(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

what is the sit up straight method ? my bb like always bend bend one. sometimes after milk she fall asleep then whole body soft soft

can teach me pls?

i am going insane !!

monkie:

Ya .. how do you manage... me still having help for a few more days and i have to learn to do all the above alone.

Been trying and its really messy when you are pumping and baby is crying. And i havent tried taking the night shift yet and am already very tired.

very hard to manage ... esp. milkflow isnt fast for me.. i need to pump 25mins at 1 go sometimes only 100ml.

so within the hour eg

1am - feed, burp baby & change diaper plus settle baby down to sleep

2.15am - set up breast pumps & pump milk

2.50am - store milk and wash pumps etc

3.00am - wash milk bottles, pumps etc.

3.15am - drink water, grab some snacks coz super hungry, rush to the toilet to pee and try to catch some sleep... and baby starts to stir...

and the cycle repeats !!

anyone who is currently on 100% EBM is facing or was facing the same situation can teach me how to time allocate?

Sunflower, there is a guideline of how many scoops of fm to give bb for each feeding stated at e fm tin..

Monkle, tat's y I latch my gal 100% coz to save all e trouble of sterilizing, wash bottles n pump.. I still have a toddler to handle in e morning!!

Monkie, burping try this: lay baby's head on yr shoulder, body straight, support bb's neck n pat his neck.

I'm on half latch n half ebm day time latch night time.

anyone got problems latching on baby? my baby keep sucking my nipple instead of the entire aerola.

how to solve the issue?

monkie,

did you give birth at TMC? if yes can go back to parentcraft, the lactation nurses will show you how to latch on.

i went back once after i gave birth to first kid coz he does not suckle very well and i had engorgement. the nurses were very helpful to give me advice.

some hospitals also hv lactation consultants or helpline for mummies who have already gave birth. perhaps you can check and ask for help as early as possible.

monkie,

for burping, i use 2 methods. one is sitting up method as described by sunflower. you hold the head by the jaws/chin and the other hand cupping it, make an upward motion on the back. this works best for me as well.

the second method i use is put the baby on your chest, juz below your shoulder, the other hand, again cupping it, make upward motion on the back. this one, u nd to put a cloth on your shoulder in case the baby burps and reguigitate some milk as well.

MVH,

i sama sama aso 100% latch on, too lazy to pump now. my #1 aso take a lot of my energy in the day.

who will cope with your 2 lovelies when you return to work?

Dreymin, my mil brings my elder gal to her place ard 10+am every weekday, so now I can concentrate to take care of my notty bb.. She is cranky last nite till 530am this morning.. Think she still can't differentiate day n nite.. E whole day she din not wake up n play, only for milk n bathe.. Siao Liao tonite I gonna get it from her again..

My bb vomits 2-3times every day.. I think I m more an xin to take care of her myself.. So I have discussed with my hubby that I will take no pay leave till my gal is 1yr old.. My elder gal will go to childcare centre next yr.

Suika, checked with my pd. They do not have atopeace in stock currently. You may want to ask them to order. My pd is Dr Ong at United Square aglow clinic.

Monkie, I buy my breast friend to help with the baby position. And stuff the whole aerola in his mouth when he opens it big enough[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Can share what u do during day time to keep your babies awake so they can differentiate day and night? I'm running out of ideas as to how to keep my boy awake during day. My boy thinks 11pm - 3am is day time and the rest of the time, he's sleepy.... since I latch on most of the time, he's even more sleepyhead cos so comfortable. End up, I have to pump after latch quite a few times throughout the day in order to maintain my supply.

monkie,

I also express out most of the time, I'm taking care of the bb myself, while the elder goes to full time CC... my timing in the daytime is around 4 to 5 hrs, I don't pump at night.

I have 2 avent bottles for feeding, usu I don't sterilize the bottles immediately, after using both bottles then i sterilize.

Bb feeding time is quite accurate at 100ml per 3 hrs, sometimes even shorter so I lengthen my expressing time, usu 40 mins pump can have 90 to 110ml. The first thing in the morning I'll express out, abt 30 to 45 mins can get abt 200ml.

I spend my free time to do house chores, clear wardrobes or clear pregnancy things nowadays, surf net and watch DVD.

Monkie,

oh recently just started on latching so sometimes will latch bb also, but after that still express out the remaining, sometimes can get 50 to 60ml so I wonder if bb get enough milk anot as usu i can get 100 ml and that's bb milk intake currently.

Also, below is my bb burping method to share with patting on the back.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4512587.jpg]

ann,

I don't purposely make bb awake in the daytime as I think is good if he's sleeping then I got more time to do other things...

eeyore,as long as he puts on wt, dun worry about the intake bah.

ann, there was one day when my boy slept the whole day time, i tot my night time gone liao, luckily still manage to sleep from 12am to 6am. i think he also sometimes v luan4.

at night i let him sleep in darkness, with a dim light oni.day time i just let him sleep at living room with normal brightness from the sun.

otherwise u have to wake him up in the day, which is not easy also.

nevermind, will outgrow de.

Sunflower, u also using the sane method to burp huh... 8 out of 10 times, my gal can burp super fast.

Can I check... My gal farts very smelly farts... Is it normal?

oh btw, anyone interested in first meet up after our deliver??

I can volunteer my house, near YCK MRT.

then subsequently we can take turns to others' love nest.

Ann, same here.. My gal is up now.. Her day time is 1am to 5am.. Sometimes 1-2hrs earlier.. In e day, I leave her in e rocker in e living room with tv on, she still sleep like a log.. Ppl disturb her she either bochap or cry like saying why disturb me..

Jialat leh.. She needs attention when awake..

Penguin,

I c. I thought all Polyclinic same same.

Monkie,

my girl hav EBM 95% of the time. Me too alone wif her during day time when my hb go working. Heng my mom bring my elder son wif her back to my hometown. I pump every 3-4 hourly. Night time only wake up once to pump cos getting lazy liao. Somemore running out of space for keeping EBM. I oso do hsework. N handwash my girl n mine laundry. Will try to do hsework whenever mygirl sleeping. =)

I burp my girl like how eeyore did. Quite ok n think my girl love it. She will find herself a comfortabl. Positionthen just doze off. Lol~

jasmy, hpe ur bb is feeling better. anyone experience bb latching on and hsving milk leaking from the mouth? I suspecg my latching not correct. Thinking to getna lc to do home visit.

thx all for the replies and sharing !

eeyore thx for the pic [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my bb falls asleep sometimes in that position then doesnt burp / at times she dun wan to lean on my shoulder and her face becomes very red and head keep leaning backwards instead of on my shoulder

what else should i do to try to make her to burp in the shoulder position?

Just to check anyone want to buy Medela quick clean breastpump & accessory wipes.

I have recently stopped breastfeeding and still have alot leftovers (i didn't bring BB out so didn't use it) Medela quick clean breastpump & accessory wipes.

Bought it @ $48 around May 2010. Only used 2 packed wipes so left 38. (all individually packed.

Selling at $45, self collection. Email me @ [email protected] for more information.

burping

i also do the sitting up straight on my lap method. it dun work every time.. cos it's harder to burp bb when they fell a slp... used the method on my shoulder one.. if bb still dun burp i will.. stand up and walk around... do my things while carry him.. he will burp eventually... if not, will put him down on his bb cot,, once he woke up,, den will try to burp him.. usually he still puke some milk on / off when he is lying on his cot... even we have already burp him...

btw any north mummies use mamypoko diaper size S? i just bot one big pack & realised bb already cant wear it.. is too short & tight on his thigh.. anyone keen to buy? i bot it @ $24.10 from giant.. wanna sell it at $22..

now gotta upgrade him to size M liao...

HI mummies,

I've 3 Jumbo pack of mamypoko diaper for sale.

It's M size (66pcs), selling at S$20/pack.

Pls email [email protected] if interested, collection at woodlands (Weekday evening)/ TPY (Sun noon only)

Wow seldom c so many posting on Sunday de...

Can someone pm mi their massage lady contact no who they think is good ? Friend giving birth soon looking for one.

monkie: sorry i mean pat baby on the back.. not neck... (this is wat happen then i lack zzzz)

Anyway my position is the same as eeyore's, but important thing is to make sure you lift the baby high enough so the whole of his head rests on your shoulder and neck and try to keep baby's back straight. When I pat his back, I don't actually pat, i very gently sort of push from the bottom of his back to the top, and usually have a burp out of him under a minute. My son tend to want to lean backwards too.. so instead i lean sideways or backwards myself so he have no choice but to do the same. Gravity helps haha.

then i hold him not flat, but tilted in like a 30 degree angle to help his milk go down for around 10 mins.

Do your baby latch on? if you latch him then your expressing session not so xiong and so many.. for me I'm trying to move into latching him at night so I don't have to express at night if possible. I'm using Medela freestyle so my hands are still free.. I can take breakfast, brush teeth, use comp and be still pumping milk at the same time, so multi-task to save time.

i notice that my leg still got water rentention ... is that normal ? will go off by itself or need to ask massage lady come help ? so stress !! haha

Hi, any good pump to recomemd?? The sucion for my medela swing is not good at all. I have to manually press and squeeze my breast for more milk. Then the other side is leaking at the same time. So one hand holding bottle to catch the leak and other hand to hold the pump bottle. No hand to press breast liao and can't surf net and SMS too.

Thinking of presuaing my hubby to buy new one for me.

Madam Yip, sucion for medea freestyle good??

alibaba, I can check with my hubby see whether he ok to buy the S size from you. My Bb still using newborn size.

ahNah, How much is it??

Yesterday I complained to my hubby and he immediately say buy new one cos he tot very checp. Hahaa... told him this medela swing is $200 to 300+ he immediately change his mind.

Wow, price reasonable for a dual leh. Medela freestyle is over $500 liao.

Ok, I will let my hubby know see wat he say. Thanks ahNah.

jascmy,

Medela freestyle is not the power strong type. It should be similar to the Swing's suction. If u want really strong suction, get the Medela Pump in style Advanced (PISA). Can buy 2nd hand from forum, alot cheaper. If you don't mind a lower suction power, the Freestyle pump is really good!

QQ, eeyore, mvh,

I was hoping to train him to differentiate day and night and sleep earlier so that everyone at home can sleep earlier... initially, my #1 end up sleeping at 3am too cos my baby boy makes stretching sounds and cry a bit here and there so #1 can't sleep w all the sounds. Now my #1 gotta sleep in separate room with my hb but she did complain that she wanna sleep with me... I realize I'm spending less and less time with #1 these days..... I just let her watch TV while I look after baby. She even complained that why her mummy is always tired?!

Jascmy, am using pis , cannot be as mobile as compare to freestyle ka, wad I do is use a string tie the end like a necklace to support the pump when I pump. Dun nid to re tie every session, just go thru head like necklace, den I surf neck or play game lor, was previously using the swing, pis suction much stronger den swing

Guardian got sales for pampers.. Bought M68@$19.60.. though my gal still wears S.. Ks a bit..

Ann, my gal wakes up last nite fr 11+pm to 6+am.. Shack.. She needs attention when awake.. N poo frequently.. I change diapers more frequently in e nite than day.. Sianz.. Zombie now..

I m still having spotting everyday leh.. Today already 8weeks Liao.. Anyone experiencing e same? I thought lochia should end by 8th weeks!!!

mamyvelle,

hah? tie a swing like necklace for PIS? i am using PIS also.. i only let the btl rest on my thigh when i siting down.. Den i continue to pump & surf net as usual. haha.. but definately not as mobile as Freestyle.. tempted to get one. but i am stopping at 2.. so no pt.. will stick with my PIS.

MVH,

me too still hav spotting. a bit worry but can't remember the spotting last forhow long for my #1. heng tomorrow going to c my gynae for review, so must remember to chk with him.

jasmine

i tink alot of pple here complaint about medela swing.. if u wanna try, i tink u shld try PISA or freestyle... this two are better one..

alibaba,

heeheehee, me too let the bottle rest on my thigh when pumping, so both hand free for net surfing. i even try to latch my girl on n at the same time another hand hold bottle pumping on the other breast. heeheehee...

sleep thru: think me quite lucky, my girl seem like able to sleep thru now. for few days oledi she only wake up for milk ard 5am. last nite she hav her last EBM feed by ard 8pm n she only wake up for milk by 5am. but she always overslept till forget to wake up for milk milk 1 lah.

ng

same here.. latch one side & pump one side.. no hands to do other ting liao..

wah.. so good.. at night can slp all the way 9 hrs without milk!!! my one still woke up 2-3hrly now... and drink 120ml... tinking to increase more to see if he can last longer anot..

alibaba,

but me n hb keep worry she din drink enuff cos during day time oso same same. officially should b feed every 3 hourly but she always overslept till 4-5 hourly. we try to wake her up during day time every 3 hourly to feed her but at night time just let her b, mayb tats y she get used to such pattern so only wake up after a long sleep n when truely hungry.