(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Tearybabe, my #1 is 5 yrs old. She goes to k1 and my MIL looks after her after school hours whereas I look after #2.

Mamyvelle, the nuk hole faces up.

Xuan, CL use e rash cream fr e start leh.. Alamak.. Now her bottom still red red..

Xpink, ah? Must endure 3 months? I ate prawns just now.. Cannot resist e temptation coz 1month before delivery I stop eating seafood due to swollen wrist.. Now 2 months+ din eat Liao.. But my hubby forbid me eat crab.. Say 'tu' might affect breastmilk n since bb is still young..

Halo everyone. Long time no pop in liao. May I check with u something?

For the past week my girl is always awake from 7pm - 1am. During this time she is quiet with her pacifier on. But she bites on the pacifier like she is damn hungry. And she is v fidgety n shakes her hand as if she is struggling. Is that colic? If so then I might give up breastfeeding totally as I myself is suffering from colic too.

Wl, my galnis awake from 11pm to 4am.. Now still entertaining her.. My hubby said more likely to not able to differentiate day n nite? Coz day time she sleep like a pig.. Only wakes up for feed n diaper change. Dun give up breastfeeding.. I think it is a passing phase n soon they will be fine..

Qq , thanks so much!

Rehire: I didn't buy leh, coz o enquire before I gave birth , wanted to wear straight after birth but den she scare I cannot fit in.

Nuk teats face up ar, told stupid hubby dun believe. Hw to drink when the tongue blocks the hole

Tearybabe, I also not sure. She is indeed v calm when I carry her. However during the day time she doesn't need any to carry. She will self entertain n fall asleep herself. Only need to carry her at night.

MVH, a friend told me gotta start teaching them to differentiate day n night liao. So, usually I try to prolong the awake time in the day. After bathing her I place her to sleep in the living room during day time. I vacuum the floor n turn TV on loud loud. Then carry her to the room at night, wipe her body, dim the lights and NOT talk to her. All these work for me as now at night she goes to sleep immediately after feed. Whereas during day time she will play on her own after feed.

Ohh no.. My boy has a problem.. He only fall zzz when i flip him on his tummy.. When i put him lie flat he cries[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] also he likes to play in e dark. I was experimenting this, i put him lie sideways with e curtains not drawn and he played. I read some of ur posts to let bb learn how to differentiate day and nite den went to draw e curtains since he was playing.. A while later he realizes it's bright and starts to cry. No choice i have to flip him on his tummy so now he is zzz.. How? He zzz on his tummy until both knees are so red[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] want him to lie flat but a while later he starts crying..

Hi Tearybabe,

I ordered from Four Seasons for the baby shower too. Can you share with me which dishes are good?

How are the food portions? I ordered 100 pax but thinking if I can reduce to 90 as I invited 100 guests...also afraid lots of leftovers if some pple dun turn up..

Hi glamgem, we order 40 pax for 60 ppl cos my mum prepared additional glutinous rice and red egg. Normally we will order lesser pax cos some ppl dun eat or eat less. There is no leftover except butter prawn so I think food is not bad. Hav comments that bee hoon is good. Prawn wise, everyone is just lazy to remove shell. Swiss roll which is complimentary is yummy.

Thanks a lot, Tearybabe. I will call them to reduce to 90 then! But we do not have glutinous rice or red eggs! Hopefully enough...

penguin_88,

have you tried putting beansprout pillow on your boy's chest when he sleep? sometimes bb feels more secure if there is pressure on his chest, they won't get startled so easily.

ann,

so did the nasal vacuum work for you? you need to suck for quite a while until you hear the 'wet' sound, especially for mucus that is very deep in. sometimes i will suck until can see the side of bb's nose depress in from the pressure, but i try not to do it too often just in case it damages her nasal membranes.

Last nite torture my bb.. Wake up 11+pm dun wan sleep.. Till 1+am cannot stand Liao.. So put her in rocker chair n she cries for 45mins.. In between I carried her 2-3times each 1-2 mins.. After that I change her diaper n feed her n then she zzz at ard 3am..

Wl, day time she fall asleep after feed.. She din play at all.. Yesterday, had a mini-gathering wif frenz at my place.. Put her in rocker chair in e living room n she sleeping soundly wif all e noise, kids playing, tv on etc.. Din wake up play at all .. Only up at wee hours, eyes open big big.. Already off lights n din play wif her Liao.. Still cries a lot.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

MVH,

sounds like really bad colic leh. does this happen every night? last time with my son, the only thing that could make him sleep was to strap him into his car seat and go for a long car ride. really expensive and time-consuming, but it was the only way to calm him down and keep our sanity in check.

MVH : Same here. My girl from 2am awake all the way till this morning 10++am then finally fall asleep. I did all i can do already. Feed her milk, carry her, give her pacifier, put her in sarong to sleep. She just refuse to sleep and keep crying. Nearly go crazy!!!

Hello Gals,

Just to ask around, does anyone have issues on breast milk supply?

everytime when i express out. my right seems to produce more than my left

is like

left breast: 20 ml

right breast: 80 ml

already close to one month of BF. Am i having a blockage in my left (milk supply alrdy very low)

juz brought bb for jab.....her weight now is 4.4kg at 6wks is it ok? doc no say anything.....mi dun really noe how to see the chart in the healthbook

eino, same here. my right breast only produce 20ml and my left breast produce 70ml den i can get 90ml to feed my girl.

i'm having some blockage on both my breast i think, cos can feel the lump. but no matter how much i tried to press on it, it doesnt go away. dunno how also.

Saffy, yes it happens almost every nite.. Same timing.. Colic? I preempt this happening so last nite I gave her ridwind at 12am after whining for an hour.. But still doesn't help.. Still struggle for another 3 hrs.. Going crazy with xpink Liao.. Tat's y my hubby question me issit she can't differentiate day n nite coz zhun zhun 11+pm start e ordeal..

xpink, so you do have this problem too... haiz, any idea of how to clear it?

I have tried to nurse him on the left more frequently, using hot water and taking hot showers.. all don't seems to work.

Cos i have not introduce any FM to him yet and he is sort of 100% on BM and 10% bottle feed with express milk. cos i am scared that he wld be too used to my nipple teats instead of those silicone

eino, at least u latch on. mine is total on EBM. I never latch my girl on at all, maybe that's why my blockage doesn't go away. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

any mummies do switch on different brand nipple oftenly?

Cos i express out the milk, is medela bottle. But feeding bottle is avent, which is different teat. Everytime very troublesome, need to keep on pour from medela bottle to avent to feed her. Im thinking to let her take medela and avent teats, just keep on switch when nessassry. Is it right to do so?

xpink: suggest to feed her on both bottles so that she will not have preferences. cos is easy to convert them now.

tat's why I am slowly introducing bottle feed @ the 4th week. so tat my hubby can help out.

cos 100% latch on is very tiring.. got to wake up in wee hrs to feed and each latch/ feeding can go as long as 1 hr plus (tried to offer him both breast like 30mins each), cos they tend to doze off and i have to wake him up to suckle.. and some time i almost fall asleep also.

my worries are how to cope when i go back to work after 3 mths..

MVH,

11pm seems like the 'witching hour'. my girl will start crying at around that time as well. me and my hb will take turns to carry and burp her. what we do is we swaddle her tightly, carry her and walk while swaying her. we will also turn off the lights where necessary. she will then cry on and off for the next hour or so until she is too tired and fall asleep with pacifier in her mouth.

actually i don't think anything we do can help sooth the colic, just need to tahan it and it will eventually go away by itself.

Mvh and saffy: it's Colic .. My boy cries at around 6-7pm and nite from 2am-7am.. Try giving ridwind 4 times a day, i feed on alternate feeds. I tried to put beansprout pillow on his chest and somehow did abit of e trick. I used to put at his lower tummy previously. So must put at e chest area?

i agree with saffy. this colic thing is v de annoying, but it will go away sooner or later cause they will outgrow it.

if bb cannot differentiate day and night, then we can try to make their day time more happening, more stimulations. eventually they can sleep more in the night.

so, we can control their day naps, dun let them sleep until not waking up.

eino,

i also one big one small breasts, and one side yield more milk thanthe other. the ratio can be worst than yours. mine is 150ml vs 30-40ml (or less). so i pump low side for 5 min first, then follow by both sides together.

so when i latch the low side, i need to compress otherwise there wont be any let down. bb suck until quite tired.

the heavy side, i have to slightly lie down a bit otherwise let down is too fast.

LC told me it is normal, not too worry.

even if one side dried liao, the other one still functionig, LC also said normal.

so, just need to pump more for the low side, so that the supply is still there.

i am lazy, i oni pump once a day now. i latch fully.

So it is colic? How come ridwind doesn't help??

I tried to disturb my gal n dun let her sleep in e day.. She will cry leh.. Till bopian have to put her to sleep. Scare cry too much in e day result in lotsa wind at nite..

Does all ur babies play in e day? Mine doesn't at all!

Suika, I look at e weight-age chart.. 4.4kg at 6 weeks is between 50 and 75 percentile.. So should be okay ba.. Dun worry la since doc din say anything..

eino (onie) and xpink_xuanx_1987

I also have blocked ducts. My massage lady say will have to keep massaging to try and remove the blockage. She taught me to use 3 fingers to press on the lump, circle and push towards the nipple. Also to let baby suck more from the breast or pump more and drink more fluids.

Seems to work quite well when i was doing the massage but after she left, like removing blockage not as effective.

MVH,

How abt changing to another brand of nappy rash cream?

Wl,

Your bb so guai, can play by herself after feed. Mine doesn't. She will doze off while feeding and the moment transfer to cot, she will cry. Patting no use, have to carry her until sound asleep then can put her back to cot. And this can take half an hour or more. In the morning, no matter how we talk/play with her, she still fall asleep. Recently, she likes to poo while feeding, so half way during feed she will get very frustrated trying to "gek" the poo/fart out. With all the fussing, I think she took in more air resulting in more colic. Vicious cycle. I remembered LC said that if the latching is correct, bb should not take in air as the mouth is vacuum sealed. Did you avold food (eg. dairy pdts and citrus fruits) that will cause wind?

For me, I massage the way the nurse tot me and also use 2 fingers to press on the lump and do small circular motion massage. It do go off. But have to pump immediately if not the lump form back again in jus mins.

Suika, so is yr gal cranky at nite? Mine most of e time is inconsolable, carry her, swing, latch her, still not happy.. Sometimes really got a thought of throwing this bb away.. Evil thought but will never do it la.. but this shows how desperate I m during that time..

mvh,

last night, mine also cranky n refuse to sleep till 6plus morning then sleep after feeding, he kept wriggled n cried when carrying him till I broke down to tears n the thought of regreting having him keep popping into my brain... haiz.. dont know how long can i tahan...

Looks like most of us having same problem.. Hope they faster outgrow it.. My bb don play in morning too.. He seldom play.. And zzz less.. I think we must burp well leh.. But my boy always struggle here n here when i try to put him straight..

i realised everyone are battling with babies at nights. i also have sleepless nights for past 1 week. i wondering how long i can take it. some more my girl has colic. haiz. don't know when she will stop being cranky.

pd0513,

i agreed. i have to battle one whole night with her. so tiring. i and my husband cant even sleep although my husband has to work next day. gosh, don't know how long she will stop.

ahNah,

bring camera

bring angpow + fees inside. dun give cash to the hair stylist.

if can, choose a time when bb sleeps (but this one not sure one)

and bring a hat so that u can cover the head on the way back.

if u want, u can keep the hair. but i din la.

colic

wah, sounds serious for some of our babies here.

no worry, will outgrow de la.

MVH, AIR the butt.

duckling, my fren is still taking coffee while bf. she said she cannot tahan,

i take milo, cereal drink (vita quaker oat meal), nestum cereal. u go choose more variety bah.

my fren's feedback. her dotter has never been able to sleep soundly for hours. maybe it is the effect of coffee. if u take coffee, and shaun can still sleep for long, then should be ok bah.

but hor, if can dong3, dun take.

Looks like we are all having the same battles at night.. *faintz* I also dunno how long I can keep this up..

Anyway got a question for mums who latch your little one on - how do you know your baby is full? Is every latch on nursing about the same duration?

My boy nurses for one hour just now, woke up like slightly less then 2 hrs later and suckle again for 1/2 hr, both times he go off the nipple by himself.

I'm really confused.. is he full or not?

Btw.. mummies looking for a good and reasonable LC can consider Doris Fok, she is very good and experience, and helped me with my latch on problems.. Previously we take an hour to latch on, now, less then 10 minutes.. although still got do abit of battle with my son, but I still managed to latch him! :D

baby awake at night.

u gals wanna try this?

1. wake baby up at 7-8am when he is hungry. wait for him to fully awake before u feed. (change nappy, etc etc).

then, at the same time, open the door, windows, let the sun shines in. then feed baby.

after feeding, usually bb will be awake de. if bb is still sleeping, then try to talk talk talk to him. see how.

try this every day in the am.

2. at night, around 7-9pm, during baby's feeding time. changed baby into Pj (quietly, no eye contact), dun talk to baby. then feed baby in the dark (with some small lights, or lights from a distance).

3. midnight, if baby wakes up, dun talk to baby, just feed, and no stimulation at all. feed when bb is half asleep is also fine.

Try a few days until you and baby get it right. it wont happen straightaway the first day u try. ok?

all the best.

Mdm Yip, oh I used to go to Doris Fok for my #1 5 years ago.. Agree that she's good! I thought she has a full-time job now so didn't know that she's still helping mummies. Did you go to her house?

mdmyip,

i also tot doris fok is no longer providing home visits? but i never try calling her though. i went tmc instead.

Saffy,

The pigeon nose cleaner doesn't work for me.. I tried to suck suck suck.. but end up, I feel that I'm sucking alot of air... and nothing came out into the bottle. Maybe I gave up too soon.... yes, the wet mucus sounds like really deep in.