(2011/01) Jan 2011

wonder if anyone of u are engaging confinement lady, particularly mummies' whose EDD is on the last week of Jan 11?

may i find out abt the market rate for this period since it is near to CNY. my EDD is 31 Jan 11 and i hv called up my previous CL and she is charging me $2300 (previously $1800 when she did for me in 2006 & 2008). but she said she need to go bk to malaysia on 1st and 2nd day of lunar new year.

is it always the case when come to CNY period?

any advice?

Hi Shalan,

I just confirmed my bookings with PEM Confinement agency.

They charge me $2800, will stay thruout the CNY and also from malaysia.

Your $2300 is a steal! The lowest I've heard so far is $2500.

Shalan,

in 2008 i paid close to 3k for my confinement which cross CNY, but she didn't go back at all and stayed throughout CNY

Shalan,

$2,300 is really cheap! But that's provided u can cope without her for the 2 days she's going back.

My EDD is 28 Jan and I've got a confinement lady for $2,500. She's from Malaysia n won't be going home for CNY.

There was another CL I called who wanted to charge me $3,200 n still wants to go home for CNY for 1 week!

I think u shud grab urs since she has also done for u before.

morning ladies...

shalan,

mine is charging $2.5K so yours is considered cheap already. Does she compensate you another 2 more days for those that she would be away?

Poor mummy! that is very cute [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So did the baby show what he/she got? Any gender clues?

Sherill - Yah I thought so too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The bb seem to "hiccup" twice to move it's position. Sonographer said.. "this bb.. just posting for us to take picture only"

Wahahaha Hope she/he comes out to be a guai guai bb too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nope, no signs of anythign yet ;p

Today gynae will be calling to explain my results. *Cross fingers*

Morning ladies....

has anyone experienced blocked left ear on and off...? I have been having this pb since last fri.Left ear keep blockin and going normal. Is this common? what can i do?

actually i hv already booked her. so $2300 is really cheap??? at first, she asked me how much can i pay her but i asked her how much does she wanna to charge. then she asked for $2300 claiming that we are afterall so familiar with each other.

but i dunno whether she will be staying full 28 days or 26 days? now i also pai say to ask her since all of u say $2300 is so cheap. maybe her $2300 does not makeup for that 2days??

maybe i hv to give her extra ang-bao when she leaves?? cos i gave her add'l $100 ang-bao each time apart from her first & last days.

btw, anyone of u give your CL extra on top of their fee?

shalan,

think u shld request her to 'give back' 2 more days to you as usually the whole confinement shld be 28 days...dun let her shortchanged u.

actually, i was abit skeptical initially when my CL asked for open/close AP...however when i chk with a few frens its actually not compulsory...

wow...u give quite alot for AP's!!! i was thinking of just giving her a 8 bucks as a welcome AP...am i too stingy...not forgetting whatever she consumes/uses in the house is provided by us...

sometimes malaysian CL will take advantage of us...so must stay firm.

Hi Ladies!

You are lucky to get CL at 2K plus. I got a quote from a CL for 3K, staying throughout the CNY period and she asked for angbaos on 1st & last day and another angbao for CNY! I'm still considering whether to employ her or go for agency. There is a 2nd CL I talked to, qouting me 2.8K but she needs to go back during CNY for 5 days [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ang bao for CL - Its also stated that I have to give 2 APs for CL (opening and closing) Actually I am thinking i shld be more generous in the opening so that she will work better for me? as I afraid they see AP, if not up to their satisfactory, they will chin chye chin chye do.

Shalan - i feel the amount is up to you to think how much she's worth. If during her stay, she very niao and calculative with me, I give my closing AP accordingly.

Certain agencies that I enquire ask for 3, one during CNY. But I'm just going to give 2 only.

good morning ladies

anyone have a twitching pain on ur tummy? i have been having a big of pain these days, i was working at a fair and a lot of big movements, kinda worried.

Best is i got electrocuted last sat by a lightbox,hope everything is fine

Hi baby koh - I too get the pain, sometimes sharp.. check with gynae last sat, she says its perfectly fine as long as there's no bleeding...

but but.. how come u get electrocuted by lightbox??

izit? its common ah, i got no bleeding.

I was talking on my phone then standing near a light box (those kinda big signage with light bulbs) then my arm touch the metal then ZZ****KKK, got electric shock loh, my coll told me its ok baby well protected by water bag, i felt so guilty after tat kept saying sorry to my baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hi poor mummy, I think PEM agency you signed up with is a good option cos everything they need to do is in black & white (can change CL if no good) and they will settle the levy for you, just need to pay. For freelance, I'll need to do the admin & contacting myself, cannot change CL if no good. Starting to sway my decision to hiring from agency liao :p

Hi BabyKOh, Me too have the kinda of dull cramp and pain over my lower abdomen too. My job requires me to walk a lot. I went to my gynae last week and he ask me to slow down and relax more. Whenever u feel the cramp or pain just sit down till it's over.... as for ur electrocuted part hope u are ok ... if u dun feel good go back to ur gynae

Furlin - I thought abt the changing of nanny part too... Hopefully ok for me because I'm not too fussy unless she does something really unacceptable. It's like maid - u never know of the next one is someone better or worse. Yes I like the fuss free part, they even uv tonic package u buy the tonic from them so CL only goes market for livestock.

poor mummy, very true...hiring from agency really saves all the hassle. Even can buy the herb package, making things so convenient. I also think so long the CL does her part and not do terrible things, I'm not very particular too. Maybe I should check more details with PEM. Thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

MTBs I can clearly feel the kicks since yesterday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] specially when he moves and changes position to front and back. I will enter 18th week tomorow. Seems my tummy also started stretching since yesterday as well.

So far I have been feeling uterus movements since 10 weeks but not realy the kicks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

went for my 16 weeks checkup on Friday, gynae did a check on gender for us... she said it's Didi we are having. so cute..to see the little manhood. baby's legs were wide open so it was very obvious..haha..

But i havent felt any movements or even flutters yet. my 1st one, i felt it at 18weeks only.. expected to feel it earlier since it's 2nd preg..

has anyone experienced blocked left ear on and off...? I have been having this pb since last fri.Left ear keep blockin and going normal. Is this common? what can i do?

Me get occassional dull cramps or pull at either left or right of abdomen. Wonder what that is. And sometimes I feel quite bloated at night and thing that my skin is being stretched! Will put on cream when I feel that. On top of putting cream after shower. Am tempted to try clarins oil after I finish morhercare cream.

Min.......congratulations [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Seems more boys for Jan thread ........i hope to be having a boy too ;)

Daphne - my gynae will be doing the amnio for me. How come u hv to book with TMC yourself? I just called my gynae and told them i wanna do amnio and they booked everything for me ;-)

re confinement lady

I'm paying 2500 for my confinement lady. She will go back for 2 days during CNY i think, which I am ok with since this is number 2 so not as stressed. She will make up the 2 days when she gets back so overall will still be 28 days. I think the angbao for CL maybe shld give slightly more for opening, so that they will be more happy, then closing see if do a good job to give accordingly. I think also cos it is CNY, may also need to give when they come back from msia after CNY for luck, but this one shld not need to give so much.

Sputnik, the nurse at my gynae's clinic book for me when I go n discuss with my gynae tat day. But she book infront of me so when they ask her questions, she will ask me...

Daphne - OIC... anyway i planning to ask my gynae for a few days hospitalisation leave to rest, just to be on the safe side ;-)

Sputnik, me too... I am taking the test on a wed. So, will ask for MC to rest on thur & fri also even though my gynae say can go to work next day...

hello mtbs,

sorry to disturb, i'm from augmtb thread. i've a medela mini electric plus (dual pumps) for sale. its almost brand new with local warranty till july 2011. selling off as unable to express much milk so hopes to let go to others who will put this item to better use.

this is alot less noisy than the medela single pump & very time effective too.

if keen, pls SMS to 96495528. thanks!

I have the following items for sale.

1. Preloved Prego baby rocker. Blue/Brown colour. Used only for 3months. Condition: 9/10. $29

2. Preloved 'My Brest Friend' Breastfeeding Pillow. Leaf Design. Used for 3months. Condition: 8/10. $32

3. BNIB Little Giant Milk Bags. Made in Korea. Good Quality. 1 packet for $11, 2packets for $8 each

4. BNIB Carters Rompers for baby boy. 6-9mths. 5pcs in a pack. $22

5. Medela Lactation Aid/ Supplemental Nursing System. Excellent Condition!. Used for only 1 week! $29

6. First Years Close and Secure CoSleeper. . Good Condition! Used for only 3 times! $39

7. Black/ Blue Sling/ Shoulder Diaper Bag $6

10% discount or free Diaper bag if you buy more than 2 items!! Can throw in Preloved baby boy clothes for free!! Free NUK teats and glass bottles!!

Can Exchange for brand New playpen or MammyPoko/Fitti M/L Size Diapers

Collection near Parkway Parade, Raffles Place or Bt Batok! Or via Postage

Please PM me if keen. Thanks!

Please see below link for photos:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449169/4279678.html?1280126921

Sorry to interupt.. Am a july10 mummy.. i recently helped my friend to get a US set AVENT ISIS IQ DUO electric breast pump and got order one more extra set to save shipping cost...

The set will arrive in Mid August.International warranty of 1 year starts 20th July 2010. If you interested to get this set at SGD490 do PM me or email to [email protected]

Thanks thanks

Congrats on those who found out their baby's gender, can start shopping!

Can I check whether anyone has the same symptoms. It's like the MS went away already, and you also feel more energetic, but suddenly, it hits you again????

I was feeling quite fine the past few weeks, but last weekend, suddenly feel v lethargic and appetite not good again... why ah? Sian leh...

All the best to those doing the amino test.

Congrats to those knowing the gender. Everyone around me seem more eager than me to find out the gender haha.(kept asking me boy or girl)

Misty I still have MS on and off but lesser. Last time for #1, by this time (14 weeks), I am FULL of energy already and totally no MS...........

Hello Ladies, How are you today? What a tiring Monday. am feeling so sleepy ...

for my last preg, my ms lasted till 16weeks. hope this time also. 2 more weeks to go.

Misty, i still got those kind of weired taste in my mouth and everything tasted bitter or sour to me. on and off i also feeling like vomiting but nothing came out.

Komp, last preg, one of my finger joint jam throughout my preg since after 1st tri then recover immediately after i deliver my bb. Gynae say bb could have rest on the respective nerve. blockage at ears only happen 2 weeks before delivery due to infection. that time both my ears n my nose are blocked. both my eyes take turn to have those sticky discharge. after the discharge dried up, my eyes cannot open and must use eye drop to clear. i recal already still feel scared.

PM, ya. i can understand. i felt very proud for my bb when my baby obey Gynae's instruction to flip :p but the thing that make me most excited is still to hear my bb's heartbeats.

hi all..

been a slient reader :p was feeling very tired nowadays with my active boy plus the freaking hot weather now in japan! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

congrats to all who knew their bb gender :D

i did my triple test last thursday and getting my results this thursday. Hopefully everything goes well! Praying hard.

Ting,

wat happen to your CL? frankly speaking, i guess its better to engage through agency as feel more secured. During this period during CNY..chances of those private CL will back out last minute. just my tots. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ting- why she back out? I think likely due to CNY, she may want to celebrate CNY instead of rushing to n fro the causeway during peak period...

Faster go search for one more.. Still hv time..

Bethel,

thanks. Wa, damn paiseh looking at the table .. my number of kids .. 5. haiz. lol :p

Well, my eldest is already 11. it's the other 3 that are rather young - 20 mths old, 4 years old and 6 years old. so ya, when they play and laugh it's quite a din. I am a SAHM and I have a maid to help me .. so that helps a lot. Still hectic cos I have to drive my girls up and down for classes and kindy .. and ballet etc.

How's everyone & your bb?

Yday was quite a day for me. Last minute sent my fili helper back to her country. She only work for 8mths. Need to look for another helper now.

Any good recommendations pls??

good morning all!

miaiko

y send yr fili helper back?

i got my maid from labour express at chinatown. so far so good and have been wif me for 2 yrs +. my fren and her colleagues oso got theirs from the agency. no prob too. but i tink we got the indonesian maid instead of fili maid.

Kristalangel: y paiseh? I love big families actually. I think its wonderful. But i think I can have so many kids given limited resources.

coconutz, well.. her family has been asking her to go back and a few other things lah. Treat her nice but yet she lied and said I treat her bad. It's disappointing. sigh

tried 2 fili helpers already. So now thinking whether to change to indon. What's ur opinion? How to choose a gd helper?