(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

Re CL:

Even the "better" ones may not suitable for all mummies.. cos every mummies focus on different thing durign confinement eg. cleanliness, food or caring for the baby etc. & every CL has their strength & weaknesses. So it's like employing the rite person for the rite job. If you do reference check (intro by someone who has used the CL b4) then chances of getting the rite person is high.

At the end of the day employing a gd CL deps on luck. If she is bearable, you oni have to put up with her for 28 days. If unbearable, you can always fire her when you find a solution or replacement.

Jewel: pix.. At first I tot it's for nipple colour. Mine turn from pink into very dark colour. Hope the colour will change back aft giving birth. I also experience itchy nipples sometimes. And I just wash with tap water to relieve the itchiness.

U r really funny, tat's sound like a v good motivation in doing my thesis. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jewel: wat is a prenatal education system for? What does it do? What is babyplus?

Diana/all mummies: what is a liner? is the one to wrap outside the cloth diaper?

hpc: ya, maybe ur MIL say say only. well, i try to refrain fr cold drinks at first, but now.... i din bother... same like you, I took the cold HL milk fr fridge. But I will stock up again on Anlene packet milk n put one beside the bed everynite. Don need to walk all the way to kitchen. =D

hpc: u r very funny! write an email to ur hubby. wahahhahaah! super bo liao!

Jo: ya! I think I better ask IL to come daytime only, else baby still sleeping, but I have to wake up early morning coz of her. *faint. Am going to talk to hubby later abt the issue. He just got back fr oversea n havent got the chance to tok to him coz he lost his hp there. Only have 30min to negotiate b4 having dinner w ILs....

Jewel/Nana: I just bought mothercare nipple cream too. My left side itchy & dry too. Such a coincidence!

Cold Drinks:-

heard from others that we should not take too much cold drinks coz the baby may get "cold wind". But the weather is very hot. Can't stop myself from taking some cold drinks. Esp yogurt drink and fresh milk..have to take it cold rite?

But i refrain myself from taking Coke and Bubble Tea.

Nana,

Changing nipple colour is thru bleaching. The cream will contain an chemical agent called hydro-peroxide or the likes of it, which is poisonous... so cannot use it on nipple now.

Sad to say, nipple colour will lighten slightly after breastfeeding but unlikely turn back to your original pink for asians. this is just one of the sacrifices of being a mother lo. :eek:

Jewel/Nana /Orangebb

i have the same problem too. checked with gynae... and was given calamine lotion to apply to relieve the itch

Orangebb:

u know the chinese phrase "tai jiao" = prenatal education. To "educate" the bb b4 it comes out of your tummy, cos bb develop hearing ability ard week 16.. so it's like a head start for bb. Err...or in another words, it's for kiasu parents *shy*. Nevertheless, according studies, pre-natal education is effective & bb learn faster after birth.

Bbplus is just 1 equipment & program to educate bb thru listening. You can read more abt bbplus here & how it works here:

http://www.babyplus.com/WhatIsIt.php

I suppose there are other pre-natal pdt in the market, but bbplus seems to be popular among mummies.

Angsc>> Cn I keep the 1st one for nw n bk another CL at the same time. Thn whn 1st CL ask mi for deposit (do thy ask for tat?), thn I double confirm w her if she cn mak it?

Bluesoda>> Y resist bubble tea? Any particular reason? I hv bn taking tat vry often. It is vry nice leh.

Talking abt nipple. Mine turns uglier everyday since I got preggy. Thy r nw almost 10 times the size of my hubby’s nipple. So ugly n “er xin” tat I don’t even dare to touch or look at them.

Jus finish with Dr ANg and he try the 3d scan but bb still too small too see. And it's comfirmed gal. Dr ang's prediction is right!!

orangebb:

liner for cloth diaper is like this extra cloth like paper that u put on the diaper, where the bb pees/poos..that way it makes the diaper easier to wash! bb poo is very strong coloured, so stain can be tough to wash off, liner makes is easier [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

speaking of nipples, if mummies are keen on using nipple cream for itchiness, i'd highly recommend the lansinoh brand lanolin nipple cream..really helps relieve itch and was great to help w healing when i had cracked/sore nipples during BF last time..one tube lasts super long, i still have mine now but am using it as lip balm ;p

BTW big dark nipple are part of the preparation for breastfeeding..so dark so bb can see it when they're born to help with them latching on ( acc to books i've read, and also Mrs Wong from TMC's prenatal class)..so just see it as functional lor..

Congrats Bam, can start thinking of names & do shopping liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chris.. lol. I can't imagine after breastfeeding how the nipples will turn out. I heard some frens said the tips will be bigger (like small grapes) OMG!

orangebb - hope ur hb will understand and agree with you & get a CL. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hehe, rem all the points tat Jewel stated and tell ur hb! Good luck gerl.

Irene - haha, I don't wana hope too much. They already don't bother to take the trip down the steps to the corridor to smoke. But we'll really ban them from smoking in the house in future. So even if they close the door, I'll get my hb to knock and tell them off. It's bobian de, don't want to compromise my bb's immune system. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bam - Congrates on finding out that it's a girl! Hehe, can start buying cute stuff liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chris - be selfish. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] It's for ur own good woh. What if the assignment she has in Oct give birth late? Then she can only come to you late? Or that u give birth early? Just give her an excuse that ur MIL will be doing confinement for u or sth like that loh. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Then faster go confirm the one tat ur MIL recommends. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

chris,

I am not sure if you can do it. Like what you say, it seems not so ethical.

For my case, my CL was in Spore, doing a confinement when I called her. So she conveniently asked me for a $200 deposit. As she is recommended by my friend, I paid her the $$ based on trust. Hope she don't play me out.

Bam,

congrats on confirming it's a girl.

Btw, did Dr Ang charge you extra for the 3D scan?

Joke of the day

Woman: I lost my husband

Inspector: What is his height

Woman: I never noticed

Inspector: Slim or healthy

Woman Not slim can be healthy

Inspector: Color of eyes

Woman: Never noticed

Inspector: Color of hair

Woman: Should be black

Inspector: What was he wearing

Woman: I don't remember exactly

Inspector: Was somebody with him ?????????

Woman: Yes my Labrador dog (Romeo), tied with a golden chain, height 30 inches, healthy, blue eyes, blackish brown hair, his left foot thumb nail is slightly broken, he never barks, wearing a golden belt studded with blue balls, he likes non veg food, we eat together, we jog together.

The woman started crying

Inspector: Let's search for the dog first!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ok, guess i better confirm the CL recommended by my MIL thn. Hope she is gd n will nt tell stories to my MIL.

Sometimes can't std my MIL. Ever since I got preggy she keep asking if its a boy or gal. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Super stress by her.

Jewel>> I really can't afford to hv my nipples pop out anymore than wat it is nw. Thy will probably drop out! And I probably hv to wear E cup bcos of thm. I have alrdy upgraded fr a 34A to nw a 85C. And I m only half way through my pregnancy. Btw, will the 2 buns get bigger during bf or will thy shrink?

I heard they say don take cold drinks/ stuff is coz it may cause baby to get cold or flu easily.

Jewel: thanks! I'll check out babyplus.

Chris: I think the bubble tea's bubble is very fattening.... even for non-preg

abt nipple: seems to be having some ugly dark spots surrounding the nipple... wat is it?

Congrats Bam!!! Shopping time!! Btw, detail scan is using 3d scan? Do we choose it or detail scan is suppose to be 3d?

lilyn/Diana: I'll check out the liner.

Thanks Angel. I will tell him later after work.

chris: for the initial bb fluttering movement at earlier weeks, for me, i think i felt it around the tummy area...may not always below the belly button.

sharon: congrats on having a boi boi [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] good luck to ur amnio/detail scan! dun worry too much on the amnio test, everything shld be fine. just stay positive [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

nana: ya i heard not too much tea, coffee, coke due to caffine also...but i cannot hold off them totally leh..still taking a cup of tea everyday esp during weekday. as for coke, i try share with hubby lor...during warm weather, drink coke really shiok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oh..dun give urself too much stress on the thesis..take care orh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bam: congrats on having a lil ger [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] all the cute lovely clothes for her liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chris (christine77sg) - I also not too sure, prob because is cold tea..so may be too "cold" so i was advised not to have bubble tea. I love bubble tea alot so is terrible not being able to have it for 9 mths!!!

Prenatal education -

As for prenatal education, i have started listening to music by Raimond Lap. You may like to check this out:-

http://lovelybaby.rglmusic.com/music4babies/en/

Chris - Haha, ask ur MIL back lar, if it matters that it's boi or girl. Both also grandchild wat. And ask her if she'll be those who will pian xin, and don't like girl. hahahaha~ Should be nothing to say, unless she's those super traditional ones who must have boys. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wow chris ur breasts really can grow! by the time u bf ur breasts size wld be max liao. But ur breasts wld be Fuller n heavier as it holds milk. So must wear bra even at nite so that they won't sag fr gravity.

My breasts size was 85c originally so by end of pregnancy I no eyeS see.

Irene, how much is the 4d scan at Nuh?

Thks Irene for ur quick response.

Tats not too ex leh... 3D was ard 200.

duno if bb big enuff to take 4d... guess have to ask gynae.

irene

wher can we find more details for the 4D scan package?

MIL's gifts--- ya... better not to rcv anyting frm them so no need return anything in future also..

i hate in laws who prefers boi to gers. wat world r we in now? stil got such preferences one meh? unfortunatley my MIL is one of them which i v 'buay song' abt it. ger nt own bb meh? im lucky to get a boi at #1 else i will be so pressurized tis x..

Bam

congrates on ur bb ger confirmation. im seeing Dr ang also n he also gave me 80% ger confimation on mine. so hope he is as accurate as for my prediction. wow lau like wait for exam results like tat. my big day for d scan is on tis fri. so kan cheong

Cold Drinks,

ive try to restraint myself from cold drinks too.. specially towards my craving (orange juice).. cos many old tales says that will led to phlegm n cold to baby next time. Bubble tea, ya.. it is fattenin.. so try to cut down. Usually durin my lunch, i will still buy cold can drink, but drank it while its non-so-cold, n without ice. Coke is another killer, altho i will drink them once awhile..but try not to drink too much cos it contain caffine. not good for the growin of the bbay, high sugar too... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bb Kickin,

altho i dunno the gender yet.. but my lill one kick is vigourously.. he/she will kick or move anytime and hard.. sometimes so hard till i have to stop him/her but 'scoldin' him/her...

Tai Jiao,

Ive been listenin to music.. n did normal readin.. nt so much of readin storybooks out loud.. hehehe!! lazy*

Bam, congrats on ya baby girl..

Cold drinks,

I read from some web site that drinking cold drinks will cause the veins to contract thus less blood flow to the baby.. That was what I read but I still take cold drinks.. Only in the morning I drink hot Milo..

Bam, congrats on confirming he gender!! Baby girl got alot of things to shop!! Mine was told 80% boy and I also to start buying boy's thingy or not.. Have to wait for my detailed scan on 7th July to confirm...

Just for mummies info, I went JB today and did some window shopping and I found that the baby items are quite exp compared to sg.. I checked Avents and pigeon.. Both cheaper in sg with the 20% in most departmental stores and kiddy palace.. Clothings are still quite ok.. Got some rompers from FOS..

I'm also using babyplus. I'm into the 3rd module now. I got it from my friend. It was highly recommended by my male friend. I'm using it everyday though my timing is irregular. His wife had used it when she was pregnant and they are believers of it.

I drink at least a cup of teh o every morning else I find it hard to start the day. Heard that we shd avoid cooling stuffs else our babies may have weak lungs next time. My mil specifically asked me to avoid oranges, water melons etc and asked me to take more apples. Heard that apples are considered neutral. Not too 'heaty' like mangoes and durians too. So much restrictions!

Going for my detailed scan this fri morn at tmc. Looking forward to it!!!

Sorry to interrupt. I hv many items for sale ! Do take a look to see anything interest u ?

PM or email me at [email protected] if keen / any queries as I seldom check forum ?

Thks !

flickr website link :

http://www.flickr.com/photos/49678399@N05/sets/

Breastfeeding & Baby items

http://www.flickr.com/photos/49678399@N05/sets/72157624003474014/

Baby Clothes

http://www.flickr.com/photos/49678399@N05/sets/72157624002140166/

Gift set

http://www.flickr.com/photos/49678399@N05/sets/72157623879129303/

Women Clothes

http://www.flickr.com/photos/49678399@N05/sets/72157624119366387/

I just had my detailed scan done last week and so happy to say that Dr Ang's prediction is accurate so I'll be having a girl! At least I don't have to leleong the spree stuffs I bought for my girl. Now I can go and buy some more!

angsc74, fyi, Dr Ang don't charge for 3D scan. It is free but because it's free, if your baby is not position correctly for the scan capture, then u will have to wait for your next visit.

trishmum, cherie77

R u havin scan at tmc tmr?

Am havin mine at 1145am. Hope i wont get lost tat as my gynae sent me thr for detail scan n blood flow test.

For those considering to get Pigeon sterlisers: Isetan Scotts is selling the Pigeon Rapid Steam Steriliser for $95, and the Multi function sterliser for $126. =)

sorry jewel: actually i meant if i dun remembered wrongly on the NUH 4D scan pricing is ~less than 200. dun noe why im typing ">200" last night..think sleepy at tat time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ya i cannot find the pamphlets tat i got from NUH tat time and also if dun remember wrongly...think can only do 4D at ~28wk so bb is big enough for the scan.

tris mom: oh i was at NUH doing my OSCAR test tat time n saw the pamphlets. not sure if u can check out this 4D pkg info from NUH website.

heard radlink also do 4D scan.

platsplat: congrats for having a lil ger [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sharon: oh when i started to feel the "real" bb movements, its more of like kicking/knocking feeling. but think bb still too small now to make us feel too painful..but i guess with the next few more weeks..its kicks are gg to get more painful [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

angsc74 (angsc74), I am taking cold drinks everyday too....cannot resist [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hopefully our babies will be alright!

Thank you everyone..

Ytd day nite.. I also felt bb kicking..

So excited.. My HB placed his hand on my tummy and he felt it too..

OrangeBB: The detailed scan is 2D scan. Only when we see Dr Ang later in the noon to pass him the report. We were surprised that Dr Ang offered us the 3D Scan. He just told us, he's machine can do 3D and ask us to try and see if bb position is good for us to see. But end up.. no.. So i think next visit, hopefully BB guai guai abit let Dr Ang take 3D scan ba...

Irene:

It's ok, I'm doing my detailed scan this coming mon morn, I will check it out the 4D pkg at NUH & compare with radlink.

Hammiebao: Think for electrical (esp. export stuff) cannot buy from JB, definately more ex. Only local brands and probably clothings, diapers, milk powder, toiletries are worthwhile to get from M'sia.

Orange & Jewel>> I thot so too. I m so nt used to the big bras. Unlike small size bra with many cute design, most of the big ones r auntie looking or uncomfortable. The support of the side keep poking on my armpits. Since my bust increase so much, I think it will b super saggy whn ithy shrink after bf…so sad. Btw, wher to get comfortable big size bras that r nt too expensive? Most of the cheaper ones come in maximum C cup. WAT? Hv to wear bra to slp? I can’t even std wearing thm at hm. Normally I don’t wear whn at hm, nt to mention sleeping. Oh dear, I m going to be super saggy liao.

Irene & Tris mon>> I m also thinking of doing the 4D scan. My colleague did it in paragon. Hw much does it cost in NUH?

Angel >> Unfortunately she is those super traditional type. The whole family is! Imagine the shock I had whn I 1st went to my hubby’s house for dinner, during our courtship. After thy finish the food, everything will b left on the table for the sister n the mum to clear. And “everything” is really EVERYTHING…includes the individual empty rice bowls, utensils and even the bones and shells of whatever fd we had taken. Moreover, my hubby is the eldest son of the family. Haiz…can’t escape.

Seems that babyplus is highly recommended. Anyone knws wher I cn get it cheap? I haven’t done any tai jiao and I haven’t bn eating well….worry my baby will hv difficulty in catching up on learning next time. Thn I will blame myself for life. :-(

Oh, wan2 share w everyone abt eating apples. I have history of asthma n is always worry tat my baby will also inherit it. Thn I read fr sm medical report tat taking apple everyday will reduce chances of baby getting asthmatic. But mayb has to tak more than 1 apple a day to really see the effect.

Chris - Har???? That is really traditional leh. I can't imagine having to clear those stuff that others leave behind. *faint* No wonder you're so stressed by your MIL about bb's gender.

Naf: mine is tmr at 1030 am at tmc. Hope bb will be cooperative. Hehe. Planning to ask gynae to gimme mc tmr. Haven asked my gynae for any mc so far.

Chris,

Dun buy & wear those wired ones, so they wont poke ur sides. U can try cheaper brands like felancy that has the breasts feeding latch (ie. maternity ones). You can buy at OG or Metro (now GSS shld have disc), the sales ladies will recommend u the bra size + give some allowance for growth till birth. Of cos, these maternity bras & panties look aunty cos they are soooo big. If Im the men, I will aso lost interests in xxx.. hahhaha.

I also dun wear bra at home... :p so I'm aso trying to get use to it. No choice lo, if I dun wan sagging breasts & wireless bra is more comfortable to wear to sleep.