(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

mamyvelle : i oso keep on having breast itchy. i sterilise my pump everytime i use. still kena leh.

i scratch until my breast bleed =x

Me too! Especially after pump, But if not fever think is thrush ? Not too sure , but check online not so easy to clear de... Should see wad doc say tml.

Mvanmum , I never use sterilizing pills, but been using sterilizer for all the pump parts and bottles. So uncomfortable lor feel like giving up

Mvh ok noted.. my boy recently slp thru Liao.. No more nite feeding .. I took 1 nite, pump and now kept in fridge.. Still thinking wat shld I do with it..

♥Mamyvelle♥, depend on the ifc bah. Some ifc let Bbs sleep in cot and very big space for them to play. As for my boy's ifc, its very super small so only some Bbs get to sleep in the cot. Those who sleep in yao lan at home will sure to sleep in bouncer cos ifc don have yao lan and teacher can't be carrying so many Bbs and rock them to sleep individually. So no choice they will be strap in bouncer whole day.

Not sure y your ifc so bad. Maybe u wan to change to another ifc. I feel learning vision's ifc very good. All Bbs have their own cot and very big area. Heard PAP ifc also good wor.

Sunflwoer, so good that you boy sleep thru liao. Haiz, my boy use to sleep thru, now he wake up 2 times for milk. I tried to ignore him he will bang the mattress with his legs and throw pillow.

How to train him to sleep thru again??

His appetite is back again. Think he used to teething liao.

how's everyone & ur bb doing?? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] its been SOOOO long since i last posted in this forum so not sure if anyone still rem me?? haha. btw, this is daintyaqua (angel), could not logged in with my old a/c so created a new one.

evan is not an easy bb to look after since she's colicky & fussy though she's slightly better now. just slightly better only lah cos she likes to cry for attention too, >_<" not much time to post here or keep updates on my fb. din even hv time to upload bb's pics lor.

some of u may know that my mil has passed on earlier this mth. i think its a relief both for herself & for us cos she was in so much pain & agony (terminal stage lung cancer) & we do think she's in a better place now.

i do hv a domestic maid at hm helping to look after evan too but she got a lot of patterns & not too reliable so i dun hv alot of time to myself cos i hv to constantly keep watch over her. i also try to take care of my bb personally if & when i can.

anyway, evan just turned 7mths on the 15th of this mth. she has started on solids & is prob expecting her first tooth pretty soon. lol. she still cannnot crawl properly yet & i was actually kind of hoping she might skip crawling altogether. cos i'm staying with my fil & e house is v cramped with many antiques stuffs so lotsa possible hazards. getting a playyard to contain my gal is also diff due to space constaints.

I would like to exchange S26 Promil gold stage 2 (400 gram) & Nan pro 2 (400gram) with Similac 2 (400 gram).

Exchange place:

1) Tanjong Pagar MRT (Weekday)

2) Paya Lebar MRT (Weekend or evening)

Please PM me if you have Similac 2.

I am clearing leave today but i doubt i can be here for long ... cos i am at home with the little king. He is 6months old and have not been on any food other than breast milk.

Would you guys share your weaning plan with me? I am totally lost. I started him on organix baby rice cereal on saturday for the 11am and 6pm meal and did the same for sunday... what about today and tomorrow and the day after...?

jascmy,

mamyvelle?? thought is rachel who posted on the IFC??

MVH,

Hope your nose get well soon... I too have slight running nose on weekends but luckily not so long lasting type.

xuanx,

kudos to you. Breast feeding is not easy and kudos for doing it for so long! As what you say you kena so many times already and each time for what? for the health of your baby! I always tell myself if 1 year of hardwork on my part can exchange for a lifetime of benefits for my baby, everything is worth it.

Mastitis is a terrible condition, it is usually a progression from block ducts? You have gone through it 6 to 7 times so why succumb to it now? I also cry like hell when i get block ducts cos it is so painful and my bb doesn't get enough milk and i know that after the blockage the ss is going to drop again but each time i tell myself i decide when to stop, not my breast or any condition.

Strive on xuanx! u can do it. that doc is not pro bf!

when i start him on the baby rice cereal, i let him drink 60ml first before letting him eat, is that correct?

and organix is white rice... i want to put him on brown rice ... when can i make that transition?

and also will baby get constipated on white rice cereal? if so what can i do?

mommyxuanx,

at the end of every feed try cleaning off the saliva on the nipple with plain water.

pat dry and squeeze some milk out to apply over the nipple areola area. bm have an astringent effect, there is no need for commercial nipple creams especially in your condition.

air dry your nipples

can eat peanuts if breastfeeding?

scooby, i also using organix rice cereal. i start bb on cereal first then milk

i bought oats cereal. think will be trying oats. anyone tried healthy times oats cereal?

monkie, i also eat..i eat all kinds of nuts..they say cannot eat when bfg, scare bb allergy..

jascmy, i train slowly leh, other mummies train hard core leh..from 3 mths, my bb still on nite feeds for 2-3 times, then slowly gradually to 1 nite feed..and this whole week no nite feed.. some frens ignore their baby cries and let them cry to slp..i cant bear lar.. so for me gradually.. now he will turn left turn right , like craving for milk, i just give him pacifier and pat pat him..less than 5mins, he goes back to slp..then a few hours, he is like that again, i do the same.. so now he can slp throughout..

Jasmine, that ifc teacher is brainless! Are they even trained? To me, they must be certified first-aiders leh, if not very dangerous. Might as well leave it to maid, it's the same.

MVH, the ifc does have a playmat, think its the small size parklon playmat. but they only let the babies go on it for abt 10min a day the most, and it was only after i repeatedly requested for it. The small mat can only put 2 babies, they put 3 and it gets crowded as the teacher also sit on it. I ask them to leave the babies there to play on their own, but they are hesitant cos there are some crawlers and babies who can walk already. They scared babies will be stepped on by crawlers. They can't confine the crawlers to one area cos some of them cry and want to be out of the gate and go near the babies. I understand this part, but i can't accept that the babies are deprive of their development.

jascmy, the ifc have a small room with a number of cots in there. The room is seldom use. Once i told them to put my baby to sleep there. He was finally getting some rest cos the room is quieter. Then a teacher came in with a crying baby to try to put him to sleep in cot too. Needless to say, the crying wake my baby up and she saw my baby woke up, she just carried the other baby out of the room and leave my baby to cry. If the baby is left in the room, the teachers outside can't hear the cries becos outside is too noisy. And I'm afraid they forgot to come in to check on the baby too. They use blanket on the baby cos its cold in there. I'm afraid of SIDS if they forgot to check on the babies in the room.

Now, the teachers don't even allow me to step into the infant area, giving excuses like babies have stranger anxieties. There are two gates, if we can't get through the first gate, there is no way we can catch a glimpse of what is happening. But i insist and peep from the second gate, all of them are on rockers and strollers. I think if we are not allowed to check on them, we won't know what is going on in the centre.

actually on my first day in the ifc, i ask the teachers why the babies are all sleeping in the rockers/bouncers and not cots, they told me the parents want it this well. I am not sure if it is the truth.

Eeyore, my nose better le.. But I think I spread to my elder gal.. Sigh.. Keep on spreading in my place..

Sunflower, so good that yr boy can sleep thru.. Mine dun take pacifier since birth so dunno wat to use for her to soothe to sleep. When my gal wakes up in e nite, she will flip over n head up, put her down n pat, she flip again n head up.. So no choice to latch her..

Rachel, the more you see, the more problems. I also saw somethings that I don like when I peep. Hav to close 2 eyes if not serious. Now they even cover up the windows with towels so can't peep liao. I can't step inside cos they worried we bring in viruses.

Your ifc really worst then mine leh. Maybe u wan to change ifc.

I believe the same will also happened for nanny, maid and even mil. Thats what I have been telling myself. Unless we take care on our own. Don always go peep, won't solve the problem, will only make things worst.

Rachel, sounds like e IFC is really messy? Not enough caregivers? Maybe too packed? My gal cc IFC always open the blind n can see what's going on inside.. Maybe it would be good that u talk to e principal?

MVH, me too. My boy nvr use pacifier. I can't pat him to sleep too. Cos once he see my face, he will start to shout and cry loudly. If nvr see my face, he will kick and bang the mattress loudly. Sigh, I can't continue to sleep with the loud noise (kicking and banging) made by him leh. So no choice but to latch on too.

Rachel,

oh dear, sounds terrible! wat is the name of the IFC? i heard cherrie heart from merchant court is quite gd..2 infants to 1 caretaker.. maybe standard different?

Jascmy

Agreed that maid, mil and IFC all hv different sets of problem. The IFC I sent to is CH. Price revising in April. After subsidy is $1k. I heard frm another mother, most of the time, one teacher to 5 infants. The rest take care of crawlers and older infants. I dont know what is consider serious problems. Staying in rocker all the time definitely will make him cry all the time. That day I went to pick him up he is so tired. Like no strength. Duno what happen. Maybe can't sleep and also keep crying.

Mvh

Spoke to the principal already. We told her the Aircon too cold. She went to adjust but this week back to square one. I think the changes they made is only to make the new enroll happy. When we are not allowed to go in, it's back to square one. I also spoke to her abt my concern but it seems Like I hv to be patient and wAit for my son to adapt to it. Still I find it cruel to be strap up all the time. Maybe I can consider again when he can crawl or sit up or walk. Now I can't convince myself this is a good method for his early childhood development.

pinkx xuanx

i tink having to have block ducts already is a great torture less to say of wat u have experienced. my sil also got phobia after she got this mastitis..her block cos she only got 1 or 2 ducts hence she got super block if nv clear in time and down with mastitis and with short nipple she couldnt latch or even use electric pump. hand express all the way. and she survive 6mth and finally she stop. now the thought of BF is a nightmare to her. i personally feel if it's really up to limit that u cant cope or u cant rest well or do many tings. giving up BF is not bad idea. afterall FM also can do the job. dont have to feel gulity about it cos u did ur best to provide wat u can [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

MVH

how's ur elder gal in CC at sparkletot ? so far so good? my boy's CC recently keep hearing teacher are leaving... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] high turn over rate.. i guess new school difficult to cope and short handed.. so one by one leaving.. headache when the kids have to re-adapt to new faces equivalent to changing a school.. i heard their chinese teacher has left and so far til date i didnt see any replacement...

Hope to get your answer soon as the venue is subjected to availabilty.

First Birthday Bash - Choices of Venues including estimated budget

-- Please note that the cost does not include cakes/cupcakes, customised tees and goodies bags.

-- For Little Gym and Gymboree

> this package is only meant for babies.

> Meals and cake are not part of the amenities provided in the package. However we can bring in finger foods and packet drinks!

Hope to seek your understanding that I can't accommodate everyone as these are the best packages I can get. If you have any other venues in mind, please help me to get the package and pm me by end of this month. Meanwhile I hope to get your vote / feedbacks. If I have missed out anything, please let me know. Once I get the price of cakes/cupcakes, customised tees and goodies bags, I will finalise the budget for everyone. Hope everyone are fine with this arrangement. =)

Hort Park

Package

- 4 hours usage of function room - 50 pax peak period rental is $275.

- Halal catering per adult is $12

Budget:

1 Parent + 1 baby: $12

2 Parent + 1 baby: $24

1 Parent + 1 baby + Maid: $18

2 Parent + 1 baby + Maid: $30

1 Parent + 1 baby + #1: $18

2 Parent + 1 baby + #1: $30

1 Parent + 1 baby + #1 + Maid: $24

2 Parent + 1 baby + #1 + Maid: $36

1 Parent + 1 baby + #1 + #2 + Maid: $30

2 Parent + 1 baby + #1 + #2 + Maid: $42

Room Rental: Not included in budget yet. Depend on final attendance.

FYI:

- The above cost is not included cake and other misc stuffs.

- For those with #1, #2 and maid, we can split into half price as most catering has the buffer of 10% more of the food.

- Can rent toys as the place is spacious - only for #1 & #2 to entertain them (optional)

***********************************************************************************

Raffles Town Club

Budget:

Birthday Tea Reception Package (50 persons)

$35++ per pax

Package is inclusive of

- A buffet high tea menu with a variety of Appetizers, Main Course, and Dessert

(you may choose from a selection of 3 Appetizers, 8 Main Course and 3 Dessert)

- Free flow of Soft Drink, Coffee and Tea

- Fresh flower table centerpieces

- 20% complimentary parking coupons based on your confirmed attendance

- Complimentary projector and screen

***********************************************************************************

The Little Gym Awesome Birthday Bash

The Bash is scheduled is as follows:

Choice 1: The Little Gym of Singapore West @ Forum: Sundays from 4:30pm to 7:00pm.

Choice 2: The Little Gym of Singapore East @ Marina Square: Saturdays from 5:00pm to 7:30

Basic Package for 20 children includes:

• 20 The Little Gym Invitations

• 20 The Little Gym Balloons

• 20 The Little Gym Lootbags (loot not included)

• 20 nametags

• 1 The Little Gym Backpack for the celebrant

• exclusive use of The Little Gym for 2 ½ hours:

- first 15 minutes shall be for registration and free play in the gym;

- 45 minutes of instructor-lead age-appropriate games and activities;

- 1 1/2 hour in the multi-purpose area for candle-blowing, gift-giving and meal, and clean-up time.

- the party ends at 6:30pm for half hour for packing up.

Fees and Discounts:

Basic Party Package: S$750.00

Extra children in excess of 20: S$35.00 / child

The Little Gym Members are eligible to 10% discount.

You can join us as a member for an annual membership fee of $55, and enjoy the 10% discount immediately.

Budget:

If hit to

30 babies - $37 each

35 babies - $36.50 each

FYI

- Can accommodate up to 35 babies only.

- This package is only meant for babies, not for adults or kids.

- Meals and cake are not part of the amenities provided in the package.

- Please advise me if you are member of Little Gym!

Gymboree (Harbourfront)

- 1.5hrs birthday package is $370 for 10 children (inclusive of the birthday child).

- charge only $15 per additional child.

- Each child will receive a free Gymboree class voucher worth $40, and a gymboree balloon at the end of the party.

- birthday package do not include any food and drinks, however can source for outside caterer (recommend finger food and packet drinks for the kids).

By the way, there is a vacant slot on the 9th July (Sat). However, the earliest party time available is at 5pm.

Budget:

If hit to

30 babies - $22.50

35 babies - $21.50

40 babies - $20.50

FYI

- Can accommodate up to 40 babies. However, we have to limit up to 2 adults only to accompany each child.

- This package is only meant for babies, not for adults or kids.

- Meals and cake are not part of the amenities provided in the package.

alibaba, you boy in which CC??

Rachel, tats very bad. U pay so much and u get this kind of service. Hmmm... so its not what u pay, what u get. U shld change ifc if u don feel comfortable.

I hv gave him thicker clothing already. My main concern is him strap up and he can't sleep. Space also limited.

I saw children putting toys in mouth and passing onto other children. Also seen a boy fell and hit back of his head. All these I think hv to close both eyes.

jascmy

the new Cherie heart at Admirax.. at times the new faces make a hard time for me to send him to school... he see teacher that he dont fancy.. will run or refuse to go into the school.. -_-..

rachel,

for me , i also feel very uncomfortable that my baby has to stay in the rocker for hours and crying.. its not fun at all, really heartpain to see something like that..somemore now is their time to start exploring on things, look around, grabbing for stuff and moving their legs and hands etc.. so its not nice to be strapped!

for me, will withdraw and think for alternative. dont feel good even if i close 1 eye, not talking bout 2 eyes.

Jascmy, 同命相怜.. Gues have to latch lor but scared become like my elder gal.. Until she is totally wean fr my breast, she keeps waking up to latch till 22+months..

Rachel.. Yr IFC so ex n still so jialat.. Yr bb can sit n eat solids?

Alibaba, my gal still din wanna sleep in cc.. We slowly lengthen her stay in cc.. Now she stays till 2+-3pm.. So far ok la.. Will whine a bit n refuse to drink milk in e morning coz scare finish milk got to go school.. Morning 10am then go school.. Coz got to wait for my mil to bring her or bluff her on e way to school.. She likes her Chinese teacher so it is a blessing that wif the teacher she din cry for a week or so le.. But got one time the teacher din come n she keeps screaming in school to go home.. Yr ah boy no problem adapting to cc ah? So good leh.. E intake at CH good mah?

rachel

how long is ur boy with the IFC?? i duno how IFC works. however, i tink we have to let bb to get used to the environment like this eg. noise? cos CC definately will have disturbances with other bb or kiddos. once all will have already get used to the daily routine.. most bb will slp at the same time.. and this may take some time also. however what does IFC do during the day? they shld also have programs for the bb.. like flashing card, play time etc.. if like u say letting bb to sit in rocker for hours of cos it's boring.. and not healthy.. unsure if it's good for bb back growth.

Cheekrene, I would prefer to bring my elder gal to the birthday bash.. Seems like those gym packages don't really allow leh..

Raffles town club ok la.. Since we dun have to do anything eg food n deco(assume provided) juz need to think of programmes for e event else will be purely mingle ard n free n easy..

Sunflower

Really appreciate your support. I actually cried on his second day there cos he refuse to drink milk and looked timid. At home he is quite a screamer and alw happy face and laugh at everything and everyone. I understand eventually he will adapt to the environment but I can't bear to see him strap up for a few months till he can crawl. Actually the rocker not meant for babies who can flip already.

Mvh

He can't sit unsupported. He hasnt reached 6mo.I'm starting cereal and pumpkin for him. CH will only feed them cereal when they turn 7 mo.

Alibaba

They don't hv flashcard or whatsoever. The teacher alr so busy. Programs such as wood blocks are for those who can walk or can sit very well. Saw a 9 mo kid seated at high chair and they provide some woodblock puzzle. No coaching but toys are given to them. Those 7 mo and below all sleep on rockers. That's what I observe. My son is left to play with his own fingers.

Alibaba, that CC so bad. I tot of sending my boy there when he 18mths. I think I hav to drop this option liao. Lucky I can't afford their ifc service, See what happened to Rachel, I also scare.

My ifc also hav some bad points lah. Winnie's gal got UTI from there and cheese's boy got diarrhea. Winnie's gal also fell and hit her face.

My boy hit his head when teacher teaching him to flip and I found a cotton bud stuck at my boy buttock when I open the diaper when he home fm ifc.

Btw, our (winnie, cheese and me) Bbs in the same ifc.

RAchel,

so whats ur plan now? i am in the same opinion as you..i also understand he needs to adapt the environment, but depends wat type of environment. being strap up is really not good.. once my boy can turn abit , i already stop putting him in rocker, so dangerous..i cant imaging 5-7mths still on this rocker.. we are not paying the IFC to just strap your boy for hours, drink milk, slp and continue to be strapped...no wonder he look timid, think abit tramautized..

sunflower

gathering? for mummies and babies or just mummies? if want can plan la. see who are keen.

jascmy

is not that bad. there're nice and patience teacher but recently heard one by one is leaving.. just duno why.i hope the teacher turn over rate will stablise. else our kiddo will sure have to re-adapt to new teachers.. which is why making me a hard time to send him there. when 18mth then u decide whether to change school.. the transition not easy... if current one is good then stick to it.

mvh,

basically you are right. we need to find program or else this birthday bash is only mingling around. but we need a host. if take gym package, at least the instructor can help us to find program. its all depend on everyone.

rachel

then it's really no pt for IFC.. might as well let nanny take care.. the purpose of gg to IFC is to have professional childcare and edu for our bb.. y i put my boy to CC is because i want him to learn things and socialise / happy at school.

alibaba, i don really like the environment there. So thinking of changing once he reach 18mth. Hope he can get into the learning vision in my office building here, if not have to see where can he go.