(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

cheekrene,

better to safe than sorry. try not give them too much junk food at so young age.

btw those who give porridge, did u add soy sauce to taste?

Scooby, after warming up e milk, I dun put in e fridge le.. I continue to keep it warm for 1 hr n if she can't finish I will throw away.. Coz not fresh Liao..

Cheekrene, not sure if bread contains gluten or not.. Some bb will be allergy to that, some might have intestine problem etc.. Hence try not to give too much bread?

Alibaba, dun put soy sauce in bb food.. Recommendation is no added salt/sugar in bb food for their 1st year.. U can add pork to make e porridge tastier.. Some mummies add dried scallop but might be salty too.. I only add dried scallop for my elder gal's porridge after she turns one..

cheekrene,

i also give my boy bread, but a few pinches only.. dont dare to give too much.

alibaba,

i dont add soy sauce, i put in pork and ikan bilis to sweeten the porridge..i steam fish, then add fish to let him eat.. but my mum add soy sauce haiz..

ahnah,

hope ur boy recovers before cny..weather is bad, alot pple fall sick.

thanks for all the reply.

for me, i dont but the old folks always want to add.. since my #1 i nv let them put but i duno if they got secretly add anot..

my maid also is a soy sauce fan lor. ev ting also add. -_- anyway i stop cereal for awhile.. cos i scare bb too heaty and develop more phelgm. now he got slight cough with phelgmy sound.

me not a good cook. may i know how ur cook porridge ? ahahha.. feel quite stupid to ask this qn.. just add ikan bilis to cook together with the rice? or add later? i heard some blend ikan bilis into powder den add to porridge to serve.

Jasmine, I also tried mixing the puree with cereal n she still can detect and spit it out. Haizzz I spent time cooking the apples n she doesn't appreciate. But she eats oat though (I hate oat myself!!!) maybe she prefers savory food. Bought sweet potatoes. Going to cook with porridge n let her try. It's quite fun preparing all these food for baby.

Cheekrene, from the picture chart that my PD gave, egg white is under the same category as seafood -> food which are highly allergic. So best to give after 1 year. Egg yolk seems ok though.

Allibaba, my gal like my husband lor. I don mind though cps I'm only 1.56m. Wish she will grow up tall.

Late night shopping at NTUC Nex! Opens 24 hours. Haha

Sunflower,

same here. I also give a few pinch to let her try. My mum also add soy sauce in porridge. She tried putting ikan bilis and it taste better so she did not add anymore!

alibaba,

i just add like that..big ones..so i can remove easily when serve..but sometimes the bits will mash into the porridge, i scared kena choke..so my fren suggest me go daiso buy those small tea bag, put the ikan bilis in...

cheekrene,

egg does cause allergy in some babies esp egg white. just in case, won't give him bread now. maybe a few mths later. doc said egg yolk at 8 mths, egg white 1yr old. i will intro earlier thou.

wl,

smart baby! how much cereal you add? i haven't let my boy try oat yet.

yes egg does cause allergy.. but the egg in the bread is quite minimal, and we only give a bit bit..so still ok..anyway, yesterday there is a documentary saying that we shld introduce egg as early as 4mth to test for allergy.. ang mo say no egg, now they research and say can give egg..haiz everything they say.

Hi everyone!!

Wishing everyone a Happy Rabbit New Year!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wl,

i heard about egg allergy. That time my mum steam the egg (mixed egg white and egg yolk with mince meat). We gave her a small pinch only. Just like sunflower say, we dunno when to give when not to give. As long as it is minimal, it should not be a problem.

Jasmine, I jus opened the sample packet of nestlac given by PD. Looks like quite a lot but baby only ate half of it. Should be about 6-7 teaspoons bah...

Cheekrene, maybe I can try too cos think my gal only like savory stuff! Haha. Anything my in laws feed from our dinner table she loves it

Egg:

I ask my pd if I should give my gal egg before her 1st birthday jab. He asks me to wait after her birthday.. I think diff ppl got diff opinions. Anyway, some allergies can kill as bb r still young to fight those nasty allergies..

Alibaba, I heard ground ikan bilis good coz of e calcium. But troublesome n dunno where to ground.. If put those dried ikan bilis to cook, have to soak them to remove e saltiness n things added in e drying process or not ah?

Sunflower,

Yup I saw that news too. I think I will just wait a couple of mths first then intro.

Anyone can recommend any blender that can grind grains (brown rice/barley)?

Sorry to interrupt!

Am running a spree on Lugmax Bag Organisers and Baby Essentials Organisers (A Must have!! so useful even for my 18mth old now!) in FaceBook…

Prices starting from $7.. Mail or Add me in FB at [email protected] for enquiries and to place your orders!

Thank you for your support!!

Cheers!!

Jasmine

I nv intro egg yet leh, just pinch abit of bread ..

Mvh

I soak and wash the ikan with water. But not very long..

Cheekrene

Think we both are the ones don't follow rules. Follow the old folks ..

My girl is 6 mths old today ... So I can start feeding her food ? Even she got no teeth ? Wat food can I feed her ? Cos every time she see us eat she keep complaining ... Lol

White_Lady, you can start with cereal. I planned to start my boy with avocado and veg. But I do not know what are the vegs suitable for infants? Only know sweet potato and pumpkin.

Read somewhere that it best to start Bb on veg 1st then fruits then they will like to est vegs. Cos fruit is sweet, if start 1st, they might only wan eat sweet stuff rather than vegs.

I want to ask if your babies sleep thru the night. My girl did because i purposely add cereal into her milk. I put 1 teaspoon of cereal and 3 scoops of milk powder into 130ml water. Is it alright?

Gong xi fa cai! happy rabbit year to ev one! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ahnah

u use wat type of thermometer? i am using those ear one... i find it quite accurate.. i dun really trust those scan head one. cos must chun chun scan the forehead. if bb move or got hair accurate meh..

talkin abt thermometer...

i bought those measure via ear..braun brand

i duno is it accurate oso le..

although ppl say the most accurate is using the armpit thermometer, follow by ear then forehead..

but when i measure my bb thermometer via ear..

the ear is owas cold if expose, if u hug her, then ear hot..

so temp doesnt tally le

Jascmy , I had start cereal on my girl since she is 4 mth old . Now that she is 6 mth , thinkin of giving her biscuit [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ahnah, probably one side nv measure probably. the position of the thermometer will differs the reading leh.. so far mine still quite ok..

usually i will measure two times on the same ear to confirm the reading.

crescent, for me min 1yr then if still have will continue. I planned to bf while planning for #2. Should be able to continue to bf while preggie.

jascmy...

ya i heard can oso, i oso hope to if can...... but have to see individual whether suitable anot cos of hormones...

for me i got risk of miscarriage thus i tink my gynae will advise against it...

oh ya. not ev one can conceive while BF. i am one of them. only got pregnant for #2 after i stop BF 3 mths later. hehe. so it's really depends on individual.