(2010/12) December 2010 MTB

Hi ladies..

Just finished my massage session with Ros. My back so much better now. So no regrets signing up with her for my postnatal coz I really trust her skills.

I also told her abt our feedback so far. Regarding postnatal, if we book with her and call her once we give birth, she will immediately reserve 7 days str8 for us in her calendar. Can be either 7 days str8 or alternate days. She said alternate days sometimes coz some mummies might experience some aches after the massage coz it can be quite vigorous but it's up to you if you want continuous massage, she can do it. Also, depending on the mummy's condition after birth if there's any complications, she may decide to start later or delay the massage for precaution sake.

The other thing is abt the appt timing. She said sometimes she take awhile to reply especially for those last min request becoz she needs to get confirmation from her other clients first. She doesn't want to promise until she's sure she can do it. And at times she does get too tired after whole day massage, so she hopes for some understanding from her clients.

Those are what I can remember so far, I'll update again if I can remember more.

Oh yes, she also said that for pre-natal, we shdn't do too often coz it might stimulate premature labor. So do only if really necessary.

Personally, I feel that her skills are very good and she doesn't follow by the timing strictly, she really does extra. So if there's any delays for appt I think it is acceptable. Give and take. So mummies who are still considering, why not give her a chance since she is open to feedback. Hopefully her reply has sooth some of your concerns. I really enjoy her massage sessions. :)

Finally got a time to post message here. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Happy that tomorrow is a holiday.

Juliana, good for you that you enjoyed Ros's massage. Her skills are really good and she does know a lot.

Mummies, i booked an appointment with SCBB to sign the consent form and stuff etc at KKH already since my hubby can't meet them during office hours. So no choice have to go KKH to meet them next saturday. I'll be looking at the shops there and buy baby thermometer for ear. My SIL told me the mother&baby shops there got sell and it's cheaper than Braun but still good. Any mummies who need me to help buy stuff from the shops at KKH please feel free to tell me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dbaby/crystal, main thing is to wait for all to pop ba hehe :p

juliana, i see all yr feedbacks on Ros, seems good..

maybe i will call her up sometime next week and arrange ^_^

debbie, the baby thermo i duno which to buy yet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

think ear thermo better than those infra types?

josz, i am trying out the massage with the webpage u posted but it's my first time and i dont know how it will go. when's your EDD? mine's 12/12. if i deliver b4 u i can let you know how it goes? i found her thru some mummies recommendation in other threads.

Hi gals, I'm back from gynae. My gal still don't want to turn. She's now 2.5kg at 32wks. And I've put on 4 kg in two weeks, surprisingly the gynae never say me wo....

klitz, congrats!

wa! yr girl very big leh! haha

no wonder can put on 4kg, dun worry la, think most go to baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

anw u so slim, still can afford the weight ^_^

klitz: I read somewhere if we exercise on four, baby tends to turn.. not so sure, but u can try to read more..?

Juliana: glad tat u enjoyed Ros' massage.. after ur session, she confirmed with me for Sun, will see how it goes..

Debbie: I am also going to KKH for SCBB, but this Sat.. They just called to re-confirm in case I forgotten.. do you want me to take a look for you first?

Bubbly: Hope it will turn out good for u too this Sunday. ;-)

DBaby: Yes, yes would love to get some porridge recipes from you next time. :D

Update on the IVF mix up, the couple decided to keep the baby. Thank goodness coz the baby is innocent and still has the mother's DNA.

thanks juliana! happy for the baby! told my hubby to watch the bb closely cos i'm delivering at TMC. at TMC they bring the bb out to the counter to do the checkup and measurements but i remember when i delivered at KKH, all the measurements and stuff done in the same delivery room as i was in. the nurse will bring the tag to mummy to verify name b4 they tag it on the bb in front of our eyes.

Nate: No problem. I'm also delivering in TMC. I told my hb abt this case and told him to follow them when they bring the baby for check up and make sure they tag correctly.

In the birth plan, I wonder if we can request for them to do the check-up in the same delivery room. I know the birth plan that someone shared here has that as one of the items.

is that possible? cos when i went to the hospital tour, they said it's like their standard practice that they take weight and length at the counter outside. if that's possible it'll be great!

mummies delivering at TMC, which PD will u be choosing for the checkup when bb is born? my dr say can choose but i don't even know any of the dr there.

cindy, ya i think ear is better than the forehead type? But my SIL also told me get one more for the armpit in case ear sometimes not so accurate for young babies.

bubbly, oh it's alright!! don't need trouble you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Thanks anyway!

Hi Nate-

to answer your question, you can ask your gynae to recommend you any PD thats associates to TMC.

Theres a lot. I was recommended DR Koay. I posted his link before,but here you go again. He has shifted to Novena Medical centre,but still does his daily routines at TMC.

http://www.novenamedicalcenter.com/Our-Clinics/Novena-Children-Clinic.html

After my daughter finished the expected immunisation, i then shifted her to normal neighbourhood PD near my place in marine parade.

Hi klitz,congrats on the baby weight.

I went for my 33weeks5days scan today,my girl is LOW LOW LOW. As expected by me,she is all e way down at my pelvic,have not enganged but gynae mentioned gonna be about the same time as my older one as she is already in a good position,which explains my earlier complains about pelvic ache and strain near that area.

Oh baby weight same as andrea if i am not wrong.1.8kg.Grown 500g,i gained 1.5kg the last 3weeks. She is still petite compared to the average but putting on weight really well,and guess easier to push by then.

klitz, wow good weight for your baby. i think your baby is catching up with the weight, that's why your gynae didn't say anything. just enjoy our food now[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Juliana, go for it. Really need to enjoy our food before we pop, if not we will need to substains from some food during next few months. Hubby is getting some duck from ubi industrial park tomorrow, yummy long time never eat the roasted duck liao[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

juliana: hope so! =)

stefie: my appt is at 9.30am.. hahaha.. not sure if we'll bump into u.. maybe u will the appt after us?

dew: is there anything to clarify for you? they asked very detailed questions when I called them the other day.. feels good to do good deed, and in good hands.. if you could meet them anywhr near mrt during office hours, you do not have to go down to meet up with them..

debbie: no prob!

just a while more for mummies to knock off.. have a nice long weekend! i think i am turning mouldy after 2 days of rest.. =(

re -

The measurements,weight,and all for TMC are done outside. Your labour partner will be asked to follow the nurses and they will do everything infront of em. My husb was busy snapping pictures and all.

And before that, they will already ask you to verify your tag ,name,ic that your baby will wear once he/she is being weigh they ll do all this simultaneously, and with someone like your husband or you witnessing.

Oh pictures of my daughter first few mins-

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b262/himawari_val_17/shan/IMG_5846.jpg

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b262/himawari_val_17/shan/17102007002.jpg

.Will appreciate it if this is only shared among here. Thanks.

Klitz, ur gal is 2.5kg at wk32! So good. I wish mine was big too then I dun need to worry so much about my preterm csection.

All the talk abt massage also makes me feel like getting massage too. Back has been aching quite a bit.

Who is Ros? massage lady? can recommend me? I need to book for jamu. Any recommendations please? Thank you.

debbie, armpit thermo think might be more reliable hehe thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

amuro, i tot baby low is good? easier for delivery i guess, but discomfort for mummy haha

Cindy, yea I think armpit thermometer is more accurate too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But I heard sometimes if baby sick they will refuse to let us measure temperature under their armpit. So I think I'll get both ear and armpit thermometer to standby.

those mummies gg to deliver at Parkway East, FYI, all measurement n tagging will be done in e delivery suite.

but i stl ask my hubby to watch out no matter wat.

debbie, my thermo also havent bought, still thinking wat to buy coz the ear ones so ex T_T

amuro, haha nvm la..discomfort will end in 1mth plus :p

think faster labour good, my friend say she was in labour for 9hrs T_T

cant imagine haha

On thermometer, I bought Braun for the ear one. I bought from spree here, much cheaper coz order direct from US (Target) but have to wait for the delivery, may take 4-6 weeks to arrive.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/4277386.html?1288865745

I'm planning to buy another one for armpit, because during the dr's talk, he said below 3 months use the armpit digital thermometer coz bb still very small, then later stage can use the Ear Thermometer.

So sweet of Ros. She just called me to ask if everything ok with me, whether I felt any contractions or stomach ache after the massage.

hihi mummies, how haf u been?

its been a wk+ since i last post in due to a v bad flu..

but im betta le, oh how i wish i cld join for e GWP high tea...sob sob..

Stefie,

oh Stefie, r u gg w ur hubby this Sat? hahaS can i tag along if ur don mind me as a big lamp post? hahaS oh but u book alrdy hor..hmm.. mayB next tym ba =) Stef can u email me ur confinement herbs list?

Debbie,

where can i get e waterproof mattress protector? Do u thnk KKH wld haf it?=)

Crystal,

can u email me ur list of confinement herbs to get too? here's my email addy, [email protected],thkQ!=)

Just went for my gyane appt this afternoon. Babygirl's grown about 300g plus since last week and now she weighs 2.4-2.5kg. Doc says my fluid level went up too. So she told me to go back for checkup next week and if everything's good, maybe we can take it to week 38 instead of inducing early. Hope she grows more next week too!

Hope all mummies are doing well! Enjoy your long weekend!

melissa, that is VERY GOOD news!!!

hope tat ur bb will stay longer in ur tummy... cross fingers for u.

yuening, will send u the list shortly.

bubbly, lovebyte, joyce and yuening, i have sent u all the confinement list. Sorry i did not check my email for couple of days.. so i reply onli now.

Yuening, I just bought a matress protector from Ikea and it's $9.90 I think. But I haven't open it up so dunno how it looks like. Anyway if I'm not wrong some mummies here said that kiddypalace have? I can't remember. The shops at KKH along delifrance there may have but I'm not sure cos I don't go KKH often. I also know of a bulk purchase thread that sells the cot fitted mattress protector too. It's $18 at the bulk purchase for baby cot mattress. They also got sell mattress protector for queen size bed also. Hope the link below is useful to you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/4599717.html

Melissa, congrats on good baby weight growth! Eat more ya [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I think your baby in good hands as your gynae seems to know what to do very well.  

klitz, congrats on healthy baby weight gain!

melissa, congrats on your good news too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

juliana, thanks for the news on the IVF couple. am glad the baby is kept. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] great decision on the parents side.

yuening, hope u feel better soon.

bubbly, thanks for the info! maybe i can meet up with them on 22/11 when i have taken my ML. more flexible on timing. i've already written an email to them and they have replied. said hv assigned someone to contact me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

stefie, thanks for the birthplan. i will do that now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummies/mummies to be

wow the thread really move so so fast.

thks for all the advise on what brands to buy. looks like alot of you are using pigeon, but it is also the most expensive brand [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

it is popular coz its a japanese brand?

sorry... i'm trying to be a bit more cost-concious here esp for diapers, i heard need to change like 8 diapers per day?

sounds like really expensive if use those disposable ones.

has anyone here tried the house brands eg ntuc or first choice. i was just thinking esp for the start, since change so many times a day, using cheaper brands will save a lot leh.

nateM - yes i saw the sofy 41 cm pads - that's the longest I've seen around.

lovebyte - is napisan a brand? i dont really see it around. whr u got it from?

happyhippo,

True true. Using cheaper brands diapers will save a lot. I intend to use cheaper brand, guess if change frequently every 3 hr shld be ok. Hopefully, my gal is not fussy. Haha.

By the way, think metro and OG having 20% storewide sale this long weekend. Enjoy shopping!

Yes, Ros is the massage lady for pre-natal and post natal. I have used her for all my three kids.She is reliable in her service and her skills are extraodinary and very reasonable for her value added service during the massage. Please be patient with her on the schedule as she is trying her best to accomodate her client's schedule. Be assured she will definitely commit to the post-natal sessions once delivered.

btw, i heard some ppl use nappy liners on their disposable nappies, so they can just throw those liners away and reuse nappy if it's just pee. that could be a cost saving method.

Cindy,

Thermometers

For bb at 1 month till 3 mths armpit is best .. Thereafter ear thermo is better.. Coz temptation is close to body heat..

Bye bye

Jie meis I am going kl in few hours Time with my two little boys and hb.. Going there to collect 10 bottles of vinegar ..the particular brand only kl have.. At the same time bring my kids to berjaya time sq the theme park... Now too heavy to go any where so just stay there and play there

Sad

Today I when to fuhua.. Ask for confinement used pao seng.. Tho 3rd pregnancy but first time buying coz dad bought previously.. I remembered he bought about 700 plus just a small quanity.. So I asked the sales girl.. She said those are they best wild pao seng.. Now no more coming in.. No wonder my mil keep coming over and ask my Cl if I can finish the pao seng .. If not she want to bring back!! Very sad coz now daddy not around . No one to pamper me..

Gosh, I can't sleep...dunno why...went to toilet and now awake.

Crystal can I trouble u to email me the confinement herb stuff. I still havnt gotten anything yet...

How many bottles of vinegar, sesame oil etc should we get? What brand is good har?

Joycec, I'll email u later today? Cos I'm using iPhone now hahha too small to access mail and forward. I bought the shuang Liao bulldog brand vinegar 2 big bottles at least. Depending on ur cl. What she is cooking for u. The sesame oil is the same. I bought pagoda brand.

Ya me too just woke up to go toilet now trying to zzz.

E square, so sad to hear howmuch u miss ur daddy. Dun b too down oki? Ur daddy will watch over u and ur lil one from above.

Watching tv rite now, guess there r too much things on my mind, that is why cannot sleep. As the due date draw closer I feel tht I'm not so prepared.

Thanx crystal!

hi melissa,

that's great news! hope baby can continue to gain weight and stay till wk 38. i'm praying that mine will grow well too and need not be induced at wk 37.

hi klitz,

ongrats on baby's good weight.

hi Esquare,

hugs... ur dad's still looking over u.

hi joycec and crystal,

I can't sleep too though i'm super tired.

Crystal ,

Could you email me the list too? At [email protected]

Crystal , tan tan

Thanks for the comforting.. Dad has always been my pillar and my mom too.. So two woman depend so much on him..

He loves my kids so much and never think twice when buying things for them.. My in laws however never spend a single cent on my kids.. They only buy things for my sil kids...

Sad sad.. But God is good coz my kids never lacks of toys..