.

Breastfeeding is really really tiring.. Am trying to latch on every 3 or 4 hrs.. Pain man!! Now got sore nipples.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Good luck to the rest who are popping soon.

Congrats hoshi!! Wow!! First baby 2011 so proud of u!!

Thanks kimmy, pinky, chercat, kikapo!!

Try latching my gal but no milk yet the nurses say it normal...

wah.. so happy.

IVFtwins, lily, hoshi, chercat all popped le. =)

Pinky will be seeing her boy in a while.

Hoshi

Power!! was thinking if it's any of you mummies who popped when i was watching the news. hope glen-e did free upgrade for you. remember for the first baby born on national day, KKH upgrade the mum to suite. congrats. =)

pinky has popped. =)

Little Zach is 3.43kg.

both mother and baby are well.

saw her profile and baby pic in FB. =)

kikapo,

You can email [email protected] to order. Think they have a some ready-stocks coz my friend just ordered from them too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Congrats to all who has popped!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Me still waiting.. waiting.. arghh.. and im still waiting to settle my maid issue. She wana go home (chose this time to leave!). so I'm still looking for replacement. sigh. Been so busy n troubled by this that I hardly come into forum.

what's the fb gp name? I wana join too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Surprise to read that so many of u have delivered. Congrats to all of u. All the best to those breast feeding and hope u can have a peaceful confinement.

Me been doing last min shopping this 2 weeks. Donno why i getting so nervous when my add get nearer. I feel like grapping all nursery items at the stores. Haiz. My hb teased me sayvthat i am mad. He say i wasn't like this when i delivering my 1st child. Tml will be my d-day le. My mind so blank. Still feel like i m not ready. Jia lat la !

Ting, Miako,

I think second time mothers more slack leh :p

me also, with #1 everything was ready by this time already. this time round i only just started taking out the old nb stuff and washing and checking and realising that some stuff cannot be used anymore and need to buy new etc etc...

Grumpus, miaiko, thanks for letting me know that m not alone. I thot what happen to myself .

Actually for my last pregnancy i didn't buy many things. This time round i found many things maybe useful. So keep thinking to buy. :p

Congrats to all mummies who have popped!

I'm still playing the waiting game too...

Hope baby stays in till 11.1.11!!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Congrats Hoshi!!!! New Year Baby!!! Starting lacthing is quite painful..Gambateh..I apply nipple cream each time to reduce the pain (hopefully), then I kept on telling myself to *ren*, give the best to baby..Feeling better once I got regular milk flow...Jia You

Kikapo,

Yalor..11 days and no wash hair!! Actually recently raining and windy everyday, so far still can *ren* altho still hot due to the confinement foods. I eat untill my mouth crack, dunno issit too heaty! Gmail site seems down..I couldn't check bebelounge email. However, they did replied to me for few type of nursing bra, I already placed order for the original nursing bra to try out then will buy more if tat's the right size for me. I can forward the email to you. Let me know k :)

Congrats Pinky!!!

Congrats to all mummies who have delivered.. rest well and have a great time with your little ones..

I am still waiting for my turn.. hoping she will be arriving in mid Jan.. but nowadays tummy is very low.. kinda uncomfy.

Anyway going for my check up on the 4th Jan and see what my gynae says. Last check up at 37th week BB is weighing abt 3kg.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi all..

Rather tired now.. managed to change my GA to epidural for c sect. Managed my first bf just now. Update again later..

Congrats to all who have popped.... It's only the start Jan and so many of u already popped. I still need to wait till 18 Jan...

Will update the table when I'm back in office on wed....

Wow! So happening on 1st Jan!!! I didn't manage to catch the news on the first babies for 2011!!!!

Congrats to all mummies!

Kimmi! You very power! It is only Day 6 for me and I already want to wash hair!!!!!

So far, baby has been very sleepy during the day, but don't sleep as well at night... so I am v sleepy most of the time... yawnz.....

Congrats to all mummies!!!

As for the rest of us who is still waiting, persevere! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] am also wondering when's the pop date... hee hee

Congrats to all mummies who hv popped.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] try to rest as much as possible and update us when u feel up to it! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Well I think hoshi appears on today's Sunday times though... Heehee congrats once again to all mummies... Waiting for my turn on wed....

Congrats to all the mummies who have popped! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Must have been really great to hold your little ones in your arms... What a great day to start a new year ya.

So happy for everyone... wondering when will it be my turn. Waiting and counting down.

Hoshi:

Wow... naturally delivered at the start of the year. Thats really cool. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

after so many positive stories for c-sec. i'm so tempted to ask my gynae if i shld opt for c-sec..

fast fast quick quick! some more baby is already 3.6kg and head still not engaged at last check-up.

i dun wan to end up like my SIL who went in for induce labour and end up w emergency c-sec. how? induce or c-sec?? wat are your advice on this? sigh~

Congrats Hoshi & Pinky,

I think hoshi is Christine (as featured in today's Sunday Times) right? You look good for a mummy who has just given birth! Any special perks for being the first mother of 2011? Hee hee!! Pinky, epi Csec not that scary right? How do you feel?

Grumpus, Darienna, Amie (RH mummies)

Just to let you know RH's baby registration & baby bonus one-stop system has been down for weeks. Was quite frustrated as I will have to make a trip to ICA specially to register baby & cant do it during my stay. Hope by the time u gals check in, the system is restored.

chercat,

gosh that sucks, i hope the system is restored by the time i deliver. hey are u sending yr bb to raffles children clinic? tot there's a one wk old checkup for jaundice etc etc....think still in time to do the birth cert and all that? then u dun need to specially go down to ICA.

Chabby,

When I discovered I was pregnant I already knew I would choose Csec. I do not like the agony of the wait or to be caught unaware with water-bag bursting, contractions or bleeding during the final few weeks of pregnancy. I also do not want to go through hours of labour, being snipped down there etc. If smooth delivery still ok, what if in the end need emergency Csec? Then back to square 1 right?!

As I am a first time mum, I cannot compare natural/induced labour with my procedure. Alot of pp say that the recovery time for Csec is longer, & it is true that you have to stay at least 3 days in hospital for 'observation'; but I do not mind. It has been almost a week since I delivered, n I am quite ok now. Wound (bikini line) area still hurts abit, walking is still slow but I am sure for induced/natural delivery, the vagina area will also hurt for a few days thereafter, as described by my frens.

Ultimately the choice is yours. What matters in the end is the delivery of a healthy baby & mummy to be safe. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chabby

C sect is indeed fast lah. 20 mins or so done.

Now i am slowly accepting the fact tat I am going for c sect. Will need Jane to share her experience at GlenE cos both of us also delivery there.

Grumpus,

Yah, my baby's PD will be from there as well. Since one is assigned to me, I just take him. Too lazy to go around researching for other PDs, unless mine proves to be 'not good' in some way or another. However I seriously do not think the system will be up so soon, cos I enquired twice already & the staff are equally clueless, emphasizing that the system had been down for weeks.

misty,

i lazy to blow dry also..same as u, baby active during nite..me super tired now..hope she can switch to normal soon..

Shannon,

thanks for the link..will check it out..

Pacifier:

experience mummy..when we can offer this to baby? My baby always wan to suck to sleep..she is sleepy but dun wan to sleep then i BF her, she drink abt 2 minutes then fall asleep..i assume tat she just wan to suck not hungry rite?

chercat,

i know who's yr PD, there're only 2 there who take care of nb. one's a guy and the other a lady. both are good, no worries.

until now my elder girl still goes to the children's clinic there when she's sick.

chercat

thank u for ur response. wat i fear is like wat u've describe.

1. head not engaged. can induce?

2. baby very big!

3. induce not successful still end up c-sec

4. means i've to go thro both natural n c-sec pain

i've a colleague who share w me her fren who went for induction. after waiting 48 hours (w drugs, walking, squats n almost all possible methods) end up c-sec..imagine she wasn't allow to eat in that 48hrs.. wah piangz!

pooh

i saw pinky/jane's FB profile. she looks good after her c-sec also. she also mention that the procedure is smooth and pain is bearable also.

Shall share my experience of epidural c-sect.. got admitted on Sat night for my procedure on Sun morning.. everything was pretty smooth checking in except for the part when I mentioned to the nurse I wanted to change from GA to epidural. Think she forgot abt it, hence some panic in the morning..

Morning I was woken up at abt 6 plus and given the liquid to clear my bowels. Later on, I was given some liquid to drink to neutralise gastric acid. GA Dr came n I asked if can change to epidural.. she definitely didn't looked too happy abt it n asked y I changed my mind so late.. clearly not my fault when nurse didn't do her job the night before.. so mad rush slightly before 8 for hosp to find a epi Dr..

Got wheeled off to OT at abt 8.. hubby didnt follow. nurse did some checks at e waiting area while waiting for the epi Dr.. finally got pushed into OT. Freaking cold.. was shivering from the cold.. epi Dr finally came n started me on drip before giving epi.. could feel the needle going into my spine since I wasn't having contractions.. the feeling is a bit suan suan.. at times a little on the painful side which must be communicated to Dr. Lower body grew numb n procedure started.. felt a. Lot of movements but no pain. Didn't know what was happening until 2 person were helping to push baby out manually. Finally abt 30 min, I think but not sure how long, gynae showed me my darling above the green screen.. they cleaned up Zach a little before placing him all wrapped up on my chest for a while.

Baby was wheeled out to hubby waiting outside and off they went to nursery. My gynae started to clean me up. A lot of pushing n pulling to clear the placenta etc. They kept the placenta in a cooler box n only threw it away after they asked me if I wanted it for 3 times. Got stitched up n cleaned up n off I went.. epi Dr told nurse to send me up to ward immediately as I was v cold n shivering non stop during most part of the procedure.

Rather drowsy for most of e day. Managed to bf 3 times so far. Told nurse to give fm at night. Now the discomfort is from lying on my back the whole time n my contracting uterus.. wound still doesn't hurt for now.. so overall pretty good experience..

Pardon if I dun make total sense as I m typing this from my HP at 4am.. lol. Can't really sleep now.. waiting to start eating in a few hours though.. feeling slight hunger despite e drip. Waiting to sit up n get out of bed..

Chercat: thks for the info..

Btw Grumpus & chercat.. Jus want to check wat are the charges like for the children's clinic at RH? is it ex? Also looks super crowded.. How long is the wait usually?

Darienna,

I would say the charges at the children's clinic is on the ex side if u compare with other pte PD's

sort of on the same scale as seeing a gynae at RH vs other pte gynae.

If u hv an appt, for vaccination or follow up etc the wait is usually not too bad. but if yr child is sick and u do a walk in, u would be in for abt 2 hr wait. but they do prioritize, like when my girl had a very high fever, the nurses slotted me in earlier.

if u go to other 'popular' PD's, think the wait would be abt the same. I've been to other PD and compared their ans to my qns and find that the RH PD's are very much more experienced.

pinky

u make perfect sense. dun worry.

remember to rotate your ankles and wriggle toes while on bed to promote blood circulation ok?

get the nurse/hubby to lift ur back off the bed and put s cushion so as to air ur back also. hope these will help make u feel better.

Grumpus,

Thanks for the reassurance about the 2 PDs for newborns at RH. I was assigned the guy. Which one did you get for your first child? And next time whenever my baby is not well (hopefully not), I always have to pop down RH to see him ah? What if he is not around or off? I cannot just go into any neighbourhood women&children clinic?

Darienna,

I am not sure about the charges at the children's clinic yet cos first appointment for my baby not due. Grumpus knows better!

Pinky,

Thanks for sharing your detailed story. Reminds me of what I went through a week ago. Very similar, except that the administration of epi was not painful for me at all (just felt a little prick sensation) & I was also not shivering. However the uterus contractions after the op was quite bad for me too, and I had lots of 'moving air bubbles' inside my tummy, very uncomfortable. Pinky, remember to start slow walks the following day after your drips are removed to encourage circulation. Speedy recovery!

Congrats to all who have popped! For me, i'm telling my gal not to come out so soon.. hehe...

BTW, for those giving birth at TMC, can we request for them to bring our bb to us to bfeed within 1 hr after giving birth? Heard that it is best to try and latch within 1 hr after giving birth. The last time i gave birth in 2008, they told me can only bring to me abt 3 hrs after giving birth cos need to clean up the bb.

It's a Baby Boy balloon's (2 blue stars, 2 rounded, & 1 big) to let go at S$10. used once during 1 months celeb (Bought at $39).

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4953844.jpg]

Chercat

Thks for the positive encouragement on c sect. Seeing positive stories on c sect, makes me feel so at ease now.

Hi Pinky

Congrats on your arrival of bb Zac. Thks for sharing.

I had popped on 30 dec. Baby is 1 mth early. My baby seems to have difficulty drninking milk, can only suckle for 5 min then wlll fall asleep then wake up again 20 min later and cry and the process continues. Having a headche. My milk supply also still not in yet, still pumping abt 20 ml of colostrum on day 4. Any mummy knows if this means that I have no milk??

Hi congrats to all mummies who have popped... Rest well and have a speedy recovery.. So happy for all of you...

For me i am still waiting, tml gg to see my gynae and decide when to check in to hospital...

Any idea for Mt A, do they provide day clothings for mummy to wear? I only pack nightwear in my bag...