(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Neko I have the same prob. Greg's jaundice went up again and the pd say could be due to my bm too. Rather then let him stay hospital again I rent the bilrubin lights and tan him at home..... Just now he really cry down the ceiling. So very heartpain but have to bear with it loh... Do let me know if ur dr suggestion works for u, if bo pian I will askthe pd is I can do the same.

Scent, sorry to hear abt kaylen.. God will take care of her.. Glad that Cara is doing well.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nekowong, how big is yr bb? My gal is 1month tomolo but still got jaundice.. Went to see pd in e morning.. Pd asked to do a liver function test.. Withdraw blood fr my bb right hand vein.. She was crying n screaming in high pitch tone for mins n I m not supposed to accompany her during e test.. So xin tong.. My mil who accompanied me there was weeping secretly also.. Sigh.. Now pd still haven't call me yet.. Keeping me in suspense..

Fruits:

Can take apples, green pear, kiwi, prunes, grapes..

Those liang fruits like watermelons, melons, sweet yellow pear etc cannot take..

Cold water:

I already buay tahan n drink cold water during my gal full month party.. Lol.. Of course must drink secretly la else kana scolding..

Pd just called me abt my bb liver function test. He said it is breastmilk jaundice.. Liver should some signs of immaturity.. Ask him need to stop bf, he said no need.. Nekowong, how come yr pd ask u to give bb fm? Anyway, have to go for checkup again 2 weeks later.. Ask me not to worry so much as it will go away as time passes...

jaundice : yea lor... so far i know is bm actually prolong jaundice , from my elder ger pd , but its okay to still give them drink...

but few weeks back hear some mummies saying that it's good to feed bb with bm so jaundice will go off faster... so abit blur le.

so which is the correct one?

scent, heard abt the news. glad u are coping well and take lots of care of yourself ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] anything u can pm any1 of us here (though i less active here). Cheers [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: breast pump,

u all mentioned mini pump, is it the medela mini dual electric pump? i using tt too n i feel the suction nt v gd.. i pump till v stress n can oni pump like 50-60ml in total last time.. i bought another pump, which is muz beta and MORE expensive (of cos). and of cos w the help of my mum papaya soup, fenugreek pills, malay massage, my ss increases to ard 80-100ml. hope it can last long.. and provide more..

scent,

my condolence to u..after reading ur story, my tears drop.. i hope u are strong , and do take care of yourself..

mamyvelle,

for jaundice, we need our baby to clear as much waste as possible, so that they can clear their jaundice. so we need to feed them alot BM as BM can remove waste faster than FM..

mamyvelle, my PD did tell me to continue BM but to take note of what we eat during our confinement. She said we cant take chicken of essence, but to cut down on "the roots and stems" of the herbs esp if we do not know that the herbs are...

madam yip/mvh

my bb is 2 weeks old....haha i did not even want to rent the photolight machine..its too much for me to see BB crying non stop....i had it the first time with my #1..i cried along with him...so ended up,we sent him back to hospital in which he was more comfortable there...so this time round din wanna waste $$ on rental ;)

PD said it may be due to breastmilk jaundice..so ask me to substitute BM with 50% FM to see if there is any inprovement..originally BB A was at 13..then went back for 2 days of photolight..discharged at 7..now back to 13.7....

i hope its not prolonged jaundice as my #1 had prolonged jaundice...

Sunflower is correct, need to give more bm to baby to clear jaundice as bm will have more bowel movements n can clear away the jaundice waste.. My boy now is 3 weeks old.. His jaundice also quite high the past weeks.. Even the eye white is yellow.. I'm full breastfeeding but bottle feed.he is a big drinker n can have several bowel movements q day.

Now his jaundice level dropped to normal. That day when I went tmc follow up check up with gynae, I bump into a lactation consuktatin from parentcraft.. She saw my boy jaudice n told me I need to work more on my breastmilk.. She say feed more breastmilk will clear the bowels. FYI, mine is also breastmilk jaundice ( I did the test in polyclinic to find out if his jaundice is good or bad jaundice )..

Beside breastmilk, I also try to sun him in morning n evening .. From what I know, jaundice level usually will increase n peak and then will drop.. This is mostly the trend..

Not sure why pd suggest fm.. Hmmm.. Cos I tot fm will gve fewer bowel movements? Gt to check..

And for confinement food, try to reduce Ginger n sesame oil.. Oh yah.. Kinda old folks tradition which a lot of old ppl advise me is to bathe the baby with the water added with duno wad yellow seeds ( the Chinese medical hall will noe ) n to wrap a few of these seeds in a red packet n put under bb pillow..

So far these are what I did for my jaundice n his jaundice dropped quite fast.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wl,

why cannot drink chicken of essence ah? i have been drinking leh cuz really no 精神 in the day time afer pacifying my boy to sleep at wee hours..

jaundice still got good or bad de ar... erm... no wonder cause that time my elder ger the pd told me that bm will prolong jaundice , did'nt really know wad it means , but told me its okay , jus continue breastfeeding...

this time my boy also very high jaundice , 14. something , saw i tink is bliss missy posted a LC walk pass saw her bb yellow and ask her to feed more bm , den i still feed lor... nv ask pd whether anything , everyday clear bowels at least 6 times and all golden yellow de. not sure issit coz of jaundice , but has clear from jaundice quite long ago without phototherapy.

Yea.. Some frens who had experience with jaundice bb also told me same thing to feed more breastmilk.. But think it applies to those breastmilk jaundice etc.. Not sure if it should b the case for other kinds of jaundice.. No matter wad .. Also gt to be prudent n seek advice from professional rather than self-solving in case it's not the same solution..

ann(ineedmilk) : i send out the things to u today le. paiseh for the delay ... was feeling so tired and sick the past few days [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] let me knw when u receive yea

ahnah,

u can use photoshop to do all these but if u no hv the software like me, i use powerpoint to do up a simple 1 instead then u place 2 pics into 1 4R size then cut...it's cheaper

i printed 30pcs n can hv 60 cards for all my guests.

Nekowong, so what happen if it is prolonged jaundice? What did u do? Mine bb has breastmilk jaundice according to pd.. Din ask me to stop bf.. Confused by e different advise given by different pd..

Mamyvelle, how much is e quantity of poop ur bb produce each time? Mine only poo 1 time super big quantity, ie whole diaper kanna.. Then e rest of e day the quantity is just 20 or 50 cents coin big.. Several times a day.. So consider little output?

Was smiling as I read ur question ... Mine quite alot , even till now , not like those size tat can measure by coin, and my mum did bring him out to balcony to sun, but pd says doesn't help much de , but we still try lah. But it's really very golden yellow de but dunno issit due to jaundice anot

May i ask, if BM supply drops will it go up again? Donno why my supply drops more than 50% these 2 days... maybe its my mental power, I keep thinking of stoping breastfeeding.

mvh

the last time,it was the same..for prolonged jaundice,i did also substitute 50% of BM with FM.

After 1 mth,it kinda came down..so if u ask me,i'm also not sure if FM works..but since my PD says so,i dont mind trying....I agree that BM is the best for baby..but no harm giving FM for a while...

hi mummies..

for those who bottle feed with EBM..

do u worry abt overfeeding?

i am tryin to stop latchin cos my bb really v lazy...sigh..

for e whole day time..she didnt latch v gd..

so i totally give up..

she is now 16 day old

2am, i bottlefed her with 70ml of EBM..then 430am at 100ml, 5am 30ml then another 50ml..she still wants..but i dun dare to give..

cos i scare overfeed her..

i tried to make her sleep..let her latch again but she fall asleep after latch on..when i remove her..she wake up and cries again..

then at 7am, i gave her another 50ml..she drank 35ml..now sleeping..

am i overfeeding??

i feel so lost w/o CL!!!!!

i dunno wat she wan when she cry..

did u all give pacifier to ur bb??

my bb umbilical cord still havent drop off..so got worried..and went to see PD

then my PD say my bb got slight jaundice..and BM will prolong jaundice...but he nv say mixed with FM

but fr wat u all mention here..

i oso dunno whether we shld follow PD or lactation nurse..

i feel lactation nurse owas reject bb with FM and bottlefeeding with EBM..they are DAMM STRICT..

sigh..

wl, tat time when i oversupply..i oso physco myself not to have too much milk..

my milk supply oso drop..

i dunno is it coincident or wat..

e brain jus tell e milk to stop..

Fumiko,

I bottle feed my girl EBM. But will try to latch her on soon. For bottle feed EBM, I giv her 80ml every 3 hourly. Sometimes if she din sleep tend to hungry easily so giv her 2.5 hourly. I dun giv her pacifier, afraid later hard to quit n I remember read somewhere pacifier might cause suffocated n affect teething. If your baby keep crying after drink milk milk then mayb u can chk whether there is wet diaper, baby tummy got wind (cause uncomfortable) or baby simply wan ppl hug hug.

ng,

my bb can drink ard 80-100ml every 3-4 hourly..

sometimes, she jus drink 70 and left a bit..then sometimes, she wake up after 5-10mins and finish e left over milk

(i will keep e left over milk for ard 1 hr - according to parentcraft)

when she cry, i owas check is her diaper wet or soil..

but she owas wan to eat her hands..so i assume she is hungry..

sometimes i hug her liao...she fall asleep..but when i put her to bed..she wake up n cry..and turn her head..open her mouth to look for something..

or put her hand to mouth..

u tink turnin her head n open her mouth..she lookin for my nipple??

but then she latch on liao..she will jus fall asleep..

i noe bb like to suck...tat y i dunno she is tryin to find something to suck or she is hungry...

sigh..

mvh,

no nid to worry, prolong jaundice due to BF it's common....if u wan her lvl to go dwn faster then u can replace 50% to FM, shd b able to speed up the recovery....i believe she's in good condition so ur PD told you to carry on BF

fumiko,

at times bb oni wana b carried to slp....my girl oso like that n at times they oni wana suckle for comfort....feeding too much later bb tummy very big...that's wad the nurse told me

Fumiko, i bottle feed my girl EBM in the day and bottle feed FM at night. I never latch on as she have problem sucking, as her tounge keep roll up. my girl also keep on ask for milk every 30mins or 1hr. so i finally give in yesterday and gave her pacifier. At first she manage to fall back to sleep and keep quiet. But after 30mins, she split out the pacifier and cry already. I don wan to keep on feed her milk cos i think i overfeed her until she vomit twice.

Hi Fumiko,

I m thinking to give my bb pacifier also cos he seems want to drink milk every 1.5 hrs to 2 hrs during day time and always want people to carry him.... tired ...

Everyone here knows how to make bb sleep longer during night time. my bb gg to 1 month old but still wake up every 2 to 2.5 hrs even thought i give hime FM ....

my boy last time dun wan to sleep from 12 am to 6 am ... my CL wan to faint liao . He keep screaming .. wondering is it too warm.

Hi everyone..

Just to check..my gal is 4 days old already...but seems tat my supply is not enough for her...after she latch for 5 mins plus she dun want n I have to give her FM which is abt 30ml..is it enough for her??

And do I have to give her drink some water anot huh??

Pls help!!!!

Haiz so I'm not the only one with bb latching problems.. mine will take so long to latch on after crying.. fussing till i give up and give him EBM.

Then now kena BMJ. I hope the Pep lights I rented will help bring his level down..

yvonne, I had the same problem.. dunno how much to feed bb at first, but now better.. you give her 30ml now and if you notice she keep on wanting to suck and eat her hands or mittens, she probably wants more.. so you increase the amt slowing.. ard 20ml until you notice she is happy or push away the milk bottle with her tongue and mouth..

my boy is "stablizing" at ard 60 - 80 ml now.

Tks ahnah n mdm yip...

Btw,do u all follow the PD given by hospital or go polyclinic for review??my PD located at paragon..I think very ex to see there leh...

yvonne, yours is also Dr Loh is it? he was assigned to my boy too, but after first visit we find him too far, so we switch to another PD at TMC. MUCH faster.. less then 2 hrs we complete blood test and consultation then on the way home liaoz.

yvonne, i don't give newborn water. All my pd recommend water after they started solid. Drink too much plain water will wash away all the 'nutrients' inside newborn and will end up fall sick easily during their infant days.

I din know until i had my #3. That's why my #2 always fall sick since newborn time but he loves plain water alot.

Morning all. Yesterday checkup I'm 2cm dilated. Gynea say go home wait for waterbag burst, leak or very pain then admit. But if nothing happens till 28 Aug (EDD), I will have to admit myself on 29 Aug at 10pm to induce.

After the VE check, I'm haing brown discharge till now. Nite time can't sleep cos of the pain below, it keeps come and go. Pain below plus bearable mean stil normal hor.

alibaba, hope to see u soon. Then our Bb can play together.

hello hello

haven't logged in for a long time as in-laws were in town visiting.

scent,

will pray for your whole family

dsqyvonne,

every baby has diff appetites. my girl was having 30ml every 2h for the first wk then we gradually increased to 60ml. now she is 1mth+ and takes in 60-90ml every 2h, or latch on for abt 10min each side.

I tot bm contain 88% of water so won't b so full for bb..

Is tat y she owas hungry??

She will cough when she finish her ebm fr bottle

I scare she chock to death le..

sigh

fumiko,

haha ... i give my girl paci as well. don't worry too much about dependence, a lot of babies will start to reject the paci once they outgrow it. my elder boy started spitting out the paci at about 3 mths old.

fumiko

me too..worried that CL overfeed there..she is like drinking 100ml oredi..and sometimes halfway through she will cough...dunno if the flow is too fast for her or?

so it becomes an issue when we latch rite?cos flow will usually be slower..and probably thats why bb gets irriated on latching..hiaz dilemma

MVH

suika is right,.the FM will help slow down the jaundice faster.PD told me that it may b the food that we take and thus bb cant digest it even via BM..so i;m feeding her FM at night..n BM in the day..so that she will not forget how to latch on ;p..

Hiaz bad mood...i feel that hubby is not not bothered abt the little bb..like no excitement anymore..well i understand that he is busy with his new job...but really..sometimes he doesnt even carry the younger one the whole day...he told me that he once the CL leaves,we shd consider bringing my elder Boy to my MIL Place to stay over from wed to fri..he said if not i cant cope....thinking aloud...shdnt it be our responsibilities to take care of them both?why is it ME?If both of us are there,shd be ok rite..

jascmy,

i also went for checkup yesterday, am only 1.5cm dilated. i lost 400gms but bb gains 200gms in a week. have decided to induce him tomorrow morning cos no point waiting till next week and he still doesn't want to come out. but still praying that he will come out on his own today or tomorrow early morning before i induced.

i also have a lot of brown discharge due to VE check. last week it lasted for 3 days before it stopped.

totally have no idea how inducing is gonna be since my #1 is totally natural. so a pill will be inserted at 10+am, and i can go walk around? around how long then will i give birth?

Hi I checked with my PD cause I am afraid my baby is overfed by CL. He said better over than under. So now I just feed my boy whenever he wants!