(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Jasmine, I lost 100g of weight but Bb put on 100g. So meaning total I lost 200g bah.

I'm worried of induce cos heard of long labour and emergency c-sect. So I will wait till 29 Aug.

My gynea say for me, the pill will be inserted at 10+pm and will be under observation in delivery suite till 12mn. If everything ok, I will be send to normal ward to rest till 6am then she will come to burst my waterbag.

I don dare to tell my Mum i'm going to induce on Sun cos she very pro natural. She will sure scold me. She scolded my sis when she going for induce cos overdue too. But in the end my niece decided to com out on her own the day b4.

Praying hard that our Bb will come out today or tmr.

jascmy,

yup, inducing will be a long labour and more painful than normal delivery and most likely confirm need epidural. but my gynae said as long as i'm dilated already, inducing will not be a problem.

she said will insert the pill at her clinic in tmc, then i can go walk around and have my breakfast, will only feel contractions around 12nn then will go back to her clinic and monitor.

is this your #1?

nekowong,

My hb also less interested in #2... He admitted it to me. He said he's not sure if its because he is more experienced liao that's why less kan chiong over baby or maybe its a boy so he don't feel so tender towards him. Its a big difference in treatment in my opinion cos my hb loves my daughter #1 to bits... he was very tender towards her since birth. Now for #2, he also doesn't look at baby or carry baby when come back from work. He will only look at baby when I remind him that he hasn't given any attention to his son. Now I asked my hb to bottle-feed baby for 1 night feed @ 12am .. hopefully, it gives him a chance to bond with baby.

I also wonder if men feel this way cos they simply cannot multi-task. Once they have new job, they just focus on new job. So cannot multi-task and do new job plus help out with baby etc. Women are different.... can do so many things simultaneously..

mamyvelle,

Thanks so much! I will look out for your package in the mail.

re: baby waking up often at night

My thoughts are at this stage, baby's stomach is quite small so they can't store up alot of food reserves to last them thru the night. So they will wake up every 2-3 hourly. If they are on total breastmilk, they will wake up even more often cos BM is easily digestible. So for those of you who are wondering how to eliminate night feeds, I think this will eventually happen only when baby is older, say few months old and not now few weeks old. So we just have to bear with the disrupted sleep in the meantime. What we can do is to help baby differentiate between day time and night time by letting baby spend more time awake during day. Also, for the last night feed, say 12am, give FM to fill them up so hopefully can last them 3 or 4 hourly instead of 2 hourly.

ahNah,

yup....4R is too big to give ppl so i put 2 pics into 1 4R....n u print it's oni 35cents...cut into 2 n wala....nice nice card as gifts liao....heehee but the designing part takes alot of time lah

jascmy,

u can standby liao lor...it's normal to bleed abit after the check

Jasmine, yup, my #1. Thats y I'm starting to feel scare since yesterday when I know I'm 2cm dilated. Not sure whether I can tahan the pain. And I'm alone at home now, not sure what will happen to me.

Jasmine,

me too, #1 was totally natural but was overdued...

#2 was induced, i put pill in the early morning 2am so did not walked around as i was strapped in CTG and fall asleep... maybe u can request to walk around if there's no signs of contraction.

jascmy,

if u admitted before 10pm, will there be an additional day charge or best to admit after 12am, did u check??

nekowong,

my hb also never really carry my baby as he's afraid #1 will be jealous or #1 will want to carry too, but most of all, he forgot how to carry newborn...

Saffy, my aunt ask me replace paci in future wit water when bb start eatin solid food

tat hw she make both 4 child quit paci within 6 mth

hopefully my bb can too

but anyway i pluck out e paci once she fall asleep

n I read in fr Internet, paci helps to calm bb down, make them more relax

nekowong,

ya.. But I test e teat to drop milk out .. V hardcto drop out le

I must shake hard then 1 drip out

mummies, when we burp bb but she dun burp..but she will fart

I assume oso consider air come out n will make them comfortable rite?

I apply ru yi oil for bb 2times a day

Ann

i guess so..men just cant multitask..but i'm so tired..i can imagine that i would be alone to handle once cl leaves...n best part,hubby is not cooperative!i;m trying so hard to be understanding towards his new job..so till nw i'm still not showing that i;m upset...now i;m afraid i will go into post natal when comes 2nd mth man...

And i just hate the fact that hubby always wants to bring one of my kiddos over to MIL..always stating we cant handle..but so what that we cant?we eventually still have to right?to me ,i would rather go the hard way and do it myself rather than getting my mil invovled..

jascmy,

once you feel regular contraction or waterbag breaks then faster call your husband. let's jiayou!

eeyore,

so induced can be done in the midnight? i thought can only do it in the morning when her clinic is opened. cos my MIL kept stating that tiger shouldn't be born at night if not will be very naughty. >< so your #1 was induced at 2am, what time was he borned?

Yvonne, first consult $80.. he is actually cheaper then the PD at TMC, but like I say, leh cheh to keep going orchard.. somemore erp!

jascmy, you shd not be alone right now, how come no one standby with you?

Dun use artcow lah, quality very bad. Snapfish still ok , or try albumstories, their photobook very nice , but need to wait for rdshow buy voucher den worth, cost less den $20 per book of 40pages premium... If straight do is $79.90

Would like to check how often does bb poo when on formula? my girl taking mostly formula and can only seem to poo 1-2 times a day. That's the number of times i supplement her with my EBM.

The formula she's taking is Similac. Any other brands of formula to recommend?

thanks ya!

Jasmine,

after u insert pill, u won't delivered so fast, u need the pill to take effect, some need 24 hours for long, fast case also need at least 6 hours... but for my case my boy was deliver at 12noon... i insert pill at 2am, so wait for cervix to soften and bb head to engage, at 9am gynae came to break my waterbag, he said i'll probably deliver aft 1pm by then he'll be back again to see me. i want it to be best aft 12 so gynae help me to keep watch the time, and i tahan until 12 too...

during labour time was quite funny, as i had specific timing for bb to come out so everyone including the mid-wife also help me keep watch of the clock... my hb even scare i can't tahan bcos of the contraction, keep asking me to take epidural...

oh btw this is #2, #1 was natural...

eeyore,

oh then most probably i will give birth at night. so did you take epidural for #2? cos i already need epi for #1, so most likely inducing will be worse.

nekowong,

yeah lor... my hb also used to be like that when we had #1.... every time feel cannot handle, wanna put #1 at MIL place...some more that was only ONE kid leh. But over time, I've grown to accept that my MIL is an additional resource for us to use to ease the load so I'm appreciative of it. I also have the same thoughts as u ... I always think eventually we have to look after 2 kids what... so might as well learn how to handle now rather than prolong the responsibility.... So far, I have been drumming this thought into my hb and he seems ok... maybe these days, he miss my #1 a lot so he doesn't want to put her at MIL place for long. :p

yup..i;m appreciative of my mil too..but i just want to handle my own kids..though i know that it will be damn tough on me..

then my hubby will say things like.."i told u to bring one over since we are all busy at wrk too"..then ended up i will be doing it alone cos i;m the one who wanted it this way....

aiya..i can see all these coming la...gd luck to me!

Should a month old infant take more than 100ml of milk per feeding? My girl was taking 80 ml per feed but last night was so cranky and hungry , took 100ml but still crying and struggling until I cannot burp her. She also gulped the milk until she kept gasping and coughing on the bottle, thought she would choke. Kept me up all night. So stressed..

Jasmine,

I admitted myself at TMC after 11pm n inserted pill at 11pm plus..contractions came at 4am n I delivered ard 10am plus...abt 6 hrs labour only...

Quite sometime never login as bz & tiring after CL left... normally try to SLEEP at the noon time whenever is possible as after my #1 come back from childcare, i will got no time to rest :p

Need to check with mummies who giving bb formula milk, once the formula tin openned, must it be consumed within 1 mth huh? My bb is drinking fully BM now and i had openned a tin of FM (Similac 900g, expired date on Jul 2011) during discharged from hospital (use less than 5 scoops i think). Can the FM still be use huh? If so, I would like to give it away for mummies here who let their bb drink Similac, pls advice & PM me if u want the FM from me... thanx[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jasmine:

i admitted @ TMC at 3pm. the pill was inserted at ard 4pm. waited at the observation ward for 1 hour, then they asked me and hubby to go up to the room first.

around 8pm, they moved me down to the observation ward again. then put me on induce drips. the contractions kicked in soon after. around 10pm plus only they moved me to the delivery suite. i got the epidural sometime before midnite. BB was delivered the next morning.

eeyore_03, I nvr check wor. Maybe my gynea also wan me to deliver in the morning. Ya, morning tigers are more gentle like my Mum (she morning tiger too). Hehee... Wah, u good wor, no need epi.

Jasmine, lets jia you. Hope ours will be like Suika, settle everything in 1 to 2 hrs time. Or wrost case like dsqyvonne, 6hrs. No more longer than that. Praying hard.

Madam Yip, cos I don wan to go fetch my Mum over loh. I wan her to rest. Thinking of going to her hse but my Dad is a smoker leh. So better to be alone.

Jascmy,

I keep tahan the pain, althought the contraction pain is intense, i still tell myself to ren...

soon it will be over... gynae break my waterbag at 9am... so labour about 4hours lor...

pleiades,

what is induced drips? i thought the pill alone will trigger contractions after a few hours? i heard some mummies need 2 pills??

jascmy,

my MIL keeps asking me to give birth in the day instead of night but i find it so hard to calculate what time i should insert the pill so that i can give birth in the day. ><

eeyore, I'm not sure how the pain will be like leh. Hope I can ren too.

Ask u all ah, I keep having the tearing pain at my v area. The pain is worst when I lie down to sleep. Is it dilation?

Jasmine,

the most unpredictable thing is labour... it's really difficult to estimate delivery timing, but the best u can do is, insert pill at night adn earliest is deliver in the morning...

initially when i choose to insert pill, my gynae told me it's not really induce, the purpose of inserting pill is to soften the cervix and to push the bb's head down, to induce is to drip so i was confuse too... anyway, how long was your labour for #1??

eeyore,

for my #1, my labour is 6hrs, so my gynae predicted my #2 will be around 3hrs.

is the charges different if i induced at night? my hubby said maybe gt extra night charges. ><

Jasmine:

The nurses said the drip is to induce labour one wor... A nurse came in to increase the drip dosage/amount coz I only dilated 1 or 2 cm at 3am... If count from 8pm, that was like 7 hours later. It's my #1 BB. Maybe slower to open up bah? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nekowong, my hubby also quite Bo chap abt #2. Come back home, take a few look then do his things.. Even when bb has reflux, need jaundice test, see doc, he also din accompany me.. Only accompany me e very 1st checkup.. My mil is e one offering to accompany me to pd.. N also auto bring my #1 to her house n cook for her.. But I insist my #1 to come home in e evening la, else next time she dun wan mummy n home le.. I think man r like tat ba.. I also lazy to scold my hubby..

nekowong,

men! my hb helps out less with #2 as well. for #1, he used to suffer with me and volunteer with night feeds + diaper change; but for #2, he can sleep right through the crying even though he is like 1metre away. he also didn't accompany me for the earlier gynae check-ups and doesn't intend to for baby's PD reviews.

Saffy - Did you just get a maid recently? My male friends who have maids, tend to be "hands off" fathers cos they told me that their wife and maid can take care of baby.

BB Jabs:

Paiseh... Am very blur abt BB's jabs. My gal had her BCG & Hep B-1 jabs before discharged fr TMC after birth. BB is turning 1 month this weekend. BB's health booklet mentioned many jabs to take at diff age. Am very blur on how to proceed from here...

There are packages offered by PD / family GPs that cost >$1K. Thk also got option of taking those 6-in-1 jabs (or is it 5-in-1?) so that BB dun need to take so many jabs.

Any recommendations on which package to take? Thk Healthway Medical having promotions/discounts for the BB jabs? Shd I just go to polyclinic for the jabs?

Thanks... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jasmine: i admit to Mt A on 11th aug midnite for induce..and was insert pill at 1am..

then i start to feel v uncomfortable..adomen v tight..and i cant sleep e whole nite..

then 730am, nurse came to check if i got dilate..but i tink only 3cm..

so 8am, i went to bathe..halfway..i got brown discharge..and i cant control e flow...then i tot wat happen to me..

then doc came...he say my waterbag burst..

so they start to put me on drip to make contraction faster..

at 9am, i cannot take it..i ask for epi..and waited for 30mins..nearly wan to die..

then 930am, epi was given..i feel so relax..and fall asleep..

at 12pm, doc came and say i m fully dilate and ask me to work hard to push..

i push and push..but nothing came out..

and I DOZE OFF!!!! i was so tired tat i doze off..i feel tat i m such a failure..

anyway, doc came at 1pm and say if bb head still cannot b seen..then i have to go csec..

so at 2pm, doc say must go csec..

i cried..i feel i m such a failure..but doc told me i m doin fine..csec is ok..nothing wrong..

then while they prepare everything..i doze off again..

i really tink i m a PIG inside..keep sleeping..sigh

anyway my bb was out at 256pm..

pleiades, ya any1 can share e polyclinic package..i remb i read somewhere polyclinic got priority queue for newborn and package is cheaper..

any mummies got advises?

those who's thinking to bring bb to polyclinic pls dun visit bukit batok branch as CCK branch is on reno now so the queue is super duper long....went 3 times n each time abt 3hrs there....no priority queue at all!

healthway got promo...if u thinking abt 5-in-1 at polyclinic the price w outside oni difference abit....do check out on the prices first

for those who's thinking of juz follow the normal jabs then polyclinic is cheap coz some is FOC

pleiades: u r not the only one blur.. im as blur..

if we go polyclinic.. the pd recommended by the hospital wun call n ask why u miss the appointment right..

naturelover, if you did fixed appt. just call to cancel. but i dun think they will call and ask y.

I am quite confused, if going to poly for jab, should we go when bb is 1 month old or two month? Was told by the pd that the new schedule for the jabs are 2th mth, 4th mth, 6th mth and so on.

tearybabe,

The schedule for jabs is stated in baby's health booklet. You can refer to that schedule for reference as to when to take the jabs... The first jab is at 1st month, 3rd month etc....

ladies n annah/luving daddy but mostly still the ladies:

Just being sentimental here.. just wanna say thanks for all the support thruout the pregnancy, sharing of queries and even after birth.. =) Thanks so much, its all appreciated =)

Hi all, I can't slep due to the pain that comes and go near at the bottom of my tummy. Its getting more intense and timing nearer. Once I wake p to walk around, it seems ok. My pain trashold very low so I can't take it.

Nobady for me to ask cos I don hav gynea no. and KKH ask a nurse line stop at 12mn.

Hubby also don wan send me to KKH cos worried abt false alarm. My pain also not realy like contraction pain. He say wait till morning.