(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Nature Lover,

backpack is PIS right, freestyle more ex...

i bought medela swing at $419 during recent taka fair, cos me ameda broke down during pumping...

went out to get during confinement... then got 2 free gift - a nipple cream (never use) and a legging...

so i got more ex. but why more so much??

ann, susan,

I also dunno how much my boy weighs... but if he drinks milk and never fall asleep, within half an hour his mouth open big big again... if u put your finger on his face, he would turn and wanna eat your finger. His feeds timing still not fix, sometimes he would wanna drink after an hour or 2, sometimes he'll sleep until 3 hrs then cry for milk...

nature lover, yah i should ask the LC abt the green stool on monday. but LC did mention that bb have phobia of latching on cos he cry almost immediately when i put him on the position to lactch on. haiz, bb so "Ji Chou".

eeyore i think you got medela swing more ex becos of the additional cooler bag, ice pack, bottles and bag

my waist also damn big still ... cant fit in to my any bottom at all , very very sad ... now waist still 30" ... use to be 25" , going to faint soon ... is already near a month since i give birth !

tearybabe,

is that so??

Nature lover,

does your medela swing comes with the addtional cooler bag, ice pack and 4 bottles??

tearybabe: Is your baby on total breastmilk? If u are latching on, then greenish stools means baby is drinking only the foremilk and not the creamy fat hindmilk. Try to latch on 1 side for a longer time till baby has emptied that breast before moving him on to another side.

Nature lover: Maybe u can give your girl 10-20ml more instead of 30ml lor.... Usually stuffing hands into mouth is a sign of hunger... You also 35" waistline? Aiya but you are much taller than me..... I'm a shortie with a huge waistline...

eeyore: Do u have digital weighing scale at home for adults use? U can weigh yourself first and then weigh yourself carrying baby. Then just minus off your weight, u will get your baby's weight. If your boy is hungry, give him another 10-20ml more..... I dunno why but I realized boys have BIG appetite!! I'm still not used to my boy's big appetite ...... my girl used to drink so little.......

Dunwan, i wan to slim down to look good on the full month celebration. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i declare i am vain daddy.

ann, so thats the reason. =) baby fully on EBM. how do i know if i did express the hindmilk? I look at the bottles of EBM in fridge and there's a white layer on top so i presume is alright. maybe i should pump longer than 15 mins per side?

ahNah, cannot!! I agree with nature lover... hubby must be fat so wife stand beside can look smaller sized..... :p By the way, your boy got your nose hor? He looks so cute!

ann i went to the LC at parkway east hospital. $42.80 per session but it will be free for the next session that i go cos haven manage to latch on during the 1st session. The LC did gave me a contact number of a private LC who will go to ur home personally but is $80-$100 per hour.

tearybabe: Usually if EBM, will get the hindmilk leh.... 15mins each side is good enough. Maybe its due to diet now?

Here's what I googled: http://www.mother-2-mother.com/normal.htm

The breastfed baby's stools may change in color, and baby may even have an occasional green stool. Consistently green stools, however, may indicate a problem, such as imbalance in foremilk/hindmilk, or sensitivity to something in mom's diet, such as dairy. Green stools do not always indicate a problem.

eeyore, ya i research for sometime before i got mine with the cooler pack and stuffs during motherhood fair. now regret din get the medela freestyle. pump till tired liao.

eeyore: mine dun have all these gifts.. mine only just the set lah...

ann: Im taller yes but also no use! I cant fit into my pants except the elastic ones!! How to go out like that?!? plus the stomach will be forever wobbly liao with that da tu nan.. sob sob...

ann,

hahaha.. probably is the angle when i took the photos ba.. maybe tmr will try your method to weigh my boy n roughly see how heavy he is now.. i just started feeding him 90ml, maybe will increase a few days later... last night i latched him on n he woke up every 2 hours after each latch, think he really din had enough when latching on..

still cant go out yet, so cannot go supermarket to get the FM.. my instant FM also running out.. haha.. now had to defroze my frozen BM to feed him le..

ann thanks for the info. 15mins good enought ah. =) i am less worried now cos baby has green stool for yest evening and today evening only, not for every poo poo. still have to observe for a while.

Nature lover, yah LC is fonnie. guess she is the only one at PEH.

Ann, i went LC eventually.

but ended up my boy outperform there, and LC said he is fine, i am the one who has problem.

naturelover, so u bought another binder again? i din bind any at all. hope i can slim down. i din have massage too.

greenish stool,

prob too much foremilk, less hindmilk. it is ok one! my gal had that many times last time, cause i got oversupply of bm, and when i gave ebm, problem solved.

Susan, 2 hours after latch quite normal..... My boy has been doing that for some time liao..... I think latching on is v comfy for them... so they drink just enough, they zzz.... For FM, can ask yr hb buy for u?

QQ, your boy outperform? haha, I dunno why babies tend to be 'guai guai' in front of LC one...... My one also like that... in front of LC, he latch on well and never complain....

ann,

but previously, when he latched on, can last him 3 hours before the next latch leh n he just latched on like 5 or 10mins n then doze off le.. ya, think will ask my hb to buy when he goes out..

Susan - yeah in the first 2-3 wks, my boy also latch and every 3 hrly. Nowadays cannot ... Can be 1.5-2hrly. So I thot normal... In a way, I guess his appetite increased but my ss didn't keep up so he gotta drink more often.

nature lover,

I was using medela single electric but my yield is very low. So, i was so desperate and got my hubby to go first few years store at paragon to get the freestyle. I got 2x more than my old pump but supply still insufficient for baby.

Is anyone taking fernugeek? I am thinking to try out though i am taking fish soup with papaya everyday.

My baby got alot of gas and needs to burp for quite some time. Anyone having the same problem? I am using all b-free, avent, pigeon bottles but didnt seem to help.

ann,

yeah, my guess also same.. my milk supply also seem to run low liao, previously can pump more than 150ml on each side, now only like 120ml.. think have to start drinking red date tea again..

white lady,

i did asked my boy's pd previously, she said as long as the baby poo n fart normally, even if the baby seldom burp, is ok one.. but normally, i will try to burp my boy abit longer, like 10 - 15mins, if by then, he still din burp out his gas, i just let him be..

bakaholic , i tried taking fenugeek, realise its too 'strong' for me. even though i pump 2-3hourly, once i eat fenugeek, my engorgement start to come before reaching the time to pump.

スーザン (pd0513) , so envy u that u can pump 150ml. i used to be able to pump to 60ml. now seems to drop, pump to 40-50ml only. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

xuan,

haha..that was the last 2 weeks glory, i have not been drinking red date tea for the past 3 days liao, now my supply seems running low... today started drinking back my red date tea, managed to get 120ml only on 1 side cuz i let my boy latched on the other side, so not so much when pump out..

try drinking red date tea n hot milo, it might helps...

Susan, 120ml still good leh... Previously I pump only 60ml... Nowadays about 100-110ml... My ss actually increased but not as fast as baby's appetite...

bakaholic, I'm taking a concoction called More Milk Plus. It includes Fenugreek and other herbs. It does help increase supply.

xpink, maybe you don't have enough rest? If you can rest more, it will also help increase your supply. I find that I can feel my breasts more full after I take a 1 hour nap.... compared to if I don't nap at all.... cos nowadays I don't get much sleep... at night, only sleep 1-2 hours here and there...

aiyo, then it cannot be supply issue ...... maybe your boy feeling too shiok when he latch on until he rather zzz than drink milk.....

ann,

hahaha.. he seems to latch longer during day than night leh.. today i let him latch on cuz not in time to pump out, he latched super long as compare to last night when i latched him during the wee hours... i wonder how much can they drink when latching on... hahaha..

susan,

apparently they can drink more when latch than what the pump can extract out... aiya, your supply so good, drop to 120ml per side also still can feed your boy for many many many months to go...... cos I think the max they drink is probably 240ml ... by then, they will eating some solid foods liao.. You must keep up your latching and pumping.. Very good!

ann,

really ah? i always tot they probably wont drink more when latch on, so i pump out to feed him.. sometimes not in time to pump out n feeling abit tired to latch him, i will defroze my frozen BM which i store previously to feed him within the day lor..

susan, oh what I mean is that if u compare baby latch on 5 mins and pump 5 mins... the baby can extract more milk in 5 mins than what the pump can do. So baby is more efficient than the pump. Sorry to confuse u....

ann,

oh, no no, i understand what u trying to say, no need to say sorry.. i always tot if they latch on, dont know how much they are drinking, so if bottle feed them, at least we know how much we are giving them.. but bcuz sometimes they just latch on like 5-10mins then doze off le, so i tot they might not be drinking alot.. ;p

just finished my pump! Yay, tonight got 140ml!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

susan, u also pumping now ah? Haven't sleep?

Ann , the brand is tollyjoy , brought from kiddy palace de.. To mi very useful la, but gt toe really careful, anyway the bodysuit haven try yet.. Still wearing those stomach girdle from wacoal , u receive my item le?

Bakaholic, u can try n take fenugreek.. im taking 6 capsules a day.. 2 after each meal.. cos i need milk.. milk ss now pretty constant.. 4 to 5oz each pump.. i bought the medela swing to help me pump faster.. although supply remains the same..

QQ: u can slim down de lah.. yah now have two binders so use alternately lor.. bo bian.. i eat too much liao during pregnancy.. too much ice cream n all things sinful now have to psyback.. hiahz..

tearybabe: okies.. i din go back to her.. i just try practice at home.. that tym in hospital.. fonnie already shake her head each time during practice..

when will our breast not engorge even when we nv pump out milk ?

Or forever we owas need to pump milk out every 3 -4hrs??

Next time go work , still every 3 hr pump milk?

mamyvelle, I haven't rec'd your package yet.... mabbe cos I didn't open my letterbox since yesterday....

Does wearing girdle really work to slim down tummy? I didn't wear any binder or girdle ever since first week after delivery...... Maybe I should just do sit-ups to reduce the waistline...

ahNah, actually I find it really amazing to see our children inherit our looks.... unfortunately for me, all my kids look like my hubby! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

fumiko, I never had engorgement ...... when u go to work, if u don't have supply issues, u can stretch the time for your pump.... maybe every 4 hourly or more. Last time at office, I still pump 3-4 hrly cos my supply quite low so I had to continue to pump regularly to maintain /increase..

Ann,

nw I dun have engorgenent but I wonder if I lazy n do next punpin at 8 hr later... Will I get engorgement?

Nw every 3-5hr, I pump

Ann, dun use mouth.. Pressure is always painful for infants.. I use tissues.. Roll a tiny bit n try to put in e nostril n hope e wet mucus can stick to e tissue n then pull it out.. This only works when the mucus is not far too deep.. Else try to tickle bb nose to make him sneeze n hopefully e mucus will come out a bit..

Marketing is ex.. My mil always buy threadfin fish.. One slide abt $4-5.. Plus lean meat, chicken thighs etc.. Dunno how much she spent.. Dunno my hubby got liaise wif her on $$ issue..

Nature lover, y Fonnie shake head, she should be encouraging. Did she mention what's the prob hindering u to latch on? how's ur practise at home? Can latch on now?

tearybabe: no fault of fonnie's.. my gal was impatient to latch on n mi erm body anatomy not that optimal plus milk flow in first few days very slow so my gal threw her temper n rock the entire ward.. fonnie just say this gal.is fierce n impatient.. and when my gal listened to our conversations.. fonnie has to tell her dun think.. just drink cos each time she moves her head.. she cant find the milk source n rock the ward again.. malu.. at home, i ptactice only when my gal is good mood.. else she'll rock the hse.. average 5 to 10 mins only.. so im resigned to ebm n next time fm..

Nature_lover, my #1 drinks 60-80ml every 2hrs when she is 3 months.. She starts to drink 100-120ml only when she is 5-6months, e growth spurt period, then start to drop to 80ml again when start semi-solid.. But she is growing fine n triple her birth weight when she is 1yr old.. Hence I guess, every baby is different..

My #2 vomits alot of milk last nite.. Guess overfeed.. She is cranky n can't fall to sleep. So in e end I latch her on both breasts.. Normally she only drink 1 side.. So I guess my #2 is also a small eater.. Bo pian lor.. Mummy has to be a bit more hardworking lor..

leo n tiger combination.. plus oso my gal first exp was witjthe bottle cos i was still drowsy from the GA.. so she already develop a prefernce for the fast flowing bottle.. oh well.. take one step at a time..

Tearybabe, my gal also poo a bit of greenish stools yesterday several occasions.. But when she really poo alot, it is yellowish in color.. So I guess it is ok?