(2011/01) Jan 2011

mitch & babyzie, thanks for your advise [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Evlin, the week shown is quite accurate. But my gynae did say that the range of "normal" HCG level at this stage can vary quite a bit so it may just be a coincidental thing that the clearblue digital "week" is accurate for me.

I am also ttc a baby girl.

Should most likely try after June not to have a CNY baby but a rabbit baby cos my no 1 was a CNY baby. Expensive confinement lady.

Want a rabbit baby girl. Any tips?

Currently my son is 27 months and really active[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

HOpe to know more mummies who are ttc for a rabbit baby[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi there ladies me preg with no 3 my appt with gynae tomoro first appt was on 8/5 gyane said cannot see the baby properly as i may hav given him the wrong date and advised me to see him after 2 weeks quite worried on this issue praying hard for gynae to say baby is fine

just to update after my gyne visit at 7weeks 5days. My Edd is now 2jan 2011. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] heart beat and everything is well. Nxt check is week 11+. Then hv to do Oscar test. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so relieved n happy

hi all..

recently my back ache is getting worse.. going to ask my gynae on tues.. my 2nd visit.. hoping to see hb and have a more accurate EDD.

reia.. i'm also having similar problems.. i cant sleep through the night anymore.. i'll keep waking up every 2 to 3 hours.. really frustrating as i'll wake up in the morning feeling as though i never had a good sleep..

coconutz.. i'm also like you.. i'll wake up to go toilet.. somehow my bladder has shrunk in size after getting preggy.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

anyone else that is going to the toilet more often than previously?

pinky_j : this is rather common. That's why I am reply at this hr... I slept at 8pm yesterday ... 2.30am I woke up to go toilet then now unable to sleep cos I am hungry also,now drinking a glass of warm milk....this will get beta when u enter 2nd trimester.

Is it normal to have light spotting? I hv it this morning after pee. Ate my medicine that kk prescribed to be taken daily (duphaston, progynova, folic). Had stayed on bed whole morning beside coming down for breakfast.

The spotting was like drips of light pink blood.

It stop while I m on bed. Just now went to pee n had some more spotting. I m back on bed.

Hi ivftwins,

I m also 5 weeks 2 days preg [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] had my first visit to gynae last evening and saw my baby - aka 8.9mm wide little circle on e monitor...

I also have light spotting issue where I find tiny streaks of pink on my pantiliner. I told e gynae that, n he say it is fairly normal, gave me some med, forgot e name, to stabilize Mu womb that makes me super wooZy and sleepy...

The best piece of advice that I got from him is to enjoy e pregnancy, u may read plenty of online articles saying don't drink coffee, dun eat certain type of fruits, dub wear makeup... Etc... But in fact all those articles, studies are all inconclusive. Which makes me feel v safe and empowered.

So dun worry, get plenty of rest, feel happy, talk to ur little sesame sized baby and hope for e best.

Jiayou :D

Thanks. I went kk to see dr loh n he did a vaginal scan n saw my baby sac. He said pregnancy is still early n unstable stage. Had a jab n was told to double dosage for my medication.

Hi ivftwins,

All I could see is a small round sac... Cannot see e heartbeat yet... Cheers la... In 2 weeks time we will both be gg to e gynae for e second time right? By then we will be able to see our babies heart flutter :D

take care and think positive ok?

wow...I have been MIA for quite a bit, and can see many new MTBs, feel so happy..Congrat! to all..

While waiting for my 1st gynae appointment, i tested this morning again using normal strip, and it show positive with both darken line, not like last time 1 dark, 1 faint...feel more relieve....I'm entering week 7 tml and tml is my first visit to my gynae, hope to hear baby is healthy and hope to see hb..so excited

now feeling nausea everyday since 2-3 days ago, not very bad but low appetite. Feeling hungry all the time but just dun feel like eating. and I eat very very slow :-( Always hope that I dun belongs to nausea group but seems like i can't escape..My hubby is very bad, when i have the vomit feeling, he do the same...so irritating

I also visit to toilet more often than last time, now gotto pee around 3am everynite.

@ivftwins - rest more and stay happy and positive..

Oh ya, does anyone here having the constipation problem? I read from some site saying that preggy mama will have this problem..I dun feel very bad, but i dun go toilet everyday and sometime stomach upset :-(

Kimmy, haven't been seeing you around. Did you go to Dr Christine Yap after all? I went to her yesterday and liked her a lot. She doesn't sweat the small stuff but is properly concerned about the important stuff. I think I have a brain and read a lot so do know a bit about pregnancies and I liked it that she talks to me at my level and addresses my concerns rather than some gynaes who just say don't worry, leave it to me, or we'll discuss when it gets to that stage.

Constipation: supposed to be caused by hormones that make our digestive system slows down so food travels slower through the digestive track which maximises absorption of nutrients. Which of course means that tonnes of water is also absorbed increasing the chances of constipation. Can be reduced by eating loads of fiber and drinking lots of water, which I've been trying very hard to do but still I hate the slowed down digestion. It means even hours after consuming food there's loads of stuff left in the stomach to be thrown up. yucks.

Update: I finally know my EDD: 14 Jan 2010! Fingers crossed everything goes well from now till then. Hope everyone in this forum have a smooth pregnancy!

Dear all mummies

Hi, really great to have stumble upon this portal where all mothers can share info, tips and experience with one another. been very enriching so far reading each and everyone's posts.

I am 7 wks and am due 06/01/2011. An unplanned pregnancy usually rocks the house. Am trying to embrace the aftermath shock and looking forward to life's new journey.

i'm glad i'm not the only one frequenting the toilet more often.. my hubby is feeling highly suspicious about it.

gynae on tues and i dare not step onto the weighing scale.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i'm out growing my clothes alr!!

Hi all mummies & mummies to be!!

I'm new here.

I cal my Edd is supposed to b 11jan, cos Lmp on 6th April.

Yet to c gynae, intending to do so this week.

Any good ones to recommend?

Heard that male gynae better cos a lot female gynae not that empathetic.. Worried...

Anyone can advice??

Also, heard from frens that when we poop, feotus may drop out, is it true? How high is the chance? Kept fearing till I got headache everyday!!!

Cos 1st timer... Feel so helpless [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

O ya!! heard that tmc is good, but wat's the difference between a govt & a pte hospital?

My friend said that now, the rates are abt the same. Is it true?

Sigh... 101questions in my head!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

please help!!

Thank you everyone for the encouragement. Am trying to keep my mind positive n happy.

After tha jab yesterday, it's better today. Do not know if due to dupaston, but the feeling of nausea is bad. Absolutely no appetite for main meals n I started drinking cold water. Feels better after carbonated water or cold drinks. And I m beginning to hate the taste of plain water. Bought Ribena to mix w water. I live food but now I hate thinking wat to eat.

Hi reia - Will go to tmc first then make decision, if they dun bother to explain our question then will change immediate for sure. Yeah, I have been trying to drink more water, i drank yogurt drinks as well, first day help, but after that back to normal. Will know my final EDD tml, quite excited...haha

Congrat! Mae ho & Charleen..welcome to the thread..

Hey pinky,, I cant wear most of my skirt and pants too, can still button up but feel very uncomfortable, I knew I gain weight, can't escape tomolo.but when think of the little one in the stomach, still feeling happy right...:)

Hi Charleen- Not sure about the male vs female, guess it depend on individual..many female gynae are good too :)..not sure about the poop, but be extra careful during 1st trimester..always stay happy and relax is very important..yup, many ppl say the rate is about the same, you can compare at the link that i gave last time

http://www.moh.gov.sg/mohcorp/billsizeDetails.aspx?cId=10

Hey ivftwins- ya, agree...cold drink can calm my nausea down, but heard it's not good to drink cold stuffs, so I have been control, control and control......

does anyone also take dha supplements? Are they impt? Also do u all feel extremely gassy? I m 5w3d preg and my hb n I have been superbly amazed at how round my tummy felt. We sayang-Ed e tummy affectionately everyday lo... But now I think all is gas, cos now my tummy is all flat, no bloated n round feeling... Lol..

Clueless first time mom EDD 20Jan11 :D happiness...

congrats to new mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

charleen>> male or female gynae depends on how comfortable you are.. remember that the gynae will deliver your baby and more or less they will see everything de.. =x so you must make the choice.. personally i went to a very old male gynae.. he was very professional on my first visit and i didnt feel uncomfortable at all.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] remember.. if you dont feel comfortable with the gynae.. must change!

ivftwins>> get some sour plums to suck on.. if you cant stand plain water, den go get small ice cubes to suck on slowly.. probably will feel better as well.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i'm trying to control my soft drinks and cold water intake.. but havent been able to succeed much.. hee..

kimmy>> thankfully i got a short break from work coming.. so i can stay home and continue expanding.. lol..

for those buying folic acid from pharmacy.. can try getting them from JB as well.. i just got mine at 10 tablets for RM0.50..

is it true that we cant do manicure and pedicure as the chemicals inside the nail polish will affect the baby?

Dunno if related but must control cold drinks intake. I m still having dull cramps, bloated stomache n light spotting/bleeding. I hope this is ok n can tahan till my first scan on 8 june. I m looking at my last visit to dr loh where he did vaginal scan n print the baby sac photo.

Happy! Positive!!!

Hi mitch,

haha thanks... Told u I m pretty clueless...

Quick question: have u all told ur daddy n mummy tht u r pregnant???? I dun really know when is a better time wo... Do u think I shld wait till my 2nd gynae appointment in 2 weeks time? By then we will be able to tell if pregnancy is 'viable'...

And when is a better time to inform my employer?

I m really excited and feel like sharing with e whole world already...

Hi all,,,

and congrats to the new mummies on board...

Pinky_J : Its ok to do mani and padi, cause even my first pregnancy i used to do it every other week.

Nimkulut : I think its ok to tell your parents that you are pregnant but for friends and employer maybe you'll like to wait abit.

For me i have no choice to inform my boss at this stage as im energyless and im unable to run the operations as i work in a hotel.

Thanks pinky and kimmy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hee... any experienced mummies? approx how much is required in cash and medisave to deliver a baby?

I'm planning TMC and saw that the website indicated approx $4348-5754. From this amount, how much is it can i use my medisave?

Planning to book my 1st appt today.

Excited but can't get through the phone. haha! :p

Hi Charleen,

I remember my 1st child on Jan 2009, normal delivery with forcep total cost about 4k plus and I need to top up about 1k plus at that time. so i belive the max we can use from medisave is not more than 3k.

i am suffering now coz got flu....

furthermore, just went to washroom and found some bleeding (is a bit like a brown color)... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

evlin: take care...are you taking flu medication?

Experienced mummies, can we take over-the-counter meds like panadol, danzen etc if we get a common cold or cough?

On the questions on medisave, i was reading this booklet call 'Maybe Baby' published by MCYS. Some useful info inan article inside states:

- Medisave Maternity Package: you can withdraw up to $450 of Medisave for the pre-delivery med expenses. This is in addition to the Medisave that can be used for delivery.

- For delivery expenses, the withdrawal limit depends on delivery mode($900 for a normal delivery to $2850 in case of a C-section with hysterectomy).

Think more info is available on http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg

P.S. I am going for my 1st appt tomorrow! So excited! Can't wait. Did you guys take time off work to go or took leave? I told my boss I am going for a med appt and he went:'ok..but you are coming back after the appt?..sianz, I was hoping to work from home after that cause TMC is so near my place and my office is in Tuas...

@Deerdeer: wat u mean by no symtoms? Lol, I dun have ms! :D lucky... For now

Hey guys!!

I've finally booked my 1st appointment on wednesday morning with TMC Dr Kee.

A friend just delivered a pair of twins in TMC with the help of Dr Kee. She said he's good. Fatherly kind... hee... someone i need. Heard stories about female gynaes cos they had babies b4, they are not as emphathetic.. can even say things like "stop screaming, it's normal. every woman goes through the labor..." haha!! i tink i'll box her if my gynae tells me that when i'm in pain!! hee...

it should be my end of 6weeks if i'm not wrong :D

@evlin: do take good care! eat more fruits to build up your body resistances. Thanks for the infor.

@kikapo: prob u can hint ur boss whether u can work from home or not. :p

o ya.. is slight pain at abdomen normal? i have this consistent small pain at the lower abdomen, near the womb area... kinda worried..

Hi, Im having my first.. Doc told me my EDD on 27 Jan 11.

First day of last mensus on 29th Mar. Tested positive on 12th May. But currently im only 1 mth's pregnant as on 21st May. Mayb due to the fact tat i hv irregular mensus?

Was v suprise & shocked tat Im preggy bcos my left fallopian tube is block. So actually only 50% of conception. Moreover, Im v stress preparin for my customary on Oct 10 (alrdy ROM on Oct 08) at the moment~ Nv tot abt it at all.

Im hving cramps & abit of spottin as well. Did my 1st scan on 13th May, tat time cldnt see my bb yet. Doc say I might hv a chance of hvin an ectopic preg bcos of my block tube~ Or else is tat my BB is still too small to be seen. So he did a blood test for me. Was very worried.

Went for a 2nd scan on 21st May. Luckily BB can be seen, bt v small. Only 4 wks old & 1cm big. Due to e cramps & spotting, was given 'an tai' medic to stabilize. Going to 3rd scan on 3rd Jun to check my BB's heartbeat. Hopefully everything will be fine for us~

Nw tat I hv to change my Customary to Aug 2010 instead. Quite a stress period for me ya~

Jerlyn, congrats and do take care! Welcome to the forum [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nimkulut: well I told my parents and in laws and some close Frds so far.... Just awaiting to see bb's hb before the annoucenments..... Some they prefer to tell only aft the 1st trimester... But for me as long there is hb I will says as to I need prayers and support from my frds and parents also partly becos of the experience from my 1st child... So all depends on u....

Komanthi: I wana looks for cots ans pram... I like the brand peg perego or stokke

Nimkulut.. i waited a few days before telling my in-laws as i'm staying with them currently.. only told my mum recently and she tells me not to announce it yet.. very pantang.. haha.. so i guess i shall wait a while long to announce it officially at work..

jerlyn.. congrats! how bad is your cramps? i had discomfort at the lower abdomen the last 2 weeks.. but now no more.. only starting to experience backaches..

experienced mummies.. when do we need to start looking at the baby items like cots, strollers etc? i'm excited to start shopping for it.. hehehe.. especially with GSS coming up!

Tks raia.

Pinky j: my cramps r still bearable.. On n off at times.. Doc say cramps n spottin r normal though.. Nw I'm startin to feel my cramps n spottin nt as frequent anymore.. Bt aft tkin e 'an tai' medic, I will feel groggy n sleepy, duno whether itz normal anot?

I do experience neuseous at times bt no vomitings.. Initially abit giddiness bt nw nt so much anymore.. E only big prob is I gets tired v ezily.. Yes, n hot flushes most of e time.. Alws wkes up in e middle of e nite.. Sometimes is feelin hot or breathless or thirsty else to pee.. My skin wil itch ezily at times, breasts tenderness & tummy bloatedness..

Bt all doc say is normal..

My health has been weak even before pregnancy, so nw Im just gona hope & pray for everything to be smooth sailing..

@Jerlyn - Hi, welcome to the forum and congrat!!

Those things that you mentioned are normal, feeling lazy, sleepy, breast tenderness.etc...

Went for 1st gynae check today, im now 6 weeks 6 days, so excited to see baby heartbeat, it's so fast...and now feel more relief and happy...

My EDD has changed to 11 Jan 2011, doctor say many number 1 :), but then again, doctor say normally won't be that accurate & will be around 10 days earlier...if 10 days earlier then will be new year baby on 1 Jan 2011, also got many number 1..haha

@pinky - ppl advice to shop around 7 months because now not consider 100% stable yet..but of course, if got great offer, y not..hahha

oh ya, my nausea getting worse today and doctor say it will be like that for few months...:-(

Rest well all mummies

Thanks Mitch n pinky,

this my first baby, so really dunno how to bring e topic up wo... Blush blush ;D cos customary only last month so... Haha... Haven got anyone that rush me to have baby yet...

:D EDD 20jan, 1st bb

are there any special food/fruits we should refrain from?

I heard we cannot eat pineapple or Chinese herbs that are too 'cooling'...

jerlyn.. rest well! sleep early, think of work lesser.. ahha.. that should help! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kimmy.. take sour plums n drink more water! will post any great deals.. hur hur.. apparently my hubby's friend knows where to get these baby stuff at a warehouse in Bedok i think.. will post when the time comes..

nimkulut.. wow.. you pretty fast lehz.. i customary nov last year.. also considered pretty fast le.. =x to answer your food question.. try not to eat stuff too cooling like chin chow, barley, chrysanthemum, watermelon etc.. i was also told not to eat beef and mutton and a few other things which i cannot rem.. and told to avoid cold water as it may affect bb's health..

off to gynae tmr to hear bb's hb! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kimmyksc: so happy ya can hear baby heartbeat!! me still need to wait until 5th June..by that time my baby is 7weeks 3 days..

pinky_j: woww..so happy seeing everybody is going to hear baby heartbeat..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

For all new mummies to be, welcome!!

this few days, i get tired easily and sooooo sleepy at work..:p

Pinky_j : I will get my stroller and cot earliest by Dec .... haha or even when bb is out ....

Nimkulut and pinky : My customary was in Aug last year I was pregnant in Oct last year but lost my bb at 5th mth due to no heartbeat in march this year... and now I am pregnant again.. so all things are possible....

hi all..

i am currently reading this website.. hehe.. just wanted to share with all mummies here!

http://www.pregnancyguideonline.com/wk7.htm

Another good website to read will be www.babycentre.com

For mummies planning to do baby shopping during GSS. BID on Bedok Reservoir road has good bargains, and just a few shops away u can check out Baby Kingdom...

I'm stopping work at e moment to rest myself..

Me & my Hubby tried for bb since our ROM on yr Oct 2008.. Nv tot tat I will concieve so suddenly as mention tat my mensus has all e while been irregular as well as my left Fallopian tube is block.. We alrdy booked our customary hotel banquet for oct 10 since last yr bt nw gona change to aug instead.. All of a sudden like fast forward ya..

Still, we r v thankful for god to give us this precious blessing so expectedly.. I guess things really come when u least expected it! =)

I wished i could stop work like u Jerlyn [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyway ready your post about the Hotel Banquet reminds me so much of me when i had my first child.. I had done my ROM but not customary and due to the pregnancy i had to bring the hotel wedding forward... I even took my wedding pictures being 4 months pregnant... But for my 1st bb tummy did not show that much...