(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Bm supply,

Read that most mummies have problem with bm supply..

Just want to share a bit..

I was really stressed the first 2~3 weeks after baby is born. Feel like eveyone expect me to bf esp my hubby. Everytime baby is crying he will say baby is hungry n after latching he will question whether baby drinks enough or not. The first few weeks i pump, really yields like only few drops n max is 30ml after massage! when baby latch is about 1 hour so it gets pretty tiring. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

However thank God my mum was here supprting me n said NOT TO GET STRESSED, dont wory baby is smarter than us he will be able to get whatever nutrition he needs.

And she also said that not everytime baby cries is due to hunger.

So i tried to ignore hubby's comment n continue bf.

Even baby did not poo for 3 days, so worried n even the pd (which i will not go to anymore) said that obviously my supply is low and ask us to sort of give up breastfeeding and feed formula instead. Even scared us that baby dont poo meaning he did not have enough to be processed n will lead to drhydration and then death!! Btw why i dont like him is because he sais this during first week check when obviously baby has gained 300gram since he left hospital, 200gr more his birth weight.. With only my low bm supply!

So the next day we gave him total formula n he poo a lot!!!

But again my mum encourage to cnt bf n see how. The very next day started to tbf again and dunno whether it ia to our relief or distress, baby poos after evey feed. He he he..

Since then hubby nv ask whether i hv enough n compare with his sil who can get 100+ml when pumping n said i will not give enough for baby too. Grrr.... Really want to get angry to hv such comments.

Anyway i dont want to brag about my 'success' on bfing. Just want to share that (as my mum said) EVERY MUM WILL PRODUCE ENOUGH FOR THEIR CHILD. It takes weeks to estavlish supply which is "enough" for baby. My mum bf all of her 3 children. im so happy to have her ard to supporr me!

The key is dont get stressed, get plenty of rest n nutrition, dont compare with others, get someone to support u n i think this forum is really for supporting each other! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

but anyway fm or bm.. As long as we are happy, then be it!

Happy mum happy baby!

Hi shirley,

is it my baby?? hehe..

Now his cough seems a whole lot better.. Though at night he sounds like having a lot of phlegm! maybe due to aircon.

I went to dorothy ong at bkt timah plaza. Really nice dr. Hopefuly u live ard the area!! Anyway just go to tje pd u r most comfortable with. For me i went to her coz not comfortablr with the pd i went eaelier.

Dont worry ur baby will be fine. Pls cont to bf if u are as bby will get the antibody from u. If baby gets it from any member of ur household, please let them eat medicine!! n wear mask!

Hope ur bby get well soon!

Hi ann,

Did Dr Ong do suction for her or your bb just take medicine?

The nose drops i got KK seemed not effective..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

jac

Yah think that's what I will do.. But even now, sometimes need to carry him and pat him until he deep deep sleep then can put him into his bed, otherwise he will cry!

Anyway any mummies with babies who make a lot of noise while sleeping esp at night? Haha.. Mine likes to squirm and wriggle and twist his body and make a lot of noise as though he's stretching.. "eeeee oooooohhhh"... But after that he goes back to sleep and this happens throughout the night! Isit normal? Hahaha..

My bb also likes to wriggle, stretch & make a lot of noises as well. I think bb r all e same....

Qn for mummies who r on tbf

How many times do e bb wake up @ nite. Mine always wakes up every 1.5 hrs to latch. Is there a way to increase e interval??

Shin,

Mine does the stretching when I m latching him lor. Pain....

Syann,

My bb wakes up 2 to 3x a night wor. I didn't do anything, he automatically adjust.

I admitted ayden into TMC last night after his cough seems to be worse. He was also having high fever at 38.9, was so worried it will led to brain damage. It all started with a flu and cough. So heartpain 2 hear him cough, with all the phlegm inside. Quarrel with hb last night as he doesn't find a need to admit him, wanna wait till mor then bring him to another PD. Thank god i didn't listen to him. My PD came by last night and said his fever is too high, and very chesty too. He was put on drip and given a bit of antibiotics as well as fever med 2 bring down the fever. Had his phlegm suck out as well. Thank god he was so much better this mor. Stayed with him at the hospital till now.

shirley,

Pls check whether if he is running any temp. More than 37.5 consider having fever. If u think the med doesn't work, see another PD. The med for my boy doesn't work too, for both phlegm and running nose.

yesterday i was really depressed and broke down cos baby rejected my breast again and wailed his head off. He could only be pacified by the bottle [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

but later I thought about it, it doesn't mean that i need to total breastfeed to be a good mother. Getting more stressed will only worsen the supply and worse, make me feel angry and resentful at the baby, instead of loving him and enjoying him. So i've decided to try ebm and top up with fm. At least I can still provide him with half ebm. I think I will be lots happier and not so stressed that way.

Mummies, we all jia you together!

Shin, my bb wriggle and stretch throughout e day and nite too ;)

Mummies, my bb having cough and phlegm. Think he got it fr his bro. Is it necessary to bring him to a pd? Cos I read fr e net young babies will recover fr cough themselves, dun really need medication. Is it true?

Hi all Oct2010 Mummies

Congrats on the arrival of your newborns!

Sorry to intrude but need your recommendation of a good confinement lady.

I am expecting my 2nd child and EDD is end Jun 2011. I had my mum's help after my 1st delivery. Hence, I have no experience in engaging a confinement lady.

Would really appreciate if anyone here could help pls.

Thank you in advance.

Manuka

Hi shirley,

dr ong helped us to clean the mucus awahy using the salt water spray.

After spraying n my bby sneeze, she took out the mucus using cotton bud. I know it is not recommended by some pd but for my sons case it was severely blocking the nasal passage.

She also gave cough medicine n iliadine (nose drop). I let my son eat the cough mediine for few days n he would vomit some of te cough when brping.

Please check temp as well!!

Desitonia,

my pd said if just flu n cough can recover by themselves bur if have fever then hve to go eat medicine or go hospital! because to severe alrdy...

Ade,

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] hope little ayden get well soon!! dont get stressed ok...

When my boy ws sick, though he has no sign of fever yet, i ws stressful n somehow he cn feel it n become nore fussy. Then i took it easy and pray hard he will soon build his antibody to fight the germs. He become cheerful n cry less even though he cough n sneeze n has lots of mucus coming out his nose. Jia you!!

Emma,

that is true. We must be happy and then bby can grow well n be happy bby as well. No need to stress abt wht he eats. As long as he is healthy. Feeding is only one part of motherhood!!! fm is not bad as well! some of us grew up on fm n as healthy as bf baby.. Dont give up latching though as if u plan to express bm, latching can increase supply. Maybe ltch ur bby about 5~10 mins before feed him with bottle? dont get stress when he rejects, does bot mean he does not love u, he is still learning to ltch too. Ok!! Cheers!

Ade

GLad you make a wise choice to admit Ayden!And im happy to know that he is doing well now...HOpe he will recover soon[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shin

Not easy to be a SAHM[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

NO off days and annual leave!Full time 365 24/7!!

Keng MC oso no use!!LOL[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So far when comes to bed time the girls are pretty co operative..only in the day where Jade needed more attentions than her lil sister right now!She is a tyrant at home now..So we have to plan our outing nicely to accommodate their nap and meals and make sure the big sister are able to enjoy herself and drained her super duper high energy b4 bedtime!LOL

Hardwork!!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Zuen,

mine too! streches when latching!! But now i realise he will only strech during feeding when he just woke up, or when he wants to poo n need comfirt sucking. So usually when he did that i just unlatch first n let him stretch... Dont want it to become habit for him!

Shin,

my baby even cry when he is sleeping!!!! cry a bit like finding good position to sleep then sleep again. Dont know whether its normal too haha...

Emma

I also used to face e same problem. There was a period of time when my bb rejected my breast & preferred e bottle. I almost gave up on BF. Actually it depends v much on how determine u wanna BF ur bb. Wat I did was, I simply refused to give e bottle to my gal. Whenever she screams, I will settle her cry by comforting her on my chest, den try to latch on again. I felt as though I was in a battle wif her. Whoever who gives in will lose e battle. Finally, after 1 day, she gave in & now she is happily latching on. So it really depends on wat u want.

thanks mummies for the replies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] any idea when this "making noise" period gonna stop? Haha

Ade

Hope ayden recovers asap! So heartache to see them fall sick at such young age [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Zuen

I can imagine how painful it is!!! Lol

Emma

Yep! Itsmore impt for u to be happy and able to take care of baby rather than being so stressed.. I think being a mum is more than just able to bf... So much more things we need to be able to do.. So don't stress urself for not able to latch him [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Princess

Yeah totally agree! Hardwork!

I scared I go crazy cos my life sentence starts this Saturday!! Hahahaha

Ann

Mine always show me the "I'm having nightmare" face sometimes... So I must faster pat pat him or hug him and assure him.. Hehe

ann, thank you for the advice. I taking his temperature since he started his cough.. no fever so far.. but sometimes see him cough so poor thing..

Destitonia,Emma

I started taking fenugreek on Fri and supply started to increase 20ml the next day. But I took more than the amt stated on the container. I took 1 cap 3 times a day cos read in another forum that need to take more to increase ss den take 1 a day to maintain.

My girl's drinking 90ml, but I only can pump 80ml so a bit more to go.I realise that drinking lots of fluid and having enough rest helps to yield more milk. When I get stressed, I only get 40ml previously. So be happy and jiayou in pumping =)

I supplement with FM. My girl drinks BM in the day and FM at night. I like this arrangement cos she sleeps longer at night = more rest for me at night. Plus I see her growing taller and chubbier each day so I'm quite ok with giving BM and FM.

Shin

My girl also makes alot alot of noise and keep stretching. It's hard to ignore her noises when I sleep with her. End up I can't sleep well cos everytime she makes a noise I will wake up n look at her. She'll just stretch n goes 'eeee ahhh' den goes back to being quiet n sleep. My CL says some babies are like that. They say babies who stretch alot will grow up very quickly. haha. I'm trying to ignore her 'eeee ahhh' noises so I can sleep batter when CL leaves.

Jac

You where got fat?!!! I was looking at the fb pics and was envious you still look good after giving birth.haha. Your SIL got prob la. Anyway it;s really insensitive to say someone who;s just given birth is fat. My aunt saw me when I was preggie and said I was fat. den after giving birth she came to visit and again comment I was fat. She den fat lor! Her DIL fatter than me after giving birth. 1 year after giving birth still fat.

Morning mommies & daddies.

Sighz, my MIL actually brought my boy out w/o informing me while im in the toilet! I know she either bring him to walk walk downstairs or go up my uncle's house (that's upstairs at the same block!) but at least inform me ma! 2nd time already! Once she brought her out is almost an hr de leh! >.< tsk!

BTW, hw do you know if bb has running nose? My boy has got mucus in his nose but i dun think that's running nose right?

Starry, has Jadelyn poop?

Hi bblin,

i also have the same problem, after breastfeed for 1 hour, baby still hungry and cry, so i was thinking maybe my milk supply is not much yet, so i make formula milk to top up. i am taking GNC fenugreek to increase milk supply.. not sure if it will work..maybe u can try also

Emma, good that u think this way. I went thru the same thing during my first confinement. Cry over low milk ss. But after that hubby comforted me n said it's more impt to have a happy mommy than a stressed up one. We will pass the negative vibes to the BB. So like I said b4, give wat we can n if BB demands more jus supp. Or if u really determined on tbf, perhaps can consult a LC for help. Heard that Doris Fok from nuh n sister kang from mt A r good. May want to call them up to see if they can help. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ade,

Did e doc tell u wat cause the fever? When my son was in kkh, the doc says that bbs are not supposed to come down with high fever n thus they suspect bacterial infection, which will hv serious consequences if not treated properly.

Dest,

The kkh docs are not keen to gif medication to babies that r too young wor.

Ann,

Hehe, my bb oso tend to stretch n wriggle when he latch n poo poo.

ann. i agree! i pump as well as latch. last time pump one breast can only produce 50 ml. now i can pump 80ml each side. we went pd yest and according to babys weight now she shd be drinking 70-80'ml. so i guess our bodies r smart enuf to produce enuf according to babys needs. no need to stress!

Syann,

on good days he wakes up once at 2~3 in the morning then leep till 6~7. on bad days he cld sty wake n want to latch every hour!

But when i think back maybe that time was growth spurt? not really sure too...

Need some advoce in getting baby to sleep...

Last time my baby always sleep after feeding n i straight away put him in the cot n he will just sleep...

But after that realise that he has lots of air n cant sleep well. So after feeding i will burp him on he houlder n he would wake up n sleep again.

Now i realise he is getting used to sleep on his stomacj. When i put on his back in the cot he will wake up. So these past 4 days he has been sleeping on stomach. Quite worried about sids.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so i have been watching him at nite! no sleep!

But not sure how to burp him then get him to sleep on his back afterwards... Any advice??

Latching n wind,

im also curious why my son hs a lot of air in his stomach. I fully latch him n thought bf baby no need to be burped. But he burped quite loud!! twice or more each time. Does that mean my latching is wrong n therefore not vacuum??

Or is it smth that i eat?

Ann

U need to burp ur bb even though u r BF. Dat's wat e LC told me. Wat's e feeding interval now for ur bb?

Tian Ely

I'm also facing e same prob. Bb needs to latch on v often. 1 to 1.5 hr interval. It's so tiring.

Pregnancy weight,

i still carry 13 kg!!! Gain total 24 kg.. Whoops.. Hehehe...

Funny thing, when i admit to hosp for delivery, i ws 79 kg.. After delivery i was 83 kg!!!! Baby was out n water bg placenta all gone but i gain 4 kg!! ballooned up due to water retention. Still look very fat now even my own brother was shocked to see me after half a year not seeing each Other

ann

yes, for each feed, i latch bb on for as long as he can tahan before he starts screaming in earnest :)

So it takes a long time for each feed since I pump after that...maybe 1.5 to 2 hours?

nycmum

reassuring to hear that fenugreek may have some effect. hope i will see increase as well. Today i managed to pump out 50ml total at 2.5 hour intervals, this is good achievement from the pathetic 20ml previously.

Ann: even if tbd still need to burp bb coz if bb cries alot before feed or doesn't latch properly air will enter bb's tummy.

re: BM

That day my PD was telling me that the mummy's mood will affect the hormones in the BM. She said that if mummy v stress, sad and tired ... bb drink the BM will become cranky too.

So just relax and provide whatever you can =)

Mummies, I've brought my bb to pd cos he has not been drinking milk and turned green in the face. He's hospitalized now. Lucky brought him in earlier, he has chest infection, phlegm in his chest. Now put on drip and antibiotic.. He look so much better oredi..

Dest,

Re: temperature

For bbs so small, ear thermometer may not work. Have to use forehead kind oral thermometer under armpit.

Desitonia, take care ya. Ur BB will be fine. Regarding hair coloring, u can ask for organic color dye. It's supposed to be non chemical totally plant based but of course the color will be limited. Mani n pedi sure can la. Doesn't affect bm at all unless u worry ur BB will breathe in the 'smell' from the paint. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My baby also still latch sometimes every hour, sometimes every 1.5 hour, sometimes 2 hours.. And sometimes she has a good night sleep of 3 hours, sometimes only 2, or 1.. :S..

Her habit is to unlatch herself then sleep, sometimes only 9 minutes.. Then I can't wake her up! Afraid she'll vomit some more becoz she has vomiting problem after feed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]. Sometimes when I tried to latch her again she'll vomit quite a lot :S.

She almost never finished up my breast [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]. Only sometimes she finished them, when she latch around 20-30 minutes.

She's 1.5 months old already and I still don't really have ME time. Huhuhu.. Next time when my MIL/ Mom came I'll pump and ask them to bottle feed my baby. So stressed.

When bottle feed also she sometimes sleep when drink 50 ml only. It took like 1 hour to feed her 50 ml :S. That's why I don't want to ask hubby to do that even though he works from home. Too troublesome for him.

Today and tomorrow I need to take care of her myself. Hubby is working outside..

I weight her she's now 4.3 kg. Hehe.. Gained 0.3 kg since last week despite of the vomiting problem. Phew..

After every feeding I need to keep her in upright position from 10-15 minutes.. Sometimes when she's still demanding the other breast I need to do that first, then offer the other, after that re-do 10-15 minutes upright. Really tiring. Now I'm using nursing pillow back since when I'm not using that she's still vomiting.

regarding ebm, can i mix what i pump yesterday with the one i pump this morning into 1 bottle for 1 feed?

giving up on direct latching because mil is suggesting that baby is cranky because he is hungry and i dont have enuff bm!!!! so much for encouragement.

Stella,

ooohh ic... My bby cries like mad even though only for few mins. Like we nv feed him for years!! Maybe will ask my friend to check my latching too... Correct or not hehe..

Destitonia,

oh my!! Thank God u bring him on time. Hope him to recover soon....

Groovy,

Last time my boy also like that.. Is it because josie is not fully awake when she latches? nowadays i try to let my boy cry a bit so hes awake first before latching. After that he never unlatches n sleep in between feeds..

But maybe thats why he has lots of wind n mucus hahahaha... Yet to try other method...

Or is it confort sucking?

Hihi mummies

long time no post.. been reading the forum on n off though..

My baby is super clingy, wants to be carried all the time.. and she dont sleep for long. The moment i put her down when i see she is sleeping, she will cry. hai...

I changed to latch her on in the nights instead of giving fm. Been quite successful the last few nights, hope I can go on latching.

Had the full month party last Sat and used Neo Garden. The food is quite good. The curry chicken was all gone! =D

Ioca

I combine my milk. As long as both are at the same temp, it is ok to combine.

EBM

Can i ask how long can we keep our EBM in the fridge? 2days? 3days? 4days?

if still not used in 2 days can we put into freezer to freeze?

Fridge we have to use plastic bottles? no good to user glass bottles?

Lochia

when will it stop? I am still having this after 6weeks! It's really a super long menses period! >.<

My baby is still having rashes on her face. Wonder when it will go away. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

nycmum

I didn't know he will make so much noise while sleeping cos first night sleeping with him mah... End up entire night I was kept awKe cos I kept waking up to see what's wrong with him.. Hahaha... The next day, I had back ache!!!!! Now I know I must try to ignore or cfm I can't sleep next time! Haha

Seabreeze

Wahhh... Didn't know got so much "xue wen" in producing bm... Even mood also affects hormones in bm... I thought only the diet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hehe

Babydes,

48 hrs in fridge. Never use then put inside freezer. Ok to use glass, in fact glass is good. No prob with bpa.

hi all! Thread looks active today! I'm finally back at in-laws' place to take a break with baby before fil sends us back to my mum's place. Hubby and I had a really interesting day out with Jadelyn. Was out since 10am! And amazingly, we SURVIVED! Hahaha!! Actually we went out to distribute her full month gift boxes to hubby's colleagues as well as mine. Stopped for lunch in between with baby in the stroller and it was nice! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But of course got hiccups.. Halfway thru lunch, she pooed, so we went to Fullerton hotel's toilet to change her since it was nearby and so much cleaner. But too bad no changing station there so I had to change her in the stroller. Thot CMI, but still managed to do it swee swee! Then she pooed 5 big loads in the car! Really thank God for Mamy Poko diapers, really able to contain all that poo. If it were huggies or pampers, sure overflow out. Had to change her in the car, which I again thot CMI, but managed to. So guess will have more outings with baby in future! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Groovy

It seems like we r in e same boat. Sob... No life..

Babydes

Reading fr my pre-natal course's notes, u can only store up to 24hrs in e fridge. Freezer is up to 3 mths (if ur freezer has a separate door)

Starry

U r good. Can survive so many hours out. I also wanna bring my gal out for an outing too. The furthest we hv gone is jus e mall in our neighbourhood & that only lasted for an hour.

Anybody knows when do I need to send my gal for her jab? She's close to 5 weeks now.

ann> Ohh.. Maybe it's true.. Becoz I always quickly come and latch her when she's about to cry.. Hehe.. Will try your method next time.

Re Vaccination:

My girl was given the BCG and Hep B 1st dose when she was born. PD told us to bring her back when 2 mths for 5/6-in-1 jab. But i was looking at the health booklet and there's this page on check-up at 4-6 weeks old and also the 2nd dose of Hep B to be taken at 1 mth. So I'm confused.

Mummies who r BF & pumping

How did u gals manage to feed & still pump? I tried pumping after each feed & I only manage to get less than 10ml for both side.

Syann, I also can only pump 10 ml after latching BB. Think cos supply still not est yet. Or maybe my BB is quite good at emptying the milk.

Regarding vaccine. The 6 in 1 vaccine incl the hep B if I dun remember wrongly. Can take at 2 mths. But betta check again to be sure. Generally vaccines can be delayed slightly except those like rotavirus which must be taken before 6 mths. Hope that helps. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]