(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

cheese, vege also a mus in the porridge. Not only I love veges but also cos of the nutrients in it. It cannot be found in meat. Fruit is also a mus for wx's dinner. :)

Haiz, their pattern really more then badminton loh. U mentioned hubby also like that when young rite. Like father like son. Shld be a phase, soon JL will start drink milk again. And he drink more than hubby rite. Don worry bah.

I actually give up liao. If he don want to eat my porridge, I will try to force but after a while will stop. No point forcing more cos he really don want to eat loh.

i add in other vareity also..but she still dun wan to eat my porridge leh..

i tink she ate till she found out she had enuff she will stop leh... haiz.. im so ian if feeding ehr porridge leh..

winnie, lets go find out how ifc cook their porridge. Maybe they add either salt or marmite. Btw, I tried marmite b4. It taste awful.

Jascmy,

I love marmite lei! But I got no excuse in putting cos my MIL

use my method to cook porridge for JL.. tasty enough..

But one fine day she didnt add fish or meat inside... -_-"" Then i put a bit

and he finishes it all.

Yes Winnie, this weekend I will cook for Gen see if she love it a not.

Hope she like it and eat a lot just like last time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Must be some smell she like, ur MIL cooking she likes it eh.

and your MIL cook porridge quite thick, JL noe how to eat leh.. when i cook he dun like...

Rachel, ya loh, my mum too. But at least I know what she feed cos my hse do not have lots of food. When at my mil side, they will carry him to the dinning table and eat together and chit chat while I watch tv cos I aldy had my meals and nothing to tok to them abt.

SIAN!!! HAve to go home now. Confirmed diarrhea.

I will complain to my MIL straight.

jascmy

same lah. Everyday come to my place not enough. Keep nagging us to bring him to her place on weekends. Every time also give me problem. She even suggest to my hubby to leave my son with her in her house. Can't imagine what he will be eating if left him there for even an hour. I just ticked off my hubby this morning. I know his mum's pattern 10 times better than him. And my point was proven. Cos he also saw with his own eyes what the son was eating with his grandmother carrying him in her arms. You know the dog at home was also "poison" to death by his mother feeding her all kinds of rubbish. Got so many organs failure and got to put to sleep after so many years of torture. We have been telling her not to feed the dog with all those salty things. But all she rem was the dog wanted to eat.

for my porridge though I don't add salt, I will add ikan bilis powder so the porridge is not tasteless. So far so good. I do add abit of salt if I add meat to his porridge.

actually I'm not so strict on his diet. I'm quite sure he has eaten worse stuff then salt when he puts stuff into his mouth when our backs are turned.

my boy also scream when he don't want to drink milk, so everytime he open his mouth to scream I stuff the teat in. like really need to kap him tight tight from head to toe. head cannot move, hands held down, legs I put my own over his then he completely cannot move. Thats when all other methods are exhausted then I have to do this. but usually not for whole feeding lah, only when he drink 100 ml then remaining 80 he don't want then I have to chu pattern liao. haiz

Mdm yip, I also kiap him tight tight leh! haa...

this few days my boy also chu pattern.. I doubt my MIL will use this method lo... her theory is.. he dun wanna drink liao,not hungry etc.

To her, milk is NOT impt! Im going to tell her that he need more calcium cos he is teething etc!

Hai, old folks some really hard to explain or communicate...

Madam Yip

It's true the kids could have eaten rubbish picked up from floor. So its our duty to keep the place as clean as possible. If it's due to accident, then no choice bah. But add salt to porridge really not necessary. I believe last time old folks can't afford to give better food to the children, so add salt for taste.

Anyway, I feel the less salty food we feed them the better. Even for ourselves. My friend's brother at 28 yo kena nose cancer cos of taking too much salty stuff over long period of time. At such a young age got to go for chemotherapy, lost his job also. Now with this kind of condition also can't find a permanent job. Very poor thing.

I'm determine to cultivate a less salt, less oil, less sugar diet for my boy. Everything moderate. Start young and see if he can maintain a healthy lifestyle in future. Not like his daddy and grandfather. Both super unhealthy, took lots of sauces. Grandfather also diabetic. So there's a risk for my hubby to be diabetic also.

oh no salmon twice a week only ?? cham !! i feed quite often coz i find it has a natural salty taste !!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

*stressed...

my porridge i will add in pork + fish + other veg. also add in xiao bai cai then all blend it after cooking. i tasted it seems fine. if i just add fish without pork i find it more fishy tasting.

Rachel, can leh i can go in...

u try this link here to view the Pediped shoes selection available

Monkie, my gal rejects bottle teats now, so she is using magmag straw to drink her milk.. Needs some coaxing n forcing though..

For fresh milk, my friend stays in US. Her son starts drinking fresh milk at 1yo coz she said formula is not popular in US n PD recommends full cream fresh milk.

Mvh, does ur gal stop when she realize she is sucking milk from the magmag? Mine drinks water from magmag but once taste is milk then push away refuse to suck. Btw, ur friend does she feed the milk cold from fridge or warm. If warm up how to warm it up?

Aiyo.... Tonight my girl refused ton drink her milk again. Donno is it cos she's too full or wat. Tried feeding using bottle, no use... Then poured into magmag cup also no use... Why like that?

Monkie, my gal will suck a few mouth n then stop drinking. My mum juz keeps offering n usually need to carry her n walk ard, show her things to distract her to drink.. Long process..

My fren gives fr fridge, serve cold.

I saw an Ang mo on e bus last sun, give his toddler (maybe 2yo) those Dutch lady full cream packet milk.. Think those Ang mo din really keen in formula?

Anyway, I read fr dumax website that our bb now needs at least 350ml of milk a day for 1yo up.. So little meh?

MVH

350ml like very little. My boy these few days drink alot. Duno is it becos he gonna turn 1 in 10 days time. He can drink from 750ml to 950ml a day. On top of his cereal breakfast and two porridge meals.

MVH

yah, my domestic helper has been giving him milk. She said he kept asking for milk every 1 to 1.5hours yesterday but each time drank about 120ml. Then last night weather so good. He slept from 8pm till this morning 8am. Stood in the cot at 3am and asked for milk then sleep again. 7.20am cried for milk again while sleeping.

I think ang mos and hospitals din mind cold milk. My sis's twin Bbs drink cold EBM since birth loh. Cos they stay in KKH for few mths due to pre-mature. Direct from the fridge and nvr warm up. Then my sis also blur blur, when the 2 bb's are at home, she also give cold EBM until her sis-in-law told her not to do it when she help to take care while my sis work.

But according to TCM (my chinese physician colleague told me), cold drinks are very bad for the lungs and intestines. She say thats y nowadays children keep having coughs and flu.

i think the ang mohs got used to cold milk. Their country is very cold during winter. By the time the baby drinks 5 min, the milk becomes very cold already. Their bodies will be able to adapt. Coughs and flu can't be avoided. Even adults like us also always kena. I do agree that cold drinks will worsen the cough or if got sensitive airways, then a change in temperature will irritate the airway further and cough more. So drink too hot or too cold water also will irritate. Must maintain constant temperature.

Any mummies bought pediped shoes? Do you know the size difference for this and see-kai-run? Can I trust the size charts on their websites?

My boy wearing size 4 for carters (just nice), size 5 for see-kai-run (slightly big) but pediped seems a little smaller size than see-kai-run for size 5.

Rachel,

the see-kai-run shoes in size 4,5 etc are bigger than the SMALLER see-kai-run becos they run in sizes like 12-18mths, 18-24mths etc.. maybe thats why the see-kai-run version u bought is slightly bigger.. pediped also depends which model/version u bought..

mine already proceed to stage 3 since 11 mths 1wk.

Rachel, your MIL is scary leh. Better keep an eye on her to avoid her from feeding your son with junk food.

Lucky my boy recovered very fast after taking med. But his appetite is still not very good. The most can only drink 1/2 of his usual milk and refuse to eat porridge. Haiz, I knw my porridge hav no taste cos my mum say for diarrhea Bb, better to let them eat vegetarian and plain porridge.

sunflower

i'm looking at the pediped flex range. The see-kai-run shoes I also bought the walking shoes not SMALLER. I bought size 5 for see-kai-run, about 1cm longer than his feet.

So fast you switch to stage 3 already. My boy drinking more now, so duno want to change at 12mo or 13mo hahah, scared later he milk strike again, happened when I switched to stage 2. Tried so many different brands.. so sianz

jascmy

yah, she is scary. I don't mind her playing with my boy but feeding him or bringing him out I very worried. My hubby says she got medical conditions that are affecting her brain, not that she has bad thoughts. I told him of cos I know, but that doesn't mean I can let her do what she wants to my son mah. He is simply too young for her to take care, too many accidents happened before, how can I not worry. She is so careless with things seem so logical and common sense to everyone else. Things happened and she just said sorry, she didn't know. I can't blame her, only can blame myself for letting her have her ways. Hiaz..

wl

i think ikan billis you can soak with water to reduce the salt content. I stopped using ikan billis to make soup. I give silver fish and threadfin instead. Soup bases now using chicken and pork to make. Few more months will try beef soup. I think can make ABC soup+pork too. I can also drink kekeke

I still giving stage 2 mix with food to eat. Rachel u buying which size? I bought eu21 for grip n go series. Then also spree some bigger sizes because got discount. Much cheaper than buying from Singapore so buy bigger can keep. Haha..

monkie

I'm looking at size 22 or 23. Ideally size 23. 21 I think just fit leh. Some more pediped I read the reviews like one size smaller than other shoes. Then the bigger sizes are like 27 and above! Keep for how long then can wear?

SHOES

I have see kai run VS the brand ch*lette? - The one @ vivo.

Now I know why we need to pay more for a good quality shoe.

Really dun last long for the latter brand.

But I also buy one from NTUC for those peep peep shoe, looks and its better

than ch*lette

btw,

JL today drink 50ml and he stopped!

Walao eh... sianz..

Then 10mins later I go and change another teats (all the teats, we cut into bigger hole ourself)

and he drink within 3mins?

I hope he is just impatient and he is already used to the fast flow of the milk

rather than milk strike...

hello all,

sort of scanned through the forum and saw the thread fretting on milk strike?

I have given cowhead chedder cheese slice to bb XL last night.

Anyway, i'm here to seek for advices.. thinking to do a career switch, and kind of want to focus into teaching career. those teaching primary school type. went into nie website and saw some requirement, but there's a bond of 3 yrs to my understanding. There's a monthly salary while studying there but it's very low.. sigh.. Starting to hate my job nowadays.. Really hate handling difficult customers.. Any suggestions for being a teacher? Is it stressful?

my friend is a teacher... teachers also got 'difficult customers' nowadays... parents, students and also some politics among colleagues

Sigh.. can't seemed to find what i like to do.. Have been thinking about it recently, switching to a new career also means to have salary slashed..

Monkie: Yah, i have been thinking about it, but if succeeded in being a Primary School teacher then i get to teach and coach my children along in their studies in future.

Just bought size 21 for see Kai run. Got some allowance but read that pediped sizes are smaller and flex range got extra insole so better get 23.

penguin_88, being a teacher is also v stressful these days...as monkie has said, tdy's parents are difficult becos they have higher expectations and are more educated...and kids these days are also a different breed so has become tougher to handle...i have frens who hv been teaching for many yrs and they also say that hours can be long becos they are also expected to take on projects and also alot of admin work to do...

Oh yes, teat holes by now shd be using the biggest. I hv been using size 4 for avent since 8 mo. Every 3 to 4 mths must change new teats.