(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Anyone knows if bb skip crawling, will affect their speech development? My uncle's daughter doesn't like to talk.. Can greet ppl, name things but can talk in full sentence.. She is abt 3.5yrs old. My uncle told me recently Chinese newspaper got one article on speech delay which mention that if bb skip crawling might kanna this problem. N his gal also skip crawling so he ask me to check if got such thing or not..

Ahnah, I love kissing my 2 gals on their lips.. Lol..

Duckling, my elder gal still can't adapt to cc leh.. Ever since week 3, we bring her back ard 130pm. She only likes her Chinese teacher n follow her everywhere. Last 2 days she cried n screamed in school coz her Chinese teacher on leave.. Kanna complaint by one of e teachers when I go pick her.. All e teachers r malay or Indians except Chinese teachers.. Wondering issit coz my gal dun like to communicate wif them coz she speaks Chinese most of e time..

Thinking of changing cc.. But dunno where got space n convenient.. Sigh

Alibaba, guess wat.. My elder gal still crawl into e walker n sit n play.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] everything also wanna have her share..

mvh,

got such things? i did not know baby skip crawling can affect speech development. i ever heard if put on walker too much, it affect speech too. my colleague's son is 7 years old and having problem with his speech and mention that she used to put him on walker most the times. i dunno how true.

fumiko,

i suspect my girl will crawl when she sit. she dun like tummy time, maybe my mum hardly got time to let her have tummy time.

mvh

my boy's fav teacher left... and he dont seems to like some of the new teachers. u only kanna complaint from the teacher there once? me almost ev day..i listen til sianz.. my boy like to beat pple... include the teacher there. haiz.. v stubborn. if tings that he dont get or wat. he will do that.. i also duno how. at home he not so notti.. so it's really hard for me to correct him.. i tink the school hav to do their part on disclipine. cant rely on us parent.

haha.. i expected my elder boy will do the same as ur elder gal. haha... but bb toys or bb food he wont snatch..unless someting new..

Ahnah,

I haven't research on crawling n speech delay.. Juz heard from my uncle during cny that Chinese newspaper got article on this.. So wanna ask all of yr opinion on this..

MVh,

Must read this.

http://www.brillbaby.com/teaching-baby/physical-development/baby-crawling.php

"...crawling is not an important developmental milestone."

"Doman, a pioneer in the field of right-brain training, crawling forwards is an essential skill to master. Doman claims that crawling stimulates the brain to develop convergence of vision – and that as a result, children who skipped this phase as babies may find it difficult to learn to read and write. In addition, children who missed out on crawling may suffer from speech problems, he says – because the same part of the brain (the midbrain) controls both functions."

Testimonal...

http://www.whattoexpect.com/blogs/himmeandbabymakes3/crawling-and-its-impact-on-speech-and-reading

If like that ... tonight going to crawl with my boy liao.

ahnah

my niece who is 4yr this yr. she used to crawl using her buttock rub against the floor.. is that consider crawling anot? i tink she compare with my other nephew who is 6mth older . her speech isnt good. and she dont talk v well.

alibaba : like that very hard to say .. me not a PD or expert or Kate Lee.

But 1 thing for sure.. my boy is not crawling... going to teach him how to crawl (demo first)

Time to get knee pad and elbow pad. Help ! ! !

u gals make me tempt to buy new beanie for my boy again :p... will see see look look, might order too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cheekrene, for me, I think buying books for kids for sure is worth it! It is a long term investment! but pls ensure after u bought those books, take time & read with them! I have bought many many books for my kids. I used to bring my#1 to library every weekend too. But since her didi born, time is always not enuf & i cant make it as a weekend activity to bring my gal to library anymore. Those books I bot b4 become my best material to read with them now[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

MVH, u may searching ard for new cc & at the same time give more time to ur gal to adapt to her current school. It is good at least she has 1 teacher that she likes... i agreed that teacher playing a very important roles for kids to adapt to cc...

Alibaba

Thks but I cannot buy.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jasmine

How u handle avocado ? Going to let my boy try. Buy Liao wait for it to ripe ? How to Noe it's already ripe? Once ripe, peel the skin off and steam it rite ?

ahnah

haha.. kate lee a expert meh? i tink when u put him on his tummy and put his fav toy infront of him to sia him to move forward lor.. my boy now is moving backwards. haa..

mvh / ahnah, personally I am not totally agreed with crawling will caused the speech delay even the research say so:p My sister & myself both skip the crawling stage. but both of us were early reader accordingly to my mum & we 2 are v v talkative too... haha!

cheekree, for my elder girl, I put her in the walker when she was ard 5-6mth too, she can speak full sentence b4 turn 2 yr old leh, so I also not believe put in walker earlier will caused the probelm on speech.

sunflower

u reminded me of my avacado!!! i bot 3 tat time.. tried half end up he dont know how to swallow til now i dint touch the other 2.. tink spoil liao.. guess it's more than 2weeks.

I still think it's all individual. My mum last time babysit a boy, sit in baby walker since 5 mths.. Notti like hell, can scold pple and talk like an adult before 2 yrs old. Call my name instead of 'Jie jie'

So it's all individual lar

alibaba : we put him on his tummy, he will try to crawl but he doesn't have fav toy. So how to make him move forward.

ducklingeshop : so it still depends on individual baby. Maybe the left brain expert say a different things ? :p

Alibaba

Mix with water to dilute it so he can swallow much better?

They say I MUST get avocado.. Cos it's gd for brain and heart. So I'm getting lor

hehe, managed to change my ID...

alibaba/ sunflower, i did bought the avocado too... i use blender to blend it... but my boy doesnt like the taste at all. I also tried it & I myself also dun like taste too... keke

sunflower,

why cannot buy the beanie? if you managed to buy riped one, then can just mash and feed your boy. if it's unripe, try putting it in a brown paper bag to speed up the process to let it ripe (never put unripe avocado in the refrigerator if not it won't ripe). when riped, it should be soft when gently pressed (thus easy to mash). avocado no need to steam. if it just won't ripe, just blend and feed.

ahnah

let him learn himself lor.. we always place my boy on the play mat while we watch tv. he will do stunt himself de..

ducklingeshop

how bout adding milk? avacado with milk shld taste better.. haa.. i miss the alexandra village's avacado milk... yumm yummm..

duckling,

you are right. i should consider getting books to entertain her if i plan to have #2.

walker:

there are many pros and cons. still, babies develop well. it's all depend on individual.

Jasmine

Ok thks .. My hb say those crystals will fall off the beanie or if bb pull out and put into his mouth .. Very dangerous since Now they like to put everything to mouth

anyone want to exchange similac 2 400 gram with nanpro 2 400gram? i hv Nanpro2

prefer exchange either at tanjong pagar or paya lebar mrt... let me know if you are keen.

First Birthday Bash on 9 July

Hey mummies and daddy,

one of the mummies suggest to hold the birthday bash at hort park. Hotels are expensive so dro the idea holding there. Hort park is a very nice place to hold as our babies and toddlers can mingle around the place. We can rent toys to entertain them. I think rental is cheaper! Will check out the price. Let me know if you are comfortable with the place!

MVH,

that time my colleague's sister's son got this prob and they are refered tp specialist instead and got speech therapy...

re: walker

my gal also step into the walker and treat as bumper car... run with bending knees then lift up her legs and bump onto the furnitures or wall...

Morning all, my boy stop crying last evening when he saw my Mum. My mum came over to help me out. Conclusion, my boy want us to play or carry him. Faint!

the beanies are so cute! Quality ok right? I'm going to order [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Thanks for sharing.

Ohayo all

all of us here are shopaholic! haha..

my boy teething got slight fever now.. poor thing... i apply teething gel for him hopefully he feel better..

ahnah

u tink GPs can use if ride motorcycle? my fren wanna buy for her hb as valentine pressie. but i tink v difficult.

Hi, Im from september thread... Would like to check... Any mummies tried feeding their babies oatmeal or wholegrain cereal?? I notice that my girl's sai this morning looks exactly like the cereal.. And the smell is different from normal sai... Is it normal? I just started her on the cereal Ydae...

Hiya,

Morning all... may I check my gal is still sick (since sat) I have stop feeding her solid and is on full FM. Will that affect anything huh? I just want to be on the safe side and wait for her to fully recover before re-starting her on solid

can ask if any bb teething got diarrhoea?? my son had diarrhoea for abt 2 weeks liao...

although not very watery but every 3 times leh...

wl, my ger oso sick since sun... got ulcer in the throat & fever on & off till tues.. these past days she no appetite... dun wana eat cereal & milk oso drink little... so i just feed her BM & give water in betweens... me too going to continue cereal after her PD review tis sat depends what she says....

it shld be ok as long as she still drinking milk...

thanks crescent....

so poor thing leh, her buttock is all red, helper says it's due to too much pooing. not sure if it's true or not. i suspect she's allergic to Huggies. if not then will be cos her body is too heaty. wat do you all think?

hmm... dun tink it's allergic to the diapers lah... my ger oso sometimes will get diaper rash cos she got very sensitive skin.. it's normal for bb to have diaper rash...

just change her diaper more frequently (abt 3-4 hrly) and apply abit more drapolene cream to the red red area... after a 2-3 days shld be ok alr....

Hi read the post abt crawling vs speech development. My elder girl skipped the crawling stage completely and went fromsitting to cruising. She is now 3.5 yr old. I have no problem with her speech. In fact a few pp r surprise with her ability to express thru speech (for a 3.5 yr old)