(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Hi mummies! I MIA super long cos oredy started work n no time to log in also .. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Anyone brot ur baby to 3rd mth jab? Haiz. I've gt a v bad experience. I took 6-1 package n add on rotarix. On Sunday I took him go clinic take. It's a locum who attends to us.. She seems blur.. N gave us the 6-1 jab, and oral rotavirus. Then tat day after jab bb cranky . Cry for nothing so I called to check.. N aft the main doc look thru my bb casenotes then she realized the locum missed out the synflorix jab!! So I've gt to go bak on mon night to take again ! So pissed.. If I din call.. Then no one will know or realize he missed a jab!

Then tues morning 4plus am, son high fever till 38.4, we scared like hell.. We called the so called Kkh n Nuh children emergency 24h hotline.. Called few times but both also no pick up! We din wait anymore n quickly drove him to NUH. now still monitoring him but fever better.

But now I doubt tat clinic professionalism Liao. My boy given hep b at birth, 1st mth jab (6-1), n now at 3.5mth, he given another 6-1 which also contained hep b vaccine , so in total he oredy gt 3 doses done ! But I checked website, it says the 3rd dose supposed to b at 6mth. I called the main doc and she say she did check with mfg on infanrix 6-1 and they said it's fine to take 6-1 all for 3 times together with the hep b at birth. But when I called other clinics to check, they will only gve 5-1 at 3mth which does nt contain hep b vaccine !

Can anyone advise if ur dear son/daughter also taking 6-1 and hows the schedule like?? I scared he took the last hep b jab too soon n still gt one last 6-1 jab at 5mth later.. Shd I jus tell her I dun wan 6-1, I wan 5-1 jab at 5th mth??

Worried!!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif](((((

hmm, i think 3 mths onwards alot babies on milk strike..i heard a few cases liao.. duno why..maybe their reserve is higher? i got a fren , her baby milk strike very serious..only drink 20ml and can last 5hrs...scream and scream just to push the milk bottle away..

Jasmine Goh : I tried out, drypers, huggies, mamy poko and fitti prenium.

All the size S will cut my bb between stomach and thigh there. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

madamyip : i don like drypers tape. the absorbent wasnt that good also. My #1 used drypers last time and the 'cotton' inside dropped off after few hrs with a big hole on the diapers.

bakaholic : My #2 used to on nepia till he's quite big. Expensive and the diapers easily heavy alrdy.

Nowadays, i prefer to put her on cloth diapers. So her thighs won't kena 'cut'.

CSY,

What is synflorix jab? For pneumococcal? This jab will cause fever or body ache.. Not compulsory to take at 3 months though.. Like some of e mums here intend to delay till 1 yr..

Just check my gal's health book n realize that her 2nd jab is also 6in1 means got hepB dosage inside..

CSY, can u check e 6in1 jab on yr bb healthbook... E serial number of e jab starts A21 or A20? I think A21 is 6in1 and A20 is 5in1.. I m using my elder gal healthbook as a reference..

Jialat.. Dunno issit the wrong jab that cause my gal to be not her usual self for nearly a week Liao..

CSY,

don't worry. i think there are many types of combi that we have for the jabs. since u started with 6 in 1, then just carry on all the way right? should be ok and less jabs as compared to 5 in 1. the so call 6 in 1 and 5 in 1, differece is the HEP B content.

if u take 6 in 1, dun need booster for hep B. if 5 in 1, then need booster, something like that. consult a PD bah. better.

my boy took hep B at month 1, then month 3 took 5 in 1. this month dr said take 5 in 1 again, and then next time last one is 6 in 1.

whatq is synflorix?

baby flipping?

i think my ah boy too heavy to flip. he is about 7,5kg now. (actually since 1 month ago already this weight)

MVH, i think your ah girl is big size, dun worry about milk strike bah.. *consoling myself*. cause they have reserves.... they re regulating their bodies?

i dunno, just guessing.

QQ, I think my gal is also lazy n heavy to flip.. Teach her how to kick n roll over, she will protest n cry lor.. I read that by 5months 90% of bb know how to roll back to front n front to back Liao.. Mine still haven't master one of them n she is coming to 4months next fri.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

MVH, no la.

my girl last time can flip so early, faster.

this ah boy too heavy liao, hard to flip. haha! and he is v v v v lazy too.

nevermindla, let them slowly do it in future. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] take it easy. enjoy the peace now.

eeyore,

i read online that many babies will be on milk strike from 3mths+ to 5mths+ for a few days/weeks. it's normal. maybe try giving ridwind or change teat? but if it's really a concern, then maybe u can call your PD and check?

bakaholic,

i went to their shop, wanted to try beco, manduca and pikkolo but they said don't know what's wrong with the beco usa side, they won't ship to sg anymore.

csy,

my boy took 6in1 during 1mth+ old. then 3mths+ old will take 5in1.

QQ, my elder gal also flip much earlier.. Just 3months roll from back to front.. Opp fr e norm.. PD ask me to give her tummy time everyday as he says normally bb will start to roll when their neck is strong..

xpink,

I ordered direct from nepia sg. Only about $0.28/piece. My parents very paranoid about wet diapers so i have to get nepia which is cheaper so that they can change every 2-3hrs. Nepia cannot tahan too long.

synflorix jab is Pneumococcal vaccine.

My boy was given 1st 6-in-1 and oral rotavirus at 8wks old. My next appt at 12+wks will be given Pneumococcal vaccination.

Will the vaccination cause fever?

Jas,

Beco dun like sg anymore? Haha..

Someone doing BP on beco carriers leh..

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/4745080.html?1289879414

Hi mummies.. Thanks..think different docs have diff advise on when to take wad jabs.. Yah. He kind of cranky these few days after the jab.. Not so bad last time aft the first vaccine..

My boy tried gripe water before. He dun like .. Immediately puke aft tat.. Now we only apply ru Yee oil..

He still trying to flip.. Neck can support for a while then will be like drunk like dat drop to n fro.. Doc says it's normal .. All children diff.. Some even grew teeth from month 4/5..

I bought the ergo carrier but nt yet used yet cos also same concern as the legs gt to split so wide! I scared affect his leg devt.. So mebbe I will wait till bigger then use.. He dun like sit in stroller.. Kauz.. Wasted our money.. We bought the combi miracle turn at $629.. But only used less than 5 times!!! Anyone gt fren wanna get preloved combi let me know .. Intend to sell it n get back some money rather than putting it in storeroom n wasting my space

Oh yah.. Expo gt parenthood fair coming up! Think is 26nov tat weekend .. Nt sure how big scale it is.. Might go to grab some diapers back .. Lolz

bakaholic : wah 28cents per piece is quite cheap. but ya, cannot tahan long and sometimes im too lazy to wake up in the night to change her diapers. i just did a calculation, mamypoko are at 36cents. maybe i should switch to huggies dry comfort M size, only about 22cents.

just gave away another batch of milk to a sept mummy.

freezer still got left over milk. omg!!!

cos her cooler bag are full, if not i wanna squeeze in more. lol

sigh, there goes to my mini eclair. still not enough space for my mini eclair, so cannot order. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Mvh,

Bb scared can let her take Jin feng San... I jus fed my gal too... So angry with my hb's niece!!

Ask her go out of my room she don wan n insist on lying down. Then knock her head against my gal's head!! Poor bb keep crying badly... Heartpain.. Don't kn will have any side effect nt after the knock...

xpink,

i used nepia for daytime. At night, will change to mamypoko after his last feed and he will sleep thr till morning.

I find huggies comfort very stiff. Nepia is so much softer.

bakaholic,

yup i saw that thread yesterday. but for butterfly II series, only limited designs. not pretty. the gemini series not as good.

nepia is indeed quite soft but cannot tahan too much urine. prefer mamy poko cos can last for around 6hrs+.

ahnah,

for beco & ergo, more for babies 4mths & above cos must open the legs wide. by the way, i just remember that pikkolo carrier can face front also. and the leg opening is smaller.

csy,

since he doesn't like gripe water, did you try ridwind? it's not so sweet. the parenthood fair should be quite big scale, can't wait to go.

bermi,

is she okay now? gt blue black or not?

hi. to all mommies who has bb who got shock or dont eat well can try yu ren shen "bao ying dan" . it claim to help bb with colic, fever/flu, boost immune, increase appetite, calm bb.

i'm giving my bb that after someone recommended. however she got hers from another traditional chinese medicine hall with another name i forgot.

i first tried giving once to bb 'bao ying dan' when he was infant but my PD didnt quite buy the idea so i play safe & stopped. till lately i heard a friend saying she gave her bb that to ease teething & her bb was not bothered by teething.

before taking it, dont feed anything 30min in between. to prevent bb spitting out everything due to medicine.

sometime too much wind in bb stomach will cause them 2 lose appetite too. apply those rid wind oil on his stomach & back.

with bb drinking lesser milk, better to replace with some water to prevent dehydration. this is only for mommies who believe in it coz i know not all agree giving water to bb.

Hmmm is it common for bb to have mlk strike...

Seem like here oso got a few bb milk strike

my bb oso.. Nowadays really hard to make her drink

I was wondering is it my bm smell v fishy tat y dun wan to drink

my bb weigh 5.8 kg n I nv let her wear mamy poko Liao

cos will have red marks

I using dryper M size nw

although is big, I tink is more comfortable n at least when she had explosive poo, it willnot leak out

Normally PD won't suggest or agree wif us giving Chinese 'medicine' to bb coz one thing they scare is mercury content is unknown n unknown effects of some herbs used.. My #1 PD said so..

My #1 has no problems with teething.. No fever, little drooling of saliva.. Maybe becoz she is a late teether (appear at 11months) and already started on solids so can munch munch to fight e discomfort.. Different bb got different patterns..

Hi, can i ask how long did ur bb sleep during e day?

My gal sleep for 10-30 mins each time, 3-4 times in e day time.. Best is 1hr only.. Last time when she is just 3months, she still can have her morning nap for 2-3hrs.. Now dunno why cannot Liao... Trend or just my bb?

MVH,

My boy will normally have a power nap for 3hrs in the morning follow by 1-2 cat nap for 1-2hrs, except when he's outside. He can't sleep well when we r out gai gai. Like today we went out at 10am till 3.30pm he didn't sleep well and when we got home he slept from 4pm till we woke him up at 7.30pm cos scared he can't sleep at night.

MVH,

My boy will have a 2-3hrs nap after his morning feed from 6-7am. Then he will be in cat naps throughout the day till evening when we will keep him awake till his last feed from 10-12 plus.

He doens't sleep alot in the day since 2nd mth onwards.

Shay, envy yr boy who can sleep so much! If I bring my gal out, come back she also can't sleep well.. Sigh..

Bakaholic, at least yr bb got one power nap.. Mine dun have for the past week Liao.. So tiring n dun have time to do my things..

Milk strike:

i think it's common to have milk strike at this stage. My girl used to push away her bottle, use her tongue to push the teats away or stretch her head to the back. She drank about 30-50ml depending on her mood. When feed her 2 hours later, she used the same method. My hb was afraid she did drink much and worry about her weight. It was like battling with her when feeding but now she is getting better. On and off will happen once in awhile.

Diapers:

although my girl is 5.6kg, she wear m size on mamy poko. Her thighs will have red marks and seem to look tight when wear s size. Now her fitti diaper got to wear L size as cutting is too small for her now. She wear fitti in day and mamy poko at night. Mamy poko is really good and can last her thru the night. I dun like huggies dry comfort. Her urine can back flow to her back and her romper was very wet.

Power nap:

i dun think my girl can power nap unless on her tummy. She does sleep 1/2 an hour to 1 hour and play for an hour depending on her mood. She woke up in morning and stay awake for an hour. Then sleep 1/2 an hour. When she woke up, i shower her and let her play 1/2 an hour before she is sleepy. If sleep on tummy, she can sleep 3 hours, if not, she will sleep 1/2 an hour and play an hour. Evening time, awake till i wipe her and make her sleep at 8pm. She can sleep till next morning with 2-3 feeding without affecting our sleep. When outside, i make her sleep in carrier pouch so when reach home, she is alert and play by herself.

jasmine,

can share why u think Beco Gemini not good? I was considering that cos the bottom can be buttoned in to make a smaller bottom so baby no need to open legs so wide... Now that i saw this BP thread, I feel tempted to sell off my 2nd hand beco and buy the beco gemini.... :X My boy really have short legs so i wonder when will he be able to open his leg big big to sit in my current beco.

MVH,

I also think the same as QQ... your gal so chubby, got enough reserves to 'tahan' the milk strike.. :p

RE: Diapers

see a lot of mummies using mammy poko.

Pampers Active Baby or Mammy poko better? Think pampers active baby is cheaper than mammy poko with offers. my bb can wear pampers active baby M size. quite comfy never cut into the thigh. she is 6+kg.

xpink, maybe u can try?

bakaholic, pampers active baby or nepia better ah? they are about the same price. i havent tried nepia before.

mirai and the rest,

we went to Tampines Mall yesterday we tried on the synergy model, he dun like it station .. he wan me to carry him n move around .. tiring sia.

How do u gal give last feed ah? My gal last nite slept at 815pm.. Then 10+ almost 11pm I latch her.. Then she is awake after feeding for almost 2hrs.. How to feed without interrupting her sleep? Bottle? She is still struggling wif bottle n can't drink much fr bottle..

ann,

cos i need a carrier which can tahan heavier weight since my girl is 17.5kg. gemini series weight limit is only 16kg versus butterfly II is 20kg. but it might not be a concern to u. and if you prefer face outside, gemini will be the one.

by the way, i just remember that beco butterfly II has a removable infant insert inside, so maybe u can try it with your baby first?

monkie,

i've tried both Pampers Active Baby and Mamy poko, personally i prefer Mamy poko cos it can tahan more urine.

have also tried Nepia, is quite soft but cannot tahan as much as Mamy poko.

ahnah,

if i'm not wrong, you can find ergo at the first few years shop, located at KKH and paragon.

Mvh,

you have to train your girl on bottle first. Luckily my girl started bottle feed early. If i dun carry her up for milk, i jusy let her lie down and feed her without interrupting her sleep.

MVH, my bb last nite also slept very early. her last feed was at 6pm. then she slept at 8+pm.

I woke her up at 12.15am to feed her and she was very pissed. drank only 70ml then refused to drink. now thinking if i should just let her sleep right through and dont feed.

anyone got any advice?

MVH,

My boy power nap is on my dad's chest or lap. He very bad.. need ppl to carry him in the afternoon to sleep. Cannot put down to cot or else he cry loudly. Scary..

Monkie,

Defintely pampers better than nepia. If you order direct from Nepia Singapore, it will be cheap cos it's a carton of 4 packs at $60.

Previously, a nice mummy sent me some samples to try and i liked it so i bought i pack from ntuc to make sure before deciding to order in bulk. They will exchange any unopened pack for bigger sizing if you bb outgrows it but have to be through new order.

Nepia is soft but holding power not as good as mamypoko and pampers. I use only in daytime cos my parents like to change diapers every 2-3hrs. Imagine he using pampers/Mpoko, i sure bankrupt.

anyone wanna go doris fok, the lactation hse? I wanna go cos im still with 'pus' inside my breast.

im going tonight 8pm. anyone wanna share?

MVH,

ya. my gal nw ok.. no blue black..

Re: milk strike

My gal recently oso started her milk strike liao.. last fed her 150ml at 3 plus am.. then at 8:45am, she only drink 20-30ml & don wan drink liao.. had a hard time coaxing her to drink another 40ml... till now still sleeping don wan wake up for milk..

hw ah? v worried leh..

she keep refusing milk & jus wan her pacifer... then she continue sleep again, though she had jus woken up not long..

MVH,

my boy can nap 3-4 times a day after waking up around 10pm..usually awake for 1.5 - 2 hrs , then cannot tahan, need to slp liao..but each nap only 1-1.5hr hrs.. last time before 3mths, can nap longer.

Monkie,

im using both Pampers Active Baby and Mamy poko, both to me are good..but i think mamy poko is slightly better because can tahan more pee

Jasmine, where exactly is the nursing room in expo?

Sunflower, yup, there is Mom and tots fair this weekend. Not sure whether I will be going for that. But next weekend I will sure go. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]