(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

jascmy,

u want to put at the desired school, then u shld check out now.. if possible book a space for ur boy 1st or put into waiting list.

alibaba, yup already in waiting list in the learning vision in my office. Heard waiting list very super long so hav to find a 2nd option. My 3rd option now is to remain in where he is now. Still trying to find my 2nd option.

Sunflower, I know the ifc there very good. (Not sure whether they will treat Bbs like Rachel's ifc).

But is very far for me.

i m suppose to bring bb for her last 6 in 1 tonight , but now she seem to have a little flu ... so can i still bring her ? as for her flu , do i have to bring her to PD or just let her heal ?

Jascmy

So the IFC there is good? I heard the cc not gd.. The kids go ard beating each other and teachers left one by one

hi monkie n jascamy

by the time i c ur post ... it has already gone into archive.

so now i m sending u guys a pm instead.

according to the gina ford book. oatmeal should be introduced later.

i m not eating peanuts from the start of pregnancy till now cos peanuts r known to hv caused hay fever n in a family of allergies history. peanuts r dangerous.

hey mommies, r there any weaning meal planners out there

Jascmy, so which IFC ur bb goes to? Curious coz I also stay at sembawang..

Learning vision at RP is too hot the waiting list.. Even me who has staff priviledge also cant get a place for my gal.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

But woodlands got another LV.. If wanna LV, why not kinderland at civic centre coz cost about the same n kinderland also branded..

Rachel, how come yr IFC din feed bb when they reach 6mos? I thought 6 mos onwards can eat cereal Liao? I really suspect e IFC is over-crowded hence such rules..

rachel, what is this place that yor baby is in right now? seems quite hellish.

Mvh

Rp is famous for IFC rite? Not cc rite?

Rachel

I believe Urs is CH, which is Cherie heart ?At which location ?

Sunflower, I m not sure LV @RP good at IFC or cc.. I din go to IFC room which is 2nd level.. But I like LV style, every month or fortnight they have a theme to work on. Eg. Family, then they would provide materials n teach the kids about family on top of their normal abc n 123..

Sunfl@wer

i heard there's a new ifc Life Journiz, thinking of checking out that place. If really no choice, then employ maid until my baby can crawl then relook at the options again. If maid is good then probably will wait for him to be 18mo then send him to CC. But im not going to send him to the same IFC for the CC program. That place is overcrowded in my opinion. It's very popular due to the location, but I heard from a mummy, two of her colleagues send their children to the childcare program withdraw just a couple of months as the kids keep falling sick.

alibaba,

i have the same ideals that our children can learn to be sociable, to share and learn new things that we don't have time to teach. Of cos, also to grow up with other children. But maybe they are too young for that now. I can only pray that none of the children is sick and they won't get HFMD when I see the children licking toys and passing around.

MVH,

the director claims that in case of allergy, so they wont feed the children anything other than the milk provided by the parents until they are 7mo. I think they are cutting cost. In december, they told me they provide baby wipes, when my child went in Feb, they said they no longer provide the baby wipes. Everything we have to provide and then they also revise the rates, $150 more per month due to higher running costs. I was told to buy the mattress cover and can choose to use the centre's mattress. The other mother was told to buy the mattress and cover by the director. If i want to feed my boy cereal, i have to provide the cereal. One teacher even suggest i bring his bath cleanser. I was like, I paid $1.6K just to rent a rocker and a bare cot there and use their water only lor. The teacher taking care of 5 kids, so if she works 8 hours a day, divide by 5, each child about 1.5 hours a day. IFC is so expensive, what they provide does not justify the cost. If i choose to put him in the afternoon session, they charge $1100 for half a day, and they don't even bathe him. I guess the reason is that morning session has more teachers, some of them are part timers working half a day only. They came in to bathe and feed the children. Then leave at 1.30pm.

MVH, my boy in the ifc jus opp Sembawang MRT.

I went to LV@RH's ifc to take a look b4. The area is ver big. Even the bb cot room is big. I like their curriculum too. They will bring bbs jus outside centre once a week to look at flowers, trees etc... They don hav bouncers and only a few high chairs. Tot of sending my boy there too but far leh. The walking distance fm mrt is far. Raining then chiam ah. Not sure abt their CC leh.

My Office LV also super hot waiting list. My colleagues boy already 19mths and still no news.

MVH,

I thought most CC should have theme for each month or quarter, my gal IFC looks quite good, 1 teacher to 2 babies, I believe every babies have their own cot as I saw mummies bring their own cot bumper...

Rachel: our ifc provide cerals leh..u paid so much and yet need to bring ur own cereal?

as for bb wipes, all along we provide ourself de.

jascmy

opposite sembawang MRT? which ifc? i only know joy montessori at the town council building. which provides for playgroup onwards. that's one of my shortlisted CC. u can take a look if u are sourcing around. one of the reason is it's non air con and cleaniness.

rachel

yah. precisely.. seems like ur IFC has double standard... also CH? shld u write to their head quater and complaint? paying tooo much and not getting quality service. i know most CH centre are franchised..

Rachel, ur ifc sound bad... paying 1K+ like really not worth it. Ya, u can consider maid or nanny as the ratio will be 1 to 1.

pinkx xuanx, u really super suay leh...actually i think it is alright to stop bfing looking at ur condition... dun give urself too much of stress, u have been trying ur best liao & now our bb already 6-7 mth old, good enuf actually!

cheekrene, for birthday bash, I see only few mummies response to ur post. My suggestion is why dun u just decide on the venue, cost& confirm? It is not easy to get everyone agreement on your selection & for sure regardless which venue u select, sure have someone can not make it. So, not need to wait for everybody to vote. Just select! Then the final list of attendance will be out, otherwise it will be a never ending story. I believe whoever is keen to go sure can make it! I am fine with any of ur selection... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rachel,

get your baby out of the place. 5 babies to 1 adult is not acceptable. The IFC at gentle road told me their ratio is 3 to 1.

Thanks sunflower. by the way what is CH?

duckling ... you also giveing up on breast feeding?

Is there anyone out there who intend to do it till 1 year old? need the psychological support.

sunflower / alibaba, another gathering? for mummies only? when, where? count me in if timing & location is alright!

MVH, 10am then ur send ur gal to CC? tot they encourage parent to send the kids not later at 845am as the lesson start at 9am? give u gal more time, from what u say, i think she is start adapting to cc life liao...

I went to LV at RP before, i like the place too but not the location... :p and yes, the waiting list is really v v long!!

duckling,

thanks for your support. I agreed that it is not easy to get everyone to response and make all the coordination. i am coming to the last resort to make a decision and also to make it easy, i find that gym will be fun as we can keep our babies well-entertained. anyway the biggest stars are our babies. just provide the fun for them and celebrate with them. it's difficult to cater everyone's need. i see the mummies in other thread organise gym parties for their babies and make it easy for everyone. i agreed that there will be people dropping out nearer to the date. i will work it out this weekend. thanks!

scooby, dun be influence by me la... Cos my initial plan is only to bf my boy up to 4 month... after 4 mth, then i plan for 6 mth and finally i end up today when my bb turn 7 mth old (officially stop pumping after 2 days!) I dun set the high target so now I m very happy with my acheivement ma... haha! Guess what, in my freezer still have around 50pack ebm... think can last for another mth for my boy as he has start fm mix with bm too (fyi, my#1 only bf for 4mth :p)

There are plenty of mummies who are succesful bf more than 1 yr, eg, mvh, QQ, n_g etc... U can do it, jia you jia you!

scooby2010, I want to breastfeed for at least 1yr. There after will continue if still hav supply. Even if I am to preggie with #2 (planning), I still tot of continuing bf for #1 unless gynea ask me to stop.

scooby, me!

starting i hope i can BF for 3mths, then 6 mths... now i wana BF 1 yr or more until planning for #2 then stop... hehhe...

jia you!!

scooby

i have no fix date to stop BF. if i can i will BF for a yr. however i dont want to stress myself over it. now going 7mth and i still hanging there and no thoughts of stopping. keeping mindset positive is important.. i used to be stressed over SS etc during my #1 times, and thoughts of stopping always appear in my mind. and it lasted 8mths.

Need you all to recommend a good blender. My lousy blender spoiled yesterday. I need to buy one urgently. Is there any blender where I can only make small amt of puree for one time feeding?

jascmy, what is RH?

eeyore_03, where is the ifc?

alibaba, yes it is CH. Maybe after i settle my boy's childcare arrangement then i go complain. Even different CH has different pricing and different arrangement leh.

winnie, the director says they will provide the cereal after the baby is 7mo. There's a 7mo baby there, didnt see them feed him cereal though and the baby only knows how to flip to tummy, doesn't know how to roll to his back from tummy. I think my son (coming 6mo) will be able to roll back from tummy soon, he is doing it half way already, he turn half of his body, from waist up and can see he is moving his leg to roll over but always flip back on his tummy before he roll over entirely.

I saw the teachers feeding those kids who can sit and stand properly. They feed them on highchairs.

scooby

I was told the IFC ratio also 3 to 1, but now they say hiring, not easy to hire etc etc.

jascmy, I use the food maker, but it is piyo-piyo brand istead of pigeon brand (I found that all tools inside are the same, just the brand & price difference). I highly recomended it esp I like grater bowl. I use it since my #1 time... it is very handy & can bring to everywhere... I use it to grate apple, pear for my boy & I never use electric blender all the while [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jascmy, i bought the braun handheld blender, find it abit long to hold, but not too bad. I got the 3 in 1 package for $79 in Courts. Comes with an egg whisk, chopper and a blender. Only tried blending avocado. Pumpkin i use hand to mash, then use strainer.

Actually for japanese organic pumpkin, need to use strainer or not? My hb says got fibre so must strain.

Rachel, seems like yr IFC is sucking $$ leh.. Seriously should considering changing since yr bb haven't adapt to this IFC yet.. Never heard must bring own cereal leh.. Cc they provide breakfast, lunch n tea break leh.. Maybe get a nanny temp n when bb reach 18mos can go cc.. In fact 16mos can go cc but must appeal to mcys.. My fren did e same..

Eeyore, issit? My gal current cc like dun gave such theme leh.. Jus sing song, abc, coloring.. Sounds boring to me..

Jascmy, I know where ur bb IFC is le.. Good or not ah? Very convenient.. LV@RP will bring kids to RP walk walk or to RP library watch show or have games.. They also bring them to admiralty park to see birds, butterfly, fish, plants etc.. Sounds fun.. But location not good la.. Unless u drive..

Ducking, no choice leh.. I can't bring bb along wif elder gal to cc.. Coz morning time she will still whine n dun wanna go.. So have to wait for mil to come.. Yes school starts at 9am but now relax a bit so as to make her like school. Somemore when she back fr cc ard 3pm, she doesn't want nap le n she only sleep ard 10+pm.. So she wakes up late ard 9+am..

MVH,

have leh, my gal's cc have like family, transport, costumes, etc...

I used to see the IFC in my gal's center does bring them down for walks, 1 teacher to 2 babies in twin pram but after hfmd, they don't bring them down to explore anymore which I don't mind...

u mention your gal back from cc at 3pm but don't want to nap?? I thought nap is after noon time, so it's normal that she doesn't want to slp... my gal's cc will feed them then wash up and bath, dry up then proceed to slp so usu slp time is from 1 to 3pm...

Scooby, jia you!! I will continue as long as bb wants n I have ss..

Jascmy, I dun use blender coz din freeze bb food.. I bought a very fine n small shredder? Dunno if it is call shredder lol.. When I steam bb food I let it cool them I shred it.. Very very fine n smooth.. U can find it in daiso..

Eeyore, ya my gal cc nap is fr 1-3pm but she has problem sleeping there alone wif 'strangers' n cried e 1st week.. So now we dun force her to nap in school n we also bring her back ard 3pm coz she also dun wanna shower there.. Sigh.. We slowly extending her stay there n hope she can adapt soon.. Maybe this cc is new, juz open in dec n all e teachers r new bird.. So maybe teaching materials not extensive.. Till now still no school uniform..

Final decision for First Birthday Bash

Confirmation on Venue (Subject to availabilty if everyone can confirmed. Please see deadline below.)

To make it easy for me to coordinate, I am choosing Gymboree (Harbourfront) due to location which is near MRT station and the staff there also can help us to coordinate and organise activity. Please note that it is not possible to cater everyone's needs, hence I need to re-confirm the number of participants.

It is confirmed on 9th July 2011 (Saturday). The available slot is 5pm - 6.30pm inclusive of activities and birthday celebration!

Package for Gymboree (Harbourfront)

- 1.5hrs birthday package is $370 for 10 children.

- Additional child will be $15.

- Each child will receive a free Gymboree class voucher worth $40, and a gymboree balloon at the end of the party.

- Birthday package do not include any food and drinks, however can source for outside caterer (recommend finger food and packet drinks for the kids).

- Can accommodate up to 40 babies in the venue. However, limit up to 2 adults to one child.

- Meals and cake are not part of the amenities provided in the package

Estimated Budget:

If hit to

20 babies - $26

25 babies - $23.80

30 babies - $22.50

35 babies - $21.50

40 babies - $20.50

Please note that

- budget is not inclusive of birthday cupcakes, goodies bags and other misc!

- Payment for booking the venue will need to be done by 31st March 2011.

- Other misc payments like birthday cupcakes and goodies bags will be done before 31st May 2011.

Volunteers:

1) Treasurer to handle payments - Any volunteers?

2) Cup Cakes - Any volunteers? (My idea is to get cupcakes so that every babies will have their own small cake and a candle to blow on that day instead of getting everyone to cut cake)

Optionals (If everyone is ok with budget, we can include those shown below)

1) Finger food and packet drinks only - Any volunteers? (Only if time allow us to eat within 1.5 hours)

2) Customise T-shirt- Sunflower (Budget for tee is $10 each.)

3) Goodies Bags for Babies- MVH (Budget is $5-10.) Any other volunteers to help out?

Interested participants (Please confirmed attendance before 18th March 2011.):

1) cheekrene + HB + B

5)

6)

7)

8)

9)

10)

Please do not copy and paste. Just update me the number of people and who are going. For those with #1 and #2, I am sorry that I could not include them in the package as the main celebrants are our babies. However you can plan other entertainment for them since Vivocity also got mini playground.

duckling, how much u bought the piyo piyo brand??

MVH, Thats wat I'm thinking leh, go Daiso find the parts in the food maker. Actually I already have the so call shredder.

Cheekrene

Sorry, haven got time to check out the TS , will try to do it soon. I noted on the budget [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] . Please add me and bb into the list ..

Scooby

CH is Cherie heart.

Duckling and Alibaba,

With baby can ? Hehe