(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Suwaiwai,

There's a wide variety of cereals/brown rice available in the mkt, go slow and easy on yr baby. Perhaps, it will take some time for her to grow on it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Am sure you will find something that she likes [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Marissa,

My gal takes her solids twice a day for lunch and dinner.

If your baby naps around 5.30pm then it will be good to start her early [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Stella,

Think you have to discuss with your hb again and put yr foot down!! Whether your MIL likes it or not, most impt is to get the point across that you mean business!!

If she can't commit to taking care of yr son then it would be better to leave it to someone else at least you won't be on yr toes all the times.

Zuen, groovy... Both of u still pump at work? Ive no time got it anymore! My ss is really pathetic! I'm latching him every first & last feed. My boy Juz turned 6mth on sat! Wonder still can do anything to increase the ss? Once ss drop or depleting, can't increase anymore?

Oh I really missed the time when my breasts r full for my boy's meal! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif])

hi mommies and ian!

xin,

the grass is always greener on the other side, so don't regret. zuen is right.. still being able to latch fully is really very, very good. you cannot blame yourself or kayden for him not accepting the bottle since he has been latching for so long! be more patient with him and yourself bah.

zuen, bblin, groovy,

have you ladies tried hot soups (fish & papaya??), horlicks, milo etc? or fenugreek?? eat more fish?

Princess Dia ...

We just walk outside of USS haha cos we dun wan to pay so much to go in and in the end we cant take the rides - not worth.

These days the main challenge is not the 2 boys ... its our Lil Missy lor!! Cry and cry in the stroller ... want to be carried!! Cant wait for her to grow up so that she can sit in the high chair with us =p

Jac, i've tried all... doesnt seems to help.

Had taken fenugreek and it helps a little. But i stopped after finished a bottle. Dun wana rely on supplements. Think also time for weaning since Denzel is on solid now. Yesterday i pureed carrot and mixed into the congee for him. Juz now he pooped out the carrot. Seems not able to digest. Today din give him le... Juz cooked the carrot together with congee for taste only.

And i wanna get Organix four grain cereal for Denzel. Hmm how do you prep this? Mixed with EBM? Need to cook it?

Gd morning mummies and daddy

Wishing all a good week ahead and may the babies be all healthy and cheerful. For those unwell, they will be well soon!

Zuen, recently my ss drop and I also tapping on the fbm reserve liao. But I read from the net that once bb is 6 mths, we start giving semi-solid their milk intake will decrease. I think 500 or 800ml daily is sufficient for them. If not, you can you try to increase with what Jac is suggesting. I'm still drinking holicks and milo [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'll monitor for now, don't wish to increase ss and when bb drop intake, oversupply.

Milk intake

For those started semi solid, what is bb milk intake now? Do you feed 1 or 2 meals daily?

Stella, hope you manage to sort out with your mil soon. If she really loves your son, she should place him on first priority. I hear already also sad that you need to bring him out when he is having fever and not feel comfortable.

Diveera, i feed my boy 2 times - lunch & dinner. But juz give a bit only. So within 1/2 hr later, i give him his milk again.

lilbluey, thanks! i reckoned sofea couldnt eat her dinner coz she might b a bit sleepy already. might try it earlier next time. Btw, are u feeding baby the same food for lunch and dinner? Sofea has just started cereal and she really, really likes it.

Diveera, i was feeding baby 2x a day last week, and once a day since a few days ago coz we kept going out in the evenings. BUt i noticed no change in her milk intake. She still cries for milk despite upping her cereal intake.

Zuen, bblin groovy

Mb u all can try taking fernugeek? I also drinking the annum milk for lactating mothers. Dunno if that helps.

Starry

Yup. Really happy tat I can still latch him on till now. To think that I wasn't even latching him for my confinement lor. But now wanna train him to drink from bottle so difficult.

BBlin> I'm still pumping once in office.. Nowadays supply is totally just right for Josie's 160 ml x 6 times. Except for last week when I have toothache & when my hubby put 160 ml in unsterilized bottle so need to throw away, that I need to supplement with my frozen EBM.

Nowadays I don't have any excess BM to save in the freezer anymore. I still have a lot of frozen EBM from December & January. But they are almost like "expired", since I know usually it can be kept for 3-4 months only..

I'm planning not to pump in the office anymore when Josie is 6 mths old, and supplement her with formula milk once a day, and solid food.. I don't know what will happen to my supply in that case..

hi mummies and ian!!!

Long time no post. Today I tried giving the si Shen brown rice from eu yang San to Aedan. I actually wanna try training him to eat cereals alone without milk but failed. He kept crying so I quickly made some milk for him to drink and once he satisfied, I continued feeding him the brown rice... I thought he couldn't finish cos my first time making it - I made too much (3tsp)!!! Surprisingly, he still finished everything leh!!!!!!

Mummies... How do we eventually train babies to eat cereals alone during the meal??? Cos I'm trying to have the following routine:

Breakfast: milk

Lunch: cereals

Afternoon: milk

Dinner: cereals

Last feed: milk

Right now he always needa drink milk first then eat his cereals.... Any baby already solely on cereals for their meal before asking for milk awhile later???

good afternoon!!!

beezzzz weekend for me!! My family n I was at RWS n USS over the weekend!!

the rides r indeed scary n trilling, just like what they have offered in e other countries, e saddest things is only e weather killer!! kiddos rides r really limited but they really have a fun time!! The animted shows also bring on laughter to all... i find it is worth it though tiring.

How is everybody?? Mine was died beat!! bb on milk strike, mom on holiday.... now needs a massage desperately!!! lol

Marissa,

My gal has 2 different varieties of solids per day, either cereals or brown rice with supplements [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I grind the brown rice powder with other chinese herbs from the medical hall.

I bought different favours of cereals for her, so that she can have different choices everyday.

Shin,

My gal will eat her solids first then half an hour later another bottle of milk.

Stella,

Recently, I kept staring at my pump with no more milk dripping. Already tried to express longer. Today's ss seem better prob bcos I latched Isaac more over the weekend.

Bblin,

I'm still expressing 3x in office, before work, lunch n right before end work. Actually, only e last pump is working hours, so still ok.

Jac, xin,

When I had dd, I took fernugreek n I was so sick of swallowing pills so still trying to stay off fernugreek unless no choice. I tried hot drinks but dun seem helpful.

Diveera,

Isaac is already 5 mths n I will have enuff to last him until he starts solid, provided that those fbm that I stored in lanisoh stopped leaking! I just hope that I have more. I noe of bbs who still drink alot despite starting solids. my dd was one of them.

Xin,

I didn't train Isaac, my mum did. Until now, I never try bottle feeding him for fear of confusing him. Can't rem how long they took but tried on different occasions and slowly more feeds a day. If bb hungry, they will eventually drink lor.

lilbluey

I tried ur method leh. Give cereals as the meal then when he cry then give milk but apparently cannot. This fella must drink milk first then eat his cereals. Hahahha but it's ok lah!! Maybe when he grow older then I slowly remove the milk portion during his solid feed... Now drink milk still ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif])

I am from Nov 2010 thread and FTM.

My baby is 5months old now. She is on small size only 6.4kg. We trained her to drink from bottle (using avent, pigeon, nuk) since she is 3 month but the attempt is always failed. Once we start train her to drink from bottle her weight didn’t increase much. 5.8kg at 3month, 6kg at 4 month and 6.4kg at 5month. I had seen PD at 4 month and discussed about this. PD said if baby feels hungry, they will drink whatever. Otherwise, to do spoon feeding. Should I see other PD about this? Any recommendation for PD please.

I went back to work 2 weeks ago. Since then, she didn’t drink from bottle whole day and I can nurse her only when I came back from work and I nurse her around 8pm, 12pm, 3am, 6am. We start feeding solid food 2 weeks ago too but not much. She eats only 2 teaspoons of rice cereal during lunch time and 2 or 3 teaspoons of cereal in the evening. We tried spoon feeding but it takes very long time for very little amount. (30ml or 60ml takes 30 to 45 mins) and she didn’t take all. Sometimes, she split it out too. One more thing is she never cries for milk too. Is this little amount of solid food enough for baby?

I feel very worried for her health. Please advise me how to train her to drink from bottle. Or is there any service that can feed baby via bottle?

Thanks a lot in advance. Really appreciated for ur help.

ian,

yup check in sat noon.. was at uss in e morning.. did u went in??

angel,

this happen in my case, there is a period where bb have milk strike.. so dont force feed them. so long as there is gradual increase in their weight, it should be fine. if u r still worry, then visit a pd to check if bb has got throat infection or otherwise.

hi lan,

my EDD was in Nov. so I joined Nov thread. I delivered her at 36week+, a month earlier, due to frequent bleeding caused by low lying placenta. actually she is an Oct baby. can join this thread too?

Thanks cherry.

cherry> orh..nopes..slept until 10.30am then wake up..lol..go downstairs makan breakfast..jalan jalan awhile..checked out at 1pm liao..sat noon like wanna rain like tt lor..

angel> oh i see..~! which day is she born on? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

angel,

since she was born almost a month early, don't think you need to be too worried about her weight right now. i'm sure she will catch up before she turns 1 yr old. my girl was born when she was nearly 38 weeks, very petite compared to other oct babies. only in recent 1-2 months then her weight caught up with the others. she is 7kg at 5mths old, ard 6kg+ at 4mths. if you are very concerned, get 2nd opinion from another PD? if your child seems alert, active and still eating okay, she's probably fine. just on much lighter side... i know a mummy whose 10mth old boy is only 7kg. but it's normal for him and his parents are not worried.

Angel,

Although spoon feeding is tedious but it prolly one of the best way since your bb doesn't really take to the bottle. I've a fren who faces the same problem as you, her child doesn't feed well and have to be coax repeatedly and distracted with a toy before finishing a bottle. Her boy also dun cry out for milk at times.

Did u notice is she drooling alot tis days? sucking her fingers alot?

Hv u tried seeking 2nd opinion with other PDs?

Where are you located, maybe some of the mummies/daddy here can intro theirs to you.

Some time back I posted to let go my extra Sophie the Giraffe teether toys, and there were many inquiries. Sorry to disappoint alot of you when I ran out of it.

It's a really safe and stimulating toy for babies 2 months onwards, even now at 10 months my boy still enjoys biting it! I managed to get friends to buy a few more, those interested please email me your address and orders to:

Selling at S$28 each, will include normal local postage or COD at a convenient location e.g. MRT, malls.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5243767.jpg]

angel, what was your baby's birth weight? So long as she doubled her birth weight by 6 months (general guideline), eating and sleeping well. Then you shouldn't worry. At least that's what my baby's paed tells me. My boy is hitting 6 months this thurs and I doubt he is 7kg! He was 6.7kg at 5.5mths. But he has already doubled his birthweight. So his paed says no need to worry. Plus hubby and I are of normal built, though hubby is tall. So we cannot expect to have sumo babies.

angel,

try changing the teats to 1 size bigger...

ian,

ya it was raining from 3-6pm!! thank god that i had already check into the rooms n kiddos r napping, no issue for me.. so that evening was cooling!

angel,

ur bb has the same bday as my Isaac. She didnt drink milk at all during the 2 weeks that you were at work? I mean during office hours. I changed many bottles too b4 Isaac took the bottle. My mum kept trying and trying and Isaac was wailing badly. He is using Bfree now. I tried nuk n pigeon too. He will finish his bottle quickly if he is hungry, otherwise, have to wait for him to be half aslp too. Have you try to dreamfeed your bb?

Breastfeeding:

I am still totally bfing. TO increase ss, pump longer even your breasts are empty. or take venugreek seeds, take oatmeal. Don't worry about not meeting bb demand cos most baby's milk intake is the peak at 6 month. after that will tail off as we start feeding solid.

HELLO MOMMIES AND IAN[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

HOw was your weekend???[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Finally get to sit down and have a quiet time for myself[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry

Yep,Jade had a blast...not a big party but good enough cos she had her friends over and had a surprised princess cake!She was very very happy![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So long she is happy....im happy![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The night sleeping together was horrid....feel like kicking her back!Wahhahahahhah!!!the 3 of us like a letter "H"!!!She is in the middle....terrible!!

Seabreeze,

My friend told me that it's not worth going in esp for young kids but well,so long the kiddos enojoyed their day out with family...that's good enough...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

He must had too much fun till he was dreaming away la...LOL

Hello ANGEL[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Welcome to the thread[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yeah,whats your baby's birth weight?

If she had doubled up by now...you shouldn't worry that much[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I know it is difficult to ignored but looking at what you described...she looks like having a "strike" when you are at work..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

To have a baby to drink from breast to FULL btl feed is not easy..is either you are determined to stop latching her or you might have to cont to do like wat you are doing now...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

It is very comforting to latch....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Unless she is not drinking at all during night time then you should be worried[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Some mommies suggested some ideas are worth to try and besides that i think you should just stick to btl feed only for her to get use to it?Can you express your milk out and feed her by btl exclusively?

Milk Supply

Last month i was dead sick and because of that my ss drop drastically!!Meghan woke up crying for milk several times over that week and that keeps me pondering why is she waking up...hand express and pump....DROPLETS of milk nia!No wonder..and i was worried cos i m not ready to wean her yet...and i have nvr encounter such problems before

My fried asked me to try the sacred tea which she think it does help significantly and after taking it for 2 days..i see a good supply coming back![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Everything back to normal now..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

JSut for some of you who is still bfg and need to have a fast result,i think worth the try...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Himummies n ian..

I think my milk supply drop too! I think too tired these past days..

Yesterday night was the worst. 3 of us fast asleep on the same bed. Hubby woke up to find niko on the floor sleepung on a pillow!

That means noone wake up to move him to his cot, noonr was even awake enough to notice he is gone n fell!

Princess, where to buy sacred tea?

ann

i go it from rebecca of originjamu.com

you can msg her @97917008 and place your order...

i did mine last week...each day just brew the tea and put it into my water btl...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Angel:

I'm also facing problem of my boy not drinking from bottle. I also fully latch him on since he's 2mths old. He is 5 mths old also.

Had been trying out for 1 feed everyday so far. Will keep trying but latch on for the other feeds.

Think I'll only go full force to bottle feed after he's 6 mths ba. For now just intro the bottle to him first. Let him slowly get used n learn ba.

Nap time,

How many hours does ur baby nap in a day?

Avocado,

I notice there is like fibres on the flesh, issit ok for baby to eat the fibre?

I have the sacred tea 1 pack to let go... Me stop bf Liao... Anyone keen? I have 1 box of the traditional tea bag for bf..

Hello mummies and Ian!

I've been absolutely caught up with my new job and haven login to the forum for so long! Wanted to catch up on the posts but there's so many pages!

I know majority of you have started weaning babies already, i have also bought the organix cereal and tried feeding eldrick but he seems like he hate the taste of the cereal! When i spoon feed him, he will give the yucky look and once the spoon gets near him, he will 'yell'.

Does this mean that he dun like it and i should not attempt to feed him the rice cereal again?

Or should i use the traditional way, adding the rice cereal into the milk and bottle feed him? I am really clueless about the weaning process and sorry if i am asking repeated question here...

Also sorry i haven got time to plan the weekend gathering, i will plan it when my helper arrives and i am more settled in my new job [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hey Cyn

Hope everything is well with you and lil Eldrick[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Miss him...^^

You mixed his cereal with BM or plain?

Have you tried changing brands of cereal?

Cyn

anyway,i tried mixing cereal with BM or even FM...Our friend DOn't like it either....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

She will give me one kind of look or turn away....

Now i gave her the cereal mixed with water only....she welcome the spoon and open her golden mouth!!

I fed her cereal @ late noon...and after her morning milk,she is still taking her avocado[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fifi, lilbluey & diveera: thanks for e concern. Now in e process of planning w hb. These days I'm quite firm w my mil n I think she feels it coz she told me to save my leave for my own urgent matters n she hasn't broached e topic of her outings. Now if I need to do anything, I dun ask if she's free I jus tell her I hv urgent matters to attend to. As long as she doesn't step on my tail I wun bite. Furthermore I think

I upset her abit coz I manage to put Logan down for his naps without carrying and wen she tried to do e same he screamed bloody murder. That's my son!

Zuen: I read somewhere that u can boost ss by latching more frequently during weekends lei. Like cluster feeding but not really sure how it works coz bb usually drinks til full then can last quite a while. Mayb in between can latch somemore? U can check online for tips on this.

Any mommy stay in jurong west interested to send their baby for music class which is like kindermusik? It is called musikgarten.. I wanted to send my baby for the class which is a home based near pioneer mrt but need 2 babies to form a class. She charge $55 per mth! I'm looking at weekday

afternoon if any mommy wants to join me pls pm me[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] We can go for the trial class first!

Mummies, the past few days Logan has been sleeping frm 9+ pm til ard 7+ am without waking up for feed but he doesn't seem hungry wen he wakes up. Always can't finish his milk n recently he increased his milk intake. Normal or not? Worried abit coz he doesn't get hungry after 10 hrs of slp, I find it very strange...

starry >> thank you!a bit relief after reading ur message. yes. she is still active and alert except eating very little. saw message u r going have little rabbit. Congrat!!! pls take rest well. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

LilBluey >> thanks. I don't mind spoon feeding as long as she drink. But I am not the one feeding her currently. my mum and MIL are feeding her. feeling uneasy for them too. later on I plan to put her in IFC once I found out near my place. so I thought better to train bottle. otherwise, will IFC feed her with spoon?

yes. sometimes, she sucks fingers/teether a lot. haven't tried 2nd opinion yet too.

emmie >> her birth weight is 3.15kg although she was born 36week+. so KKH treated her as normal child after delivery. she didn't eat properly since 2 weeks ago and seems start loosing weight. that's why I start feeling stress.

Zuen >> is it? how is ur baby? weight? no. she didn't coz she had to take from bottle when I was at work. 1st week, I took half day so the whole morning she didn't drink. once I came back, I latched her. but after one week, I couldn't take leave anymore and so we tried bottle whole day. what is Bfree? where can I buy? how many days ur mum had to try Isaac to take bottle? my mum and MIL tried dream feeding but still not success. I had been tried during night time. once I put bottle, she waked up and cried loudly. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

princess_d >> thank you!!! her birth weight is 3.15kg. is it possible to train her to take bottle during day time and direct latch on during night time? yeah... seems very comforting. I feel heart pain after knowing that she didn't drink day time. hope it is a short period "strike". [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

wish I can take leave or unpaid leave until she becomes 6month to feed her. But after 6month, I still needs to train her to drink milk from bottle too. last 2 weeks, I didn't latch on during day time and can't express in office. only when I have engorgement, I tried to express. so my supply is very low now. but my baby still didn't cry at night too. thanks for the milk supply advice. would like to try sacred tea.

xin2 >> seems only some baby face this prob. some of the babies they can easily adopt. hope urs too.