(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Thks for the replies on mittens/booties. Looks like i shld start taking them off. Scare she scratch her face but I guess them hv to learn not to do that themselves hor.

Would like to find out how many naps n for how long does your bb sleep during the day?? My bb seems to sleep alot le at nght also can sleep. Bb wakes up 2x for her night feeds then go bk to sleep

Good day everyone!

I just woke up from a nap. so shiok! i was sooo tired i totally conked out. So far Aedan has been well-behaved today... I am waiting to see when night comes.. if he will start wailing again.. seriously hope the probiotics and ridwind is working! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: poo

yah my boy hasnt poo ytd.. and today i am waiting to see if he poos. for mine cos he is on FM.. better for him to poo rather than leave it all inside... heeheheh.. sometimes he poos so damn a lot that i waste a lot of tissues and wet wipes! How come i never thought of washing him in the basin? hahahah silly me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

re: Parenthood fair

Any mummies went? worth to go? hehehehe

Xmas shopping

My hb and I decided to bring baby out to shop for xmas tree tomorrow. Our first time actually bringing a baby out to malls... duno if its a good idea.. cos i scared he get cranky... but there is always a first try right? Hopefully everything turns out well!! Quite worried but at the same time also would like to give it a try.

Jac

my girl has acne previously but now healed. Didn't apply anything, just clean her face with water after feed.

Fenugreek

I didn't notice any smell. Initially my milk smell v fishy cos ate alot of fish. Baby didn't mind so I'm fine with it. Haha it smells nicer than the formula milk though.

HS

aiyo mine is cut n tear,wound measures 5cm leh. That's why v scared to get into action. But next week is out first wedding anniversary so hoping can get some romantic action. But with baby around,kind of not in the mood lei.

Any mummies practice co-sleeping with babies? My girl sleeps between me n hubbu on our bed at night.

Gatherings

I'm staying in sembawang...would love to join any if there's gathering in central [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] need more mommies friends as I'm the only one with kids within my circle of friends...

HS

hmm..can we take pills while bf?we are going to bkk next week and I'm really afraid of #3!!is it true that we are more fertile during this 6mths?my bm ss is dropping..does that makes me more prone to pregnancy?does inserting IUD hurts?

Mittens

I cut babys nails and wanted to remove the mittens but his nails are still so sharp..bobian I wear for him the mittens again.haha

BM

as I'm gg bkk next week I'm considering what to do with my ebm...throw away like very wasted leh.any experiences to share,mommies? I will be in bkk for 4days,baby Ashton is going to drain my frozen ebm..

nycmum

my boy sleeps with me on the floor at night.

i think its ok if u sleep with the baby but by putting her between u and ur hb, u must be really careful and exercise caution in case u all suffocate her... always better to be careful [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mittens

I am also thinking of removing it liao but his nails so sharp even after i cut it.. he always scratch himself [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so i am intending to leave it on for a while more and see how it goes..

Co-sleeping,

i have been co-sleeping with my boy for the past 3 nights! hubby is sick n he is sleeping in the living room now.. He he..

We slept on waterbed somemore!! He seems to enjoy it n sleep more comfy on it.

Definitely less tiring n no need to wake up, carry from cot bf etc.

Brought BB Lujayne for 6 in 1 jab just now, another 2more days she will be 2 mths and am surprise that She weighs 5.65 kg, 59 cm, Pd said she has good weight and height which above average. Mamy poko size s is getting small for her le!

Starry

no problem. I did not ask her the price of the cream anyway think its less than $10. She will probably pass the cream to me next week once i have it will mail to u, u have my mobile no sms me your address will do [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Melissa

U may wanna check with your gynae on IUD insertion, i would be getting my gynae to do it.

Suwaiwai

My bb also sleep alot..the only time when she awake is morning 7am to 9am and evening time 5pm to 8pm, for night she only wake up 1 time for feed and then back to sleep again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: baby sleeping

so good ur babies can sleep so much.. cos of his colic condition, he hasnt been able to sleep well these few days... wakes up very easily and at night, will wail and wail until he tired den finally sleeps.. but today he has been a good boy so far... slept a lot.. i reckoned he's tired after all that crying yesterday!!!

Princess

Yep i know [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Now have to shower him with all the TLC... hehehehe...

anyway Meghan is getting so cute and chubby... love her looks too! hehehe.. you have been feeding her well! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Can count me in if there is going to be gathering in town/north side? Hehehe Nothing beats face-to-face sharing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BTW ... can mummies add me in facebook ... would like to look at the cute cute baby pics wor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] --> [email protected]

mummies who are taking fernugreek..can i know how many pills each day you are taking? Just bought a bottle from GNC at 20% off..

shin

Yea..that's the thing with colic...headache...!Nothing much can be done and it can last for a while...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

TLC is the best cure..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]lol

Thanks,Meghan is doing ok except for the extremely big tummy!Doc said ok and ahem....her tummy is wobbly lor..tsk tsk tsk...I still apply hot oil constantly and our friend fart and burp alot!very unglam![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xin: how u get ur baby to latch again? Mine still doing the latch suck n cry thing... Even wen my breasts are full he sucks, twists n turns my breast n starts crying. Only twice wen he was sleepy he suck for 10 min... I think he prefers bottle lei..,

Hi mummies...

i am new here... hope can discuss all thing bout baby with u guys...

i stay in woodlands... got any meet up, can let me know..

I dunno if I shd b happy or sad. Jus pumped100 mls frm each side. Seems like I hv enough for bb to latch but he doesn't want my breasts [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi Stella,

I've just added you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

On the latching and twisting thingy ...maybe cos the flow is slower? you tried massaging the breast before nursing? 100 ml is very good yield wor ... ENVY ... so far the most i got is 80ml :p and that is after skipping one feed

Vivivan: Ivan is adorable! Eyes so big! Hee

Aft so much effort pumping finally got my supply up. I tried massaging. Sometimes wen he unlatches my breasts start dripping! Dunno if its e flow. Wen he let's go his mouth has milk in it. He's been having a stuffy nose so dunno whether that's e cause.

Stella: Logan very cute lor .. chubby chubby... and those DOUBLE EYELIDS!!! I wanna pump up my Ivan to chubby chubby level also HEHEHEH ... nothing much I can do about the eyelids though :p

Vivivan: he only has double lids wen he's tired n sleepy lor haha otherwise it looks like single lids hee! His face very chubby but his body not so unbalanced somemore he's got a double chin!

i will be flying back to singapore with my baby on a 16hr flight. any mummies here have any advice or tips that i should take note of? Baby is usually cranky in the day time so i am getting really worried about the long flight.

also any mummies with mdm siti (ML) contact details?

Iris,

Thank you so much then!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'll send u my address by SMS in a while.

Vivivan,

Haven't seen you in a while! Added u on FB le. I am Jacqueline. Ur display pic very nice! Looking forward to seeing the rest of ur baby's pics.

Princess d,

I also wash Jadelyn's butt in the basin under running tap water when she poos a lot. I will laugh and wash her at the same time becos it's too funny!! She would be looking so ke lian and with yellow dhal/curry poo all over back and backside. Wahaha!!! Love it. :p

Re: co-sleeping

Meaning same bed or just same room? Baby Jadelyn's rooming in with us but she sleeps in her own cot. Easier for me to attend to her in the middle of the night.

Wendy,

Welcome to the Oct thread. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] When did u give birth? A few of us are planning an outing, but not yet confirmed. Do join us when we do!

Trish

Im staying in sembabwang too! we can meet up with mummies in the north [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Yes it is very true that we are more fertile now! cos im one of the good example, my boy was born last year july and shortly after 5mths gotten preggy again moreover then i was still in TBF!! Now very scare le, will be going to Dr Ang for IUD to prevent #3! My SIL told me not pain at all but will feel abit uncomfortable during insertion.

Shin

U can try to burp your baby to reduce colic especially more so for bottle feeding, place bb chest facing u with head rest on shoulder and pat stroke his back upwards, this is the most easier, faster and effective way to burp bb. if 5mins still no burp lay him down and lift him up again. I always make sure my gal burps before i put her down to sleep so that she can sleep better.

Hello Wendy

Welcome to join us! your bb born in Oct mth? Is this your first Prince or princess? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies who are working & pumping, how do you bring your pump to office? Do you sterilize at home or in the office using microwave?

How do you transfer the milk home, is it using some storage bottles or using milk bag?

I'm planning to buy milk bag. Which brand is good?

I notice Avent cup is so expensive and troublesome, need to sterilize beforehand.. It's around $3 each and can be used only 4-6 times..

Melissa, 

cream is called Benzac AC. After applying a thin layer, g

Acne will b gone in couple of days.  But you may wan a check with yr pd, see if it's the same skin condition. 

I still hv some light colour discharge, very sian.. Dunno when will stop? Anyone started menses yet?

No mood to HS, mil plus fussy baby plus permanent night shift, I,m drained!

Gsm, breast bruised cos I keep compressing with my fingers when bf, when I press too hard, will end up feel in bruised. Last time got some light colour blue black when hubb used to help me compress... Now I better compress on my own.

Starry, Xin, 

I duno which is better? a mil who wants to do everything? Or one who says she wan to help out, but doesn't take initiative to do things, she will only help when asked, n do the minimum.. 7-8pm need to watch tv and  is too tired to help out at night. Not saying that she dun love bb, but I jus find her slipshod n rather "kou bu dui xin" at times...

N I tried all my pants, so far only one pair of leggies fit, n I bought it one size bigger back then... Sianzzz... 

B gentle when u wipe her face, dun break the acne. Jus use wet cotton n gently dab, then use clean towel to dab dry. 

Apple, 

Haha.... But I probably will end up with "yi ta li" instead of 6 pack tummy...

I also seldom pump, more latching, but my supply sin seem to increase leh...

If 9months can get back my pre peg fig, I m fine with that. Can I keep my boob size thou? Haha..

I also want to start some excercise, but my c-sect wound still

pain leh, ESP on my right side, dunno if its bcos I get off my

bed from my right side?

Any mummy still hv pain at c-sect wound? 

Teoong, 

same same for back ache n wearing the binder helps me too..

Xin, 

my bb also the same! ESP in the morning, she can make noise for one hour then open her eyes... I wonder why....?

Stella, 

envious on yr supply, my bb wants my breast, but i got not enuf milk leh... So sad!

my bb,s milk intake this week is less than last week, frequency n volume both decrease a bit, she is 5 weeks plus. Anyone having similar situation?

I bought another sling today cos i really cannot figure out the mim ring sling, I could,t find the pupsik, so I bought a new brand call mini monkey, it's quite cool, yet to try it on tomor. Hope it works! Then maybe I can join the outing for central/north area.

Any planned outing yet?

Irish,trish

I'm also semb mummy. I'm at blk 307. Where do u stay? Haha I always wonder if one of the oct mummies stay near me cos I hear alot of babies cries.

North area gathering

any mummies keen for a gathering at northpoint next week? I'm suggesting Northpoint cos there's a nursing rm for mummies who wanna BF.

Shin

my bed is king size so still ok. So far so good. I find it v convenient cos this lazy mummy dun wanna walk to the cot. My girl keeps dropping the pacifier n cries for it.

Co-sleeping

sleeping with baby between me n hubby makes it inconvenient to ML lei.

Yesterday I brought baby out from semb to yishun to visit my mum at her workplace. Put baby in stroller n took cab. It was my first time out alone with baby,usually bring baby out with hubby. Luckily the taxi driver was v helpful with the stroller so the travelling was a breeze.

Today brought her to sun plaza on her stroller. Went ntuc n she cried when I was queueing to pay. Had to carry her n push the stroller. Then went Thai express to meet gf, baby cried halfway through dinner n everyone was staring. Though she cried but it was still manageable.

She usually sleep everytime we brought her out. That's y I dare bring her out alone as I thought she'll sleep n won't fuss. Who knows she was wide awake n looking around for first 45min den chu pattern after that. Luckily she didn't fuss when we went home cos the previous time we brought her out she fussed when we got home. Guess today she was too tired from looking around. She's sleeping v soundly now. Hope it continues through the night.

Vivivan

I have added you on fb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Princess D

yah.. thats the thing.. today i went to my mum's place and everything was ok.. peaceful... he didnt fuss a lot.. and when i brought him home at abt 8+, the moment he came home, he cry non-stop for 1 hour!!!!! I wonder why he only cries while at home [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

HaHAHaa.. fart and burp is good leh.. at least the wind is out!!! My boy farts too but still kena colic... could it be cos I give him FM? I think babies who are on Bfg, chances of getting colic is lower?

Wendy

hello! welcome! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

How old is ur baby now?

Irish

I do burp my boy leh... and he also farts a lot! Yet he get colic [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but nvm lah.. I shall hang in there and hope it goes away soon!!!

My friend says it might be the FM that is causing it as some FM produces more bubbles than others... is that true?

Nycmum

i see i see.. yah.. i was so lazy and tired to get up to see baby in the playpen that I put him on the floor to sleep with me...the thing abt my house is that my bed/matrress is on a platform... i dun have a bed frame.. so its so difficult to keep getting up and down if i put him inside the playpen.. hahaha

tmr we are going to bring baby out for the first time to a shopping mall... i am crossing my fingers he wont fuss or cry so much [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sundrop so cute still got the poo poo dance.

Nycmum thou hubby always wanted baby to sleep in baby cot, I like baby to sleep with me, easier to bf, she been sleeping with us most of the nights.

can I ask why need to remove mittens huh?

Vivivian and Stella have request to add your in fb.

nycmum, when u wan to action put ur baby back to the baby cot?

Shin, dun worry it will be fine n fun. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] aft the first time tomolo u wld wan to go out more often. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple

thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but tmr i am going out with hb... i have yet to bring baby out alone.. no confidence yet! hehehe...

anyway re: mittens.. must remove so will not interfere with the motor skills of his fingers i think.. thats what i learnt when i attended the pre-natal course..

Shin, tomolo is a gd start, dun worry okie. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Oic on the mitten... Hmmm will see how it goes for my girl then.

diveera,

Thanks for the reply on Fiti. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I always see it at NTUC. Actually I realize those cheap diapers are quite good. I'm quite happy with Drypers and find that it's better than pampers. Drypers hold urine really very well! But for bum coverage, Mamy poko is still champs.

Nycmum,

I see that you've found the freedom too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Not bad, take baby and stroller out by yourself. I've yet to try that. My stroller very heavy, scared later meet nasty cab driver.

Stella,

U have good supply! So good!! Don't want ur breasts nvm lah, keep pumping out. Better than giving fm anytime.

Nycmum,

I also want to bring bb out but hubb dun think it's gd idea, cos bb still too young. Scare ltr catch a virus or cold outside... Mayb when she's 2-3 months old ba... Now only go out when nec, like for vaccine n pd check up.

My stroller also quite big, I can,t manage alone to carry bb n

fold or open stroller at the same time. It's a hand down item,

so I can,t complain.

Starry,

I dun like drypers leh, The side facing bb skin usu wet when touched, even thou only after 1 or 2 urine, n coverage is

really so so... That day my gal had a big poo when bottle fed

by hubb, the curry flow out! Now hubb gpt phobia when her

prik-prak... Ha.... Pampers gd but ex.. I bought huggies, hv

not tried yet. Anyone using huggies? Any review?

do u change yr bb diapers if diaper is wet, but bb already asleep after feeding? Cos before feeding she.s usu crying n waving her limbs, i find it difficult to change diaper..

Trish,

I tried pumping on airplane toilet, then ask air stewardress to store in their fridge. End of flight, transfer to cooler bag n then to hotel fridge. I still pumped when I m overseas n store in fridge/ freezer. When gg bk time, use fridge to go plus ice pack. I checked in the fridge to go. Amazingly, the frozen ebm remain frozen when home. I also read about mummies who go on longer trips bringing their ebm home using dry ice + sterofoam storage box. But have to find dry ice in the foreign country, a bit ma fan.

Grovvy,

I use sterilization pills then but got strong cholrine smell. My dd grew up fine though. This time, I m gg to a new office after my ml and many uncertainties. Not sure how long I can continue pumping. I think I will try using hot water to rinse this time, like wat some mummies have done.

Jac

You have more freedom la. haha...I still hv to lug the bulky stroller cos my girl dun like the MIM sling. Or maybe its becos I dunno how to use it properly. She looks super uncomfy in the sling n when put in carrier she'll cry. So no choice have to bring stoller.

Yah luckily the cab driver is nice to help me. Haha my mum ask me if the cab driver refuse to help me with the stroller den what will I do. (Rem the Quan Yifeng incident where cab driver dun wan to help carry luggage cos he said he might injure his back?) If really meet such a driver den I'll tell him "Uncle, den you go home rest your back lor" and wait for another cab. huhu...

Irish nycmum

great to know mummies staying nearby!yup definitely dun mind gatherings as I'm going back to work in jAn..sobs.

After that won't have so much time to play le.

Zuen

thanks for sharing!!need to buy fridge to go then..so Ma fan also..haiz.

Groovy,

I went back to office recently for a day and I brought my Pisa along,it weighs like a ton!I stored my funnels and bottles in a wet bag so that after pump and wash can just keep in the wet bag.tried using normal plastic bag but it doesn't close properly and i wonder what was in the plasticbag before..arghh.

After pump stored milk in fridge and then in cooler bag when going Hme.

Good morning mommies and Ian

Ian

Wah! u were on ST today! I ogle should be u lah! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Groovy

what pump are u using? medela pump comes with a cooler bag with medela storage bottles, what i did was stored milk in the bottle and put in office fridge after pumping, transfer the bottle into the cooler bag when going home, once i reach home i transfer the milk to milk bag and keep in freezer. The cooler bag can last for 6hrs. Im using Blue Egg milk bag a pack of 25 for $8.50.

nycmum, trish

Im at blk 407 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] im going back to work in Jan too. I dun mind to meet up in north point [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] How about north mummies groovy, Bblin, tiffy? wanna join us?

Shin

Im not sure whether the bubbles from FM causes this but i do know that there are some FM produces more bubbles than others. Which FM are u using?

Any mummies feel cold when drinking cold drinks or eat ice cream?

After eating or drinking cold things i always dont feel realy well. Like now.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Is it beause i havent "recover" from delivery?? I did not eat confinement food but everyday during confimenet i onlh eat soupy things n never eat cold. Bathe once a day in the morning.. From 1 week onwards.

Ian,

On ST ah?? Haven't flipped papers yet. Later gonna check it out. Wahaha!! We're beginning to be like kpo 'aunties' liao. :p

Irene,

So far I'm liking Drypers! Baby seems to like it as much as her Mamy Poko ones. And it's half the price of Mamy Poko so I'm happy too! I bought huggies but haven't try yet.

Re: diaper changing

I baby's sleep I usually won't disturb her and will just let her sleep. But if I notice that her diaper has poo, or I know it cannot take another round of pee, I will change her.

Nycmum,

Hahaha!! Asking cab driver go home rest his back. Lol! Don't give up on slinging baby... Think a lot of times it's a matter of them getting used to new things. Sling her at home for like 10mins, then next day, 15mins and so on until they are comfy with being snuggled so close to u. It's a gd chance for u to get used to it the weight and positioning the sling too. I find it very helpful to put her in the sling when she is contented and drowsy after feed so she will just fall asleep in the sling. If she struggles, I will adjust her position till she looks comfy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]