(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Tigger,

Yup you are right! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Claudia,

Am using the single Avent pump temporarily, becos it's BPA so the bottle is slightly yellowish dun worry about it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Am a little annoyed with the pump attachment part thou' wahahaha ;p~ always hv to get my hb to remove the rubber thing for me!

Pat Pat, dun get too stressed, u will get the hang of it very soon! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starry mommy

bag packed liao in a cabin luggage cos hubby staying over HAHAHA!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

documents bringing - both our ic and original marriage cert + my patient card from gynae... i asked the clinic assistant about admission letter last time and she told me no need cos all uploaded into the system liao after i signed and sent back pre-admission letter to TMC. did i miss out anything? hohoho... really waiting game now... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] can't believe its really going to happen ... just a matter of WHEN.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cin cin, I think you will pop soon .. i remember midwife told me slight pinkish is because cervix opening slowly - some pple no pain which explains why they give birth at home (no time to go hospital). So exciting !

LilBluey, thanks! Glad to know its a good day. U make me feel good as my mom not supportive of this date - we tikam this date (given only 4 dates to chose from 9, 10, 11 or 12).

Doc thinks water bag will likely burst on 12 onwards so must do op before that day.

Cin Cin

dont forget bank book or bank statement for opening CDA account.

starry

i give him another hour before I call him. u must be getting anxious and excited - finally meeting your baby! remember to charge and bring your camera!

Princess Dia,

Neo Garden *thumbs up*

The other time I oso had Mum's Kitchen, not fantastic and the portions were quite 'pathetic'

Good afternnoon ladies,

Jac:

So excited for u. Soon u will be able to see baby jadelyn. Enjoy ur day today and go eat all that u wan b4 start confinement. Hehe.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cin Cin:

Got pinkish discharge already, think it's anytime soon ba. Y muz bring marriage cert har?

Re: Full month celebration

wa.. some of u already preparing for full mth liao. Me still not decided how it will be. My parents wan to hold it at some hotel or restaurant. Cos it's the first grandchild, so they wan something more grand.

Thinking of buffet lunch or something.

As for cakes, considering sweetest moments as well. But recently bought the Motherhood magazine and they got other recommendations. Can try looking at this website.

www.papamama.com.sg

Think their boxes also very nice and prices same as sweetest moments.

Cin Cin,

Hope to hear yr gd news real soon!

Metta,

9th, 11th & 12th are all good dates for delivery [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Metta .. ya exciting hor.. imagine really tonight.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks for the reminder on bank book.. will go find it now... ..

xin2: marriage cert for baby's birth cert registration @ hospital (save the trip to ICA)

lilbluey: [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] will update when junior decides to make his grand entrance [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi seabreeze, I remembered I love the angeli desserts a lot! The tau suan is very nice and the very nice fruit tarts.

Hi Princess_d, thanks for telling me about the dangui.

Princess d, thanks for the encouragement. I will work double hard to make him put on more weight. He needs to work harder than normal baby who has already a norm range of weights!

Most impt also growing healthily!

So happy that i can latch him on my left breast just now w/o the nipple shield. Oh ya, i check with the doc juz now and she said still can BF him. My mum not adding ginger to my food anymore...she also scare this is the contributing factor. Right breast is injured, so i pumped it out till i've confident to try latching him. So now, i'll give him BM during day and FM at night.

Anyone can advice how do i store the milk in freezer with multiple pumping in every 3-4hrs interval? Can put in chiller after each pump then when the storage bottle is filled, then put into freezer? Or how?

Cin cin,

I totally forgot abt hubby's stuff! Lol!! Don't care, let him pack himself tonight. That man always last min. Mine already done. Just need to put in phone charger later tonight.

Re: chicken essence

Need to drink tonight? Tomorrow gotta wake up by 6am to drink some Milo. No solids allowed and no more food/water after 6am. Torture.. Dunno how to go without water for so long. I shall drink like camel tonight.

Afternn mummies! jus wake up after a nap! shiok sia, finally managed to get some rest after these days. Heng got CL to help me to look after bb, if not i think i cannot get this precious 1.5hr nap.

Starry, get your hubby to pack some stuffs will do. Probably if okay, he can always go back home if he forget to being anything. Along the way, he can also bring back some of the gifts tht your frds send, so that on the day you discharge, there won't b some many things to pack n bring home also. Easier for you too. I remember everyday my hubby has to bring so many gifts home manz cos I tell him I wont be able to help him to carry heavy stuff on discharge due to the wound.

yah cin cin

Just get ready.. Hope to hear good news from you!

Elle

You are welcome![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry

Don't mention! I dunno about weekend cos twice I delivered oso falls on Tue! Wahaaaa! But dun worry too much, the nurses can help you...

I dun dare to think about 10.10 lor! I prayed it won't be tt day la! Really fun like the idea of waiting with no assistance ! Tts y I said let bb tells u when? Haa...

Iyooo I'm

So excited for you le..... Counting dwn !!!!!

Bblin

I'm sure your bb will find your milk more n more yummy ! He will work hard for milk!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lilbluey

Yea u think Neo garden good ? HB making a call to them now..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yea I found mums kitchen's standard drop!the last I ordered was jades 2nd birthday n the good left was almost 70%!!!!! can u imagined? Totally disgusted ! So I told HB die die I won't use them this round!!

Tiffy

Oic.. Wah!like dat ah? I ask u all ah.. Giving sweets/cakes is a custom rite? Can just display n offer onot ah? I give vouchers last time plus own made nag ku kueh n cakes... I found out tt ppl rather have vouchers actually .. I m kinda lost now le..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

My bil knows the boss from sweetest moment but I was thinking is giving vouchers more practical ??? Lost!

Thanks ladies for the recommendations.

I have been ordering from Neo garden in the past leh... a bit sick of the food... thats why want to try others... hmm...

Btw, I want to ask hor... after I latch Rhea for 45mins, she still not satisfied... is it my latch not right thats why she not taking enuff milk?

After her latch hor, I can still pump out ard 60ml leh (my usual without latch is ard 60-70ml)... so she is not drinking a lot from my breast isit?? confused leh... still thinking shld I continue to latch or just pump purely...

caterer : personally i have used neo gdn a few times & each time i m very pleased with their food. espcially their curry chicken. yummy yummy. i have tried Angeli at one of my friend's buffet, not too bad either.

xin, the box from papamama looks quite nice hor? But why mochi? am wondering what's in the red egg. real or fake. :p

i like the curry chicken from neo garden as well. think i never tried Angeli before... first got to decide whether we are holding the bash to start with.

Princess Dia,

Yup! Neo Gdn food is good! Their laksa which I ordered as a side dish the last round for my boy's 1st birthday was delicious!! Yumz!!

Their subsidiary Orange Clove (halal one) oso serves gd food! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Neo garden

Hmmmm... Ok ok!! Set la!haaa...

Try try .. Thanks for Sharing ladie !

SeBreeze

Think sweetest moment moved le.. No longer at lowland road! Haaa.. Last week I went bk Gardens n drove pass... Think they moved!

hi mothers,

i have just completed packing my hospital bag. and thought maybe wanna share you especially the preparation for BF.

Instant packet RED date tea -

supposingly we can't be drinking mineral water (but water helps to "produce" more milk) and instead of milo. you can make these instant red date tea to drink first.

Nipple cream -

i will start to prepare applying (on and off)from now and bring it with me to the hospital as well. just to prevent any crack or whatever.

fernugreek -

as sometimes the milk won't kick in so fast, i intend to start taking fernugreek after i give birth just to make sure theres is enough milk flow. (i guess more is better than none for start)

Diveera,

congrats! just read your birth story, it's so super fast. (we have the same gynae and i delivered after you). in the end did Dr Loh managed to help you delivery your boy? i rem dr loh said something like another fast one today. luckily he managed to come just in time to deliver my son.

Wah, you gals already started searching full month caterer liao.. me still 'suan-ing' n resting at home lor! hehe.. will start looking ard frm nxt week.

Bibizai, so u r the one he is talking abt. He didn't arr in time. It's delivered by the snr nurse & my hubby. He arr shortly aft to stitch. Yr bb also born on 4 Oct at 2+am? Can't blame him cos I arr delivery suite 1+ only 5cm dilated. He got the call nearly 2am & BB is out at 2.18am

tiffy

Yea indeed is more presentable ..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just gotta decide now cos invited guests is more than 50pax (-_-)'"

Tts y I got headache... Dunno how many to order? N wat if last min extra guest come then how do u all deal????

Last time I got 100 over ppl came we just distribute the vouchers if not wrong ...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Headache le...

Teoong

Yah lor! I oso a lil lost le! Dunno wat to order???? Buy vouchers or gifts or cakes or ?????!

Haaa.. I want simplicity la.. U can slowly source out lor! I ve already informed friends n relatives .. HB going bk to work very soon.. Gotta make full use of him! Hyiak hyiak ![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummies, do you notice colostrum coming out of the areola area also?? Just now had shower, not hot shower, just lukewarm only and then notice my nipples leaking colostrum already! And then I saw areola area also have. Is that the norm? A bit strange to me. And am I wasting colostrum, leaking like that?

Xin,

Feeling nauseous now, no mood for any food at all! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] just wanna drink water only. Feels like back to 1st trimester. Your appetite good? Few weeks ago you mentioned nauseousness too right?

HI Mummies and Mummies to be

Haven't had much time to come in to read as I dun have a CL and my hubby has been helping with the confinement cooking and helping me to take care of baby Grace.. but its still so tiring!! I feel like a zombie now.

For those mummies yet to deliver... try to sleep as much as you can now!! hehe

Vivian,

I'm in the same boat as you!!! I figured my nipples are too big (I know its a weird problem) hence when Grace latches on, after awhile when she stops and takes her mouth out, the milk continues to flow and is all over her face and she gets frustrated with all the work she needs to put in (plus nipple fills up her whole mouth) she refuses to close her mouth after a few attempt. Like i can put my whole nipple and areola in and she refuses to close her mouth! By then milk is everywhere on me and her!

I figures its so much cleaner to just pump but if I pump exclusively, does this affect milk pdtn?? So far I'm able to sustain 60-70ml each time I pump and that seems to be sufficient for her. No need for FM at the moment.

Jaundice,

Grace has juandice too and we needed to leave her overnight at the hosp for phototherapy. Most heartache is when they do the blood test!! Thankfully it went down but we still need to bring her to polyclinic for follow up. I wonder how long does it take for it to go away??? Hubby not in favour of sunning her cos like what Fi said, high chance of getting dehyrated.

Claudiaa> I also own Philips Avent single manual breast pump. The bottle is yellow becoz it's BPA free, and it's supposed to be the better quality bottle. You can check their website.

To use, just press the power button for a while, put on your breast, then try to use it like manual pump to get the rhythm. After that, just press the power button again and it will move as fast as your rhythm. Use power button again to pause.

Marissa> Baby Josie is just like your baby during my early week! She doesn't want to latch and she's a very sleepy baby. If I force her she will cry in pain. Right now I always use the chance when she's pooing/peeing and need to change her diaper to breastfeed her.. Becoz that's the time she's usually awake..

Today I went to MAH to check baby Josie jaundice. Now her Jaundice level has decreased from 14 into 12. That's why no need to admit to hospital.. Phew.. Since the PD said usually after 7-8 days which is the peak of Jaundice, the level will decrease, so I'm more re-assured..

No sun in the evening [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Btw, baby Josie has gained weight into 2.995 kg! We check ourselves using the machine in the PD clinic. Hehe.. She weight 2.77 kg in Tuesday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

That means my breastfeeding gets into her already. Even though I usually only breastfeed on demand, since I can't really wake her up! Huhu.. But right now she pass motion/urine very often, almost every 1 or 2 hours, so I usually use the chance to breastfeed her.

Oh ya, when she's making some noises but not crying yet, usually it's becoz she pass motion/ urine. And it's easier to change her and immediately breastfeed her because she's not crying. I now notice this and last night she's less fussy and didn't cry much..

Sorry went for dinner... back again.

Now got time to describe my birth story. Initially went for regular gynae appt on 28 Sept, but already had a lousy night of sleep cos was in pain (figured it was BH). At the clinic, my BP was super high, doc decided to ward me for observation but after a few hrs he decided best to induce labour as I was already wk 38 and the HBP wouldn't go down unless the baby comes out. The dilation process was long.. at 2cm I was in super pain (dunno if my pain threshold is weak or wat) but I was like give me the epi now!! hehe after that it was ok and during the actual pushing I didn't feel a thing. Think I was lucky too cos it took 4 contractions for Grace to come out. Phew.. maybe cos she small also la.. only 2.86kg.

Everyone commented how small she is, but I dun care cos to me small good la cos I didn't have to push for long time.

Starry, you already have colostrum now? That's good! Jadelyn will hv plenty to take ^^

Tmr is the day ya!! Jia you!!

Groovy, Baby Josie is home already? It's so relieved and happy to see bb putting on weight ya!

suwaiwai, thanks for sharing your birth story. So you have HBP and still can go for natural birth? I heard from my hubby coll's wife have to go for csect due to HPB.

I was wondering mummies going thr natural birth, does down there hurt a lot after anesthetic wears off?

Melissa I like to b braless at Home.

Jac n Diveera, I dunno y drip yet when pump yield is only 60ml for both breasts.

Bblin,

Hbp can still natural just that higher risk lor, ESP if bub not ready to come out.

Jac,

Jia you! So excited for you, can see bb tomorrow.

Re: full mtg bash

My no 2 very poor thing. We will b inviting min pple too, not at all grand. Jie jie got it much better. My mum even ask me not to invite colleagues but I scare not enuff pple to meet min for buffet! Haha.

BBlin> Baby Josie is at home since last last Thursday.. It's just I haven't been updating forum/facebook last week becoz of exhaustion. I even almost get depressed (post natal blues) last week. I cry becoz baby Josie doesn't want to be breastfed until the day after I'm discharged from hospital, even though I have milk already.

I blame myself why I didn't read about pethidine that can make baby drowsy. I thought baby Josie didn't get a chance to drink any colostrum, becoz my Mom saying the first few days is the colostrum, why my baby doesn't drink [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]. This week I read in the article actually transitional milk also contains colostrum..

I also cry becoz poor hubby, need to help me to latch baby Josie everytime until he also can't sleep and neglect his work. My PIL during our first day at home didn't know that my hubby is working from home!!! especially FIL just chit chat and watch TV. Until I cry and shout saying "Why no one helps us, my hubby is working even though he's at home!!"

Princess d,

Wow...... So many guest ya. Me only total 35 guest lah then cake only give to relatives so only 12 boxes of cake. Still easy for me to manage lor. Since u have so many guest, voucher is a gd idea

back from dinner.

Jac, jia you jia you! eat some snacks before 6 am. I also need to fast from 6 am onwards. Operation should be from 11 am onwards mostly likely to be 12 pm though as Operating Theatre is fully book so i dont have a fixed timing.

mummies who recd Neo Garden Catering, I was just looking at the website... whoah... just the Asian menu alone, they have so many choices!!!! really totally spoilt for choices man... whats the main difference betwwen Package A and B? Only the choice of food right?

Bblin,

Hmm I'm not sure about the higher risk bit cos I only had HBP in my last 2 wks of preg. Otherwise it was normal. But the nurses kept asking me if i felt faint or dizzy. Thankfully I was fine.

Just read some of the previous pages.. realised that Starry is gg for her C sect tomor! Good luck! I'm sure you are in good hands. Just listen to what the doc and nurses tell you. I was quite blur blur cos wasn't mentally prepared for labour but the NUH docs and nurses were excellent! In fact during the time for pushing, I had a small team of ad hoc ra ra nurses cheering me on 'push harder harder harder'... pity my hubby didn't capture them on film! hehe

Re: BM

I share the same grief as some of the mummies here about parents/PIL and Bm/FM. My mom seems to be agst BM, she keeps telling me that the baby doesn't have enough cos she sleeps with her mouth open.. need to feed her more, give her water, give her honey (Horrors!!), blah blah.. its so demoralising esp when I'm trying so hard to feed her from the boobs and we are both having a milk bath.

Plus she is already drinking 70ml.. how much more does my mom want me to feed her??!! Baby Grace finishes her 70ml and promptly falls asleep so I think that is sufficient.

I do have a question tho.. initially I thought that my nipples may be too big (and long) for her.. I mean she has to open her mouth very very wide for me to fit the nipple and part of aerola in.. and I've tried Fi's method of 'using force'. I think Grace latches on quite well but I dunno why after a few suckles she just refuses the breast. And I have to keep changing breasts just to get her to relatch again. Its quite a struggle for both of us and in the end she ends up frustrated.

Any advice on what I shld do?? My ML said sometimes nipples can be too big just wait for the baby to grow a little. But is she just saying that to be nice? I think this is my main stress as a new mom. That and having to deal with my mom and her negativity abt BM.

princess d,

thanks for answering my qn! always though colostrum/milk etc will come out from nipples, not the areola. so now i learn something today. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

metta,

you too, jia you!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] did your gynae tell you that after 6am not even a sip of water is allowed? i wonder if can suck on icecubes or not. otherwise mouth very dry leh. i cannot go without drinking anything for more than 1hr type.

bblin,

i hope the leaking of colostrum is really good sign of breastfeeding le. 'cos will be separated from baby for several hours. by the time i have her to myself, maybe she will be in that sleepy state, don't wanna latch etc. so will kan cheong abit 'cos first time, dunno what to expect.

suwaiwai,

wah, you really power, stepping right into motherhood without any help except from hubby! salute you both. some more your hubby cooking confinement food for you! i think i will faint if my hubby ever do that for me. wahahha~!! anyway, don't think baby grace's weight is small. most important is that she is healthy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi, i'm actually a jan mummy. congratulations on your newborn. hang in there as your hormones continue to rage. and hang in there for breastfeeding. in doubt, please vist a LC. I went to 3 before finally getting it right. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. Persevere on. It's only when my boy was 6 mths when i finally was convinced that my son was getting enough milk. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

here to help my friend ask if tmc provides all baby stuff like clothes, mittens, booties, receiving blanket. does she have to pack them?

snoopy,

thank you!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hope i won't be too groggy and can log in tomorrow evening to chat.

just had some friends over and they had left. felt very encouraged by them and they even gave a big ang bao to baby jadelyn! now i can't sleep. too excited and hyped up i think.

mummies who gave birth already, when bfing, do you let your MIL or own mother watch or even help you with latching on baby? i know i won't feel comfortable having ppl stare at my boobs leh. except for doc/nurse/LC lah, 'cos they are professionals. and except for hubby of course. how arh? i was thinking maybe shut myself in the room when need to bf baby.

jia you starry mommy... have a smooth one!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

me still waiting.. although i find discharge getting heavier..

I have been busy trying to establish my breast feeding career. Frustrating. Whenever I try to latch my baby she will suckle for a while then after a few times starting wailing. Really duno is it coz my milk flow is too slow or too little for her. I have been pumping and the most I get is 100ml. But not always average is abt 40ml. Might be too little for baby. Have been supplementing with fm.

Jac All the best for ur delivery tmr!! U will see ur baby in less than 24hrs! Go order Mac breakfast before 6am!