(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Ann, yalor. weird la this boy.

anyway, i try latching whole day now, and it is so tiring and terrible.

midnight every 3 hour he wakes up (good hor... 3 hrs), but then suck 5 min, thensleep again. then 5 min again after 3 hours.

like that i will get serious engorgement liao.

and it is not possible to get enough within that 5 min latch. i wonder if i am underfeeding him. just treat it as a training for him.

QQ, if vigorous suckle, then I think it is ok.. My cousin was latching on her 5 month old boy in my room at my gal full month party.. He also drink 5 mins then full Liao.. Vigorous suckling la..

MVH, really? but he is just 1.5 month old woh. 5 min vigorous sucking cannot be that full, i feel.

yes, sometimes vigorous sucking. sometimes now. usually 1st 2-3 min vigorous, then slow down, and zz at 5min liao.

ann : Yes maybe i not enough sleep as baby damn cranky. I always cant manage to get 2oz but luckily i got breastmilk collector shell that eeyore give it to me! so whenever i will open up my bra and pour the leaking milk in to make it 2oz.

Nature lover, you can still latch for 5 mins. My boy cry almost immediately when in position. Fonnie hope he can forget this phobia before we try using nipple shield in next session.

Mvh I think is ok since not constantly green.

Not going to be affected by CL anymore over this issue. 12 more days and she will be leaving. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thank for the info on fenugeek. Does it cause body odour? i read from internet will give off curry smell. So if the milk supply gets better, can i stop taking it or continue with it?

I let my boy latch on again yesterday and somehow he is able to get some milk out. I let him latch for 15 mins each side and after that he got so tired and felt asleep. But then he will wake up a while later to ask for more milk. I have bottle feed after that cos i will pump after he finished latching on.

Dear all, it's been a long time since I update the forum. I had delivered on 6 Aug. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Handling new born baby is really not easy, especially when I have two! Currently, I am able to express about 110ml milk every 2 hourly and I heard that the milk supply will increase later on. Is that true? 110ml for twins is not sufficient and I am giving my babies fomula milk at night. I heard that fenugreek helps to increase milk supply so I bought one bottle from GNC to try, hope it works for me. My twins babies(1 boy, 1 girl) are taking 70ml each, should I increase to 80ml? My boy is taking ebm every 2 hourly whereas my girl is taking every 3 hourly.

Congratss to u, babyhopepath! double joy to u n family.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

fenugreek: I think the smell is okay.. it boost my supply at the early stages.. i havent reduce the dosage cos i scared later supply drop.. my fren's dropped.. so i will take until end of ml.. cos by then my gal will be on fm cos i have odd working hrs..

Tearybabe.. i bought the nipple shield n didnt work for me cos when she struggle.. the whole plastic will be stuck to her mouth.. lol.. u van try use yr pump to soften the nips n then get ur boy to latch on directly i.e. after each pump.. works better.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Susan, mine awake from 10pm to 2am almost every nite.. Somemore dun allow me to sit, need me to carry her n walk ard e house.. I find myself almost sleepwalk while carrying her. So tired... Now she is sound asleep.. Jialat she still can't differentiate day n nite, I guess..

QQ, then try breast compression e moment he slows down?

mvh,

yeah, i guess it will still take awhile for them to differentiate day n night.. mine will make weird noise when put in the cot n doesnt wanna sleep.. latched him on also doesnt work.. hopefully this kind of routine will end once they can differentiate day n night..

Mvh: You can try putting ur bb near a bright window dring daytime even when asleep so as to orient their body clock so that they sleep less in the day.. more actibe thus will be tired enuf to sleep longer in the night..

nature lover,

it works for your baby ah? i put my boy in the hall to sleep during day n usually he will sleep thru at night till the next feed but dont know why last nite, he just refuse to sleep.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Susan: yah.. it works for my bb.. this is what my frens do to orient their newborns too.. could it be cos he slept too much in the day le? if thats the case, you can try to wake him up in the day by changing his diapers/ wake him up earlier prior to feeding etc..

nature lover,

hmm..ok, will see if he sleeps tonite, he just doze off not long ago after feeding.. usually i will tell him now is night time le, must off lights to sleep le n he will just doze off after i off the lights..

my girl's tummy v big ley....any 1 bb oso like that? she like drinking too much liao...taking 100ml almost every 2hrs....now no choice i gave her pacifier instead to prevent her from drinking again

suika,

mine also, now i try to drag to 3 hours if bottle feed, he's drinking 90ml now.. if latch on, will be around 2 hours.. i also gave him pacifier to stop him crying while i dragging the time before feeding him..

Susan,

You gave pacificer? My parents kept nagging me to give him cos he will cry or suck his fingers when he is hungry. But we didn't want cos it would be hard to wean him off after that.

btw,does anyone experience baby's appetite fluctuates, like eating more and sometimes less?

Mine did and we are a bit concern.

bakaholic,

my girl's appetite sometimes drink more, sometimes drink less. normally when she drink a few, we try to feed her in half an hour or an hour. i think it's quite normal.

bakaholic,

ya, but not always though..he will also spit out..

wanna ask if after bottle feeding 90ml of BM, is it ok to latch on again after an hour or so?

nature lover, i tried the nipple shield at home too. my boy keep pushing it off with his hand when struggling with me. Fonnis suggested using the nipple shield cos baby's touge keep curling up which stop him getting milk when latch on.

start to feel weary of trying to latch him on.

aiyo ann

i dun even dare to measure the waist yet..haha..demoralising le...

i;m wearing the binder everyday after the massage from madam ida...i apply the ginger cream...then at nite when i;m not wearingn the binder..i will apply some other slimming cream for arms and tummy...

dunno slim down anot la..but pple say tummy smaller lor..

for our bb's age now 100ml all saying it's way too much liao wor....i check my #1's record last time he oni took abt 70ml when he's 1mth....my girl seems to hv a big big appetite n her tummy is big sia....

pacifier is v hard to wean off coz my boi 19mos now still sucking it but bo pianz ley i can't keep latching her after feeding of 100ml BM....how har? at times she no even wan pacifier....

eeyore

i;ve ordered from them before..

they were late in their delivery..but they still managed to deliver in the end..i;m ordering from them again as bb A's 1 mth party is next week...

They are ok la..

suika

my bb drinking 90ml ar...dunno leh..everytime she finished drinking,she poos...then very fast she is hungry again!

i also feel that she is drinking way too much...u sure yr bb is hungry after drinking 100ml?her mouth follows wherever yr fingers go ar?

eeyore. i tried their service before, they were late for my party. cause got accident that time. really really late. they gave me discounts. and i was ok la. anyway, nothing much can be done., they are quite sincere though.. should

be ok de.

bakaholic, same here, my bb appetite fluctuate throughout the day too.

suika. my ah boy got huge tummy. since birth and since he was in my tummy tha's y wrong wt estimation. i got concern and asked pd if it is ok, during my first visit to pd. pd said, OKAY woh... but i i dunno how big is your gal's.

fumiko, how much is your bb weighing scale? or are u refering to adult digital scale?

Nature_lover, Susan,

Thanks! I already place her in a bright room wif window open in e day, but she still sleep soundly.. I guess she needs more time to adjust..

tearybaby,

saw that u mentioned bb tongue keep sticking out(or curling up) when drinking milk. LC told me it is like that de. it is normal.

initially i was wondering why he kept using tongue and got abrasion with my nipple, after visit to LC, then i realise if latchproperly then bb will be able to use his tongue to suck outmilk, and it is CORRECT. perhaps your bb din open mouth big big when sucking.

so, who is fonnis ah?

MVH, u reminded me about bresat compression. i just used that when latching just now. though still not v steady, managed to make him drink slightly longer. still ok.

but i still pump out after that, cause he din manage to clear that breast la. suction not strong enough for him.

bad news.

I think I am the 1st mummy with my menses after delivery. sian3.

and the flow is so so so so so heavy

i am flooding the posts..

i shall go orh orh liao.

duckling! when is our meetup? i am waiting.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

QQ,

what u mean by menses after delivery?

mvh,

yeah, mine also.. just have to give them more time to adjust ba.. just now he also almost get cranky, i quickly latch him on n now he's sleeping soundly..

Bb at less than a Mth should drink less than 100ml ? Very confuse... My girl near 1 Mth old is drink 4 oz Liao , abt 125 ml every 3 hr... And I just weight her today , she only gain 1.2kg since the day she discharge till today....

Hey mummies, got any babies here with rashes on face ? ESP on eyebrows n eyes area?? How to get rid of them n apply wad cream huh?? Thks!

susan,

i mean 1st menses after delivery.

my lochia already cleared long time go, then ow realmenses came..

i am total breastfeeding and bb is just 1.5 month old. sigh! waste $$ on whispers only. haha!

Csy, rashes at eyes area can be due to the eye discharge. use cotton wool, and water (can be slightly warm) to clean everyday.

if not, then it could be the bm coz of the food intake , if you are bf.

dun use any cream, unless doctor tell us so.

QQ, i bought the one tat time they posted in this forum..

http://www.**************/promotion.asp?id=309

cost $68

i m getting more n more lazy to pump milk...

need to sterilize bottles..

tink i m a super lazy mum...

deprive of sleep!!

any one using NUK teats?

my fren bought some NUK bottles n teats for my bb..

so i used it for my bb last nite..

5min of sucking, e milk volume still e same inside e bottle..

then i went google..then realise there are few ppl having prob with NUK teats..

faint..i tot is a perfect teats!!!

they say bb can suck too hard..and cause e teat to collapse and no milk come out

bcos e design of e teats is flat...

in e end, my bb get so fed up..

i swtich back my old bottles n teats..

SIGH..

really waste of time n money

will lochia after c-sect be light compared to natural delivery? Mine is not alot during hospital stay and now like spotting on and off only.

bakaholic, i tried small n medium teats for my BM ...

all dun work..

sigh..

according to those mummies who had bad experience with NUK, e teats will collapse (become folded) tat y e bb cannot suck out e milk..

e forum even got mummies whose bb dun even wan to use other brand teats after suckin NUK teats...bcos their bb treat NUK teats as a gd pacifer..

in e end, those mummies have to feed bb with cups

but of cos there are oso gd review of NUK teats..

i m jus one of e unlucky one..sigh

Fumiko , the weighing scale accurate? Very tempted to get also. Has started storing fbm in the freezer, currently is pump 1 time feed , 1 time freeze. But hopefully my supply dun drop , getting lazier in the nite , wakin up to pump every 4-5 hrs instead of the usual in the day 3 hrs.