(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

destitona,

My boy is also having chest infection. Just had his x-ray this morn. Did some physio to loosen up his phlegm too. He is now under oxygen and drip. Most likely got to stay for at least 3days. Which hospital is ur boy in?

Ann,

The fever was caused by his chest infection, which led to bronchiolitis.

Princess,

I've just increased my boy's fm to 150ml today, he is now 38 days old now & he still drinks every 2hrs & he weighs 6kg now! Is it normal. I think he's overweight for his age. He can fit into 0-6mths clothing & 3 to 6 mths clothing. Everyone teasing him that he's heavy & beefy

BBlin,

you were asking abt avent bots right? I use it off and on, I think the milk flows too quickly out of the teat so my BB cant keep up.. leaks quite a fair bit of milk. Pigeon seems better.

Thank u mummies for yr well wishes. Hope he recover soon. My elder boy recovering, now e small one .. Really testing!

Ade, my boy at tmc.. Yrs?

i'm also at tmc. Which ward r u in? I'm suppose to be in ward 428, but someone need the room and they transfer me 2 ward 430 for the time being. R u staying with bb?

Desitonia,

Glad your boy is better with the antibiotics and all. How come got chest infection? Was he passed the virus/germs or it just developed on its own? Hope he recovers fully in the shortest time possible.

Xin,

You started massage already right? How was it? Helping your backache?

Ann, Shirley,

My dd also given salt water spray for her 'pi sai' problem. She has those sticky kinds in her nose. Got some smell so I thought better bring her to doc although she has no issues breathing. Just worried will become infection. It managed to flush out some of the 'pi sai' but uncomfortable for her. Now slightly better but still have some remnants.

Nycmum,

My sil a bit sot sot lah. So just ignore!! But one more time from her I also won't 客气 liao. Looks like fenugreek is working quite well for you! Keep up the supply then! Just a qn, read that some mummies have a smell of the fenugreek in the bm. Did u notice that too?

Bblin, Ian,

Finally she pooed! Thank god no need wok cover, just a powerful Mamy Poko diaper! Hahaha!!!

shin/zuen I also bu she dee...so will see how it goes then... dare not think that far in case hubby say he has no time to go.

princess, meghan is on gina ford? Lucas is not on routine at all...just that one fluke but he stay wide awake from 10.30pm to 1am. was tearing my hair out trying to get him to sleep so that I can sleep...

seabreeze, mood can affect BM's hormones? oh no... then i must try to think zen all the time...

bad day today...baby fussed whole day, hardly napped. refused the yaolan. cried so much that he's almost hoarse. In the afternoon while I was nursing him, he suddenly started screaming. dun know why. finally put him to bed. hopefully peace will prevail for a while.

Ahola mummies & daddy!

Been MIA for a while, but have been reading the posts on and off. Glad that I managed to survived 9days without my CL. Tdy will have to see if I can survived alone this wk with baby as hubby is travelling on biz trip till Friday. Hopefully by then I have not gone bonkers yet.. Crossing my fingers that bb will be good to me ya!

Suwaiwai, I have done the 1mth assessment liao accordingly to the health booklet. No Jab, the 5/6-in-1 jab will be on the 2nd mth. Can go either to PD or polyclinic.

Jacq, i totally agreed wth you that mamy poko is damn good! my girl has diaper rash and i tried many brands, end up mamy poko is the best, she will poo and wee in it w/o fuss. The rest of the brands, she will cry lor. Glad that you managed to go out so long wth bb! For me, I only managed to bring her out for 3hrs yesterday and i was so worried tht she will fuss as the timing will hit into her feeding time. Thank god that baby didnt fuss. Phew!

Ade / destitona, Hope that your lil ones will be fine and they are in good hands!

Babydes, I'm practising the same as Zuen. 48hrs in fridge and using glass bottles. In fact, I'm using the glass milk bottles which hospital gives us when baby discharge, easier to clean & faster to warm up the EBM also.

Starry:

Yup. Had my 1st session today. Well, nt sure if it helps the backaches, cos only 1 session.

Having the binding is so uncomfortable. So hot n itchy.

Hi xin,

Is ur massage lady good? Can share the contact?

I'm thinking of doing it but dun wanna find back the one for my first confinement. Find that she's not that good. Like anyhow press. Tks!

Babydes: the booklet given to me by kkh's LC states bm can refrigerate for 48 hrs (not fridge door) some websites also differ between 24 & 48hrs. Now I keep up to 48 hrs but i taste before I give bb anything.

Destitonia: do take care. Ur bb will be fine!

Loca: I combine my ebm as well as long as doesn't go over the 48 hrs.

Emmie: I'm having just as bad a day. Too much stimulation wen we went for his doc appt. Nvr slp more den 1/2 hr since afternoon. Carry he slp, put him down he scream. On n off till now. He is exhausted n wants to slp but he can't fall into deep enough slp to stay asleep. So heartpain n I dunno wat to do.

I wana ask for those the store EBM and froze them. How do you thaw the EBM? straight away put under running warm water or shift the pack of frozen EBM to the middle fridge area the night before to thaw the EBM? If correct to thaw in middle fridge, how fast must we use the EBM once it is thawed? also 48hrs? I'm still confused by this and need clarifications which is the correct method to thaw EBM?

Starry, I guess he got e virus fr his bro..

Ade, we are neighbors! I next to u in 430.. Haha such coincidence!

Mummies, my medela gave up working, now in hospital rented fr hospital, realized it gave me twice e supply. Now should get a new pump. Any recommendations? Dun want too ex cos prob stopping at two children, likely to use the pump for at most 9 more mths only.

Teoong,

I usually shifted the frozen ebm to the fridge compartment, put inside a glass of water to thraw. That way, can keep inside the fridge for 24 hrs. If urgent, can use warm water but that way, cannot keep. Unfinished portion muz throw.

seems like mamy poko does wonders to the babies here..except my son..who prefer huggies more than anything else..his diaper rash, in fact got worse when we put on mamy poko for him~ :X

stella, same lor..mine only will sleep in arms and its light sleep, max 20mins...how to solve his colic like that? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] lucky my mun with me...he was driving me nuts!

Mamipoko diaper..

Once i weight the diaper with 3 hrs worth of pee pee in there.. 300 gram total!! n have not leak... Its really good!!

Vaccination,

is it true 6in1 will cause slight fever?

Friends told mt to follow he schedule for hep b hen 5on1 instead coz if baby takes 6in1 and have fever, she could not eat medicine for fever sincr she is only 2 month old.

But if take 5in1 and have fever can eat medicine coz 3 months old alrdy...

Which one is reccommended or is it the same, depends on how many times we are willing to go to doctor?

emmie,

How's baby? Did you check his tummy? Maybe bloated and got wind that's why crying. My girl suddenly started screaming when we were at my office and turns out she was experiencing tummy aches. I didn't know what was wrong with her till she farted a couple of times and calmed down by herself. Sometimes it could also be because of gas trapped in the stomach and the pressure is making them uncomfortable.

Teoong,

3hrs out with baby also good! Slowly stretch the time hour by hour and soon you'll be able to bring Athena out full day! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my mum was a little bit skeptical abt whether I can really handle Jadelyn. Hubby and I also just heck care, bring out then say. Of course we minimized any hiccups by bringing all the neccesary items like wet wipes, diapers, towels, bottles etc.

Stella,

Baby slept already? Jadelyn also over stimulated today. Just now earlier in the evening put her down and she dozed but few minutes later screaming in her sleep and she was jerking her arms and legs ard badly. So I carried her till she was sound asleep. Even when put her down on the bed, I still pat her. Next time you try this? Maybe will work for your baby too.

Desitonia,

If you don't wanna buy something too ex, can go for Ameda. It's cheaper than medela and heard from some mummies who are using it here that it's just as good as medela. Otherwise, medela PISA also good. US set alot cheaper.

Re: Mamy Poko

I'm convinced that this is the best diaper! Even the Winnie he Pooh designs are cute! Haha! Once, Jadelyn slept a solid 6 hours and her Mamy Poko held in everything!

Ann: the nurse at the polyclinic told me all jabs except hep b might give fever depending on the baby so it's really up to u. The fever usually low grade. Sponging is gd enough to treat. But still depends on the reaction of bb.

Mamy poko

I have tried several brands for my elder son. this is the best ;) using it for the younger one also.

Starry, where can I get ameda? Which model should i get? Must get before going home..

Re diaper

I should hv read here before getting 2 packs of 44 pcs Huggies S size for my boy cos ntuc got promo. He's getting bigger and been wearing huggies newborn. Stimes will leak lor...

i'm a oct 10 mum. didnt join earlier cos edd was in nov 10. anyway, hope its not too late to join the thread [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

destitonia - I've been a user for ameda pump for my #1. It has served me well..but it died on the day after the warranty. Maybe i overworked the pump la..cos I was pumping exclusively. If u dont mind, there are mummies out there selling pre-loved ameda or medela pumps. U can try the WTS thread on this forum. HTH.

good morning mommies n daddy

Getting tired each day ... Thank God HB wAs helping with everything otw think i ll b gonez!! Lol

Claudia

I think 150ml is ok cuz they supposed yo b drinking tt much however I m not too sure if it's ok for a formula fed bb?[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Your bb born big, if he is growing according .. Think is fine.. Check w your pd..

Meghan is weighing about 5.5kg (approx) but I'm not worried cos she is on BM!

Jade was huge when she was a baby .. Everyone asked me to stop feeding her tt much but hey.. She is tbf bb, how would I know how much she drinking ?

The pD said she is fine n asked me to cont tbf.. Cos BM contains good fats which they need ..she was 9kg when 3mths n almost 12kg when 7-9mths!!!lolx

Emmie

Yes! Meghan on Gina Fords methods m it's working but we won't do away her night feeds till she is ready n usually as said it will b around 3rd months! Meanwhile we have yo still wake up to feed her! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]y not starts Lucas too? Not too late...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Diaper

Yea mammy poko da best!

Princess,

he is born almost 4kg! Maybe he has a huge appetite & he shit a lot too! Everyday! The least is 2,3 times a day! Max is 6 to 7 times! His pd said it's normal. I can't stand my bb as he is indeed very very impatient! Can't even wait one! Drink milk, change diapers, everything have to be fast ! He finishes his 150ml of milk in 5 to 7 mins & if he got choked halfway, I pull out his bottle & let him rest a while, he screams & demanded his milk immediately. Faint

starry, he's going through a growth spurt. Wailing and not sleeping in bed/yaolan is his way of dealing with it. Drives me nuts though.

princess, I have qns abt gina ford though... cos it's quite strict. Doesn't allow for adjustments/changes in the routine right? Cos we always have to go to inlaws place for dinner over weekend. That would definitely kill it. And how does it deal with growth spurts? I'm trying to put him on some kind of routine but he's ultra fussy.

hope today will be a better day

good morning mummies and ian. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] loving this rainy morning.

re: hep b jab

i'm bringing baby to the clinic for her jab later. where will the injection site be? hope that she will be a brave girl and won't cry much 'cos i'm bringing her by myself.

bblin,

nvm since you've already bought huggies, just continue using. if worried about leaks, use during the day when you can easily check to see if it needs changing. night time switch to mamy poko for peace of mind. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

emmie,

have you tried giving baby colic drops? can check with the pd for it. may help your baby sleep better then you can have longer rest period also.

nelc,

i know you are asking xin about the massage, but you can also consider origins jamu massage. http://www.originsjamumassage.com/Jamu-Postnatal-Massage-Package.html. i signed up with a friend and both of us found our therapists very good and experienced. package also very reasonably priced.

stacy,

hi! welcome to the Oct thread. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] when did you deliver?

Morning!!

Question on baby smiling. When will we notice baby's first real smile? My baby smiles alot when she is sleeping but according to the health booklet babies should be able to smile in response to your smile between 4-6 weeks.

princess d,

you have 2 princesses at home, sure tiring! glad that your hubby very hands on. hey meghan putting on weight very fast, so good! sumo baby indeed! hahah! anyway, tbf really no need to worry lor. look at jade, so cute and chubby now without having too much baby fats. can't wait to see meghan at 2 and jade at 4! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

emmie,

in that case endure with him thru the growth spurt. shouldn't last very long, i hope? the last time my dd had a growth spurt, it lasted approx. 3-4 days. it's 'aggaration' from her sudden increase in appetite and increase in feeding frequency.

desitonia,

didn't know that mamy poko is so popular! i'm buying from CK at $15.90 per bag of 52pcs NB size. not sure if it is cheap. but in the long run, shld be better than huggies/drypers/pampers etc. since no need to change as often, so save more too!

Emmie

yea...her methods are rather strict[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]thats y we forego our nite outings just to accomodate the kids lor..im getting jade to get accustomed with her methods too!

Till they are rather settled...then i can resumed my night outings without worries..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry

Yea...Jade is draining me full time...not Meghan!That girl is seeking 200% attention from me...lol but all was ok when comes evening cos when the girls are asleep..i can have my ME time by 7pm!!And that's sooooo coooolllllllll!!LOL

Iandao

I take Pigeon tweezer for babies to KIAP the pi sai out!cos sometimes it is too sticky to dig out with cotton bud!

Thanks to those mummies who answered my qn on refrigerated bm. Thk I will go with the 48hrs which is wat I m doing now. Reason I asked if shd use glass or plastic when refrigerating is bcoz I thk I read somewhere says the antibiotics will stick onto the glass bottles.

Ade n Destitonia

Hope both ur bodies are recovering n can go home soon!

Ian, i'm using Pigeon nose cleaner and suck out the pi sai. It works very efficient for me. The pi sai will goes into the cleaner bottle. If can't, i'll suck out to the entrance of his nostrils and use cotton bud (the bud is thin kind. i bot tollyjoy brand) and tak/roll it out.

Starry, ya lor if Huggies S size still leak, then i will consider mamy poko.

Princess d, looking after 2 kids really double your energy ya. Muz rest well if u hv the time.

Re insurance

Last night i met an insurance agent discussing what to get for my boy. Have the mommies and daddies here bought for their little ones? I'm considering Hospital/Health shield plan, life insurance and education plan. Any one will recommend which company policy is good?

My fren told me prudential not so good...

babydes

yes,glass btls are not advisable to store EBM especially u intend to freeze it..

Thats y storage cups sell in the markets is melamine/plastic ...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sundrops: each Individual bb is diff so wen they smile in response to u is up to them. My boy started ard 4 wk plus. He will smile at us occasionally wen we talk to him.

Bblin: I jus sign up for insurance ytd. Critical illness, hospitalization, accident n childrens' illness w AIA which i find quite gd. Education will start mayb next yr. I figured education partly covered by cda n i dun intend to touch the funds so I can afford to wait a yr or two. I hv bad experience w prudential so switched to AIA. Much happier with my agent's service now.

hi mommies! how r ya'll? im so damn tired n pissed. baby now no longer wakes up once at nite. either refused to sleep or wakes up 3 hrly. i tink e pqst few outings wif her totally screwed her routine. n like princess_d, both hubby n i r on hse arrest. will jus cook simple2 stuff or call for delivery until sofea is back to her routine. n shes v fussy, crying her head off asking to b cradled. sometimes i refused n let her cry out. i blame my mother, always carry her

re: mamy poko

i agree! its good no leaking. another one i like is pqmpers. drypers is e worst, always leak!! sealy is not bad, cheap but e size cutting a bit big.

Claudia

don't worry abt the weight. My dd#1 was heavier than yours n he was on fm. And this time my #2 is same though he is partial fm.. Boys tend to eat more n heavier.. Don't worry as long as he eat n pop well...

Gd morning to a wet morning. Such nice weather to sleep in.

Read that some bb are sick. Hope they recover soon. Mummies take care and don't worry, they are in doctors gd hands.

Routine

only manage to set the timing for am bath & evening wipe. The rest is dependant on caelan. He's still feeding every 2 hrs, very rare will stretch to 2.5hrs. If he wants to sleep, can't keep him awake, will cry& fuss until he sleeps. So at nite he still wakes up every 2 hrs. So tiring. I don't mind as long he can go bk to sleep. One of the nite, he fuss/cry aft every feed. Bth Hubby & me do dead tired.

Towards end of last week, he was v diificult. Cried alot & donno what he want. I was totally lost as to how to calm & manage him and I myself cried. Yesterday he was better. Today becos of the weather he has bn sleeping.

Me oso busy clearing blocked ducts. Since latching him on, he does not empty and I no time to express. Use hot compress, massage some still very hard. Hope I don't kena infection.

Bblin, any idea y prudential no gd? My agent is fm prudential & her service is gd although at times overly persistent.

BBlin,

I just signed up insurance policy for my baby as well. if you and your husband sign up for Aviva Myshield plan 1 or 2, there's free 20 year coverage for your children. that's for health insurance..so i switched from incomeshield to aviva.. save $$$

I also signed up another life policy for her, annual payment of $700+ till 25 years old, coverage $175k till 65 years old, after that drop to 70k till 100 years old..

think i abit kiasu.. hahah..

Mummies, one strange thing is happening, after e double amt milk yesterday, the following pumps all yield same amt as before .. Dunno wats happening. Anyone has any idea?