(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Alamak.. I think my gal is a nite owl.. She sleep fr 11-12mn.. Till 5-6am.. In between got a few feedings, depending on her need.. Then I will rock her to sleep.. She sleep again fr 7+-9+am if lucky.. Same as Winnie n sunflower bb.. Every 2+-3 hrs she is sleep le.. Think my gal sleep the least? Barely meet 12-13hrs a day... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Duckling, my gal dislike potato n sweet potato.. Eat 1-2 mouth, split out n cry.. Then constipation.. These few days feed her pear purée n I think she like sweet stuff.. Now afternoon give cereal without any purée, she cry n reject by splitting it out.. Sianz.. Difficult to feed her..

Scooby, good to hear that yr boy is drinking well now.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Who say skinny mummy got lousy milk? No such comparison la.. Dun bother about others.. As long as bb is growing healthy Whig matters most..

Screaming bb

Sometimes my gal will scream very loudly in melody tone.. Funny.. But on some days I never hear her scream nor talk.. Strange..

Mvh,

did your girl sleep more in day? Does your girl rub eyes when she is sleepy? I was thinking if you can make her more tired in day so that she can sleep at night.

My girl scream or make noise like nobody's business. Today instead of scream, she start to make ahhhh sound but in soft and funny tone. I find her funny but annoying la cos she did it non stop.

scooby,

thanks for replying, brought him to see doc liao...

MVH,

u still latching her full time??

why don't u try bottle feed her, make her feel fuller, and see if she can sleep better and longer that way..

my bb wake up bet 6am to 9.30am.

put her to bed bet 8.30am to 10pm. the time i put her to bed is dependent on wat time she wakes up.

dunno how to start solids coz the timing is so variable.

monkie,

my ger sleep betw 10-11pm and wakes up at ard 6am.

every morning i will have to carry her to my mil's place and she will be woken up by the process so now her biological clock is more or less there le. Even on weekends she also wakes up at that time or maybe slightly later ard 7am. I can't even sleep longer on wkend. Faint

Unless she fuss otherwise I will feed ard half an hour after she wakes up. Her bath is usu @ 9am.

Baby's wt,

My ger only 6.5kg @ 5mths 2 wks. Looks like she's the lightest. But yup, most imptly she's healthy and happy.

Bottle teat,

I'm still using no.1 teat too. Looks like I have to chg teat to see if she drinks more. She now having 120mL every 2 and half hour. Sometimes can't even finish.

Start solid,

Tried to give her cereal last weekend and mission failed again. My mil gave her si sen on alternate weekdays, she also reject. Hai... when is she ready to take solid?

screaming,

my ger also started screaming at high pitch when she's ard 3 mths. Can be deafening if i'm carrying her when she screams. Now she screams only when she pek cek, eg, she doesn't want to sit in bumbo or want us to carry.

Morning everyone, I'm super tired today. My boy wake up 3 times last nite and refuse to sleep after feed. I have been doing nite feeds for 1+wks liao. TIRED!. Yesterday went for jab and nurse say he teething thats y can't sleep well and appetite not good. I can see the one teeth liao.

How long will this going to last?? Can't take it anymore. I fall asleep at work leh.

Mummies who are still bf-ing,

are you going to pump when visiting during cny? So sian and pai say. Have to borrow their room and still have to wash pump parts.

My ger only latch on one side and if dun pump, I'm afraid ss will drop after these 4 days.

monkie,

i think timing is not so much of a concern.

My girl feeding pattern:

1st feed of the day (6-9am), milk

2nd feed (11-1pm), cereal

3rd feed, milk

4th feed (ard 7pm when I'm back from work), cereal

subsequent milk til the next morning feed.

start with 1 week of cereal in the afternoon first; let her stomach get used to it then intro 1 more feeding session in the evening.

This is to train her mealtime also.

last night, brought Jovan to see doc on diarrhoea... xun bian ask him to measure his weight..

who knows, he only weigh 7kg at 6mths but doc mentioned his weight is ok, if 8kg will be slightly heavy liao...

Cheekrene,

Yah, he likes to watch his musical mobile and screamed happily at it. Now, he doesn't scream that much at the musical mobilenow but will babble when we talk or carry him. Even when he cries or grumbles, sometimes got his "ma-ma" or ba-ba.. milk.. sound-alike stuff coming out. Strange boy.

i started to give cereal to my ger on sunday with the left over milk (60ml) which she did not finish during her feed.... she loves it eat until almost finished....

then last nite her night feed @ 9.30pm she finished 150ml, then @ 10.30 i give her 1 tablespoon+ of cereal mixed with warm water & she finished it as well... she sleeps thru the night yst until 5.30am then latch on & continue to sleep until 8.15am when i pick her up to go IFC.

as for screaming, my ger alr over tat stage liao... now when i sing her her 2 fav songs, she will sing along...

eeyore/ahnah

as long bb healthy and happy doenst matter.i see many cases of chubby baby will slim down as they grow older..

ahnah

ur boy sit on bumbo see can see his tummy .. haha.. v cute.. he really look like u

Anyone knows how to deal with teething at nite?? Day time can give teething toy to bite, play with him etc... Nite time how??

jascmy

if u see him v discomfort, apply abit of teething gel on his gum will help to sooth the pain. Can buy from pharmacy , it's call dentinox.

alibaba, his tummy look like me right ?

we saw Mandy (iceappletea) at yishun last friday ... so funny. I thou how come got someone stalking me.

i duno who is mandy... seldom post here ?

haha.. not only tummy.. his face also... cuter version of ahnah.

majority say he look like who?

my two boys seldom ppl say look like me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] esp #1 he photo copied of my hb . we took out his bb pic and compare.. exactly the same.

Cheekrene, depends on my gal's mood.. Now at most she can nap 2hrs at one go if she is super tired.. If not, only 20-30 mins.. But every 2+-3 hrs she needs to nap.. 8+pm she will nap n when jie jie wanna sleep at 9+pm, she wakes up..

Eeyore, yes latch most of e time.. I tried bottlefeed her.. Struggle wif me n drink only 30-40ml after 30mins.. If she super hungry, ard 4 hrs diff, she only drinks 50ml.. Sigh.. Waste my effort to pump n throw e leftover.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

i dont throw away the leftovers ...i will just put it inside the fridge and let him hv it after warming it up....

my son is having a fever of 38.1 now.. thinking of just using coolnat patch to cover his forehead, instead of taking medicine.

Wat do you mummies think ?

u gals are lucky. my boy doesn't like to sleep. in fact he was fully awake and not sleeping throughout his whole full month 'party' months ago. he is currently 5 months 1 week. as the months pass he sleeps less and less... if he can sleep 4 hours in the day, that is my lucky day

duckling, my boy is definitely lighter than your gal. he is currently in his 4 months and 1 week old. weighs just over 6... hopefully the teat 3 helps him increase his appetite.

Jasmine Goh, not give him cold patch first, measure the temperature every 1 hr. If fever didn't go down then give medicine ?

ahNah, is it because he went for his jab?

For me, I will give my girl medicine after jab if she just feel warm, not even fever.

Halo all, MIA for v v v long. Not easy having to deal with work, bitchy colleague, cranky baby, lazy helper all at the same time. Luckily there's some unused maternity leave to utilize to maintain my sanity through retail theraphy. Haha.

My gal is now 8.5kg 70cm long @ 6m4days. PD sais she doesn't look fat. But all her fats are hidden away. When I checked the chart she is in the 97 percentile. No wonder my back is breaking!

AhNah, if Dorje's fever is due to injection, you can give the medical straight away. Then give again after 6 hours. That's wat my PD told me yesterday. But I didn't give my gal cos I gave her pao sheng before her injection. So don wanna mix Chinese n english medicine. Hope that his fever comes down soon.

jasmine : have to close monitor every 1 hour lor.

weiling : why baby having fever, because their body is fighting against virus right ? then wat is in my mind is to let the baby generate that power to fight against the virus so I have no intend to give medicine unless the fever cannot go down.

Jasmine, I see that you have successfully introduced many food to your boy. How did you do it? Cos I tried feeding apple puree and banana to my gal the past few days n she keeps spitting out. Last night her ahgong let her licked BAH KUT when we were having bak ku teh for dinner n she liked it!!! Not sure if she rejects all healthy food n only like the sinful ones (when I was pregnant, I only like sinful stuff like carls jr too!)

AhNah, that's true! That's wat I tot too. That's why I only give pao sheng to cool the body instead. I'm not really a fan of angmoh medicine. Still trust Chinese medicine more. Glad to know that dorje fever has came down.

scooby > do replace the teats every 1.5mths or so...cos they are subjected to wear and tear....when the teat is worn out, it also affects their milk intake....

I ve the following milk powder to exchange for Enfapro Stage 2 - 400g.

Pls PM me if keen, collection at west area.

- 1 tin Mamil Gold Stage 2

- 1 tin Nan Pro Stage 2

- 1 tin Similac Stage 2

weiling : his fever has gone down some more and slept already. Maybe tonight i left him at mother place before I finish my event at 12am.

AhNah, that's good news! Good that your mom can help. I always believe that old folks haveagical touch when it comes to taking care of baby. By the way, the old man at the medical hall also told to give baby pearl powder n pao sheng like once a month to build immunity. Not sure true or not...

U gotta work until so late? U make me so guilty, I intend to do late night shopping at 12am.

wl,

i just keep letting him try new taste every 2-4 days. (usually will be the 4 days rule but at times, ingredients are not enough for 4 days)

to date, he have tried rice cereal, avocado, sweet potato (orange fresh), banana, red pear, hawaii papaya, jap pumpkin & organix rice cake.

one thing i discovered that he doesn't like very sweet stuffs like banana, pear and papaya purees. he simply wanna vomit and cry.

as i don't wanna waste my effort making these purees and also let him have the nutrients of these fruits,

i will add cereal & FM into these purees and feed him again. he will finish the puree all the times.

so his fav are mild sweet stuffs like sweet potato & pumpkin.

she may not like apple & banana and maybe she will like other stuffs? gonna let her try more diff taste.

it's fun watching my boy's reaction toward diff fruits/vegs.

re: sinful stuff

i'm also tempted to let him taste/lick adult's food like bread, but cannot cos bread contains egg, which may cause allergy.

as for bah kut, i don't think it's sinful. it's just pork, shld be okay to let her lick. (unless it's very salty)

jasmine,

i let my girl try bread. so far, no reaction so i dun think egg can cause allergy. she really enjoy eating it. whenever i eat bread, she will keep staring at me, waiting for me to feed her.

wl

ur gal quite tall leh.. few days ago i measured my boy , he is around 67cm.

where got late night shopping?

ahnah

if temp above 38 degree can give him the medicine. otherwise can just sponge with warm clothe on those joint area like armpit, neck, forehead.