(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

ann,

all these while, I never pump at night, not even after my boy latch on.. I only pump during daytime when I was still on ML n night time if I feel my breasts were heavy.. Now, back to work, I only pump in office twice n when home, will just let my boy latch on..

mvh, my boy took bao ying dan during 1st mth as per recomendation by my CL. She let him eat in the morning after bath, i dun see any problem after he taking that...

Re: pumping after back to work

I used to pump 5 times a day & just re-schedule to 4 pumps a day this week(5.45am, 11.15am, 4.30pm, 10~11pm). 1st & last pump yield ard 300ml each & 2 pump in office yield ard 250ml each time.

Anyway, I just started giving my boy FBM, 1 pack a day (to share with his sis also). Now the ss is just gnam gnam to cater for his need, so keep 1 pack in freeze everyday to rotate with the old fbm which going to expired in 3 month soon...my boy almost milk bath every week with FBM i keep previously, feel wasted le...but hor, got guilty feeling whenever give FBM for him to drink, anyone got same feel as me??

Emm... i am targeting to stop BF when bb 6 mths old... 1.5 mth to go... jia you!

Sunflower, duckling

Dunno what happened to my gal this week.. Wake up for last feed ard 10+/11+pm then dun wan to sleep.. Actually she is super tired coz on wed nite I put her on rocker, she closes her eyes then I pick her she becomes alert.. last nite I resort to latch him while standing n rock.. She sleeps but the moment I put her down, she wakes up.. Struggle wif me till 330am.. 4 nites in a row Liao.. Sianz...

Ducklin, my nephew finish all yr 20bags of fbm.. Recently my pil hints me "yr fren still got pump or not", "ss drop?" I bochap them n said I dunno din contact often.. Lol.. Heard fr my mil, my nephew also dun like e fbm taste.. So my mil add a bit of fm to make it a bit sweet I think.. Then he got drink..

ducklingeshop,

I have been passing my FBM to nanny since day she looks after my boy during weekdays, only weekends, I I will exclusively latch him on pump n give him fresh BM..

Why feel guilty? It's still your BM ah.. Me also targeting when he's 6mths old but wont stop totally, probably slowly cut down ba..

Xpink, block ducts again? Did e LC share tips in preventing block? Go have a hot shower n quickly pump n see got improvement or not? Take care!!

MVH, when she wakes up after u put her down, did she cry? if cry a little bit also dun bother, just le her be..... dun quickly go and carry her again as this will already become a bad habit for her... all babies are difference but I do believe their routine still can be train...

I can understand ur tiredness... my boy did not wake up for midnight feed but I have already feel very tired to juggle both work & 2 kids after work... nowadays i am quite hot temper, may b due to not enuf sleep... sometime feel sorry to my elder girl too cos like not enuf time for her...

Duckling,

me me! i felt guilty for giving him FBM the last time..cos i feel the taste is really fishy..

MVH,

ur girl still having reflux or not? seems like every now and then, still cant slp well hor?

susan, feel guilty cos my ss actually still enuf for his daily need but i keep 1 pack & let him drink old fbm... anyway, u r right, it is my bm ya!! feel better after hearing this, thanks!

ducklingeshop,

no problem.. whether is fresh, chilled or frozen BM, afterall, it's still comes out from us.. FBM is just to store n backup, in case our fresh supply running low, we still can give FBM, unless u prefer to give FM instead lor, so dont feel guilty ya.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

But I realise my boy drinks lesser at night when I fetch him from nanny's place.. over there, he can finish his milk leh but when back, he drinks only like 120ml when I gave 180ml of FM n he has been waking up during wee hours for the past few nights which he didnt in the past weeks.. hmm.. wonder why he sudden wakes up at wee hours..

duckling, my gal eyes open big big after nite feed.. even put in yaolan also dun wann sleep.. keep talking.. n if no one entertain her, she will start to whine. dunno what happened to her this week.. everyday like tat super tiring.. when i force her to sleep (put her in yaolan), she will yell.. my elder gal kanna wake up by her yelling every nite..

sunflower, her reflux no more leh.. since seldom or hardly vomit liao. just that she still have the stubborn phlegm inside her nose/throat..

i m so so glad that i dun have to work now.. else i sure sure hot temper in work or home.. ;(

tonite after nite feed i will try to give her bao ying dan again..

MVH, maybe u can try getting this Eagle Brand Eucalyptus Baby Oil from NTUC Health Unity, $3.70 per bottle. After evening bathe, apply this oil n rub on the sole of her feet, chest n back. For me, I apply it before his last feed after changing his diaper n so far, he can sleeps quite fast after his milk or when I pat him to sleep... the fragrance also quite nice to smell..

Product information :

It gives a warm n pleasant fragrance from the natural ingredients. Useful for babies in the prevention and relief of stomachaches and this comfort, as well as keeping the body warm. Can also be used as baby oil.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4829138.jpg]

susan,

thanks! i heard of this oil before..

but now i m using johnson evening oil after evening wipe... and she can sleep in her yaolan for 2-3 hrs till her nite feed.. maybe i should apply the oil after her nite feed as well...

mvh,

my boy too.. don't know why these 2 nights keep waking up. yesterday night he finished 150ml at 10.45pm then sleep at 11.30pm (just won't sleep no matter how i coax him) then wake up at 2.30am, i thought he's hungry so feed him but he only drank 30ml and fall asleep. then he wake up at 3.55am and drink another 70ml and don't wanna drink anymore but also didn't sleep. so no choice put him in between me and hubby so i can help him hold his pacifier in his mouth and let him fall asleep slowly. he can sleep more soundly with me then in his cot but i dare not fall asleep cos i scare hubby may suffocate him. then he cried at 6.30am for milk. zzzzzzz. tired max.

Sunflower,

our nursing mummies although sometimes timing different but bound to meet, as we have about 8 nursing mummies in the office, haven't calculate those from our division...

Jasmine, mine is totally din sleep a wink during e hrs she wake up.. She doesn't wan pacifier also.. She wanna play!! Put in between me n hubby keep talking.. If I din response or look at her, she whine Liao.. Dunno why she got so much energy..

Dear mummies

wondering if ur bb sleep through the nights. My boy's last feed at around 10.30 to 11pm then will wake up for feed around 2 am n 5 am. Strange thing is he wakes up every 3 hrly at night but morning time he can ta han without milk for 6-7 hrs which means he drinks at 5am , followed by 11.30am to 12pm [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] sigh

Hi Af7680,

my boy is also like that. He wakes up at 3am and 6 am after last feed at 11pm. But his next feed after is 12.30pm, followed by 3 hrly feed. Strange huh? Tried feeding him formula for the 11 pm feed so that he does not wake up, but it still happens, sigh

Hi, what should be e first type of solid food to intro to our baby? I want to start at 4th mth. Heard that Heinz cereal is recommended. Is it good? I went to check ntuc, is it called heinz farley?

susan,

that oil can apply on bb har? looks good....can help them to sleep better har? my girl tends to wake up at 4am daily

Jasmine.. Tdy my boy turns 4 mths old. I bought the brown rice cereal powder from Chinese medical hall.. They ownself grind the brown rice, western barley, si Shen , and yang shoeing inside .. Tdy I will start giving him a little inside his milk.. I tried a bit myself yest.. Taste nt bad .. Hahah..

Fumiko> for puff, the child must be able to crawl on hands & kneels, without tummy touching the ground, or be able to pick food with their thumb n forefingers

My gal wakes up again.. But this time wakes up from 145am to 3am.. I need to latch her on n walk ard the room for 20mins or so to make her drowsy n now in yaolan.. So tirEd.. I really scare this will become a bad habit.. My arms aching coz carry while latching is difficult sia...

hi csy, what is yang shoeing? so how to prepare, mix how much wit the milk? should use fm or bm?

Sorry is yang shen.. Cos brown rice is heaty.. So they added western barley..

The lady says jus gt to cook 1 tablespoon with water over low heat till it turns gluey n cereal type then mix with milk. Not sure if BM or FM. cos brown rice quite filling.. And I am now only giving BM to my boy.. So I gonna mix with BM cos he always seems to b hungry . But if fm shd b filling le rite ? Not sure if will be too filling or heaty for bb if mix in fm.. Tis one better check with the medical Hall ppl..

Gonna buy a chicken drum for him to lick also.. Hehe

Csy, our babies same birthday.

Happy 4th month

I din buy drumstick for my girl; what's the background of licling the drumstick?

I wun b starting solid so early coz she is overweight. Maybe monitor for another week when she go for her 2nd jab n see what doc say

Glamgem, my baby slept thru twice from 830-6 then reverted to waking once at4am for 3 nights but last night slept from 9-7. Hope she doesnt regress again! Oh, i noticed tt she wakes at 4am if i dreamfeed her at 11pm. So decided to skip the dreamfeed.

I heard from the old folks tat licking drumstick to symbolize they can start eating Hun1 (non vegetarian ).. So I jus follow lor ..anyway he lick Liao the drumstick I'll eat.. Kekke..

I bought the brown rice cereal 1/2kg at $12.. Super ex wor丶

Glemgem

U started working or sahm? Hopefully bb doesn't wake up for feed before I start work. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ange

lucky you. My boy wakes up at 3 again and seems to be stirring for the 6 am feed. So routine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

af7680

will start work in Jan. So hoping he can sleep thr thr night.

i gave up on my boy. he wakes up at 1, 3, 5 am. around there. not really for milk but to suck a bit of milk or water then sleep again. sigh! bad habit.

and his day time intake also jialat. suck bottle to sleep nia. drink 50ml 80ml on and off nia.

Just to share what you can do with your breastmilk.

Things to Do with Your Extra Breastmilk.. These tips from website

To treat an insect sting, take a frozen cube of breastmilk and apply it to the sting area. Hold it there until melted.

Breastmilk cures pinkeye (conjunctivitis). Just express a little breastmilk or thaw one of your cubes and rinse your eye with it several times a day.

If your baby is teething, wrap a cube or two of frozen breastmilk in a thin washcloth and secure it tightly with a heavy rubber band. Let baby chew and suck on the cube. It will taste good as it melts and the cold will make baby's gums feel better.

To treat diaper rash or yeast infections, give baby (or yourself) a bath in warm water mixed with lots of breastmilk. The milk is soothing to the skin and will also help to kill the infection. Milk baths will also soften your skin.

Breastmilk can be used to treat acne and soften your skin. Apply to skin in the evenings before bed or mix into a facial mask and apply. Let it sit for at least 15 minutes before rinsing.

Breastmilk can cure an ear infection. Melt one of your frozen cubes and use a medicine dropper to gently squirt it into the ear canal several times a day.

Breastmilk makes a great ingredient for toddlers' popsicles. When you freeze your own popsicles at home, add breastmilk to the recipe instead of water. You can also freeze plain milk popsicles.

QQ, now I wish my gal to go back to 2-3hrs feed at nite.. Coz now she more jialat.. Wake up for 1-2hrs dun sleep.. Then sleep 1+hrs wake up again.. Latch le still dun sleep.. Cycle repeats every 1-2hrs of sleep.. I woke up 3-4 times to carry her, then latch while carry till she drowsy then put in yaolan to swing her to lala land..

Csy, me oso Goin to ask my ger to lick a duck drumstick next sat on her 4th month old celebration n oso ask her choose fr toy, or calculator or pen or book .. Jus for fun

Lol

Abt first 4th month food, my coll say Heinz had lots of sugar n sodium so she ask me go for organic brand of bb food

N go for cereals first..

mvh, hpoe they outgrow at 6th months.

scarie to wake up so many times at night. i have torotate duty with my hb.

Sorry I need need an outlet to vent out my frustration

Everytime my gal is cranky n dun want to sleep, u will always put the blame on me saying it must be me who carry my gal till she sleeps.

You will also say that it is because I talk to my gal too much/ sing to my gal too much thats why my gal now needs a familiar voice to sleep or keep calm.. and you will tell my husband to ask me to stop talking to my gal.

You will always and everyday make the statement that i have no milk and its just too bad cos its better to have bb drink breastmilk.

Then my questions to you is:

who was the person who comes to my hse everyday during confinemnt, both day and night to carry my baby?

aren't you suppose to be a familiar person to my gal as well so she should be able to calm down when she is around you. if my own mum who only gets to see my gal once a week can coax my gal to sleep and still have time to do her own things, why cant you? and you claim that you are an expert and all the babies that you have taken care of are easy babies but my gal is difficfult becos of me.

i still have milk even if its little, at least i try very hard, instead of showing me support, u demoralize me so that you feel better. u were the one who gave up bf when your own children were one month old.. i know yr daughter has jugs of milk but dun compare.

Why cant i talk to my gal? she's my baby and should regconize me as her primary caregiver not you. whta is your motive?? hoping that should my marriage breakdown, my gal will belong to you?

I know you have been kind but you have been very nasty as well. I know you look down on single parent families and very glad yor gal married well. But at least i feed my own child, save up for my own child w/o having rich in laws to do everything.

I will not let you drive me nuts. One day, justice will be served.

I must strive onwards.

Nature Lover, you press on....we cannot change our circumstances, but we can control how we react towards the situation. Focus on your baby...and just let go of the words that were said. I am sure when you see baby's smile, all these unhappieness just fades to the background. Jia you...

nature lover.

just vent as much as u can. after that, just try to let go and relax. dun need to care so much otherwise we can't focus. it is ok de.

ma ma zui4 wei3 da4. no worry.

Have not been able to catch up the posts..

Nature lover: you have very good patience really. I have already shouted to mil twice. But look on the other side that their time is really almost up, so in no time you will be able to break free from all these rubbish. I always tell myself it's only 10 more or 20 yrs to go, by then they will be weak and have no strength to criticise others already. Jia you okie[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So the x'mas party's still on? I want to join!

Nature_lover.. Dun feel stress.. Just continue yr way to take care of ur gal.. I always sing to my elder gal when she is young (from bb).. N she loves singing too! Lol..