(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

xuan,

i use water and tissue to clean the bottom at home; if v messy CL wl wash the bottom. i think it is cleaner that way. wet wipes; i use any brands; usu kodomo i think coz cheaper.

cheekrene,

all thes best!

ann,

i can feel ur pain, ouch! i aso compress my breasts when feeding coz she sleeps alot so i try to get as much milk to her as possible. yah u hv to burp too when BF coz wind wl stl get inside esp when the let-down is v fast. my baby's problem is hiccups, she has it a few times a day.

QQ,

thanks for the advice for feed interval... v useful!

today just went 1st pd visit. she said #2 has jaundice, so nd to suntan her morning and evening time. aso has to wake her up for feeding every 3 hrs.

qq,

oh thanks.

any mummies gonna use tummy blinder for your newborn to protect his/her umbilical cord?

my MIL said should put sesame oil on it to prevent water from entering, i was like "huh?? how can put sesame oil on my baby."

i think the umbilical cord should stay dry all day long right?

Jasmine ,

i first time heard that leh , put oil , omg . Pls don't . Have to keep the area dry , hospital will give u something to clean when discharge and my pd will give some powder to let the area dry . Pls don't try oil .

QQ,

ya i agree....starting my girl jaundice n slp too long i oso worry 3hrly will wake her up to feed but now all of us see that she's ok no more yellowish liao (but bringing her for checkup tml to get clearance)....she feeding well during the day n oni at nite sleeps longer...now she's more awake n alert liao....unlike the first few days, her eyes no even wana open...making mi so worried

jasmine,

sasame oil? duno ley...think shd b those old elders method ba....i heard of this b4...but it's like using garlic to fry w sesame oil...hot hot n put on cloth n onto bb's tummy to remove wind...my godmum juz mention this today but she forgotten the actual method liao.....apply directly i think best not coz we supposed to keep clean n dry to prevent infection rite??

sunflower,

yup the pd said something along the lines; that the baby lies down after a feed.

jasmine,

i think it is impt to keep it dry! the pd gave me some powder to put on baby navel area to keep it dry and clean coz umbilical cord dropped off already.

i first time heard of that too. shocked me >< scared she will secretly do that without my knowing.

i just checked online, must keep it clean and dry. what if there's bleeding? must apply powder? cannot just use any kind of powder right?

wet wipe i use pigeon. but at home we use water & cotton bud...i rem my #1 tat time BF, he poo like once a week nia...

after massage from mdm ida... my tummy now burning hot! suana.. tis confinement,1st time perspire so much... she told me my stitches have dissolved.. recovering well..yeah. my #1 take me more than 2 weeks to really can sit down properly.. overall,she is quite experienced. asked me to wear long pants & sock...

night feeds

i got a few different pt of views leh. some say if can slp let them slp. some of u here say must wake bb up ev 3 hrly.. but wont this create a habbit to bb to wake up at night for feed? it's v tiring for the care taker to wake up oftenly... my #1 is like tat lor. even til today. sometimes he still ask for milk in the middle of the night...

QQ

i went to polyclinic to check bb jaundice. the doc said ev bb sure have jaundice. it's the matter of serious or not... for my boy he say 220 got jaundice but on average level which is normal. and he even say the sun tanning morning or evening no use one leh..but gotta go back to check jaundice level tis saturday again. whether if go up or go down.. so my case mus give milk more often??

dreymin, oh I didn't know if letdown is fast, they get more wind. Thanks for the info. I really have to remember to burp my boy more frequently now.

QQ, 3 hourly cry for milk at night is normal what....... I thot that's what breastfed babies normally do. Mine is every 1 hour and he only does chut this pattern at night.... sometimes I am amazed that I can still stay awake during day time to look after #1 plus, feed #2....

Sunflower, yup, my boy hiccups quite often too... but he's not a fast drinker...

Jasmine, sesame oil?? Never heard of that before. Maybe can ask ducklingeshop cos I rem she said her CL uses a oil on her baby that smells like sesame oil.......

Thanks mummies for all the advise. Think I will use Pigeon initially then change to cheaper alternatives like Kodomo after the 1st/2nd month.

Cheekrene, I agree that Pigeon bundled products are selling at the same price everywhere. But since I have Taka vouchers so might as well go down and grab some stuff.

Frankly speaking, I'm not ready to be mummy too. Afraid that I can't be a good mummy.

I don't know Amy mummies like me, I got totally no appetite during confinement . Only feel like drinking cold water n eat fruits. And everything about my bb , i want to do myself , feeding bathing all those . Like night feed , hubby want me to rest but whenever he feed , I will want to sit beside n watch . I scare bb don't know who am I and not close to me . Do i have depression ? Cos I keep feeling very gulity for not giving bb breast milk .

Ann, oh yes.every 3 hour is ok.. i typed wrongly la.. haha!!! he wakes up every 2 hour...

but yours 1 hour, more serious. cause i dun latch him at night, he drinks full full then sleep.

i can still tahan every 1 hour latching if i am 18-20 yo, now? i am old liao, i can die of exhaustion.

xuan, there is no bad mummies de, unless u dun want the baby and abuse baby. just stay HAPPIE! we learn and support each others along the journey. tell your hb that. both of u need to support each others.

My L sized bb is finally out at 3+pm weighing abt 4.085kg even more than wat my gynae estimated ... Even with epi I nearly fainted frm all the pushings n pain loh

congrats mirai!!!finally!!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

which means Dr Tan's machine not accurate...hmmm..remember to post pic let me see...:p

Ann, actually breastfed babies no need to be burped.. But if he/she cries before or in between feeding, then need to be burped, as they might swallowed too much air when crying..

I try to burp my gal now every feed.. Sometimes successful, sometimes cannot.. But I think my gal feels better after 'standing upright' for a while..

This morning bring my gal for jaundice check again.. 12.3.. Went up again.. Sigh.. Think I have to stop my papaya soup for now..

QQ, true that my bm ss increases this week leh.. Dunno issit becoz of e papaya soup I drink or not..

MVH, yes, he cries before and also in between feedings... all along I thought he was just angry with my breast.... kekeke

White Lady, this is my #2 but I also wanna do everything myself. Have to keep reminding myself that I paid good money for my CL so I try to delegate to her some duties. I don't think u have depression lar..... Stop thinking that way okay? And please don't feel guilty about breastfeeding. No doubt alot of pple say breast milk is best but if u already made a choice not to give BM, then just move on and focus on how well your baby is doing with FM! We all grew up on FM last time, didn't we?

mirai, congrats! I think your baby is champion weight for our Aug thread... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jasmine, papaya n carrot n orange-ish food contains a lot of vitamin A. N if bb liver is not mature, don't eat these first.. Will increase e jaundice level..

I just discovered 2 "loo" (the part where your hair starts growing from) on my gal's head. jialat liao! Ppl says kids with 2 will be very naughty... siao liao!

mvh,

papaya soup cannot meh?

jasmine,

carrot cannot...coz 'liang'

white lady,

dun over stress urself....now my boi v sticky to my godmum no wan mi liao i see liao so upset but i keep telling myself that it's ok coz mi not feeling well so can't pei him much n can't carry him.....

mvh,

oh okay, i thought cannot eat too much ginger only.

suika,

carrot is liang oh? okok.

wl,

ya, my friend's son has 2 of that and he's super naughty. but maybe because he's a 'monkey' bb?

Suika, wat I know is papaya has lotsa vitamin A. N vitamin A is e culprit for causing e skin to be yellowish aka jaundice.. But I read that a little papaya doesn't cause much effect to jaundice, but I just wanna play safe.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mirai, STEADY!!!!!!!

wah! champion. haha!!

MVH, jaundice 12.xx something is ok right? not too high. usually milk supply will chiong from wk 2 to 2k 3 cause bb's intake also cheong ma.

white lady, i also tot urs is #1. aiya, dun think so much ok? just STAY HAPPIE. u think your bb will remember what u have done when bb is just born? they will forget de la even if we abuse them now. u just stay happie then bb will be happie.

jasmine,

my godmum says 1....so she no allow mi take carrot now

MVH,

dun worry, i think papaya soup u can still take lah....u drink the soup oni lor....if really worry then u take more fish instead....threadfin fish can help in ss n it's good for ur health too

Haha ... Thanx everyone [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Champion gt any prize or nt :p will upload the pics when I get bck la cuz nw using iPhone to surf net ...

congrats mirai...

any mummies experiencing this ... my boy kind of reject breastmilk leh , he seems to prefer formula milk , wad should i do ar? dun tink is the ginger intake cause i did'nt took much also

info for c-sec... my massage lady says actually csec can massage as early as one week after birth...

as long as the stitches is dry already and dont bind to hard on the stitches area...

massage

actually i din get any massage this round. i hope i dun regret nex time but last round was not really effective for me so this time i give it a miss.

mamyvelle, i gave my #1 my bm, cham cham with her FM. then she told me spicy. i wonder if it is too SWEET for her, so spicy. she kept saying how come today's milk so spicy. luckily she finished all. heng! but i think i must mix with some water tomorrow. she is 3.5 yo.

I am not using binder for the umbilical cord cos i scared later it may adsorb any sweat/urine from the diaper. Have to keep it dry.

I think the hospital will provide alcohol swaps to clean around the cord. Have to do it like 3x a day, according to the antenatal class trainer.