(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

MVH, totally understand ur feel as for my #1, she have shallow stomach problem & also always splitting (should said vomitting) after each feeding. Anyway, she is a small drinker & her weight gain was not ideal untill the PD advise me to top up special formula for her in order to help on weight gain. for ur case, since bb is putting on weight well i think it is still not too bad.

QQ, next time must bring enuf bb stuff when go out, yi3 fan2 wan4 yi1 maa..... nowaday I go NTUC also will bring at least 2 diapers & 1 set extra cloth for bb... just in case mah... must practice more :p

xpink, i really pei fu u le... ask me to handle 2 kids alone i was like a bit siao liao... u got THREE together... must be tought!

scent, as i know of, jing feng san is to be use for the baby above 1 yr old le...Instead of jing feng san, my CL used to buy the Pearl powder for my bb to take & she also rub it on my bb's gum & said it will prevent that he got frightened... U may go to the chinese medical hall to check with them directly...

Scenty : ur mum n my mum the same lor. She brought jing dengue Shan for my #1 when she was 3mths , say Wun be easily frightened , strengthen gums and wun teething wun be so pain. Not sure hw true la, but when my #1 reach a yr old she nv buy le

Any recommendations for pd in Jurong area?

Gynae intro one at Jurong East, but the pd doesn't provide much information and only answers when we ask him qns. Trying to look for one who is more friendly de.

Ya Scent, I haven never manage to sleep for than 3 hours, cos baby wakes up very on time for his milk. When he fallsa asleep, his stretching or farting also wakes me up, cos it's so loud

pd0513, but is very very watery...cos usually they poo inside e diaper..u wont see e water ..since it already been soak inside e diaper..

but when i was changing, i saw those poo coming out with so much water..

anyway, i m still monitoring..hope is not diarrhea

MVH ,

ur bb took the 6in1 n pneumococcal ? at week what ? mine pd suggest take at week 6 ... i might be letting my bb take this weekend . btw , how much did u pay for ?

ducklingeshop, Mamyvelle

Oh, I didn't know I can't used on a 4 week old baby, I will tell her that, as for the pearl powder, I heard its quite expensive right? Not sure if it is worth trying.

Pink_Piglet

Same here, sometimes after feeding we can sleep 2 to 3 hours but whenever baby makes a noise or stirred in her sleep, I have to wake up to check cos sometimes she threw up milk, I wake up to change her top...once I ever change her top 3 times in a row, cos twice she threw up, once while feeding, my other breast is leaking thus her clothes wet again! Then sometimes is becos she pooped, change diaper, then pooped again...then change.... like that can drag for another hour... and before I can sleep again, it's her next feeding time le.... sobs.. and when she pooped on a clean diaper, sometimes she'll give that "ops" and guilty face... I also can't bear to scold her you know... hahaha... I just laugh it off. This is like retribution time, cos our mums also commented that we're also like that when little....

scent,

re: jing feng san my #1 is on that last time when he's 1mth old liao...juz put a bit on ur finger n rub the gums....it helps my boy to slp better at nite but for my gal i've yet to give coz she's still ok at the moment

re: pacifier, my girl oso wana suckle for comfort but she refuses pacifier so wad i do is to pump out the excess milk then latch her to prevent her from overfeeding

as for nite time i do wear nursing bra now coz when ever my girl cries for feed i'll leak like tap n it's making me so sticky n messy but i'm using those washable pads instead to save money

Scent, when I was in TMC the LC told me must wear a bar otherwise will cause block duct. Donno how true.

Me running fever now, wonder if its cos I didn't pump for 2 days liao. But I don't feel my breast harden or the tingling feeling on the nipples leh.

I was experimenting n feed my gal only formula, her colic seems to have improved.

Gosh, I am having hard time battling with my girl's colic every nights. She always start to be cranky from 12am onwards and will last till 3+ or 4+. I wonder how long my sleepless night will last. By the time I will be taking care of her along and wondering when i can take nap.

wl,

is it true that feeding her 100% on FM will improve her colic? I am now feeding BM in day time and FM in night time.

Donno if I have passed the virus to my gal. She is v fidgety today. Normally she will go to sleep herself after feed. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Cheekrene, I also not sure. Cos I have very bad digestive system myself. Have been farting lots recently. I could have pass the wind to her via breast milk. So still observing. I am using all methods, ru Yi oil, grip water, etc.

Sunflower, if vomit without discomfort, it is ok.. Maybe bb too full.. But my gal will whine, n look uncomfortable at times.. Sometimes choke for nothing.. Pd said milk or gastric acid flow upwards so choke or uncomfortable n maybe heartburn.. At times she will kick n cry during latching.. Ask pd issit flow too fast for her, he said if she cry at e beginning should be fast flow.. But half way thru latching is not fast flow coz she should get used to e flow Liao, most likely milk flowing upwards.. Anyway, now I din give her medication.. Pd said as long as she is not uncomfortable or cry a lot, can let it be n reflux will be corrected by itself but takes about 6 months or so..

CSY, check e healthbook.. I remember it mentions something like centre-eyed or wat.. Hope I dun remember wrongly..

QQ, duckling.. Thanks for sharing.. By e way e symptom for shallow stomach n reflux e same? Try to google shallow stomach but can't really find some useful website..

Jing feng Shan:

My mil gave to #1 when she is less than 1yr leh.. Told her not to but she said all her 3 children also ate n nothing wrong.. Anyway, told pd n pd ask me not to give to kids coz dunno what Chinese herb is used inside..

White_lady, my gal took 6in1 n pneumococcal at 6week1day.. Think e 'virus' too strong for my gal.. My gal slept whole day.. But will cry with eyes closed.. Body hot n cry every hour.. But pd suggest to take together with 6in1 so that less visit n early protection.. I check on govt moh website.. It also suggest e same.. 2nd pneumococcal will be together with e 3rd 6in1 which is ard 5months old.. My pd got package for 6in1, MMR n booster @$550. Each pneumococcal jab costs $170 but my pd gave 10% discount when sign with basic package.. Can use cda account but hubby forget to bring e card yesterday..

wl, cheekrene,

when u gals feed your gal on FM, did u burp her after every a few ml of the FM?

wl, how does her colic improve?

Scent, Suika,

Try pressing on e other nipple when latching to prevent leaking.. U dun have to press throughout e whole latching process.. Just before e letdown feeling come.. It works for me all e times.. :D

MVH ,

my pd also can use the CDA , but i just got the card , so i deposit money in , gov will only deposit 3rd week of next month right ?

Fumiko, my gal poop also very watery at times.. I guess it is ok since breastmilk has alot of water content.. As long as yr bb is gaining weight, should be ok ba..

Wl, I also fart a lot n true enuff my gal also fart alot too.. Not sure it is that is causing e colic..

White_lady, I dunno anything abt cda leh.. My #1 doesn't have n too busy wif #2 so I ask my hubby to settle e cda account..

mvh & ahNah,

u both wana do oso? or y not i ask the guy if we all 3 let him do can quote us cheaper price??

mvh,

the guy qoute mi 2k for my whole hse....coz i got balcony so more ex....that 1 alone already cost mi 1.3k liao

Susan, for me, I gotta pull out the milk bottle a few times when I feed cos my gal is very kan cheong type. she will suck very very quick as if someone will snatch her milk with her. So I will stop and burp her a few times.

Burping; My friend taught me a new method. Hold your baby in a sitting position, hold her hand with both hands and rotate her body. I tried a few times with her burping loudly!

MVH, I was told that since we have wind ourselves, it will pass to the bb too. That's why I stop feeding BM and try totally on FM. My gal seems to be better now. Not sure if its psycological effect

Mdm Yip

How to use that on our HDB flat ?

anyone experience problem with this forum, have to enter username n password all the time ?

Suika,

My gal is 4 weeks old, so I can give her jin feng san too? Is it really that effective?

When I sleep at night I feel very uncomfortable with bras cos don't hv the habit of wearing one at home...but you are right, the mess is...er quite messy when milk leaks...

Wl

When I'm in TMC, I wasn't told abt the must-wear bra lei... guess becos my milk hasn't come in bah...

MVH,

I tried pressing it sometimes it works, sometimes it stops and starts flowing again... haha..like a running tap. I have reduced pumping 2 weeks ago hopefully to adjust my milk supply...Now only pump once a day to relieve the hardness. My girl also only feeds on one breast and I offer her the same breast for next feeding so she gets all the hindmilk.. I only offer her the other breast on the 3rd feeding. Sometimes when she overslept that's when I need to pump some milk out to relieve it...

FM to give away..

When I was discharged, TMC gives me a carton of Mamax Gold, those ready-made FM in glass bottles and a pack of teaks... I've not touch any of these FM cos I have over-supply of BM. I think I have more than 20 bottles...haven really count the box. Any mummies in need of these, can collect from me at Queenstown, Strathmore Ave. I don't come online everyday so PM me ok?

Pink_piglet,

I have been to the PD at jurong east. I find him not very helpful. We went to see him last wk regarding my boy's sneezing, cough with phelgm and he said it's fine and gave us a salt spray to clear up the nose.

But today, when we go to our usual pd at tmc, she said his cough is bad and had to do phelgm culture cos she may need to prescibe antibiotics.

Ann & cyn,

I'm thinking that it's fast milk flow too so I lean slightly backwards while nursing. When she unlatch and cry I will always check that I still have milk on that breast. Guess I just live with it.

Susan,

I have the book and i was reading it before i deliver. But didn't manage to finish it. Now too tired and busy to read. Haiz...

bakaholic,

Ya that's why we intend to change PD as well.

I gave birth at Mount Alvernia, not sure is there any good pd there or not?

But i stay in Jurong, so quite far to travel to Mount Alvernia also.

I think somebody mention they are using Dorothy Ong at Bukit Timah one. May I know is it good?

Pink_pinglet,

we also stayed in jurong too but we travel to tmc for PD. Have to take half day just to see her. I guess no choice cos they are still young.

bakaholic,

ic, you stay in Jurong too heehee...

but if I give birth in Mount A, pd can go TMC to see? cos I only went TMC once, during the detail scan haha, don't have much information on TMC.

Susan,

where to get the dvd? the white noise cd sounds interesting. duno if baby will sleep better at night, if he listens?

how do u gals manage to find time to breastfeed (latch on) n express milk @ the same time? My CL left today.. Nearly wanna to scream my lungs out during "cleaning" session before his bedtime. He was screaming all the way, poo n pee war. I got no choice but to wrap him half naked w nappy n latch him on another 20mins b4 I can clean him. Whole cleaning session become 1hr plus.

Only manage to express once today. =(

btw, lots of mummy staying in jurong... Me too

there's a PD "kids link" opposite. Chinese garden mrt station. Is the DR good? Cos my PD is @ paragon "kinderland" which is also v far.

Suika, I also got 1 balcony n it is semi-circle type..

Mdm yip, legate looks nice leh.. But how to clean e window like wat ah nah said? E grills can be opened?

Scent, u got good bm supply leh.. Envy.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] guess u have to press it throughout? I only got at least 2 letdown when latching.. Maybe my milk supply not as good as urs.. Anyway, when I was at mt A, e nurse ask me not to wear bra for easy latching.. She commented this way e milk flow will be smoother..

Susan, when to stop swaddling bb? I already stop swaddling my gal when she was 2-3 weeks old.. But I think swaddling is good.. Now she is 6weeks+, dunno can try to start swaddling her or not so as to let her sleep better.. But I also scare to use to have 'freedom of her hands' Liao..

Can someone share e tingkat website again? Can find e archive leh.. Troublesome to go tabao food when it was raining heavily like today especially with a bb.. Thanks!

Piglet u can go any pd irregardless where u delivered.. I m visiting dr Terrance tan at mt A now since my gal has been visiting her for the past weeks for jaundice, reflux, breastmilk jaundice etc.. But his queue is super long lor.. Somemore appt always full..

There is also another pd I like alot, dr Koh Poh kian.. He is also in mt A. Old man, with lotsa of experience.. Most impt is e never 'chase' parents out.. He always answer questions with patience.. Very pro in breastfeeding.. Always ask me not to give up bf.. He used to be in AMK Sbcc, but now he is in mt A.. If he is still in AMK, will definitely look for him.. But mt A then no difference if I go dr tan or dr Koh..

Hello

May i know how many time your bathe bb per day? i realise bb perspired alot esp when he is drinking milk. So far he only bathe once a day in the morn and wipe him 1 or 2 times after tat. And he got this rashes on his face which shld be heat Rash.

I also have this problem when bb latch on already and still cry for milk. And we gave him a btl of 100ml he can drink like v hungry in the beginning. and now feeding him milk can take up to 1hr... He drink so slowly.. then cry for milk 2hr later. Then the cycle repeat again. Drink for 1hr then 2 hr later cry for milk. Fainted. Hence we now btl feed him most of the time.

Can anyone advise if were to give fm are night. Really Will drag the feeding time as compared with bm? Cause last time my #1 drink fm at night and bm in the day. Realises the timing remain.