(2011/01) Jan 2011

kimmyksc - oh good... cos 75 not really worth paying just to sleep on the couch.. haha... just bring his own pillow and blanket also can and tabao food.

CL - do u feel yr stomach tighten and become hard hard? That shld be contractions...

Dreamz,

I did mine at Dr Lawrence Ang's clinic. Not inclusive in his package apparently.

Sputnik,

YES! Sometimes I feel my stomach suddenly become ROCK HARD. Actually I thought it is coz I ate too full..

Looks like the waiting game goes on.. Can only see my baby in 2011..

Hang in there mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dreamz,

my gynae always uses the ultrasound machine. Somehow it is measured from there. He will just comment "amniotic fluid level is good" etc. I guess if ur gynae didn't say anything to u shd be fine. My fren had low amniotic fluid n was put on bed rest.

Sputnik/CL,

does the rock hard feeling maintainfor a while or it tenses n relaxes? I also thought I ate too much but cld it be contractions then? Mine will be constant for a few hours at night usually.

Suddenly see some topics on "will you circumcise your baby boy" at other forum. I would like to know if you mummies have intention to do it for your bb boy?

I see that some have arranged to get their newborn boy done before leaving hospital. Some do it few days after birth....

puix2:

Yar, I'm gg to circumcise my boy. Depends on individual, but I think it is so much cleaner. If you are doing it for religious reasons, think there is a specific number of days after baby is born to do it, else usually it's done on the 2nd or 3rd day...

false contraction

ur bump will become hard or the entire weight will be squeeze to one area. feels like ur bb is hiding in one side of ur tummy n press hard against the tummy. may even see the shape of body n a head!

for me, i'll feel breathless and sometimes feel some odd pressure at the lower ab/groin area when a false contraction set in.

puix

apparently circumcision is not necessary. but if u do, u can do it before u n bb gets discharge. the PD will slip a ring ard the penis and let the skin "drop off". after discharge, apply cream n that's abt tat.

chabby - ya, i also feel breathless so will try to breath deeply. And also hv the urge to pee when i hv contractions. Hate the feeling...

Hi CL, CTG is to monitor bb's heartbeat as well ur contraction level.

So good urs only $16 bucks. Mine is $42.80

Chelleybaby, so are you doing for hygene purpose or for religion reason? Where and when do you intend to do? Not sure if bb will feel very painful or not

Heard that if cut too much, it may later affect his sex life? What do you think? Paiser, 1st time mummy....Just want to understand more [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Puix2,

I'm also 1st time mummy, hee. And the procedure is like what Chabby describe. I'll be doing it for hygiene purpose, spoke with my gynae about it, she says just to let the PD know after baby is out. It'll be done at the hospital on the 2nd or 3rd day. The PD should be very experienced with such procedures so shd be fine. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cel,

Your CTG must be much more detailed than mine?

Mine is simply strapping to the machine for ard 15mins and generating the "graph". The nurse then showed my gynae and I guess there must be nothing unusual coz I was asked to go back next Mon by the nurse without knowing what is the result.

Chabby,

I do feel the false contractions at times during the day but the duration is shorter compared to while im sleeping. At night, it lasts longer and my groin area will "ache". Probably because I dun move as much while sleeping.. But I dun feel breathless tho..

Happy New Year Mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi kimmy

u c-sec rite? Need u to share yr personal exp on c-sec.

Any mummies going for csect esp at glenE? Need yr sharing so I know wat to expect.

Happi new year to all of you.

CL, I think CTG is standard. Mine also monitor for 15mins and a graph of both the baby's heartbeat and my contraction level will be shown on the graph. Not to worry, if there is anything wrong, ur gynae will advise u accordingly. So u should b fine.

I am going to admit to hospital for induction as there is still no natural symptoms. Wish me luck.

Jiayou all mummies!!

pooh>> i'm doing c-sect this sunday morning at glenE if bb do not start to pop by tomorrow.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] will post my experience when possible.. though i doubt i'll be able to give much info as i'm opting for GA c-sect instead of epidural..

cel>> good luck!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i'll be admitted tmr night at 10pm in glenE myself..

Went to see gynea this morning..

disappointed coz bb is only partially engaged. and had VE checked.. no dilated. so I'll still have to wait and wait.

btw, HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!

Hi Pinky

All the best for your c sect.

I am still thinking whether to have c sec epidural or GA. Wanna my hubby to witness the child birth but thinking its abit scary to do it while awake. <_>

Happy new year mummies!!

Me wakin up now getting ready and to eat my bf before checking in to hospital excited and worry and scare of pain mix feelings.....

Happy new yesr everyone [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lily All the best n wish everything will be wonderful today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I m also awake cos of BF

Thank u mummies for ur encouragement. I have d pill being inserted for d past three n a half hours n having mild contractions. Hopefully will hv stronger contraction to avoid putting on drip.

Woo... D hospital delivery suites r packed even d waiting ward n I m in d doctor's restroom. Pinky n Lily, all d best. U can do it. Jiayou!!

happy new year mummies..

All the best to pinky, cel...and other mummies who is going to pop today..

Pooh,

yes,mine is c-sect..after they push u in the operation theater, the anes will put a drip and followed by epidural. They ask me to sit up and demo how i should post myself..basically just relax urself and they will start to inject. I dun really fell the pain cos the effect quite fast..then slowly i feel my leg getting heavier and the feeling gone..fully numb. Lie back on the bed, they inject the urine tube and clean my stomach..gynae arrived and double confirmed i am fully numb then get the husband in..procedure kick start and baby is out within 10 minutes. Hubby say the gynae got insect her hands into my stomach to get the baby head out..once baby's head is out, the anes which always beside me help to press on my stomach to help push the baby's buttock out. They press and push me 2 times then baby is out and sound. I do feel discomfort when they press my stomach but ok lar cos only like 15 seconds only..

Stitching also the same, they press quite hard to clear the blood, also discomfort but i try to relax myself and rest..it takes about 20 minutes..

Good luck to all mummies (cel, lily, pinky)popping today and tomorrow.

hope for a smooth delivery for all.

miaiko

i also haven't engage/dilate. so yesterday hubby accompany me for walk and squats session. guess i'll continue w the walk and squats again later tonight. hope this will help to engage and prevent the fate of induce labour or even emergency c-sec.

pinky

ur gynae advise you to c-sec n not induce?? will see wat my gynae advise when i see her on 3rd.

pooh

i remember GA has more side effects than epidural from a book.. u may wan to ask ur gynae on the pros-cons for each type before deciding.

Hi Chabby

Thks for highlighting it to me. Didnt read much on c-sect cos I tot I will be going for natural birth.

Will ask my gynae more when I see him next Fri. Meanwhile, all the best for u. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks kimmy for sharing.. I'm too timid to watch the whole process.. hence opting for GA..

Less than 24h to seeing bb.. walking n exerting myself to hopefully start natural labour instead..

Moms !

Do you have any comments on Medela and avent manual breast pumps ? I m no longer going back office soon and just need a pump to empty breasts after feeding . Any recommendations ?

Pinky

Dun exert too much.. My friends who has given birth told me tat we need to reserve the energy to push if going for natural.

If going for c sect, do we still need to drink coconut water? Or the effect doesnt apply if we go for c sect?

Those planning to take GA...just to share i had quite a bad reaction to GA when i removed a lump in my breast a few years back. Not sure if it is cos i have gastric problems so the GA makes it worse, but for 1-2 weeks after the procedure i still felt like throwing up very often, feel giddy and no appetite at all.

GA vs epidural..

I had both experience..GA really make me feel more tiring and i throw out after i wake up. Cant sleep flat cos of dizzyness..i sit up the whole nite..

Epidural was better, i only throw out twice right after given epidural..suddent sleepy, suddent dizzy, then suddent fully awake..however, it's still depend on individual..

For epidural, u won't be able to c the procedure cos they cover using a cloth to block ur view..

Coconut drink:

i still continue to drink even i opt for c-sect. Drink coconut drinks does help to prevent jaundice..

pooh>> need to do the extreme as c-sect is not my 1st choice of delivery la.. =X wash some laundry by hand, vacuumed the floor den very tired liao.. LOL.. trying to squat as well..

chabby>> jiayou with the walking and squats.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Miaiko,

We are on the same boat !! I am getting tired of carrying the bump around, wanna pop him out & hold him in my arms. At 37wks, not dilated, not engaged [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Pinky, Cel & Lily,

All the best, so exciting... Can hold your bb sooon.

Chabby,

Ya keep walking, swimming ?

I had epidural with no.1, I threw up once after delivery then super hungry then thats it I was wide awake.. full of energy. Maybe coz I didnt take much of it, they only gave me some when I was 7-8cm dilated. Cannot take too much, otherwise cant push..

just curious.. what if i admit tonight for c-sect tmr.. and i start to go into labour in the middle of the night.. what will happen lehz? will they still proceed with the c-sect or let me try natural delivery first?

I had epi with number 1. Threw up quite a few times during delivery, but once it wore off there were no after effects like nausea. Thik my dosage was quite high tho cos cannot feel anything and i took it quite early, but still managed to push and give birth without vacuum or foreceps.

Hi mummies: bb still happily inside waiting for her 良辰吉日... However when I went for lunch, I had diarrhea and after that every step I take I feel like bb wan to drop out liaoz^... Super uncomfortable... Anyone felt that also?

Phew... After a nap.. Now seems better le

I have finally popped yesterday. Happy new year to all.

Went thru c sect and it is indeed a fast delivery procedure compared to natural I think.

Reach hospital at 7am, went to theater at 9am, start drip, epidural and at 9.30 gynae came and at 10 my ds is born.

Spent next half hour as gynae stitch me. Another hour on observation area. Generally it's a fast procedure. Had side effect of shiver non stop while being stitched and observed. It is quite a terrible feel.

Not much pain on first day. 2nd day out of bed and feel some bed but on oral painkiller.

Mommies who are gg c-sec good luck ok!

I am still trying to latch baby and bf.

pinky,

i think they'll let u do natural if ur contraction set in before ur c-sec. good luck dear.

lina

didn't swim much after i slip and fell on one of the rainy days. also, it rain quite often these days. but try to walk and shop often. start w my 20 squats per day with effect from ytd. hope it helps.

nimkulut

rest well and drink more water.

kimmy,

i help u ask around for your rice wine. anyway, if u desperately need nursing bra, i remember seeing some at Tom and stephanie at west mall.

epi vs GA

both have side effects la. it really depends on what you wan. if u wan to see ur baby and get the baby to latch on, epi is a better choice.

ivftwins

congratulations. =)

good to know that u and the baby are well and had a smooth delivery. hope for your speedy recovery. =)

Making my way to gleneagles soon.. operation baby boy tmr at 9am.. wish me luck! Going to request change of GA to epidural later..

congrats ivf and Lily...

ALl the best pinky..

Thanks Chabby...Bebelounge replied my email..hope they got stock ready..Now hard to go out, haven wash hair till now, look very crappy..dunno how long I can tahan..

Baby Full month:

Time flies..I have already do my confinement for 11 days...Counting down to full month on 16th Jan 2011...

Reporting from gleneagles.. lol.. preparing to sleep alr.. my room charge for tonight is waived according to the admissions officer.. think tmr may have a bit of mummies giving birth..

Congrats ivftwins & Lily!!! Rest well!

Pooh,

I also did Csec with epidural. My experience was very similar to kimmy's & I was lucky not to have any side effects of shivering, vomiting or itching. Looking back, it was not that scary & the best part was that everything was fast & your baby will be out in about half an hour, & you will be awake to see him/her. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pinky,

Jiayou!!! 2nd Jan baby! I initially wanted this date but I doubt I could tahan this long so chose an earlier date one week ago to pop. Do share your experience too.