(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

Orangebb, don't feel that way!! Pregnant n giving birth is not easy.. Everyone has their difficulties.. Don't think negatively!! Cheer up k!

Jewel, I wanna go out!! Haha.. We shall meet for lunch after my confinement before u head back to work!!

Bluesoda, sometimes my boy also poo after feed.. Then very fast hungry again..

Medela softshield,

Have to change very fast? Only recently I started to pump more often.. Mine haven't turn yellow.. But after seeing all ur post I think mine changing color soon.. My friend did told me that the softshield has to change quite often.. Maybe I shd order soon ti stand by..

Any mummies staying at east side? Like bedok, Tampines ?

Maybe we could have a east side mummies gathering hehehe

I'm still thinking when I shld return to work..... Haiz

my medela softshield still ok. perhaps coz i havemore than 1 set. for each pump, i use one set (eg. set A). then after the pumping session, i put the parts in the fridge. time for next pump, take out and continue using set A. i only wash set A at the end of the day. next day, use set B to pump. then wash set B at end of day. then sterilise both sets together. i use hot water on the shields. so effectively, the softshields don't wear out as quickly (in that sense), coz they are not subjected to hot water everyday...

Wow, all talking about gng back to work....but u all did not take all 4 months aka 16 weeks at one shot? For me I am taking 16 weeks at one go + another 8 days of my last year leave. So I will be going back to work in March.

For me, I kind of cant bear my CL to go back, coz wif her around I can nap and pump milk any time of the day coz she is there to take care of my gal. Also, I do not need to wake up for night feed as she is doing it for me right now. I cant imagine how I am going to cope with taking care of my gal, feeding her, pumping etc without her around.

high Five Diana...i also take 16wks + 7days AL hehehe

i also thinking ...after CL leave i got chance to use the frozen EBM already cos i doubt i have time to pump hahaha

Lee hong: sorry to hear that. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] *hugs* Hope your hb will change his mind. Try enticing your girl with something she likes? If really she has to go, you have to tell herto call you everyday.

CSI

Oic. i sterilize after every use with hot water.. thought need to sterilize after every use? haiz.. like that very siongz leh.. now only 6 weeks i already go thru 2 sets liaoz.. haiz...

Strawberrys: don't throw, mix with flour and do a spa on yourself. Soak your nails in it, your skin will be smooth and nice! Milk bath also can! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jewel: it's normal. The amount will increase gradually to meet bb's needs. SS will be even more when bb is 3 or 4 months. Wow! You good ah! Just went solo and you bring bb out! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

OrangeBB: i have the air and bubble feeling too. But i delivery via C-Section. I guess its just probably air?

Any mummies who did C-section and has lumpy muscles around the incision area? Not sure it this is normal. My ML said that i walked too much after delivery which results in the lumpiness.

ML: yes I use the handsfree, quite easy to use after know, take less than few sec to clip on to the bra. But u gd la.. can think to stuff inside ur bra.. I never tot of it!.. I was using my 2 hands to hold b4 tat... haha.

Medela softshield: I pump & heat them frequently, so the rate of it spoiling is higher. I will be ordering an extra pair to standy in case it break into 2 like some of the mummies encountered.

Hammiebao: Can.. think in Jan I shld be v free liao.. bb will go nanny's place & I wont be back to work till feb. oh yeah, I also wana buy mattress protector. Can let me know which BP is better? TIA.

jewel

i just realised that u brought baby out on your own.. wah.. how u do that? i still don't dare to do so.. u drive? I don't.. bring him out got tons of barang barang and when i use the sling to carry him.. very flimsy..

hahaha.. i look at the handsfree like so complicated so my hubby suggested to stuff it inside my bra and it works..

i also need need to order extra cause i use it like 6-7 times daily to pump.. i don't latch mah so bo bian

good that your supply is increasing.. mine is barely keeping up with his demand.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jo: ic, God really is a amazing creator of life. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] After the diasater on the first nite my CL left where we oni had 3 hrs of sleep, my hub took leave to help me these 2 days... 2 pairs of hands are def. better than 1. Those mummies going solo after CL leaves better rope another person to help for a few days before really going solo.

btw ladies with csect

does your doc advise u to use a cream and some plaster to prevent keloids? my plaster cause 25 bucks per piece leh.. heartache leh...

diana...i will continue to latch so i think supply wont drop bah...else will still continue to pump but not as frequent as now

btw my CL will sterilize the medela stuff together with the bottle so it is almost sterilizing it after every pump

ML yes..my gynae did gave me cream ($98) to apply and plaster ($68) to cover the wound

ML: no la, hus went also.. he is the driver, I sling the bb, she now wt like a 5kg pack of rice. Pack everything the bb need inside the diaper bag. First timer, we forgot to bring the napkin... so we use tissue paper instead. :p

Went out abt 6 hrs, fed bb twice, change diaper once at shopping mall. Not perfect now, but with practise shld be more "zai".

Jewel: I'm sure by next week you will be able be on solo without P plate! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I haven't gone out with 2 yet cos these few days car giving me prob. Can't wait to go out with them! My poor #1 is so bored at home. I have to be a magician! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] sometimes I really wish I have magical powers so I can just change situation as I like! Ha ha ha... Too much magic show from tv! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ML: yes, I have the silicon plaster but not the cream. Can last about 2 weeks I think.

Orangebb: I also used to encounter air bubble at v-area for the 1st-2nd week. Later on ok already... A bit like "fang pi" feeling right?

I also dont know why I thought is normal, might be some air got into there during giving birth... lol...

ML: Softshield for medela will turn yellow if sterilise with very hot water... I also spoiled mine.

My friend intro me with this Supershield, which is a hard shiled, but the shape and allow us to lied back against the back of the chair while pumping.

I feel this shield allow me to yield better BM. Slightly better, as in increase of 10ml each side per pump.

And it is so easier to sterlise without worrying abt the shield will turn yellow or not.

It got one drawback which is when releasing might drip some of the breastmilk due to the shape.

Jo: even just only pumping, ss will also increase overtime? Or only with latching will increase with bb demand?

Just to check with mummies here, when nursing bb, and he is like keep moving his hand and unable to be still. What does it mean? Not enough BM e got angry or he can't drink?

Clover: Thanks for your link, I think it enlightne me how to do a better latch. At least my boy can stay with me for 20-30min for sometime.

I only nursing him once a day and most of the time will express out. If still not enough will top up with formula. At least from only can ss him 1/3 of his daily demand, now is moving to 1/2. Hope it still can be improve.

jewel

oic.. i thought u solo... went out with my boy 2 times with hubby.. his poo leaked and we had to change him outside.. faintz.. really messy.. only went solo to my hb office in the sling.. hahaha..

oneegg

erm.. i should give it a try if not very siongz to change the softshield every time..

Re : solo

I went out with bb on tues to office to pass them cake vouchers. Put bb on carrier, left the diaper bag in the stroller and took cab there. Upon reach changevbb to put inside stroller so she can sleep better and I can take my lunch lol. Afterall not so bad cos no.2 Liao more experience lol.

Bluesoda - did u wash bb after every poo? Try applying desitin after changing diaper hope rash will go off soon.

Re : gg back work

I also took 16 weeks + 15 days AL. Wonder if I still rember hw to work after gg back : p

Koori

At least yours is just remembering how to work. Me is going back to new workplace. My whole team resigned!!! But hopefully my npl is approved .

For bottle washing, I use the tollyjoy brand. I use sponge to wash the bottles and for inside, just poke in with chopsticks. I find the brush dun really help to get rid of the oily milk. I will cut up the sponge to fit.

For rashes etc, I highly recommend this aloe Vera gel. Its in a transparent tube brand is jorubi. Very effective! Have been using it for my #1 for all sorts of things, rashes, bites, scars etc. Very good. Can get from kiddy palace. But cheaper from those beauty shops that sell parallel import items. My hubby stock up when he go Chinatown. I also use it for my pimples. I really call it a "wan neng" gel.

Jovial - ur Goon diapers @$17 is for what size?

Mummies, just to check, I currently using huggies small size. But seems that it's tight around the thighs, but still ok around waist, any recommendations on diaper brand for such case?

Oh yes, for clearing pee sai from nose, my pd taught us to use the citation bud from pigeon, which is really small and is wooden sticks instead of plastic, insert into bb nose and just twist/ twirl the stick at the pee sai to twirl it out. It's so sticky, the rest will follow. Tricky bit is that ur bb wld prob not like it, not painful but prob ticklish or irritatingly heh. But so far so good for. Of course first time abit jia lat lah.

Anyone knows if I continue to pump exclusively will the bm supply increase? Or it will stay stagnant?

I rarely latch baby cos now I follow a schedule so that I can go out if I want. :p

Koori

Ya. Things are so bad there. Hopefully 4-6 mths. Actually want to look for new job. ;p

Strawberry

My supply never increase leh. Actually dropped a bit. How? But my boy too impatient to latch and can only latch using nipple shield

Hi lee hong,

Yr colleague quite terrible but I think my case was worse.

I was on very close terms with this auntie colleague in the office. On my no.2 full mth I arranged sweetest moments to send boxes of cakes to my colleagues who had contributed ang pao. This auntie colleague contributed $10 but what's worse is she went to tell another colleague whom I am also close with that she only eat expensive cakes like durian cakes from those hotels and so she only eat the mochi in the big box of treats I ordered for her. She even say she give the rest to the security guard to eat. Other colleagues also can hear what she say...

Is sweetest moments cakes really that bad? She hasn't even eat .... I'm really disappointed and upset that I trusted and made friend with such a person...

Strawberry, i got feedback from mummy here that the cake from sweetest moment not bad wor.. She received good comments.. I planning to order from them also as it's cheaper but I don't know how many box to order

Jewel, Jan on! I will arrange lunch in Jan.. Hahahahahaha.. I will force myself to bring bb out solo! Haha

Oneegg, where can get the Supershield? I wanna Lied back while pumping! Haha is it exp? Thanks

Koori, I saw ur baby's photo in the newborn shoot thread, ur bb very cute! I decided to ask my bro n my SIL's bf to take some pic for bb next week.. Hee

How often do we have to clear pi sai for bb? I nv clear before leh, bb 14 days old Liao.. Haha sometime he sleep will have some sound like snoring.. Is it because got pi sai inside?

ML, I dun sterilise the pump after every use...coz lazy. hahaha. I leave pump in air tight container inside fridge. ebM can last in fridge for up to 24 hrs so my thots are, likewise, the residue BM in the pump can also last as long...and my pump is in fridge for less than 24hrs...so shd be ok. hehs.

my colleagues v funny. I know got 16 pax share to give me hamper, but it's across 2 depts, so I asked the dept's secretary who these 16 pax are so that I can give them vouchers. They refuse to tell me! keep saying no need to give them voucher blah blah blah. hahaha....but I pai seh leh...

Air/bubble: i see not only me having the prob. Mine only started on 2nd wk. Hope it'll go away soon.

Koori: how long did ur air/bubble last? Did u do anything to get rid of it. Its irritating

mummy wong: I dun sterilised 1 bottle by 1 bottle. I sterilised 6 at one go. So after sterilised, i keep the bottles in an airtight container. bery xiong if clean 1 bottle each feed.

So far, I had been a silent reader of this thread. My baby is also borned this month. I have a question on shaving hair. Is it advisable to do it in the 1st month or fourth mouth?

Exclusive pumping: I have been doing it for awhile. Supply hasn't increased but I realized supply dropped when I didnt have enough rest after Cl left. No afternoon naps and gotta wake up a night to coax bb to sleep.

Going solo: I haven't got the guts to try yet especially with so many things to carry. Diaper bag is heavy (thermal flask and all) and gotta bring own bag. Bb is 5kg. Not to mention I can't latch on bb well at home. Scared I will not be able to manage outside. I told my hubby cny gotta carry out pumps if I'm still b feeding at that time! Can't imagine. I went shopping at orchard today. Left my Medela Pisa at home. I brought my Medela electric mini and pumped at the nursing room at ck tangs. The pump is so noisy. Plus it's a single electric pump. Find that it's v messy cuz while pumping one breast the other side will leak. I realized when I look at bb's pix or hear bb's cries the let down is automatic or v fast. Other mummies also have the same experience?

Sterilizing: in the day after every pump my maid will wash and put the parts in an air tight Tupperware. Before I use I normally run hot water (90 degrees from my Tiger water flask) over the valves. Before the maid sleeps, she will sterilize for me and I will keep the pump at my bedside table. I only pump once at night now usually 4am or 5am. Too lazy lah.

Anyone using pupsik slings? Just bgt one from mothercare earlier. Hope my bb can adapt to it so that I can bring him out for short trips. I don't think I can manage the stroller yet[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] btw mothercare has 10% to 15% discount for Amex members depending on pdt now.

Strawberry - my sill pumped exclusively. Think she will increase pumping intervals to increase supply accordingly.

Hammiebao, I only clear pee sai when i can see and it's not too deep inside, and if the pee sai is like blocking the nostril or if hv little hole for bb to breathe.

my aunt visited today. She tld me for csec, better to slp on the sides. If slp on the bk, body will grow horizontally, eg waist n buttock wider. Wonder hw true.

Jewel: Even if bb is burped it is possible wind will go in too. I read somewhere before even when they are crying they are actually swallowing wind inside already hence will result in tummyache. So the more they cry the more air is swallowed.

hammiebao: Nutmeg oil is 'dou kou you'. Has the same function as ruyi oil too. Yah my CL does clean kitchen and mop floor after every cooking session but I have a off-white kitchen top so it will get stains easily. Sometimes she didnt clean dark colour gravy fast enough so got stain and she doesnt scrub it off, just wipe only.

pimple on bb - Are you all refering to those white pimple? I ask doc before they are safe, dont squeeze it and leave it there it will eventually dry up and disappear.

cake vouchers: Can I check if I already ordered cupcakes for all my collegues and I did invite some to the full mth celebration , do I still need to give them cake vouchers in return?

Chris: I find because for each spray the water is much more compared to a drop hence the dry peesai thingy is being flush out more easier. He doesnt cry when i use the spray but when i try to fish out the pee sai then he starts kicking a fuss. Btw, is your bb having running nose or blocked nose? If not wrong medi will be different, cos i think the spray like more suitable for blocked nose kind leh.

Velvet: Thanks for sharing the method to fish out the pee sai cos been always using tissue paper and my bb is super impatient.

Oneegg: it's not written but from what I read, first 3 months, milk is stimulated by bb's suckling. Pumping does work also but maybe better if you have latched bb before. I know of people who latched a few times then switched to pumping exclusive, SS is good and consistent. I think it should work also.

Hammiebao: I think my friend got from either mums & babes or some spree to get it. Cos she got extra set n pass to me try out.so I don't know the price but should not be super exp ba.

Jo: thanks for ur info. Hopefully ss still k increase.

I've been trying to figure out why baby has been fussing quite abit these past 2 days. I think it may be linked to a couple of things that I observed my CL has been doing:

1. Hitting baby's back very hard while trying to burp her. I believe this made baby very upset such that she would cringe her body and not allow the CL to burp her. Her face turns red and she cries and resists. My CL would give me a face and say baby doesn't want to burp. DUH! If I were hit so hard on my back I would also resist!!

2. Waiting till baby cries very loudly before giving a feed. Now that I am expressing my milk, it takes time for CL to heat up the milk from the fridge. She takes her own sweet time and by time baby is frustrated and crying loudly. So when it comes to the feed, it becomes a struggle cos she is already red in the face from crying.

3. Rough handling. My CL is big-built. She eats more than me at each meal. And she thinks that just becos she is experienced, she wants to do things fast eg. changing baby, carrying baby, putting baby down. She treats baby so callously. I would be upset also if I was roughly-handled.

4. Impatient feeding. Baby is drinking around 100ml at a feed and in between, sometimes baby will take a rest. The CL wants to finish the job quickly, so she will do all sorts of things like turn the bottle, try to pull it away etc, so it forces baby to quickly suck again.

5. Not thorough in burping. There were quite a few times that baby had thrown up significant amount of milk after she put baby down in the cot. When I asked if she had burped baby, she said yes. When I observed her, I noticed that she hits baby hard to make her burp quickly and after that she 'considers the job done'. Burping should make baby feel comfortable. What she is doing is force-burping the baby!

Also, I notice that sometimes, a 1-time burp is not enough, especially when baby has drank quite alot and quite quickly. Baby needs time to digest and get comfortable. This quick and dirty way of getting baby to drink and burp quickly makes baby feel uncomfortable!

My MIL's idea is that since we hire the CL, it is so that I can have more rest. Therefore, I should leave the CL to do the work. But I am watching my CL like a hawk now cos it hurts me that baby has been crying and I don't trust baby in her hands.

Sigh, I really wish to sack/slap this CL!! She can be 20+ years of experience and still sux! MIL asks me to endure for 1week more, at least CL can prepare the food and my bath etc so I don't touch water and have enough nutritous food during this 1 month. Can't wait for this 1 week to be over and for me to be rid of her!

Koori: your newborn photoshoot is nice! your baby has beautiful eyes [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I tried the NB shoot with my baby but she refused to be put in that frontal lying position!