(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

hi mummies, anyone started on solid food??

any brand for cereal / porridge u would recommend??

is it true tat nestle brand got sodium n sugar n not so gd for bb??

Fumiko, think all our bb still so young to start on solid..

Only Ang mo bb starts solid fr 4months.. Asian bb smaller size so no need to start so early..

Anyway, I go organic for my elder gal when she starts on cereal.. I bought healthytimes cereal in ntuc.. Most of the cereal that has milk inside r quite sweet.. U can compare e sugar content..

fumiko,

so fast start on solid food? thought suppose to wait till 6mths? nestle is sweeter than most other brands. same as mvh, i will go with organic products for my boy.

rachel,

i already bought a california baby sunscreen, just wondering can apply on baby's face or not.

MVH, er i tot is angmo start solid food in 6th month, asian start 4th month??

i tink u are the first i heard angmo start 4th month le..

ok mayb i will go ntuc and take a look...keke

thx

jasmine, depends..but most of my frens and relatives starts on 4th month..

some say as long they can sit..can start solid food le...

Anyone know where to buy sleeveless rompers? So far, I see BP threads and gmarket, all short-sleeve rompers only... I wanna buy sleeveless ones cos so hot nowadays... Went to Mothercare to find also dun have.

My pd was saying next visit she will see my boy's weight progress. She might wan to start him on solids next mth

I think 4 mth can start brown rice cereal, those very fine powder. And I heard some already started fine cereal

Mvh

Ya started wrking for 2 wks already

for my #1 and #2, i nv give cereals, i give brown rice instead at 3 months old.

But on the 5th months, i give them porridge already.

jasmine, dreamz: Oh local stores don't have sleeveless rompers? So weird considering sg's weather is hotter than usa....

xpink xuanx: 3 mths old eat brown rice? how ah? Grind it and mix in their milk is it? I think my MIL will pressure me to give solids to my #2 soon.... I think old folks always think give porridge better than drink milk.

Issit? My #1 pd said start at 5+months wor.. He said shouldn't start so early unless bb big size n hungry easily.. Coz recommended is bm for 6months without any solids..

Heard brown rice is good but my #1 doesn't like coz a bit hard to chew.. I got give brown rice cereal instead..

ann> u can buy carter's clothes in singapore, they got a store at vivo city. i seldom buy clothes for my boy in singapore cos i buy from US much cheaper and nicer.

Ann,

I bought mine, luvable friends, during the last baby expo. I think it's $25 per 5 piece. Can get cheaper online but have to wait 4-6wks. The material is thin so much cooler but won't last too long.

Otherwise, mothercare have it. I tot i saw it yday.

Btw, anyone using liquid talc for bb? My boy seems to have some rash on the neck fold.

bakaholic, thanks! I think I will go Mothercare to check it out again.... I saw the Luvable friends sleeveless rompers sold online @ $18 for 3 pieces. But dunno if that online store is reliable so I didn't order....

Does talc help the rashes? I never tried. My boy has horrible rashes on his neck... milk rash cos he puke when he self-burps during his sleep..

Hi all, a question to check on your views... If I pour 4.5oz water to milk bottle, add 4.5 spoonful of formula milk powder, but final volume after mixing them becomes 5oz, do you count that as baby taking 4.5 oz of milk or 5 oz of milk?

Mehky,

If it's the recommended water and powder on the tin, then it should be 4.5oz. Cos usually they go by multiples of 30/60ml for milk powder.

Eg. 120ml with 4 scoopes powder will yield 140ml in total volume but we take it as 120ml feed.

Ann,

I dunno if it works. I using the umbilical cord antibiotic powder on his neck fold and it seems to be working. I guess it could be some bact or fungus as the neck fold is always squashed and will be moist if he sweats and it's ideal condition for stuff to grow.

fumiko,

for my #1, at 4th month we let her try marie biscuit for tasting, that's chinese tradition.

then from 4th mth onwards, we'll put cereal into milk powder for them to get use the taste, slowly then 6th month let them try more and make porridge too...

Thanks. My husband has same view as bakaholic, while I was thinking like Susan and MVH initially.. became confused n decided to check here, hehe...

bakaholic, ann,

i remembered reading an article that talc is not safe for babies esp talc powder cos will cause respiratory problems. i'm using J&J baby pure cornstarch powder with aloe & vitamin E for my boy. But it's more expensive than normal talc powder. and just slightly swipe on the body, don't pat/puff.

today brought my baby out, and so many strangers touched his face/head. argh! don't like them to do that. don't even know their hands are dirty or not. ><

Hi mummies n daddies,

I m damn busy past 2 days! Send my girl for 1st 5 in 1 immunization yesterday. She is 5.8kg n 59cm in length. Seem big but not heavy. Lolx~

start solid: TBF baby can start solid by 6 mths old. Formula feed baby will start by 4 mth. I remember last time istartto giv my boy purée when he is 6 mth old. Add fruit nvegie purée in nestle cereal powder n BM. N giv him porridge whenhe is abt 7 mths old.

Jas,

Yah, the powder talc not good but mothercare has liquid talc so i was thinking to get it. But since you mentioned that J&J cornstarch talc is ok, I will take a look.

jasmine: Yeah, can totally understand... Women strangers touch my boy when we go out I don't mind but he ever kena pat pat by 1 Indian man stranger while we were in the lift.. I felt quite uncomfortable..

mamyvelle: I went Mothercare Paragon and I tried on the Baby bjorn synergy. Seems quite easy to put on... If u free, can go by there to ask them to teach u how to use.

Jasmine and Ann

Me too , quite particular about strangers touching my boy. Each time I will stare at them and complain to my hb. But he always say I imm chim !! We don't Noe if that person just visited toilet without washing hands or just dig their nose !

btw can ask, if u need to go out early in the morning but bb still sleeping in sleepwear, will u wake them up for bathe and change??

eeyore,

for me i bath bb twice a day so if nxt morning hv to go out v early then i'll wash the butts n wipe bb body....wad time u nid to go out?

Ann ... Knw hw to use le. Went marina square gt the staff to teach mi.

Bathing

I also won't bathe, just clean his face , change diaper change clothes :x won't be wiping body , coz think I bathe him will be faster...

I have a BRAND NEW, unopened (seal intact) bottle of Fenugreek for sale at $20 (price still can be negotiated) as I'm working next week and have no time to pump regularly.

Fenugreek helps to boost milk supply.

If interested, do email me: [email protected]

anyone wants to buy the happy bellies organic cereal? i thinking of buying some for my boy direct from US. per tin(7oz) is about USD$3.59 - excludes the shipping charges

Saw Shay pix, she n her 2 kids in e swimming tub... Super tempted to buy leh..

Ahnah, which size did u buy? 90 *70 or 80 *80? I think Shay bought the 90*70... but was thinking if bb get taller than 70cm means will kick e bottom of r pool?

What did u guys do wif w remaining water ah?